toggle menu

Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget **** Superior

Guests' reviews

Guests' reviews

Call us
BEST PRICE
GUARANTEE
Book now

Services

  • WiFi
  • Parking
  • Full air-conditioning
  • Accessible hotel
  • Pet-friendly hotel
  • Non-smoking hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Function rooms
  • Wellness services
  • Medical services
Hotel rating
Overall score
4.8/5
5
Paul- 09 Apr. 2013
This was my fifth time to stay at the Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget over the last 15 years; traveling from Hawaii is a long way, but this hotel property is wonderful. Great for couples, families or solo travelers the hotel is on an island with lots to see and explore close by; a peaceful setting that is still just minutes away from the Budapest tourist sites. The hotel staff is excellent; they anticipate your needs. Looking to relax... just head to the spa with a complete swimming pool, whirlpool and temperature controlled thermal water pools... heavenly! This is a five star experience at a value price; you can't go wrong.

Reviews

Hotel rating
Overall score
4.8/5
Based on 1697 reviews
Services
4.8/5
Cleaniness
4.8/5
Comfort
4.8/5
Location
4.8/5
Staff
4.8/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Did you enjoy your stay with us? Tell us about your experience!
5
Susan- 21 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The spa is excellent and beautiful location in park.
4.6
Dorottya- 21 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Massive comfy bed. Awesome pool. Courteous staff and plentyfull parking. Bad: Poor signage to pool.
4.6
AndersVarveus- 19 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The classic style in a modern shape. The total silence and green surroundings. Bad: A bit boring bar.
5
Zoltan- 19 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: It was just perfect!!!!!
4.6
Martha- 17 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This is a grand hotel, and it feels like you've traveled back in time to another century. The lobby and hotel are filled with period pieces. The front desk and bar & restaurant staff are professional, attentive and courteous. Food and drinks were of good quality and reasonably priced. The thermal pools and spa facilities exceeded my expectations. Margaret Island is a restful haven that is quiet and removed from the city hustle and bustle, yet only a convenient car, boat ferry or bus ride away from the center. Bad: The rooms could use some updating. The hotel's character is partly due to the period pieces and the fabric wall coverings, upholstered chairs and carpets. The only improvement I would suggest would be to update and clean & refresh some of the furnishings.
5
Ulla Munkerup- 16 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I had a very good communication with the hotel before we arrived and all my wishes where meet. Our room was kept very nice and clean during our stay. Bad: The transport to and from the island in the evening was not so good.
5
Troy- 16 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Grand in every sense of the world - treated like royalty from start to finish - fantastic location and atmosphere, pleasant and very helpful staff. Great food and service in the restaurant. A fantastic experience !
5
John- 16 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff were very helpful to us which for me was one of the nicest things about our stay and I loved the beautiful island setting of the hotel. The hotel was very accommodating when our flight was delayed (twice!). Whilst you are in the city it was lovely to be able to run around the island and walk in the gardens which are actually quite spectacular. It was also great to have a swimming pool and hot spring spa to relax in when we weren't seeing the sights around Budapest.
5
Giulia- 15 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: lovely hotel and easy to get to duna towers
5
Alan Jarred- 14 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great style great value fantastic location.
5
Eva Svedman- 13 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Wonderful
4.8
Karen- 10 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The spa was clean and comfortable. The food was excellent
4.8
Wojciech- 10 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I liked the style of the hotel - feels like in 19th century Austo-Hungarian empire. Located in beautiful park - real gem. Parking for hotel guests is very convenient - just by the front door. Rooms are well equipeed and wonderfully designed. Spa and wellnes in located in nearby Danubius hotel but there is undeground connection in case of bad weather. Spa area is great and free of charge. Bad: We liked everything - the only minus is very expensive salt cave.
5
Iain MAC- 04 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Hotel a bit quaint but nice and great service. A little like stepping back into a more civilised time. BUT...the food...oh my god....WONDERFUL!!!
5
hamidreza- 04 Jul. 2017
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
Magnificent place in a wonderful island
5
valeria- 02 Jul. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
Nice hotel, the oldest one in Budapest. The rooms were renewed, it is a large room with a separate sitting area, however this room had a small bathroom. Super view and refreshing experience. Great for relaxation and sports.
4.6
Daniel- 30 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: l emplacement extraordinaire
5
Aleksandra- 27 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Spa , treatments , gym, location Bad: Breakfast is not Luxus but ok
5
MMISHRIS- 27 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Orbitz
Will recommend it to the Friends! Thank You Very Much!
5
Nora- 26 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Kind staff, and a hotel is glamorous! Bad: That we had to leave early to the Airport, so we could not enjoy the spa...
5
David Laurenţiu Florian- 24 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Superb!
5
Iza Szocs- 23 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great place to stay.
4.6
Louise- 21 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The Island is a great place to stay on.You are in the centre of Budapest without tge hustle and bustle of the city.It is a spa hotel and tge faciliries are good. Bad: The hotel is old so things kept being faulty..But they di come and fix things.
4.6
DianaOnescu- 16 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel haș a certain note of fatigue, Buț it was very clean, confortable and well located. We will definetly come back here. Bad: The parking and the acces way we're under construction, so it was a bit dusty around the place.
5
Frank- 14 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The restaurant was very nice and the music was beautiful from the gyspsy player. The thermal baths were very nice. The whole atmosphere was very grand. Bad: The room was somewhat outdated and the air conditioning was not cold enough.
4.8
Jacinta- 12 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We booked this hotel because we wanted to enjoy the spa area in the sister hotel. The spa area was great, with a number of different pools, steam baths large glass windows overlooking the surrounding park, a sun terrace, and separate women's and men's sauna areas. Our room was also very nice, breakfast was good, the staff were friendly and very helpful. The gym was also well equipped. The island is a lovely place to stay with gardens, cafes and baths within walking distance. There is also a running track around the island. Bad: The island is undergoing work but parts of the island are already looking really nice.
4.8
Mrs- 10 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: A lovely old school Eastern European Hotel situated out of the centre on an island on the Danube. amidst a park. Very quiet and cool (in contrast to the Gellert where we have stayed previously. The hotel is connected to a modern spa hotel where one can use those facilities. A slightly off the wall choice in this day and age and probably not a great choice for sightseeing (though the taxi service in Budapest is excellent and inexpensive) or those seeking slick american style hospitality. Bad: For what it is not much but that is not to say all will necessarily find it as charming as we did
5
Hector- 09 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location, in the middle of the Danubius, surrounded by trees, my room had a terrace so I could started each day sipping a cup of cofee and looking a beautiful sunrise. Bad: The entire zone is under restoration, but it was really a minor issue
4.6
Malcolm- 08 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The general atmosphere of the hotel was much nicer than the more modern hotel next door. Spa and exercise equipment were excellent. There was an excellent choice at breakfast.Wouldn't suit the young and trendy. Location was excellent if you like a peaceful holiday. If you are fit then the main sites are within walking distance but there is now a frequent bus service to the island. The nearest stop is only 200m from the hotel. The hotel shop sells the transport system tickets. There are plenty of sporting opportunities on the island. Bad: Air conditioning was rather poor. The porridge was tasteless and rather too watery. The rest of the food was excellent.
4.8
Xiaomin- 07 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: swimming pool, sauna, very good breakfast, free parking place. Bad: The SPA is not free and no one tell you
4.6
Anne- 07 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The spa facilities, and the old-world charm. Bad: The curtains in our room did not meet. The same prob each time we visit.
5
Robert- 06 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything. Bad: I haven't any reason to complain.
5
zsolt&olga- 05 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Helpful polite staff, very clean and large room. Good location in a beautiful park. The lighs of the park island at night and the quality of the road was not very good.
4.6
Michael- 05 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location Bad: Constraction site.
5
Lara Bachmann- 04 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Quiet, relaxing, great service, great restaurant, inside a fantastic park!
5
Seekunto- 01 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The huge green public garden/ the diner breakfast well as the cleanliness
4.8
Bonita- 31 May. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff are fantastic the hotel is very classy without making you feel out of place Bad: The hotel is lovely without a doubt but could do with a bit of TLC in the rooms
4.8
Chris- 27 May. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Stunning location in an ideal setting, the hotel has a comfortable and very traditional lounge and bar area.Pints are available from the restaurant of the very refreshing Hungarian beer Dreher, the bar is a cosy traditional style with elegant seats. The room was comfy with a good bed and a choice of pillows , room safe. The hotel provides a shuttle bus but it is limited in space and dosent wait around at departure time, taxis are available and its a 2km walk to the bridge to head into the city, water taxis are available with the purchase of a site seeing ticket. Bring your running shoes as their is a running track around the island and its a nice 5km jog with some stunning views. Bad: At the time of visiting may 2017 there was lots of construction work taking place on the island, it didnt detract from the trip but was the only down side.
4.8
paul- 27 May. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Agoda
I only stayed 1 night and had a laxing reading and swimming,walking around the island and eating. I always enjoy my time in Budapest! Have to say the Staff and service were great.
5
Yuri- 26 May. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent staff Very good breakfast Excellent spa with sauna and different hot tubs with thermal water Bad: No public transportation but they provided free shuttle to West End shopping center
4.8
Andrew- 20 May. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location is exceptional. Fantastic views and quiet. Brilliant and friendly staff. Decent WiFi to help wind down and connect with friends after a days activities. The gym was good, too. Bad: Nothing. It was great all round.
4.6
Roger- 18 May. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Lovely spa area and old-school grand building. Lots of construction work, but that is due to end soon - still a lovely park. Bad: Food options do need improvement.
5
Nicola- 14 May. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The room was large and v comfortable with a lovely view over the park. The spa facilities are fantastic the best I have been to. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Especially liked the fact you could order certain foods to be served at the table for no extra cost. We had a lovely time at this hotel and would definitely return and recommend to others. Bad: There is a lot of building work going on on the island and although this did not spoil our holiday, when trying to explore the beautiful island you had to walk over v rough ground with lots of noise from the machinery. This is not the hotels fault and they did provide a courtesy bus into the city which helped you get out and about as certain buses were not running. The hotel did pre warn us of the works but not until 2 days before we arrived. As above this did not spoil our trip in any way and I will definitely return.
5
Mrs D- 12 May. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
Lovely spacious hotel with great views. Great to be away from the noise of the city but still close enough to enjoy it.
5
Allen- 03 May. 2017
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
The hotel was very accommodating and the staff extremely helpful. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The spa was excellent. The hotel was located on a beautiful island, however it was some distance from the centre of the city. Travelling to the centre was made easier by a regular hotel bus service.
5
Ekaterina- 01 May. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great hotel with great guests love. Beautiful and charming rooms with historical atmosphere
5
Andrea- 29 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
If you are looking for some peace and tranquility in a middle of a busy City this is a place to go. While we stayed there the whole Margit sziget were going through a major rebuild, so there was no usual public transport going to the island and back. However the hotel run very convenient shuttle bus service, so getting in and around wasn't a problem at all. The hotel staff are excellent, they are really go the extra mile for their guest, they couldn't do enough for us.
5
Victor- 28 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location of the hotel is perfect: on Margaret Island, on Danube river. I stayed on the second floor. A clean room, with a view to the nearby park. I will definitely come back again Bad: Cannot add anything here.
4.8
M- 18 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: EXCELLENT HOTEL STAFF VERY GOOD FACILITIES VERY GOOD.BIT OF A TREK TO TOWN BUT NICE UIET HOTEL RECOMMEND Bad: WALK TO CITY CENTRE.MUST BE GETTING OLD.
4.6
janazlata- 17 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Wellness, Healing thermal water Bad: all was OK
4.8
Ivan- 16 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Hotel is located inside park zone, on the Danube island, which for us was excellent. Surrounding is quiet, view to Danube is all around. Really relaxing place, you can enjoy walking around, wonderful for rest and romantic stay. Anyhow, city center is close and can be easily reached. Live violins and piano at dinner time are priceless. Bad: Nothing
4.8
Andra- 13 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: They gave us a family room, even we didn't ask, with the same price as a standard room, with free parking in front of the hotel. But around the hotel was an enormous construction site. Stiil, the island is so big that in the other side of it you didn't feel any noise or dust. Everything was great (polite and with very good English staff, big room, breakfast ok, good wi-fi, wonderful spa). With the bus 26 (you can buy tickets from the driver) you can rich Arpad hid metro station in 5 minutes. Bad: nothing
5
Marie- 06 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: comfy bed, great spa, nice area, very clean room, nice view
5
Paul- 04 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Old World charm and plenty of space. Great Spa and Swimming facilities. Bad: Difficult to access due to road and building works occurring around the hotel.
5
stephen- 28 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
A grand hotel in beautiful settings. Situated on Margitsziget Island in the middle of the Danube, the hotel is surrounded with beautiful gardens and ancient trees. The the thermal spring spa is first class and use of the swimming pool and thermal are complimentary for guests. The staff are friendly and efficient and the food is delicious in the restaurant. To get to Budapest's sites there is a regular bus or you can catch a boat or walk. Fabulous hotel.
5
Hannah Barrick- 28 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Fantastic Hotel! from the moment we arrived all staff were very welcoming and friendly, and patient with answering our questions. Very reasonable price for the great quality of rooms and service that is offered, all in a fantastic and beautiful location on Margaret Island. Myself and my partner also enjoyed listening to the wonderful live musicians they have playing in the restaurant at dinner... especially as my partner is a musician himself. lovely atmosphere! They also have a great spa hotel and other wellness facilities to help you feel even more relaxed during your stay. Would definitely go back and recommend to anybody booking a holiday in Budapest. Thank you!
5
Katharina- 28 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This hotel can be HIGHLY recommended! Our purpose for the stay was just to relax for a weekend, and since the hotel is situated on an island there is no noises from the city traffic and there is a relaxing and calm atmosphere there, so you would not think you are in a large city at all! No problem with taxis to get somewhere into the city centre of Budapest. The island is also nice for those that like to exercise as it had a running track that was 5 km long and there were some nice parks there as well! The hotel itself was luxurious with very nice and clean rooms and also the service where great! I would definitely go there again!
4.6
Roxana- 27 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: - delicious breakfast - courtesy of the staff - warm room (although a bit small) - bus to the city close to the hotel - great spa facilities Bad: - bathroom a bit outdated - bathroom door could not be closed properly
4.6
Bogdan- 27 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: A romantic atmosphere in a quiet location from the heart of Budapest (Margitsziget). The hotel has a charming retro-look and furnishing. Excellent spa at the nearby hotel, free of charge for hotel's guests - easily reachable through an underground heated tunnel. The included breakfast buffet was great and plentiful. Bad: The rooms are needing a re-furnishing, the actual one being old and somehow used. However nothing was disturbing.
4.8
Márta- 24 Mar. 2017
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Long opening hours in the wellness department. Bad: Small things from socialist era, like light switches on the wall, phone in the room, hairdryer. But everything worked properly.
4.8
Gordon- 12 Mar. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This hotel is lovely! I came here with my boyfriend and liked it so much that we booked it for my parents for their 30th wedding Anniversary celebrations. Bad: The transport to the city is unreliable but it is a nice walk if you are lucky with the weather.
5
Traveler- 11 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Everything top class service with little to moan about. Staff could not have been more helpful
5
Kristian Dimitrov- 11 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great hotel, charming old style, amazing SPA and pools
4.6
James- 05 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I loved the feel of the place. And the spa was second to none. Bad: The room did get really hot at night. And it was a little difficult to get to the city centre.
5
Milà Esperanza- 02 Mar. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: A beautiful hotel that will really give you the touch of Wes Anderson's Grand Budapest Hotel in the best possible way. Stuff is kind, everything is clean, spa center is great: with sauna, turkish bath, swimming pool and thermal pools. Not far from the center, but far enough to have quiet, green neighbourhood. Bad: Parking is 9€ a day, but I guess that is ok compared to prices of the parking in the city.
4.8
Cyril- 27 Feb. 2017
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent position on an island; Large parking (outside/inside the building); Separate SPA centre with swimming pool and sauna; Large park outside the hotel territory; Large and clean rooms.
5
Irina- 27 Feb. 2017
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Really really really cool place - which gives you the felling of classic Budapest. The hotel has a spirit and a character, totally unique. Simply fabulous - The location is superb. It is a secluded beautiful island, in a 20 min walk to the center through the island - with ruins, gardens, monuments, and views... - Take your jogging shoes with you - there is a really cool jogging trail around the island - The insides are beyond the beautiful - The rooms are a bit dated, but that's the thing! - Food is good. Paprika soup off the menu in the main restaurant is yummy. Or you can walk 20 minutes (or Taxify 5 minutes for 3-4 euros) to a bunch of restaurants - The spa is all you need. We decided not go to any other bath, the one in the hotel was just enough - We definitely want to be back Bad: - We just dod not have enough of it :)
5
yvonne- 26 Feb. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
We actually stayed in the spa hotel next door on the advice of hotel staff due to better wheelchair access. the hotels are linked and use each other's facilities. The restaurant was lovely. Spa facilities were great.
5
Yoan- 26 Feb. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The spa, the location and romania, the duck in the japanese garden Bad: the running constructions of the park
4.8
Vojin- 25 Feb. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We love this hotel. It was our second time in this hotel and we'll come again for sure. We simly feel good and relaxed here.
5
Anonymous- 20 Feb. 2017
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Service was second to none
4.8
Heather- 18 Feb. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Warm and comfy with super helpful staff Bad: It was further from the city centre than we realised. Not their fault though
5
Robert- 15 Feb. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything was awesome :)
4.6
Stefan- 12 Feb. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Agoda
Excellent spa, great breakfast and facilities.
4.8
Danielle- 31 Jan. 2017
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Ok one of the most expensive hotels on our trip around Budapest but that's not surprising as it's the only hotel on the island. However it's still great value for money and a little bit of a treat mid break. Food was great , all you can eat Buffett for breakfast and dinner , or a menu of chefs specials to choose from if you want to. Margaret island is very pretty although a lot was closed on our visit as it was at the end of Jan it's still worth a visit
5
Boštjan- 30 Jan. 2017
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Room, spa with many facilities, all stuff I met knows to talk in English Bad: I wish breakfast would not be so expensive - that's why I didn't choose it
4.8
Desislava- 27 Jan. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Personalized welcome message on the tv screen. The furniture is beautiful.
5
Charlotte- 23 Jan. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff were incredibly friendly and able to help with every question we had! They even booked us our taxi to the airport for us as we weren't confident doing it ourselves. The spa was lovely and the pools were the best place to be after a day of walking and sight seeing. I'd stay here again for sure!
5
Tal- 18 Jan. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Всё
5
C G Ellison- 16 Jan. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Perfect venue for a conference, they really know how to do it. Good location on the island between Buda and Pest with walking between if you like a hood stroll. Good transport links with regular buses or the hotel will help you book a cab. My only criticism is the food. I don't eat meat and the choice is very limited if you don't. By day three I had tried everything and then onwards I had salads which was not very satisfying. Our delegates also said the good was not great but not bad enough to complain! If you are staying a couple of days and do eat meat you will have a good time.
4.8
Jelena- 16 Jan. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The amenities are amazing and makes for a quality stay. The staff was knowledgeable, pleasant, and helpful. Amenities were accessible, comfortable and bourgeois. The location was very serene and peaceful away from the bustle of the city, but only a 10 minutes drive away.
5
Olesya Ganicheva- 10 Jan. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Perfect for wellness refreshment. There is a running track 5 km on the island, you can find many secluded places in nature, suitable for yoga and meditation. The hotel has a good gym, spa and a delicious breakfast.
4.8
Julian- 01 Jan. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The comfort and charm of the hotel and lovely staff. The live music in evening in the restaurant. The beautiful quiet location on the island. The spa. Bad: Just be aware it can take at least half an hour to get to anywhere in the centre of town from here when using public transport - but the tranquility makes up for it!
4.8
Markus45- 30 Dec. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: - the location of the Hotel is perfect - people are friendly - Budapest is a famous city Bad: - nothing to be better
4.8
loupeznicek- 29 Dec. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Hotel Grand is connected with a thermal/spa/pool center by an underground tunnel, so there is no need to dress and undress when you go to the pool and back to hotel, we wore bathrobe all the time. Basic toiletries available in the room, powerful internet coverage everywhere, free breakfasts (coffee and croissant), quite sleep, quick elevators. Warm and helpful reception, organize a late departure on my request. Many thanks. Bad: Sauna (men's) needs some kind of renovation. The hotel surrounding is under heavy reconstruction works, dig outs everywhere, muddy paths especially when rain or snow.
5
Denny- 27 Dec. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Das Frühstückbufett war total lecker.Super Spa-Angebote,Super Hotel.
4.6
Iveta- 24 Dec. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very nice and quiet place, very nice spa, free Wi-Fi.
5
Traveler- 20 Dec. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Bad: I think the food quality can be improved. I always stay here and eat at the restaurant as much as I can but I was never too impressed with the menu. I liked the new look of the rooms. Renovation was done without damaging the classic look of the rooms. my favorite is the 4 USB charging plugs on the walls, 2 on each side of the bed which is a good idea. Bathroom floor heating was also added on the new room which seems nice also. There was a broken door handle in the room which seems odd since the renovation seems to be done recently. Maybe better material should have been selected there. Overall experience is positive.
5
Richard- 18 Dec. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Lovely location. Attentive staff. Value for money.
5
Anonymous- 12 Dec. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Fantastic swimming pool and thermal pool. Views of the Danube river. Wonderful green island with Roman remains.
5
Traveler- 06 Dec. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
This was an exceptional hotel, right up there with the best I have ever stayed in during 40 years of travelling. In fact it is up there with the Waldorf Astoria, Raffles (before modernisation) and the Imperial in Delhi (in the days when room service, laundry and shoe shining was the responsibility of someone sitting on a chair outside your room 24/7). Ok, maybe the rooms need a makeover (which in any case is in progress on the 3rd floor), but the Belle Epoque elegance of the public areas was glorious and the service was efficient, friendly and effective. Equally, the dining was of a very high standard, while being satisfactorily imaginative. I loved this hotel!!!
4.6
Maria- 04 Dec. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I liked the room, the bathroom was clean. The friendly staff complied with our requirements even if there was a problem between booking system and their accomodation capacity so we have to change the hotel Danubius Grand with Danubius Spa & Health which was nearby. Danubius Spa & Health was excellent! Bad: Poor hotel signaling through orientation panels in the parking entrance and after you cross the bridge.
4.8
Zacharias- 23 Nov. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget is situated on an island in the middle of Budapest. A cosmopolitan old-fashion hotel which offers free spa services useful to you after your tours to various places of Budapest. There is a bus (nr 26) which takes you in 5 minutes, due to the standing traffic jam, to the nearest metro station and from there you are free to enjoy the many interesting sights of. Budapest. A real value for money option.
5
Michael Allen- 20 Nov. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: We liked the whole atmosphere. Bad: We think it was just fine. There are always things that can be improved but we were pleased with what we received and have no suggestions here. Location Tip: It's situated on Margaret Island a beautiful park on of the most beautiful and well maintained parks in Budapest. You will love this park. This hotel is a classic Hungarian style hotel. From the very first moment the staff were helpful, courteous, and professional. The hotel itself was clean, well thought out and had all the basic amenities available. The spa was everything we expected and was a very healthy addition to our stay. We had no problems with the cleanliness. We will probably return just for a spa day, we liked it that much. We had a 5 star evening meal in the restaurant where the service was everything one would expect at a 5 star restaurant. It had a very professional staff, an excellent meal and all at a reasonable price. At least one of your meals should be there choose the classic Hungarian selections and you most certainly will be pleased. The breakfast included with out room was everything one would expect and more. We were very pleased with this it had many more quality selections than one would normally expect. All in all your stay will be a quality stay at half the normal price found here in Budapest. We have stayed in many hotels here over the years and I can say this was the best deal in town for the money. We had only one issue for those who are traveling and sightseeing. The hotel is a bit remote on an Island in the center of the river Danube but if you like walking though a beautiful park or don't mind a taxi you will have no problem with getting into town. We actually preferred the clean air, no traffic, and low level of noise surrounding the hotel.
5
Mary- 17 Nov. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Grand heritage feel with a very relaxed peaceful vibe, perfect for writers and cultural and wellness travellers
5
Jovana- 16 Nov. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: It's a sad thing that the hotel that once was a gathering place of European aristocracy, nowdays has to deal with the silly complaints of the European (and American) middle class. Yes, it has its faults (which hotel doesn't) but they are really insignificant comparing everything it offers: excellent spa facilities, nice, warm and clean rooms in the old fashion style (which is completely according to the hotel building - hope it'll stay that way) and beutiful green surroundings of the Margit Island...what more can person want. And let's be honest, if it was so luxurious and without any faults like it was used to be in the last centuries, it wouldn't be affordable to many...and it would be a pity, wouldn't it? What is most important, everything, including rooms, is exactly as shown in the pictures. There is also a parking space in front of a hotel (for a fee), you can bring your dog (also for a fee) and last, but not least, personel was really nice and helpfull, as well as the cleaning stuff (spa reception stuff could be more friendly though). Anyways, we felt good and welcomed in the hotel and have spent a nice time in Budapest (again) and we can definitely recommend it. Just enjoy this hotel and respect its tradition.
5
Nadia- 11 Nov. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: The access to the spa facilities Bad: The only access to the rest of the city was by taxi. Location Tip: An isolated location to relax and enjoy the spa. A great spacious room. The robes provided for guests to access the spa were a nice touch as was the kettle to have a fresh cup of tea in the room.
5
Traveler- 07 Nov. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Hotels.com
It was really nice for the price. High ceilings with chandeliers. They gave us free 45 minutes in their salt cave because of construction but we never heard it. Great view of the fall leaves turning on Margaret Island. To take a taxi from the airport to the hotel takes a little time and it about $37 including a $5 tip. Great spa! Better then going to the local thermal baths which are kinda gross.
4.6
Sergii- 03 Nov. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: nice spot thermal pools at a place great value for money Bad: furniture interior design
4.8
Nikolaos- 27 Oct. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: A famous hotel at a beautiful place. Spa were excellent and free of charge. The room was good enouph and we could see the river through our window. Staf were very kind and breakfast good enouph also. One night we ate at the restaurant and we injoyed good live music and good food at a very good prize. Bad: The bus (No 29) which leads to the hotel stops early at night (22.00) so you have to walk from the road (about 20 minutes) or to take a taxi.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17

Still have questions? Get in touch:

Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget **** Superior

Phone: +36-1-889-4700
Room reservation: +36 1 889 4752
Fax: +36 1 889 4988

Address:  Budapest-Margitsziget, 1007 Budapest, Hungary View map View map

E-mail:
msz.reservation@danubiushotels.com

Room reservation

+36 1 889 4752

Address:
 Budapest-Margitsziget, 1007 Budapest, Hungary View map

Email:
Send e-mail

One hotel selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

Two hotels selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

One hotel selected! One hotel seleted (3/1)

X