toggle menu

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Call us

Reviews

Hotel rating
Overall score
4.8/5
Based on 6136 reviews
Services
4.8/5
Cleaniness
4.8/5
Comfort
4.8/5
Location
4.8/5
Staff
4.8/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Did you enjoy your stay with us? Tell us about your experience!
5
Paulo Renato Marques- 29 Nov. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Very nice hotel
5
Diogo- 28 Nov. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great breakfast, great location and one of the most beautiful hotels i've been. the thermal baths are a great addition aswell Bad: Rooms a bit outdated. I could feel the springs in my matress if i was sitting in bed
5
Nikola- 27 Nov. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: historie
4.5
Stephen- 26 Nov. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Breakfast was very good however I feel that the price was a bit too much. The location is excellent, the Danau river is across the street and a beautiful green bridge near by. Quite sceenic Bad: My room was unexpectedly small. Kind of tight feeling.
5
Shon- 24 Nov. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent service, cleaning and handling. Best part about the hotel is definitely the location. You cannot get any more center than that. All transportation methods are right outside the hotel and there are a bunch of stores 3 minutes away.HIGHLY recommend. Bad: I liked everything except the pillows which were really really bad. It felt like I wasn’t sleeping on anything and it hurt my neck. However I could’ve asked for a new one and I didn’t so that one was on me.
5
Bálint Takács- 20 Nov. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Beautiful but old interior. It is going to be renovated after December 2021
4.5
Christian- 20 Nov. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location, The stunning view from 4 th floor, Stained windows, art nouveau spirit, spa, breakfast,…overall genius loci Bad: The only complaint we can think of could be the fact that the whole hotel , unfortunately, suffers from apparently very old sanitation system, which resulted in sometimes more sometimes less intensive smell.
5
Ligia- 17 Nov. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Nice old hotel, very comfortable and close to everything
4.5
Elizabeth- 16 Nov. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: location Bad: cleaning and maintenance
4.5
Hyesun- 16 Nov. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: historic architecture, space room, hot water and perfect location professional staffs are always waiting customers at the reception
5
Apostolos- 16 Nov. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel is an amazing building. You feel you stay in a place full of history! The Thermal Bath is great! The location is absolutely perfect! The beds are super comfortable! The staff is very helpful! Overall we had an amazing time and we will definitely visit the same place next time we'll be in Budapest.
5
Vitalii- 15 Nov. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Stay Bad: N/a
5
Vit Brabec- 12 Nov. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great stay, lovely hotel, perfect view, awesome breakfast. Go!
5
Easy Moving- 11 Nov. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Live decoration for movies. No changes since communism
5
Alfred- 09 Nov. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Great hotel with a beautiful view of the Danube River. Great service, good people!! Love it!!!
5
Emy- 09 Nov. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very nice and helpful staff (including everyone at the reception desk and also at the car park). Quiet courtyard room. Bad: -
4.5
Popi- 07 Nov. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very good breakfast, excellent coffee Nice view from breakfast place Excellent location Very hot room/all places inside Bad: I would prefer the receptionists to be more friendly. Not just to do the job right. More willing to help and feel this. I would like to have view to the river from my room. I thought that all rooms have view to the river.
5
Iuliia- 05 Nov. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: все
5
Dusica- 04 Nov. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: old hotel with soul. Very beautiful inside and outside Bad: everything was good
4.5
Jan- 03 Nov. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Bad: breakfast
5
Luca Porcella- 03 Nov. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
The private spa experience (around €45 for 2 people) is absolutely worth the money: you get 1.5h in a huge room with a small bathtub, a sauna, a shower and a toilet, and even a bottle of champagne to sip with your partner. I’d choose it again!
4.5
Tomasz- 02 Nov. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great view. Thanks a lot!
4.6
Eduard- 31 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great historical building. Gellert baths can be reached from the hotel. Good restaurant at the ground floor
5
thomas- 28 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
a great hotel staff very helpful fantastic breakfast this was my second stay and i will be going back
5
Valerie- 28 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
I am so glad I got to stay at this beautiful historic hotel before it closes for renovations. I love the history and the character. Staff is friendly and helpful.
5
Andrievskaia- 28 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Magnificent! Perfecto in the "bottle"!! I mean in the building!! Good choice of water treatments!!
5
nikol Beneki- 27 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Everything was simple AMAZING IN FEW WORDS.. I came alone for vacation from Athens of Greece...all people and the suff were kind and the hotel was brilliant...
5
Fernando- 25 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great...great access to spa.10 percent discount if you are staying here.
4.5
Lyda- 23 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent location Bad: beautiful place.
5
Marilyn- 20 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Wonderful location
5
VALERIA- 14 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Oh my God! The most beautiful hotel ...to charge your battery
5
Djordje- 11 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location, staff, breakfast, Gellert bath.... it cant be better than this. Bad: I could be there Little longer....
5
Carin- 10 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Kindness, rooms, clean Bad: No breakfast included
5
Ana-maria- 10 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything. Was perfect, the view from the room, the staff, it was clean, not noise. I would definitely come back to this amazing hotel. The easy access to the location by subway, train. Its very close to the center. The fact that it was a movie shooting they manage to not disturb the guests.
5
Lana- 08 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Good location, nice room with river view, delicious breakfast Bad: Except one waitress wich was acting unpolite during breakfast, everything was great for us.
5
TestChandan Bullitt1- 06 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great Hotel to stay in Budapest. Great Location.
5
Péter- 05 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel is beautiful. The view and the sunshine during breakfast is great. Bad: Only 10% discount in Gellért Fürdő.
5
Marina- 04 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We visited Budapest for a short weekend-stay. The hotel is wondefully situated just by the banks of the Danube offering wonderful views of the river and the passing ships. The rooms are very nostalgic in design, like the whole hotel. Generous in space and very clean and tidy. Very friendly and professional staff and direct access to the beautiful Gellert-Baths. Bad: The only thing I didn't like was that I couldn't get an proper ice bucket for Champagne because there was no room-service available and I had to ask at the restaurant. They had the bucket I needed but wouldn't give it to me because they said it belonged to the restaurant so I got a small one where you couldn't fit in a bottle. Every hotel should offer ice-buckets in proper size for guests. There were also some misunderstandings concerning the Gellert-Bath. You do need bathing-slippers for accessing the baths as well as a bathing-cap for the swimming-pool. The hotel offers just bathrobes and towels, no slippers and no caps. We had to buy them at the bath. Perhaps it would be better to inform guests before arrival what is needed to get access to the bath to avoid further unpleasant surprises.
5
Amer- 03 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Bra Bad: Bra
5
Chaichana Tosuwancharoen- 02 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Very unique and most beautiful hotel in Budapest
5
CHANDAN KUMAR PRADHAN- 02 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great Hotel at great location 👍
5
Fernando DS- 02 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
History ...be ready for the history...great breakfast. Very clean and huge rooms ..like the Soviet rooms 40 years back ...great piece of history...
5
Susanna Rosa- 30 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Was not a Leto soak in the bathtuall days I stayed because it would result to extreme flooding on the floors
5
Zoltan- 27 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location, in house spa, breakfast Bad: It’s a bit outdated, but I guess that just adds to it charm
5
Kristina- 26 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: great service and location. balcony view is stunning. stuff is extremely helpful. Bad: old shabby rooms
5
Algirdas- 26 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Absolutely everything I liked. Staff, breakfast, dinner, my bed, views from the windows, cleanliness and everything else... Bad: There was nothing not to like. Amazing hotel.
5
Anonymous- 26 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: . Bad: .
5
Miklos- 25 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: very well organised with COVID cleaning and safety. staff are pleasant and breakfast was superb. Bad: Baths / massages always fully booked, so expected to use the facilities, but in the end we did not get to use any!! We were there for 6 days, so not a good reflection on the hotel if their own guests can’t book the spa facilities and enjoy them!!
5
Barbara- 20 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Had no breakfast
4.5
Jones- 19 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Fantastic building with loads of character. Ideal location.
5
Elena- 18 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: view style stuff
5
Wicek Bogusz- 17 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Super.
5
Agoritsa- 15 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Perfect!!!
5
bill gamias- 13 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Perfect...
4.5
Gabor- 12 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Nicely kept up historic hotel with direct access to fantastic spa, view to the Danube and proximity to the city
5
Andrius- 07 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excelent location. Hop on hope off bus stop right in front of hotel Good and rich breakfast Bad: Smell of old time most comfortable hotel. Could be irritating for younger quests. This is not fashion hotel or modern one.
4.5
Ruth- 05 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We loved the old elegant building with the art nouveau decor. We enjoyed the beautiful old spa. The location was great. Bad: The ATM machine took 20% above what it changed for us!
4.5
Mircea- 04 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: totul a fost excelent
5
Ionel- 04 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Last century’s flair.
5
Arlen- 02 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
X
5
Sonja- 31 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: --- Bad: ---
5
Marius Soporan- 26 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
I really enjoyed our stay here, position is amazing, the building and the spa. The breakfast just we needed. Thanks to the staff (all of them).
5
Ioana- 24 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Amazing architecture of the city and hotel itself made me feel like i traveled back in time.
5
David- 23 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Classic Features , good location Bad: Nothing
5
Lawrence- 22 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: the breakfast is delicious so I enjoyed it very much. The room is very cozy and I am able to relax in such comfort, plus the bed is very cozy so I am able to sleep in. The hotel itself is amazing, mainly because of the splendid architecture and it has a lot to offer.
5
Anonymous- 21 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Totul
4.5
Oleksiy- 17 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Bad: Bathroom
5
Aleksandar- 15 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great breakfast, very friendly staff.
5
Joel Degenstein- 14 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great Historic Hotel. Great location to river and castle hill. Having the Gellert Spa next door is a real bonus. We'd stay here again for sure. Good value for money. We stayed here one night before our Viking Romantic Danube Cruise started in Budapest in August of 2021.
4.5
Hairstore- 10 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: atmosphere :) Bad: Blowdryer was missing
5
Мария Мачуская- 10 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Very nice hotel! Wonderful architecture. Comfortable placement. The best staff! We stayed at the hotel at the end of July. There were air conditioners in our room and the room of our friends. Big rooms. Comfortable beds. Lovely view! The hotel has a special spirit! Want to say "Thank you" to the receptionists, who helped us in any questions!
5
I- 09 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I loved it here! This hotel was built in the beginning of the 20 century. The hotel kept the style, the rooms are big, great for a waltzing. The view is wonderful. We will be back! Bad: There was some water falling in the balcony from the air conditioner from 2 stores above, and we couldn' enjoy a part of the balcony.
5
Krisztian Vujevic- 08 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Perfect ✌🥂🥂🥂
4.5
Ayana- 07 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Splendid location, astonishingly beautiful views from the room, welcoming, helpful and very supportive hotel staff! Really appreciated all of the kind support I've received throughout my stay at this beautiful hotel on the blue Danube! :) Thank You!
5
Mihnea- 07 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Wonderful decorations, good breakfast, convenient access to spa area, superb view to the Danube.
5
Mihnea Lazăr- 07 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Wonderful place, great location, direct access to the spa, professional staff, reasonable prices.
4.5
Gianpaolo- 06 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel is in a very good position with direct access to the historical thermal bath. It still has an ancient charm from the cold war period, that is appreciable to who visited Budapest more than 30 years ago (as I did). Bad: Furnitures are quite old and the hotel is at half service during to the covid restrictions (very few customers). The property recently changed and I have been informed that the hotel will be deeply renovated starting from November 2021 (it will be closed for month). Looking forward to the great reopening!
5
Jean-michel- 04 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Chambre spacieuse et confortable. Hotel is superb and next to wonderful baths with outdoor and indoor swimming pool and thermal waters. Bad: peu d'isolation phonique de la chambre avec la salle de réunion juste à côté
5
David- 03 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The atmosphere
5
Kevin- 01 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The place has a grandeur now gone w the wind. I imagined i was living in a time period w much more poise and decorum than we find today. Great breakfast. An additional coffee machine would help. Alternatively increase the "pour" size to eliminate having to go back to coffee machine. Bad: No a/c and it hit 96F. Cross breeze as corner room helped.
4.5
Ivana- 29 Jul. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great art noveau hotel with unique view and great spa. The hotel has great historical atmosphere. Breakfast was great with variety of fruits, cheese, spreads, sausages, warm breakfast, coffees and tea. Personal were very net and helpful. Room were nice and tidy. You get 10% discount for the spa. Bad: The great disadvantage is aircondition which is noisy and not very well function. Bed was not very comfortable because it was soft and old. But these things will get better after total reconstruction which will start in tree months. Parking is a little bit chalengous, because there are just 10 parking places in front of the hotel- if there are no free space you need to park in parkhouse or on the street which are 300m away. if you are parking on the street you need to pay with app which is only in hungarian or with many coins in total amount 3500huf per day.
5
David W- 28 Jul. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
This hundred year old Hotel is perfectly located to explore Budapest! The rooms are nice and comfortable. Ask for a River View room, the view is wonderful. Three of those have a large balcony, which is perfect for an evening drink and cigar. :) Note: As is common in traditional European hotels, these rooms are NOT air conditioned. They have copious windows and a fan. The river-view rooms get a lot of sun. While the shady side rooms, and the common areas were quite cool, even in July, The 2 days when the temp got up around 30c, it was a bit warm. The rest of the time it was fine. The world-famous Gellért Baths are located in the facility. The famous Hungarian "Statue of Freedom" and Freedom Bridge are literally across the street. Most of the must-see sights are within walking distance, or use the electric scooters that are always nearby (I prefer "Lime", as they are most prevalent.). Local Bus and Metro stops are also right next to the hotel, as well.
4.5
Schad- 25 Jul. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The restaurant outside Bad: No air conditioning
5
Alex Gö- 22 Jul. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Top
5
juan acevedo- 21 Jul. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Nice hotel
5
Medeu Zheksenbaev- 21 Jul. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Good 👍👍👍
5
George- 21 Jul. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very beautiful oldfashion hotel in an excelent location!
5
Crişan- 19 Jul. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything Bad: -
4.5
Johanna- 18 Jul. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The view is amazing❤️ Bad: Loud AC
4.5
Erika- 14 Jul. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: fantastic location, very good breakfast. My room was very spacious and clean. Bad: unfortunately the hotel restaurant was closed due to the covid regulation. The Brasserie local had good food but the service was slow. the taxi service arranged by the Hotel did overcharge me a bit too much.
5
Sonia- 14 Jul. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location, classicism of the hotel, big areas reminding the old grand hotels, the view over Danube it's amazing. Not the first neither the last time we stay there. Bad: I loved everything.
5
Tekt Audio (Nemanja Stošić)- 13 Jul. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
I wanted to see this hotel as a teenager, because I played a lot of the game ,,Hitman: Codename 47'', and dove into it. Finally, I went there in 2005 during excursion in Budapest, and saw the building. The name of the hotel in the game was named ,,Gallard'', but I found out the real name pretty easy back then. Wonderful hotel, not a big difference in live, which is great, so I was more than happy when saw it.
5
Pal Fredrick- 19 Jun. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Ole allegiance. Wonderful staff. 2 nice cafe/restaurant. Stayed 2015. Views of Duna river. Lot's of places to walk to. On a bus line, and staff will call for a cab, they speak English! Wonderful
5
Manoj Singh- 01 Apr. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Castle look, Vintage Hotel in Budapest, Breakfast is amazing, good thermal bath facility nearby. views and location of this is one of the best !!!
5
Johanna- 09 Nov. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The view of the room (superior with river view) is amazing. Great stay in a hotel with bright history in its building.
5
Martin- 27 Oct. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The building is absolutely mind-blowing. Staying adjacent to the Gellert spa is a hedonistic bonus. Bad: The amenities & room equipment are surprisingly quite spartan. No mini bar. No wine glasses. But what really disappointed me what not being offered slippers in the room - which is especially strange given the single use ones cost literally nothing. And you are in a spa hotel. Where you are given a bathrobe, but no slippers? And you end up paying 5 eur for a pair at the spa reception.
5
Ákos- 26 Oct. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Tökéletes !!!
5
Simon Aldan- 24 Oct. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Nice friendly staff, good breakfast. Retro style rooms. Complimentary one time pass to the famous baths/spa.
5
Anonymous- 25 Sep. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The view was amazing. The staff was kind. Bad: No
5
Rod- 24 Sep. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Fantastic value, beautiful classic hotel, location perfect and of course the Gellert Baths. Staff was very accommodating. Bad: Rooms are a bit outdated but great layout and clean.

Still have questions? Get in touch:

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Phone: +36-1-889-5500
Room reservation: +36 1 889 5501
Fax: +36 1 889 5505

Address: 2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map View map

Room reservation

+36 1 889 5501

Address:
2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map

Email:
Send e-mail

One hotel selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

Two hotels selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

One hotel selected! One hotel seleted (3/1)

X