toggle menu

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Call us

Reviews

Hotel rating
Overall score
4.8/5
Based on 6026 reviews
Services
4.8/5
Cleaniness
4.8/5
Comfort
4.8/5
Location
4.8/5
Staff
4.8/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Did you enjoy your stay with us? Tell us about your experience!
5
Peter- 16 Oct. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Bad: The food and plate was cold
5
Ana Patrícia Monteiro- 15 Oct. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
Charming, with elegant old style. The staff from the cafe is very friendly and the desserts just delicious!
5
Josephine- 15 Oct. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Breakfast excellent, ombiouance was good, central for our needs, overall a lovely hotel Bad: No coffee / tea making facilities in rooms,
5
Richard- 01 Oct. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Perfect location. Wonderful breakfast. Room had a view of the Liberty Bridge, and the staff were attentive to every request.
5
Traveler- 01 Oct. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
I like the Gellert Hotel very much. Its style is more traditional than ultra-modern hotels, but this reflects its distinguished history. It has a civilized atmosphere which should appeal to the more discerning visitor. Despite its vintage, it has all modern facilities. The location could not be better - a splendid base from which to explore Budapest. Despite being very central, it is quiet. All the staff are friendly, helpful and professional. I enjoyed my time with them, and I am very keen to return. I will certainly stay there again when I next visit Budapest. I fully recommend this excellent hotel.
5
pam- 29 Sep. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: The historical feeling. Bad: I would like the surfaces to be dusted daily. Location Tip: Central to most things I walk everywhere but you can take the metro or tram. I loved staying at the Gellert hotel, warm wecome by the reception staff, no problem with check in. I was allocated a room overlooking the Danube River and I was able to see the river all lit up at night and the sunrise in the morning. The room has been recorated and has air conditioning mobile unit in it. The hotel is easy to get to on the public transport from the airport. There is metro and trams outside the hotel the public transport is very cheap in compassion to the UK. The hotel serves great breakfast, has a nice bar, coffee shop, evening dinner is served most evenings and there is a bistro too. If you want anything else to eat there are lots of other places to eat within a short distance. The main shops and the central market can be found over the bridge. There is a handy little shop across the road that is open till 10pm. You will find this hotel has on of the best SPA please allow yourself time to explore it. I am a frequent visitor at the Gellert and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, if you like interesting historical place to live, it's clean and they are working hard to recorate the rooms. Stayed September 2016, travelled solo and will be back in few weeks.
4.8
Susan- 27 Sep. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel had a lot of period charm. Great breakfast. Very comfortable rooms and the added bonus of the thermal baths. Bad: Nothing
5
Gordon- 25 Sep. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Service, class, history and comfort. It was like living in a palace. Large rooms and hallways, beautiful staircases. Bad: Nothing at all. It was fantastic!
5
Pam Moore- 25 Sep. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
I love staying at the Gellert, from the time I enter the lobby I am greeted like a friend and the staff can will always be happy to help. The breakfast is really good lots of healthy choice as well as the treats. This time I was not able to chew my food as I got a bad ear infection so they made me a smoothie with the raw ingredients that were on offer. The emergecy Doctor was called out and he arrived quickly and was very thorough with his emamination and prescribed me the me ... dicines I needed, I stayed in room 206 it has been recorated with fantastic view of the river. It was good to see the sunrise every morning and enjoy the sun on the balcony. This hotel is very close to the shops and you can go to the Church in the hill next door if you are up to walking up the Gellert hill it's a good place to start, you can walk down the other side and end up either by the suspension bridge where you can see St Gellert and the water fall or by the Castle area. Gellert the best place to stay as its so convient to the metro line 4 and the trams are just by the hotel. I stay there around 3-5 times every year since 2011.
5
Stojan- 24 Sep. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location. Cleanness. Bit dated furniture, but well maintained. Magnificent termal spa - two inside hot pools, one regular, one outside pool with waves (!); we were lucky with weather, so we used outside termal pool 36 celsius. Nice massage parlour, with tai massage, affordable 45eur per one hour. Very good breakfast, juice and coffee from machine, though. Room 221 on the 2nd floor facing Danube, real deal - do not take inside rooms, uncomparable. Pleasent and profesional staff. Hotel is like an old lady who needs a bit more make up before going out :). Very polite concierge, provided me with a parking spot infront of the hotel. Recomendation.
5
Anthony Prosser- 24 Sep. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
Very good service good breakfast the hot spas were great easy access to both sides of river and public transport only downside was no big doonas just 2 single but overall tops recommend to everyone
5
Lia- 23 Sep. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: a good atmosphere at the hotel. breakfast ,term tube, high sealing cleanest. Bad: more friendful stuff at the terms, not at hotel.
4.8
Cornelius- 20 Sep. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: great location and thermak baths on site Bad: could be noisy with windows open.
5
Lorant- 20 Sep. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Huge rooms with magnificent view. Historical building with spirit. The staff is amazing very helpfull. Bad: Nothing
4.8
Tony- 15 Sep. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The spa was wonderful 1st visit is free half price after that a great experience .good breakfast and we were very well looked after.
5
Traveler- 15 Sep. 2016
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
We had an excellent visit. Went to the spa multiple times. Reception desk was very helpful and polite.
5
Keats349- 11 Sep. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Lovely old hotel, classic in ever way. The staff was extrodinary, the location perfect....on the Badda side of the green bridge. We walked to everything.
5
Anonymous- 08 Sep. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location
4.6
David- 08 Sep. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very friendly and courteous staff. The value for the money was excellent. There is amazing artwork and stained and leaded glass throughout this hotel - amazing! Bad: Wanted to see all the exquisite stained and leaded glass throughout the hotel lit, but I understand the expense.
5
Traveler- 04 Sep. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Stayed 4 amazing nights on a gem of a hotel with a beautiful view of Liberty Bridge and the Danube. A short walk to the centre and most amenities. Beautiful hotel and Spa.
4.8
Karen- 03 Sep. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The gastropub was divine! The pools and thermal baths were total luxury. One of the most enjoyable stays ever in a hotel :-) Bad: Air conditioning unit very noisy.
5
Risto Kujala- 01 Sep. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Hesy good hotel but litle bit noicy of traffic. Very good breakfast and very polite staff.
4.8
Steven- 30 Aug. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The spa Staff helpful and knowledgeable Architecture Relaxed atmosphere (not stuffy) Bad: Needs coffee / tea facilities in the room
5
Therese von Hackwitz- 29 Aug. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Gellert is beautiful and romantic! We went there for a lunch and to have a look at the bathhouse, which was really beautiful.
4.6
Alice- 27 Aug. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: spacious room with balcony and view on the pool, easy access to pool, very nice breakfast, pleasant and helpful staff, Bad: nothing
5
Charlie- 23 Aug. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This is an hotel is old and it showed in certain areas but this only added to the character. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was excellent and the location was ideal. Be sure to avail of the baths at the rear of the hotel; they're a great way to relax after a couple of days sight seeing.
4.8
Adrian- 19 Aug. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: the bed was so comfy, staff were really helpful and was greatly situated would defo visit again Bad: the few cock roaches I see :(
5
Dariusz- 19 Aug. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Super
5
Sarah- 18 Aug. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Brilliant hotel, the staff were friendly, breakfast was good and overall a magnificent stay with a good location and excellent views. I requested before hand if we could have a room with a balcony so my Grandmother could have a nice view if she decided to retreat to the room early after a tiring day and we were given a large room with an amazing view as requested! Only thing missing was some tea/ coffee making facilities in the room.
5
Adrian- 15 Aug. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Treated amazingly! Bad: Absolutely nothing.
5
Karen- 14 Aug. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Fabulous location – accommodating staff – fabulous spa and massage therapist – rooms are older and in need of service but all of the other things compensated for this – fabulous day Bad: Fabulous location – accommodating staff – fabulous spa and massage therapist – rooms are older and in need of service but all of the other things compensated for this – fabulous stay!
4.8
George- 13 Aug. 2016
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel had old charm and the stsff were very helpfull and respectfull. Not to mention a wonderfull spa. Bad: All well. No complaints.
5
Adriana- 10 Aug. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We loved everything. Location, staff, City, and of course food!
4.6
Rosie- 09 Aug. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Service was fantastic, warm and welcoming, location brilliant, breakfast amazing, spa absolutely unbelievable - we loved all these things and only alert you to the negative comments because we feel that it would really be to your advantage to deal with these issues to make your destination even better than it already is. Our stay was a real restorative see you soon. Bad: The cockroaches. They were in the bedroom, the bathroom, the dining room and the public bathroom areas - sorry but we found them in all these places and heard other guests talking about this too - I know they're everywhere in the world but they were very visible here. Also the restaurant dinner was terrible - the venue is so fantastic that it could really be a gourmet destination but not with that food would never eat there again.
5
Barbara- 09 Aug. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I was given an 8th floor single room with a little stone balcony with a lovely view of the river and Gellert Hill. (The balcony allowed me to smoke without 'infecting' the room or having to leave the premises.) The room was clean, well-appointed, sizeable though not luxurious - but I was exceptionally pleased by the amenities and service for the price paid. Public access interiors lovely. Access to the on-site Gellert baths/spa was a delicious extra that added a sense of pampering to my tour of E.Europe. Staff were unfailingly helpful - in English - and gave tips that saved me time and mistakes. Right at a metro stop and convenient tram lines. Highly recommended! Don't do the big dull downtown hotels when this is available!
5
Linda- 06 Aug. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
This hotel is a treasure. It is an old world experience in modern times. The setting was breathtaking. The hotel is on Margaret Island, which is an oasis in the middle of Budapest. We quickly learned to use public transportation to get to the other sites and restaurants of Budapest. The spa was fun. The nightly gypsy music in the restaurant downstairs wafted up through our open window adding greatly to our relaxing evening. Walk around the lush island, enjoy the other restaurant at the water tower, jog on the padded trail, rent a bike or pedal car, eat gelato, lay or play on the grassy areas, dip in the spa pool. We will return.
4.8
Anonymous- 02 Aug. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: to have the the famous spa almost for myself in the early morning! special atmosphere in the hotel - varied breakfast buffet Bad: a bit hot in the room, but a fan made it bearable
5
Neill- 02 Aug. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
Great hotel, don't expect modern it's classic with a lot of charm. Great choice for breakfast and the perfect location to explore the city.
5
Peter- 31 Jul. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Good atmosphere, with relaxed, polite efficient service, in a unique, beautiful building, and all that in beautiful, convenient location. Added to this, access to the historic spa makes it just a perfect stay. Bad: Service at breakfast peak times seams a bit chaotic. The roadworks across the road were a nuisance at the time of our stay.
4.8
Petra- 28 Jul. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The wide selection offered at breakfast was great, with healthy options like eggs, fruits and veggies included. The outdoor pools are great when staying there in the summer, it can get really hot and humid in Budapest in July and August. Bad: There's no air conditioning, but the fans in the room can provide some cooling effect which makes it ok for the night.
5
Alex Stangsky- 28 Jul. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google+ Local
a stay to remember , very welcome and very clean , had a great time , thx
4.8
John- 26 Jul. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: great history and location Bad: little bit dirty round the edges
4.8
Raitis- 26 Jul. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: View from windows was amazing.
4.8
Michael- 26 Jul. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: excellent staff.excellent breakfast Bad: no teafacilities in room
4.6
Michael- 26 Jul. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location, great staff, great spa. Coming back next year!!
5
Traveler- 25 Jul. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
No Air Conditioning nor room safe. Hotel staff very accomodating but hotel needs refreshing
5
HUGH- 16 Jul. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Delightful stay at this icon. I got a very good price online and was looking forward rto staying at this famous historical hotel. The room, hoeever, smelled of sulphur. i figured this was from the mineral baths. The baths themselves hasd no smell. It seemed like the exhasut from the abths went straight into my room. No matter it was wonderful to stay at the Gellert and I will do it again!
5
Hilde- 14 Jul. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Good location, beautifull old hotel
4.6
Leila- 14 Jul. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Good location and staf. Very good breakfast. Bad: Hotell needs a bit of face lift but it is in the midle of it. In July we missed air condicion.
5
Jessica- 12 Jul. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Lovely charm to the place
4.6
Anne- 11 Jul. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Public areas are great. Room was comfortable with an amazing view over the Danube and Freedom Bridge. We got upgraded to a suite. Restaurant food mostly great and good service. Breakfast buffet had good choice available. Enjoyed visit to spa, which was included in the booking. Bad: The decor in room was dated and in need of refurbishment. My beef cheek was very tough but sent it back and ordered kebab instead which was delicious. Given complimentary dessert in apology.
5
A B M- 11 Jul. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Hotels.com
The hotel architecture was absolutely amazing!!!! Stunning thermal baths and very helpful and friendly staff I imagine this is most definitely the nicest and most interesting hotel to stay in,in the whole of Budapest I would definitely be recommending this hotel to everyone!!
4.8
Hilzzee- 10 Jul. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location and access to the Spa
5
charlotta- 09 Jul. 2016
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
Wonderful hotel, old, grand and charming! Would stay there again!
5
Peter- 07 Jul. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: we like the beautiful old building with traditional fittings and the friendly relaxed atmosphere, with easy access to the spa. Bad: The roadworks outside at the moment do make a lot of noise and dust.
5
Ian- 03 Jul. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Bad: Not having decent air conditioning systems
5
Lucy- 26 Jun. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Centrally locatated, spa access and nice breakfast. Bad: There was a lot of construction work outside the hotel, the noise seem to start about 4am which woke us up every day. The pillows needed more feathers in them, bath was a it narrow, Air conditioning would of been good.xx
5
Nicholas- 25 Jun. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Hotel presence/location is stunning - easy walk across bridge into the city. Staff very professional and polite. Breakfast/restaurant first class. Memorable.
5
Judith- 20 Jun. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location, friendly and helpful staff, magnificent view from our room. I will recommend this hotel to family and friends if travelling to Budapest
5
Vanessa- 18 Jun. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Incredible breakfast beautiful spa and views and food and and and Bad: The restaurant was shut one night but they didn't tell us there were other wonderful eating options ... We found them but it would have been good to be informed
4.8
jenodea- 12 Jun. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I loved the thermal pools next to the hotel and that we could access them from within the hotel. There was a reduction in the cost of the baths for hotel guests I liked the location. Very close to tourist bus stop, local trams and the gorgeous views over the Danube. As a solo traveller I found the area was clean green and I felt safe walking round at night or travelling on the tram which stopped directly in front of the hotel! I love the art nouveau period so was enchanted by all the retained features in the hotel and the original thermal pools Bad: The hotel did not provide body lotion. I had to pay for a pair of slippers as it's compulsory to wear something like this when accessing the pools! Remind your travellers to bring a bathing cap (also compulsory) and indoor plastic thongs. They did have shower caps but these were not replaced after use. They did provide dressing gowns!. These were only minor dislikes though. Breakfast was adequate and plentiful but I had to pay extra for orange juice and espresso coffee. Again this was a minor complaint
5
Renate- 12 Jun. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Hotels.com
The best about staying at this hotel was that we could easily enter the Gellert Thermal Bath, which I really can recommend. Secondly the staff was really friendly and helpful. And the food was excellent; both breakfast and the big Sunday brunch! I also liked the location; the hotel isn't in the middle of the touristy area, but at the same time Vaci Street and surroundings are only a short walk away. The only negative to mention would be the hotel room, that was no more than average. It should have been aircondition or at least a better airflow system in our room.
5
Christopher- 11 Jun. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Danubius Gellert is a fine place to stay, located just perfect if you want travel within Budapest to be simple. They give you an old key with a huge medallion attached. You have the option of leaving it with them for the day. I should recommend the restaurant attached - good food options. Also, hiking Gellert hill is next door, plus ease of access to public transportation across the street. The attendants are working hard and were of good help.
4.6
Anonymous- 10 Jun. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Beautiful historical spa complex is amazing. It is a truly authentic experience to stay here. Bad: Music in the restaurant didn't match the delicious food and historic setting.
5
Aronwen McKenzie- 08 Jun. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
We had a memorable stay at the beautiful Gellert. The hotel is slightly shabby but personally I hope it stays that way as too many changes could spoil it. The staff were exceptional and of course the lovely Art Deco spa was the icing on the cake. We fell in love with the Gellert and with Budapest.
5
Sebastian Coroiu- 08 Jun. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
It's magic ❤️ ❤️ ❤️
5
Lynne Gradwell Smith- 07 Jun. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
This is a beautiful Art Deco hotel with amazing views and incredible spa baths. Great value includes a delicious and amazing variety for breakfast. The Green line station is right out side and an easy walk to Pest and the famous food market. Staff very friendly and helpful.
4.8
Lucy- 02 Jun. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This hotel is incredible. Yes the interiors are very retro, there is a real 50's feel to the place, but this is surely part of the charm. If you want a characterless glass box hotel then this isn't for you I guess. Incredibly nice and helpful staff. Comfy rooms. Free use of the world famous Gellert spa was an unexpected bonus. Varied and very very tasty options in the breakfast buffet. Was a dream weekend. Would recommend to anyone. Bad: Nothing.
5
Larisa- 01 Jun. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The easy access to the Spa at the reduced price. Exceptionally fabulous breakfasts. With the Metro line being constructed – it is really simple to reach this hotel from the train station. Metro station and the grocery store located across the street. Bad: Not a thing.
5
Graham- 31 May. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent few days at the hotel. Bad: N/A
4.6
Anonymous- 31 May. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The breakfast was really good and had a lot of choice. The personnel is really nice. It's a beautiful hotel. Bad: The bed could have been more comfortable and the room was a bit small.
5
Angela Boyd- 30 May. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
Stayed here for my honeymoon & we both fell in love with this place. No bland, soulless chain hotel interior here your staying in history & it's wonderful. The Spa is amazing, great location within the city, staff are so helpful & friendly & the breakfast on offer is delicious. You are indeed thee Grand Hotel Budapest, please don't ever change!
5
Sue- 29 May. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: everything from hotel to location was great, would stay again if in Budapest Bad: Could of had tea coffee making facilities in room
4.6
Robert- 27 May. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The architecture of the hotel, its position on the Danube and the attached spa were excellent. Bad: The bathroom and toilet required an upgrade.
5
ali- 27 May. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: It's old world charm. Great food. Excellent value . Central location . Bad: The ensuite bathrooms. A few pictures in the bedroom corridors perhaps to soften the appearance. Location Tip: Perfect location for sightseeing. Trams available just outside the hotel. take a trip on a river boat down the Danube Had a wonderful city break in this hotel right in the centre of Budapest. We had a room overlooking the Danube , Liberty bridge and the cave church. So much to see. A wonderfully charming hotel with excellent restaurants and bars. The ensuite bathrooms could do with a bit of updating and the bedroom corridors were austere to say the least. Staff were helpful and friendly .
4.6
Robert- 27 May. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The architecture of the hotel, its position on the Danube and the attached spa were excellent. Bad: The bathroom and toilet required an upgrade.
4.6
Jill and Clive- 27 May. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The architecture of the hotel, its position on the Danube and the attached spa were excellent. Bad: The bathroom and toilet required an upgrade.
4.6
David- 25 May. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Love the hotel. Buffett was great. Workers were excellent. My message is of the 1 of the best I ever had. Only thing I wood have to comment on is. The hotel is noisy. Loud music I the morning and can hear ppl walking in halls. But I wood definitely come back.
4.6
Michael- 25 May. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The breakfast was excellent and the location of the hotel could no have been better Bad: The room could have done with some air conditioning.
5
victor- 24 May. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: convenience as far as location and usage of the thermal pools. Bad: a good face-lift for the interior. Location Tip: all public transportation just a step from the main entrance. The food was excellent both at breakfast and the restaurants as well.
5
Margarete- 23 May. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Just a great hotel.
5
Vbc- 20 May. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This was my second visit to Hungary, and I stayed at the Gellert again. I particularly requested a river view room when I booked - the river is beautiful during the day and at night. My room was lovely and spacious. I did not have time to visit the spa during my stay this time, but the large bath tub and aromatic bath gel was a pretty good substitute. From my previous stay, I knew that the room service breakfast was excellent, and I certainly was not disappointed this time around. Bad: I appreciated the WiFi, although sometimes it seemed to be slow on my iPad.
5
Traveler- 19 May. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Very kind staff. They went out of their way to fix us an early morning snack since we had an early flight. The taxi was also there early for our pick up. The hotel is very quaint and located close to the market. Loved the Hungarian bath house.
5
Sue- 19 May. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: The charm of the hotel inside and from outside. and the perfect location. Bad: The corridor carpets could do with an ugrade. Location Tip: Location was on Buda side of the Liberty Bridge. A stroll across that lovely bridge over the Danube, add we were right at the famous Central Market, Fantastic location on river, huge charm and ambience. Located at end of the lovely Liberty Bridge. THE best place to stay. Quirky old hotel, with one free access to their Thermal Baths. The entire Spa floor was marvellous, beautiful baths and swiming pools with wonderful arched ceilings. Hotel included big buffet breakfasts. The single rooms furnished with old style furniture, nice size room, quaint atmosphere. Staff all spoke perfect English, and were very helpful. We stayed in May when weather was perfect, cooler outside and in. However, our single rooms did not have AC, so I wonder what happens in the heat of the summer!
4.6
Dora- 17 May. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great staff and spa entry. Good location and good sized room. Bad: Was a bit cold at night could have done with an extra blanket.
5
James- 17 May. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Loved the old school feel. Service was top notch. Staff very friendly and efficient. River views were lovely. Bad: No in room tea and coffee facilities.
5
Darren- 17 May. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Excellent hotel, full of character.
4.8
Talvikki- 15 May. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The art noveau hotel was amazing. The hotel staff very polite and precise. My room was very beautiful and overall the hotel is what I would use also for vacation. The breakfast was perfect. Everything went very smoothly and nice. Bad: I had superior room with the view to Danube river, but unfortunately the first night I could sleep just few hours for the noise. It was found out that they had forgotten the airconditioning machine from my room. There was a hole on the wall. The next day when I complained in the morning of the noise and wanted to change the room, they had placed the machine and it hided the voices from trams and traffic.
5
John- 15 May. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: All of it.Service food at breakfast and dinning areas first class good choice. Bad: A longer stay
5
Jean- 15 May. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Everything... Bad: Dinner menu was a bit pricey. Location Tip: Close to restaurants, cafes, gift shops, Central Market and Metro Beautiful, old world hotel. Staff was extremely helpful. Rooms were large, comfortable, pool/baths were excellent.
5
Fran- 14 May. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Budapest is a fabulous city. Our hotel was e celled value for money.
4.6
Jon P.- 14 May. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Agoda
This hotel is a classic. It needs a little TLC and maitenance and the front desk staff was a bit upity and not all that helpfull. Everyone else at the hotel was fantastic. The breakfast was escellent and overall, I would not hesitate to stay there again.
4.6
James- 12 May. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The bed was very comfortable, the staff were very helpful and friendly. The Bistro was excellent in quality and service as was the coffee shop and the Spa was spectacular. Bad: The bathroom was quite old and needed renewal, the room cleaning was adequate, but perfunctory.
4.8
Anonymous- 10 May. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The authenticity of the building (Art Deco), the vicinity to the city centre, the location at the foot of the Gellert Hill beside the Danube, the thermal baths, food Bad: There was nothing we disliked.
5
Patricia- 10 May. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
The perfect stay! I loved everything about the hotel - the staff were outstanding, the vibe was incredible, the food was delicious and the free access to the historic thermal baths was brilliant! I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Budapest!!
5
Richard- 10 May. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Breakfast choices were excellent. Spa / pools were good Bad: Breakfast was a bit chaotic but with so many people in the dining room it was understandable. Not a major issue. You could eat on the terrace but it wasn't that obvious to begin with
4.6
Andrii- 09 May. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Sometimes you can get an amazing offers for Gellert via booking and other hotel sites, if you're up for a spa break: this place is ideal, cause you get free entrance to bath (around 20 EUR tk worth), free parking in front of hotel (at least i wasn't charged) AND generous breakfasts served straight to your room, not to mention the prime location. Bad: Don't expect much of glam inside: rooms are very basic and rather small, interiors are dated but one can view it as new vintage, Gellert is a landmark, so the age and history should only be appreciated.
5
Sergey- 06 May. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Bad: I think there is a big trouble in summer time. there is no air conditions in room Location Tip: Everything is close to the hotel, include public transport. Very beautiful hotel in perfect place. Friendly staff, nice breakfast, amazing bath.
5
Narinder- 03 May. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent breakfast - great choice of food and drinks.
5
Susie- 02 May. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff were lovely and the thermal baths were superb. Highly recommend the facials!

Still have questions? Get in touch:

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Phone: +36-1-889-5500
Room reservation: +36 1 889 5501
Fax: +36 1 889 5505

Address: 2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map View map

Room reservation

+36 1 889 5501

Address:
2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map

Email:
Send e-mail

One hotel selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

Two hotels selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

One hotel selected! One hotel seleted (3/1)

X