toggle menu

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Call us

Reviews

Hotel rating
Overall score
4.8/5
Based on 6026 reviews
Services
4.8/5
Cleaniness
4.8/5
Comfort
4.8/5
Location
4.8/5
Staff
4.8/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Did you enjoy your stay with us? Tell us about your experience!
5
Anne- 19 Oct. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This is a beautiful historic hotel with character, style and class. The adjoining thermal spa facilities were amazing, as was the buffet breakfast in the beautiful ballroom overlooking the Danube River.
4.8
Dragos- 19 Oct. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything was very good! Additionally, I appreciate very much the kindness and flexibility of the staff. I will come back with pleasure also in the future. Bad: -
5
Budapest- 17 Oct. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Excellent location, short walk to centre and main tourist attractions. Location Tip: centre location, short walk to central market and vaci utca (fashion street). Pros: Nice City, hotel location is very close to city centre and main tourist attractions, very friendly staff. The thermal bath is a must visit. Generous breakfast with large variety to choose from Cons: very limited parking space
5
Tony- 16 Oct. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: 1. Staff 2. General ambiance 3. Facilities 4. Breakfasts Bad: Tea/coffee making facilities within room Location Tip: Beautiful location. Easy to reach attractions on foot by public transport. Staff will book excursions, tickets and airport transport. Hotel situated on the banks of the Danube with easy access to all attractions by metro, tram or on foot. Excellent and helpful staff who spoke good English. Hotel adjacent to one of the famous thermal baths of Budapest. Very good breakfasts included in the deal.
5
Susan- 13 Oct. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The atmosphere, professionalism and sense of history. I stayed here a lot up to 2005, and it has not changed. Bad: Nothing!
5
Anonymous- 12 Oct. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location, charming art nouveau decor, wonderful thermal pools and spa. The food in the bistro was delicious. Bad: It's a little tired. A reno would make it a spectacular destination.
5
Robert- 11 Oct. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location, breakfast, spa, service & comfortable beds.
4.6
Anonymous- 10 Oct. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very friendly, cleaners did an excellent job, as did all the staff breakfast was great evening meal excellent, and facilities amazing the baths were stunning Thanks for an amazing holiday would be delighted to stay there again. Bad: Everything excellent apart from I thought the room was tatty as carpet coming up and frayed severely, and the ceiling lamp was not screwed into the ceiling properly and the bed was not comfortable as it seemed a little short and had a small raised headboard where my feat needed to go. The carpet in the corridors needed attention as well, but at least the older fittings were obviously very solid and well made not like new cheaper low quality fittings. The room was dated but so what, the building was old and grand, but the high quality of the dining area and reception and the baths did not extend into the upstairs corridors and my bedroom. Despite these issues I would still highly recommend this hotel for sure.
4.8
Peter- 09 Oct. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent accommodation and restaurant. The room was excellent and location of the hotel was well possitioned for my visit to the old citadel of Sighisoara. Bad: The only let down was that there was no lift/elevator. This was a bit of problem considering the fact that I'm getting on in years (nearly 65) with a bad knee. Due to the length of my overall trip (nearly 3 weeks) I was also carrying a fair bit of luggage.
5
Anita- 08 Oct. 2015
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff was very friendly, room were clean and tidy.
4.75
Jose- 06 Oct. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Clean, professional, spacious. Bad: Many of the room doors looked like they have been subjects of attempted break-ins.
4.5
Teddy- 04 Oct. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: nice and helpful people, very good wi-fi, quiet room, good breakfast Bad: part of the furniture in the room need to be changed
5
Gordon- 02 Oct. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Firendly staff, reasonable prices, bars and restaurants, old-world Art Deco charm. Bad: room was a bit poky. Location Tip: Tram, metro, river - easy to reach, riverside walks, next to Elisabeth His (bridge) A nice, traditional 4 star, next to the trams and the metro, but across the Danube from the centre. Outstanding facilties, restaurant,coffee shop/piano payer, spa and outside warm baths. At a reasonable rate, it is a good place to be in Budapest, as it is so well connected and has good facilities.
5
Anne- 01 Oct. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: the hotel has style and class along with old world charm and access to excellent spa
5
Nina- 28 Sep. 2015
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Hotels.com
Was at Gellert 10 yrs ago and wanted to return with friends. They loved it and were quite impressed. I was amazed at how it had improved from ten yrs ago . . . Seemed brighter, more colorful and the service was DEFINITELY better! Staff at reception were very patient, helpful and knew the answers to all our questions. The staffs of both the bistro and the restaurant, as well as the bar, were very professional, courteous and often quite humorous. Only wish the breakfast staff wasn't so quick to take away our plates, sometimes even when we weren't quite done. Too much hovering to grab our plates. Breakfast food selection, however was excellent.
4.75
Anonymous- 27 Sep. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Lovely hotel oozing character. Staff really pleasant and helpful. Fabulous breakfast choice.
4.6
Peter- 26 Sep. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Superb location; architecture; spa. Bad: Rooms old fashioned; no air con.
4.5
Pamela- 25 Sep. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Priceline
Good: Beautiful old Hotel in the Center of Budapest, with excellent Bike Pads and running trail.Parking needs improvement and some redo of old Hotel rooms.
5
Kathleen V- 25 Sep. 2015
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Venere
loved every minute of it, only we could have done without the rain, but the baths and pool were a nice diversion. This hotel is exactly what we were looking for. It had charm, location, amenities, good food. Loved it all, no complaints..
5
Amitabha- 24 Sep. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel is like a palace, great location, room and service are par excellence. Convenient for any form of travel Bad: Nothing bad, the wifi should have been a little strong, some of the rooms of economy should have been on the bridge view, tea-coffee maker to be provided in the room with the facilities.
5
Traveler- 21 Sep. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Great hotel in Budapest, perfect location. The rooms are adequately sized and the thermal baths are amazing
4.8
Kathryn- 21 Sep. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Lovely old property, has retained its charm. Staff can't do enough for you. Spa and treatment centre very good and good value. Outdoor spa was open, really gorgeous. Book a superior room if you are able, the smaller rooms can be a bit dingy. If you get a river view, be warned the trains and trams are really noisy but in my opinion worth it for the view. Breakfast is plentiful but be prepared for hap-hazard toasters and other dodgy electrics. No tea making facilities in room, but excellent coffee and cakes in the bistro. I have stayed here several times. Charming place.
5
Justin- 21 Sep. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff are brilliant very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is exceptional. The Danubius Hotel Gellért is value for money personified
4.6
Chris- 18 Sep. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel was a special place to stay for this, our first trip to Budapest. Located opposite the Liberty Bridge and across the river from one of the main restaurant areas in the city (Vaci Utca), and next to Gellert Hill, park and the Citadel it was an ideal base to stay. As mentioned by others the rooms could do with a bit of an uplift, (and the hallway carpets) but the overall ambience of the hotel, the breakfast, attitude of staff and the amazing Gellert Baths made it a place to remember. Getting a room with a view of the river/bridge etc should be a priority, if you can manage it.
5
Traveler- 17 Sep. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Not your "all plastics" type of new hotel. Great spa and food
4.6
Paul- 17 Sep. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: the public areas are good, the building very interesting and spa well worth a visit. Bad: The bedrooms are dated but not a real problem.
4.8
Claudia- 15 Sep. 2015
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent location, nice comfortable bed, a breakfast for all tastes. The adjoining gallert spa was relaxing . I would definatly stay here again Bad: The rooms were tired and needed a deep clean . No tea or coffee making facilities in room
5
jane- 14 Sep. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Lovely view from balcony. Excellent breakfast and dinner was lovely.
4.8
Jen- 14 Sep. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Beautiful hotel, friendly staff and gantastic location. Bad: The bed was a bit uncomfortable and the bath/shower was quite narrow
5
Anonymous- 13 Sep. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Quaint charm, politeness and willingness to help of staff
5
Ken- 13 Sep. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great period hotel, wonderful spa and friendly efficient staff
5
Peter- 08 Sep. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The combined spa and hotel experience is brilliant. The bistro restaurant on the ground floor was excellent food and reasonably priced.
5
Oscar- 08 Sep. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Bad: Breakfast staff a little rude and pushy – the last time at which you could eat breakfast seemed to change everyday
5
Kathleen Diane- 07 Sep. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
Unbelievably wonderful - like a dream.
5
Joseph- 06 Sep. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
We spent a luxurious four days in this Budapest landmark; our expectations were fulfilled. The spa alone makes your visit worthwhile (one free entry and 50% off further visits). Breakfasts were superb and we also enjoyed a dinner in the sorozo. Temperatures were very high while we were there and our room had no air conditioning; a fan was supplied and we used the thick curtains to block the rays. The hotel is central to all the central attractions and the public transport is now further supplemented byt the new metro 4.
5
Donald- 03 Sep. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The Historic and beautiful building ,the excellent service from all the staff,the informal relaxed atmosphere. Very well managed hotel. Breakfast and Brassiere food was excellent. Spa facilities are superb.Big room overlooking the Danube with balcony. Half board was good value.
4.6
Kerry- 01 Sep. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Beds and great bar foods mussels Bad: None
4.6
Claire- 01 Sep. 2015
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The kindness and smiles and helpfulness of the staff; the amazing view from the balcony of our room (it was supposed to be courtyard) onto liberty bridge and Gellert hill.
4.8
Mark- 01 Sep. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Price, staff, free ticket to Gellert Baths. Bad: No aircon in room.
4.6
Christian- 01 Sep. 2015
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Spa facilities, swimming pool with wave machine, thermal bath and breakfast was good. Staff were also very helpful Bad: Wifi not great in all areas of hotel
5
Lotte- 31 Aug. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Ambience, location, friendly and helpful staff. Spa next door. Bad: Air conditioning in the rooms. Small detail - had a very large fan instead which did the job. Location Tip: Near to everything. By Liberty Bridge. Tram stop and Metro right outside the hotel. Gellert Hill, Citadel, Castle District and many great restaurants. Second visit to the Gellert and gets better and better. Love staying here with the beautiful old style decor, excellent service and very friendly and helpful staff. Very good value and wonderful choice of breakfast in the dining room with beautiful views of the Liberty Bridge and Danube. Close to everything. A tram and Metro stop just outside the hotel. Hotel has several eating options, reasonably priced. Best of all, it is right next door to the famous Spa that you can spend many an hour relaxing in after a hectic day's site seeing. Entrance from the 1st floor so just slip on your costume and robe and wander down to the baths. Have already booked my next trip for October. Bliss.
4.6
William- 31 Aug. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Generally Hotel was very good and location was fantastic Spa and pool area lovely. Bad: On arrival we called in to outside Brasserie for lunch and found staff cold and unwelcoming. Needless to say we never went back. Bedroom small, dated, and needs some renovation.
4.8
Nicholas- 28 Aug. 2015
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: location, ambiance, character, breakfast, beds Bad: It was extremely hot day and rooms are not air conditioned
5
Michael- 26 Aug. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: location, staff, food, pools (spa) Bad: pillows were to soft (had to put something)
5
Catherine- 20 Aug. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Brilliant location on the Buda side of the city close to Liberty Bridge with the Metro across the road. Excellent facilities including access to the Gellért Thermal Spa. Rate included an amazing buffet breakfast daily. Both the restaurant and bistro at the Hotel were 5 star. Bad: Make sure you get a room with air conditioning if staying in Summer.
4.8
T&d- 19 Aug. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything. Spa. Localisation. Food. Especially restaurant on the ground floor. Bad: If over 35*C during the day time, you cannot sleep at night. It is still 30*C No A/C at all. Early cleaning woke us up 5:30 morning.
5
John- 16 Aug. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Classic appointments, right down the old fashioned Bad: A little air conditioning. It was very warm and it took some time for the room to cool down. We loved our stay at the Hotel Gellert. The location works well for tourists with a little study on the transportation system, which is pretty to understand. The hotel is across the street from a combination of tram and subway stops, making the Pest side equally accessible as the Buda side. There's also a bridge immediately across the bridge to walk as well. Breakfast was plentiful. The staff was very helpful in our travels, providing guidance, directions, and accommodating a few requests. This is a beautiful hotel with attention to tradition detail, right down to keys (vs. key cards) for the rooms. Thank you to the staff and I have recommended this to a number of people thinking of travelling.
4.6
Malte- 14 Aug. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I liked it all. The staff was kind and one of them didn't know if they owned the piano which is located in the restaurant floor. That was fun! I loved to feel exclusive, thats the best part of that hotels magic. Bad: I felt as a young man with dreadlocks, it didn't really apply for my type of style. The other guests did have a uncomfortable gleam in their eye. So If you're old or has a family, it's a very good place to fit in.
5
Robert G.- 13 Aug. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
Nice and spacious rooms. States in two different rooms. One bathroom needed a makeover. Both rooms without aircondition. One room with balcony and view, ask for it. The thermal spa and laying next to the metro bring the hotel Gellert a "5".
5
Traveler- 13 Aug. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
A wonderful old grand hotel. The 1980s renovation now feels classic -- we hope they won't change it. The breakfast was charmingly chaotic, it is self service but we were also waited on. Not complaining at all.
5
Vadims- 11 Aug. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great old time's spirit, excellent SPA complex, especially opena-air part during summer months, just next to the green bridge, walkable distance to everywhere - deffinatelly come back! Bad: Like everything.
5
Ej- 11 Aug. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The room had a beautiful view as well as feeling luxurious. The bed was large and very comfortable. The staff especially the staff ordering taxis and dealing with luggage were fantastic and very welcoming. Breakfast was really lovely. Bad: The staff on reception were professional and efficient but lacking warmth.
5
John- 04 Aug. 2015
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything, Breakfast, locationand service.
5
James- 03 Aug. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Unbelievable. I will go back. My heritage is Hungarian and my fathers dream was to go to Hungary. I did this for him and it was the best. Bad: A little warm, but they gave us a fan.
4.8
Margaret- 03 Aug. 2015
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We had 2 meals on the Terrace they were both excellent. Bad: Early closing on the bar. The outdoor pool area was very popular
5
Traveler- 02 Aug. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
wonderful end to a holiday the spa sauna just what was needed situated right on the Danube beautiful
4.8
Aleksander- 01 Aug. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Close to SPA Bad: Bad Room Standard, old and smelly. Fan (no AC)
4.6
Train- 01 Aug. 2015
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Fantastic location on the Danube, old world glamour still evident. Friendly, competent staff. Excellent breakfast. Unexpectedly given a single room looking out on the Danube and Budapest, wonderful view. Thank you Gellert! Bad: Nothing bad, but as people say, the rooms are slightly dated and worn. Didn't bother me, as all other aspects made up for it, but people should be prepared for it.
5
Thomas- 29 Jul. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Attentive staff, the thermal baths, price Bad: None
4.8
Manaboutown- 27 Jul. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: World class Spa. Bad: Hotel booked a wedding right below room. Could not sleep till 5am. They should have offered another room for the night away from the noise. Not very thoughtful staff.
4.8
Signe- 26 Jul. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great facitities, nice room, friendly staff, great breakfast buffet, great place Bad: The wifi was fine, but the option of internet on the tv was so slow the we gave up before getti g to any homepage. Despised this we were change for the try :-( the room was very hot at night and there was no AC
5
Scarlett- 26 Jul. 2015
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location, lovely staff, relaxing spa facilities and nice eating areas.
4.6
Happy- 23 Jul. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Super comfortable bed, the Gellert Spa just along the corridor and of course great views of the Danube Bad: Breakfast wasn't the best - a mad scramble for some tired eggs! Bedroom furniture also tired.
4.6
Jan- 23 Jul. 2015
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Beautiful hotel, nice restaurants, very god breakfast. Nice termal bath Bad: Room need renovation and aircondition
5
Cheryl- 21 Jul. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: A great place for vacation
4.8
Howard- 21 Jul. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very nice location, grand old spacious Hotel with nice staff Bad: Very overworked staff in the Espresso room .we ordered cake and English Breakfast tea, the cake came, we finished and the tea was pink and tasted like Rebos Tea. It wasn't the staffs fault.
4.6
Chaoyuan- 21 Jul. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very helpful staff, great bath.
4.6
Joanne- 20 Jul. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Superb!!!.. Excellent food for breakfast and the room is classic . Really enjoyed the free pass for the gellert thermal bath for first use. Fast service... Excellent Bad: Nothing!!
5
Zsuzsi- 19 Jul. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I really enjoyed the decor of the hotel, as if I had travelled back in time to the 1920s. It was absolutely wonderful. The service, the ambiance, the spa were truly an unforgettable experience. THANK YOU.
5
Marie- 19 Jul. 2015
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel staff were very helpful. Rooms very clean and comfortable.Hotel is in an ideal location.Close to bars and restaurants.
5
Andrew- 19 Jul. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent location, helpful, friendly staff. Good breakfast Clean rooms
4.8
Penny- 19 Jul. 2015
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Beautiful hotel
5
Melanie- 18 Jul. 2015
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Outside magnificance, indoor foyer and largeness of hotel Bad: no tea or coffee in room. No air conditioning. says was a 4 star, how come if these things ewere missing
4.8
Janos- 18 Jul. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The food is awesome. There is plenty of delicious food to choose from. We've got a nice room with a fantastic view over the Danube. Our room had an air conditioner which was a bit noise, but this wasn't a major problem. Staff is very friendly and professional, we did check out about 12:30 instead of 12:00 and was no problem. The hotel is full of character and charm, it has a nice terrace to sit out and have dinner. The baths are amazing, you can choose from different pools with different temperature of water. In overall we did enjoy our stay and we would go back again. Bad: The only thing which could be unpleasant is the street noise, which is very difficult to avoid, because of the main road in front of the Hotel. It could be a future project for the Hotel to improve the soundproofing, without taking away from the original character of the Hotel. Also the city council could improve the tramline.
5
Harald Fredriksson- 17 Jul. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google+ Local
I'll be back.
5
Tibor- 15 Jul. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This is a great facility, well established, well cared for and very people friendly! No hesitation to utilize it in the future!! Bad: Just a suggestion...: It would be good to install a wooden floor (grated) in the hot sauna. The tiles are super hot and one could easily be affected (scalded) by it. Original saunas have wooden floors so one does not need to walk in there with foot-ware.
4.6
Peter- 15 Jul. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything was good - hotel position, helpful staff, clean rooms and access to the wonderful spa baths. Breakfast is really good and the bar and restaurant were also of very high quality.
4.6
Fredrik- 11 Jul. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Charming hotel with bautiful spa. With an outside tempersture of 35 degrees, the air condition could have been better. Otherwise a perfect hotel when doing Budapest.
5
Thelma- 11 Jul. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Selection of food for breakfast very good. Spa Baths included in rates amazing experience !
4.8
Anonymous- 06 Jul. 2015
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The Andrew Lloyd Webber room had a wonderful view and was a very pleasant room. Breakfast was delicious, too. Pools were great. Bad: It couldn't be helped, but the room was pretty warm. Okay, though.
5
Hilary- 05 Jul. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This is a charming hotel with excellent staff; the breakfast was superb and the facilities good. The public areas are really imposing and the hotel has a real sense of history.
4.6
David- 29 Jun. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Access to the baths Views and location Historical significance
4.8
Anthony- 29 Jun. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff were very helpful.the spa was class Bad: Norhing
4.6
Paul- 25 Jun. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff polite and efficient Spa is amazing. Breakfast overlooking the Danube is priceless Bad: It's a gift to appreciate the heritage feel of the hotel.
5
Goel Drory- 23 Jun. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google+ Local
Very good
5
Traveler- 23 Jun. 2015
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Hotels.com
Group of 10, staying here for three nights ideal location with in easy walking distance to the town centre, the rooms are a little dated, the carpets are a little faded but for the price it is well worth it. Breakfast was plentiful and a good choice selection. The staff were always happy to help. Would I book this hotel again? YES most definitely
5
Boteanu- 23 Jun. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: I loved the thermal baths, the swimming pool and mostly the beneficial treatment of magnetotherapy and reflexology from George. This man has an amazin Bad: I believe it will be nice for the staff who lives in the hotel to have free entrance to the thermal baths and the swimming pool. Location Tip: I loved the fact the hotel was not far from the high street and the beautiful market was nearby. I loved the fact that you could find so easily so man It was my first visit in Budapest last week and I have to say I have had an wonderful experience. i have always wanted to visit Budapest as my grandfather was Hungarian, so I was so happy for the opprtunity to get to know my roots a little bit. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly and approachable. The view from my balcony was extraordinary and I have enjoyed taking quite a few lovely pictures of the Libery Bridge, the statue of liberty and the wonderful cross situated on the hill. I have enjoyed as well going up the hill where the statue of liberty was situated and I have to say I have wonderful photos taken from there...
4.6
Carol- 23 Jun. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The elegant lobby with the wood staircase showcasing art nouveau stain-glass windows featuring the history of Budapest and its patrons added much to the charm of this hotel. Staff were attentive and helpful. The grand breakfast buffet included an assortment of hot meat dishes, eggs, potatoes, cooked vegetables, salads, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, bread and pastries, juices, teas and coffees. My favorite was the cherries jubilee. The two-night price included one free entrance to the thermal baths and spa. My room was relaxing and quiet, overlooking glass roofs and trees. The dark wood furniture included a desk, small round table, a nightstand, full-size bed, closet, and TV console with a minibar. I requested a tea kettle before arriving and one was waiting for me in the room. Wi-fi in the room was good. The white ceramic tile bathroom was average size and clean. A robe was provided for the thermal bath and spa. I enjoyed swimming (a bathing cap is required) and soaking in the different thermal baths. One could also use the saunas and get a massage. Bad: The color of the wrist band determined what lockers one would use in the thermal bath, spa and wellness center. It was a maze of lockers located at different levels. It would have helped if a staff person would inform guests about the locker locations at the entrance. The staff were helpful with guests to find their lockers.
4.6
Anonymous- 22 Jun. 2015
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel is just great if you consider the location, wonderful spa right on spot and the attention of the staff. May be the furniture could be renovated a bit, but in general it doesn't matter. And thanks again to the administration for taking care of the balcony and the river view exactly as per the booking request. Couldn't wish any better! Bad: Old furniture and bathroom
5
Gabriella- 20 Jun. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We had a superior room with stunning Danube view (don't choose this room if you cannot sleep from noise because the trams pass at front of the hotel). The staff was really helpful, professional. Nothing was trouble. The location of the hotel is fantastic. There was such a wide selection of choices at breakfast. We will definitely go back again. We felt that we had a privacy there. The WIFI was very good quality (some hotel has weak ones) Highly recommended. Bad: None
5
Eleonora- 18 Jun. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Traditional, historical place in the very heart of Budapest Bad: Nothing
5
Jane- 18 Jun. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff were very helpful. The room was of a high standard. Breakfast was really extensive with so many choices, including good quality 'English ' breakfast.
5
Frank- 18 Jun. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very helpful staff. Bad: Didn't have a bad experience
4.6
Ibrahim- 16 Jun. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Perfect location, 10-15min walk into the center, the spa was amazing you can spend hours using the 10+ different Pools. The reception & front of house porters cant do enough for you. if i went back to Budapest i would stay here again Bad: The breakfast i would rate 4/10 & the rooms don't have air con so can get very hot at night but i opened the windows which helped.. but overall this very nice hotel & staff very helpful
4.6
Audrey- 14 Jun. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The convenience of the location, amazing view of the Danube, the spa visits, single room rates Bad: Key locks instead of pass cards
4.6
Isabel- 13 Jun. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I love the Gellert - the Art Deco magnificence, the balcony with view of the Danube, the amazing Spa, the breakfast....I could go on. Sadly, when the refurbishment to deal with the noisy air con, plumbing, electrics, carpets etc happens, people like us will not be able to affor it again.
5
Norman- 12 Jun. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
Loved the location - catch the metro and trolleys right outside the door. That also means you need earplugs at night. we had a room with a french balcony that looked out at the river - beautiful day and night. parking was a bit confusing. The bell captain told us that we could park for about 35€ for our 3 nights but that we could park in front of the hotel for half that. There were cars lined up in the circular drive and we gave them 20€ and they parked it for us. Great service but felt like it was all under-the-table activity.
5
BR- 11 Jun. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Location, cleanliness, good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, thermal baths, view of the Danube River from my room Bad: Smaller tables at breakfast as there were too many big tables with only one or two people. Location Tip: Great location, steps from the new line 4 subway station, steps from streetcars and buses, lots of attractions close by (Buda castle is the main one I stayed in room 305 from May 16 to 22, 2015. The room has a gorgeous view of the Danube river and one of the bridges, which is beautifully lit at night. The room was clean and nicely laid out and I love that I was able to request hypo-allergenic bed linens. This hotel is the only one I've ever stayed at in my life that has good lighting in the bathroom. I was actually able to do my make up in there. I was able to control the temperature in my room, which was nice, as it got hot on some days. The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful and they speak English. The breakfast buffet was amazing! As a vegetarian, I'm always on the lookout for enough food options (especially protein) and the breakfast did not disappoint. There were so many choices: a variety of cheeses, yogurts, fresh fruits and veggies, pastries, eggs (different types), beans, lots of different meats (for the meat-eaters), etc., and of course, coffee, tea, juices. The best part of the hotel is the thermal baths. The pools are incredible and you can't stay at this hotel and not visit the baths. Even if you don't stay at the hotel, you MUST check out the baths. It's not world-famous for no reason!
5
Isabel- 10 Jun. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Art deco opulence; amazing spa on tap. When they do the upgrade that fixes the deafening air con, defective plumbing and electrics, it will be out of the price range of ordinary folks. Meanwhile...to be enjoyed.
5
Traveler- 10 Jun. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
One of the best hotel I have stayed in. Staff very polite

Still have questions? Get in touch:

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Phone: +36-1-889-5500
Room reservation: +36 1 889 5501
Fax: +36 1 889 5505

Address: 2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map View map

Room reservation

+36 1 889 5501

Address:
2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map

Email:
Send e-mail

One hotel selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

Two hotels selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

One hotel selected! One hotel seleted (3/1)

X