toggle menu

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Call us

Reviews

Hotel rating
Overall score
4.8/5
Based on 6026 reviews
Services
4.8/5
Cleaniness
4.8/5
Comfort
4.8/5
Location
4.8/5
Staff
4.8/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Did you enjoy your stay with us? Tell us about your experience!
5
Brian- 23 Nov. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: everything
5
Beverley- 23 Nov. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Worth staying for access to the thermal baths alone. Lovely helpful staff, great breakfast and beautiful stained glass windows everywhere. Probably one of my favourite hotels ever.
4.8
Kai- 19 Nov. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
I really like this hotel. I've stayed here twice. First of all I find the staff helpful and nice. Even though I usually dressed very causal, the staff is polite and smiles. And most of them speak English. The location is very good, just across the river from the famous food market.
5
Traveler- 18 Nov. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Location, cleanliness, atmosphere, polite staff. Bad: Additional parking would be a plus Location Tip: There is a legendary thermal bath facility right on the premises Finally after so many years I managed to stay at the Gellert. It did not disappoint!
4.6
Amira- 17 Nov. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location perfect Staff very helpful Breakfast superb Bad: Bathroom needs renovation
4
A traveler- 17 Nov. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Classic hotel with good services, the rooms are a bit old, but clean and nice. Excellent location on next to the Danube, superb SPA. Good breakfast. Very good value for money offer.
5
Jorge h- 16 Nov. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
Budapest is a beautiful CITY
4.5
Raymond N.- 14 Nov. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Agoda
Good: Location, Friendly staff, warm room. Our stay was a pleasant experience overall, the location is excellent, very nice staff and comfortable if a bit dated rooms. we would go there again for sure.
4.4
Mads- 13 Nov. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Fantastic location, excellent spa, culturel experiences
5
Andrew Weiler- 12 Nov. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google+ Local
Great location and vibes though a bit dated
5
Andrew- 06 Nov. 2014
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything Bad: Nothing
4
Traveler- 29 Oct. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
The decor was wonderful and the thermal baths were amazing.
4.75
Jonas- 28 Oct. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The style of the place.
5
Robert- 24 Oct. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We loved the spa. The room had a great view and was very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was nice with a good selection. Both were included in the room rates making it a good value.
5
Andrew Weiler- 24 Oct. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google+ Local
Great location and vibes though a bit dated
4.6
Janice- 23 Oct. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
The location, character and atmosphere of the Hotel. The view across the river. There was a tram stop outside which was great for getting around.
5
Traveler- 22 Oct. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Because their breakfast buffet is outstanding they would ned more room. Difficult at times to find a seat.
4.6
Paul- 21 Oct. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Position facing the danube Access to the spa excellent breakfast friendly staff Good restaurant Bad: As the expression goes what's not to like!
4.15
Noreen- 19 Oct. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff very friendly Breakfast excellent Location excellent Bad: rooms a bit shabby
4
Traveler- 19 Oct. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
I liked the atmosphere and the experience of staying in an original landmark.
5
Alexandre- 19 Oct. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I liked very much the atmosphere and of course the thermal baths.
4.15
Lesley- 17 Oct. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
We loved the view from the room which was located at the side of the building. This gave us good views of both Gellert Hill and monument, but also a lovely view of the Danube and bridge. Super views at night when everything is lit up. Also loved the Gellert Spa where we had one free visit
4.4
Mark- 17 Oct. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Location. Perfect for getting out about quickly. Peace. I found that even with the balcony door open there was no outside noise. Staff. All staff particularly the doormen were like friends come the end of stay. Spa. Just like in all the pictures on the net.
4.15
Valerie- 17 Oct. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Lovely location close to all modes of transport. Very polite and helpfuld staff. Breakfast ok could have been warmer.
4.4
John- 14 Oct. 2014
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Old worldly hotel, like from a Sean Connery Bond movie! impressive foyer, wide corridors, marble columns and they gave us an actual key with a heavy brass disc attached! friendly and helpful staff, superb SPA facilities, good food and service. Great value for money.
4.5
Colin- 14 Oct. 2014
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Genuine James Bond type eastern European Hotel - excellent! Bad: A bit dated looked in some of the rooms but that's half the charm.
4
Traveler- 13 Oct. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Its position and also the fact that it encompasses the Gellert Baths which are very easily accessible by hotel guests. Staff were very pleasant. Bad: I think that we had excellent value for money.
4.4
Miroslav- 13 Oct. 2014
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Atmosfera hotela
4.8
Marinus- 12 Oct. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Spa facilities Location Staff Spacious room Breakfast
3.55
Peter- 10 Oct. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Thermal pools We had a superior room overlooking the Danube witha terrace
4.6
Zayana- 07 Oct. 2014
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff the atmosphere of the hotel the food Bad: sad that the furniture is very old but it was comfortable
5
Maria- 06 Oct. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Fina bad inom hotellområdet. Stort fint hotellrum
5
Jon- 03 Oct. 2014
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The Hotel was a touch of Eastern European luxury (unlike western luxury) and the Spa was amazing. Budapest was a lovely city and we had the best of weekends. Bad: Nothing.
4.4
Eero- 03 Oct. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
ood: The overall atmosphere of this historical hotel was very pleasant. Quiet, excellent value for money and a short walking distance to Infopark & EIT (European Institute for Innovation and Technology) along the Danube
3.95
Jenny- 02 Oct. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Breakfast the best Ive had in Budapest
4.8
TheKirschs- 30 Sep. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
We were fortunate to be given a corner room with amazing views of the Danube River and the Gellért Tér below. The staff were friendly and efficient, and extremely helpful. Our visit to the The Gellért Spa, which is attached to the Hotel, was a wonderful experience and very relaxing after a long day
4
A traveler- 26 Sep. 2014
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
lthough the rooms and bathrooms are very dated, the location and public spaces of Hotel Gellert are wonderful and full of history. A real plus to be able to use the private entrance into the famous thermal baths too. The hotel has a brasserie, panorama restaurant and tea room
5
Traveler- 25 Sep. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
4 night stay in basic room, lone traveller. Great value and very helpful staff with perfect English (crass, l know but makes things simpler for the of us less linguistically adept). Good breakfast buffet -got to love a culture that views cake as a breakfast option
5
Maria Horvath Turner- 25 Sep. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
The hotel was amazing. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.Loved the thermal spa.Cant fault it Glad we chose it .Would go back tomorrow...
3.95
John- 23 Sep. 2014
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Spa facilities, friendly and helpful staff, impressive building and decor, breakfast was amazing
3.55
Anonymous- 22 Sep. 2014
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good location. Easy to access by tram. Facilities were old. But stuffs were nice.
4.15
Alfred- 21 Sep. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Location, hot springs pool.
4
Traveler- 21 Sep. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Friendly helpful staff, the amazing ornate old world architecture, delicious breakfast, and of course use of the Turkish baths, both inside and out. Bad: Rooms could be updated, bathroom tile... And beds could use a mattress topper for extra comfort.
5
marcia j- 21 Sep. 2014
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
Overall we thought the hotel was great, our room was stuffy, so weopened the windows and then some ki d of bugs bit me on the faceand arms causing big welts and swoolen eye and ear
5
travelling liz- 18 Sep. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
We stayed in the Gellert Hotel, Budapest for 4 nights in August 2014 and found it an excellent base to sightsee. There is a Metro station a few yards away and the city has an excellent tram service. The hotel was classic and comfortable
4.6
Mary- 18 Sep. 2014
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything about the Gillert Hotel is wonderful, we love location, food decoration old style but beautiful. Staff are very nice especially the younger staff.. Some of the older staff members while very polite cannot smile or be friendly. Its the old style Hungarian athmosphere coming through
4.4
Anonymous- 18 Sep. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
We were happy with the staff (who were friendly and helpful), cleanliness, and condition of most of the interior of the hotel. Breakfasts were particularly good and we thoroughly enjoyed the spa area
3.95
Anonymous- 17 Sep. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Traveling alone on a short break, now with the new metro-line just next to the hotel, access for sightseeing etc. is perfect. The single room looking into a small yard was compensated by a reasonable price, and the enjoyment of all the comfort and style of the unique complex.
4.8
Anonymous- 16 Sep. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff very welcoming and the spa facilities are the main attraction. Great location, a very easy walk or tram ride to most tourist attractions. Well worth a visit.
4.15
Noel V.- 12 Sep. 2014
  • Family with older children
  • Source: Agoda
Good: The staff ,the hot pools,the location Very pleasant
4.15
Penelope- 12 Sep. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This old beauty is a bit faded, and you can see the scars of communist aesthetic ideals, but I am glad I stayed there. You can't beat the view, the staff are excellent, the breakfast buffet legendary, and the baths breathtaking.
4.4
Robin- 12 Sep. 2014
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very comfortable traditional hotel Bad: Nothing
5
Nora- 12 Sep. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very old style hotel - excellent atmosphere. Spa was wonderful.
5
Anonymous- 12 Sep. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
old fashioned atmosphere, view over danube, comfortable bed, good size bathtub, wifi working well
3.55
Giovanna- 12 Sep. 2014
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I enjoyed the view, the quiteness of the room, the breakfast buffet, the spa being so close. Staff was very polite and helpful. Transportation excellent.
4.15
tkrieg- 11 Sep. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
We loved the old world charm and the friendly helpful staff. On our last day we had to leave early. The hotel provided us a bag of food that kept us sustained all day on the train. The adjacent spa was an absolute bonus.
4.8
Manfred- 11 Sep. 2014
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: very beautiful old hotel and spa, excellent staff, excellent location directly in city center Bad: location excellent, but a bit noisy from the street..well you cant have everything :)
5
Anonymous- 11 Sep. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
I found the hotel very comfortable and relaxed, and the choice of breakfast was excellent. I also loved having the facility of the Spa and outdoor pool/sun terraces at a reduced price. Overall I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel and would consider returning at some time in the future.
4.15
Jason- 10 Sep. 2014
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Very Nice staff all of whom were very helpful and polite , incredible location, connection with Spa, overall a very unique experience in an incredible piece of history...beautiful Art Nouveau style...a landmark. The views, the size of room, the food, the convenience..all perfect.
4.15
Anonymous- 10 Sep. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
The location is very nice, with direct access to the historical thermal baths. Breakfast is rich and of good quality.
5
Markie- 10 Sep. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Brilliant location and room had balcony with views of the Danube and the Castle area looking across at the Liberty Bridge. The room was spacious, clean and full of old world charm - loved all the furnishings even though some reviewers say they were dated - that's what gives this hotel it's charm.
4
Susan Bryant- 09 Sep. 2014
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Hotels.com
My friend and I stayed at Hotel Gellert for six nights. Hop on Hop Off Bus, trams,buses,metro across the road so excellent transport location. Very good service excellent, breakfast and rooms clean with towels changed daily.
5
Terri- 08 Sep. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The old works charm with a modern day twist . Great location and views if the Danube . The baths were easy to access from the hotel
5
Thomas- 08 Sep. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
This is a fantastic hotel with brilliant staff backed by amazing management. Thank you all there. Köszönöm. I stayed were Richard stayed but slept on the floor as I didn't want to share a bed with him. TLC
5
Traveler- 02 Sep. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Art deco building beautiful and in great location. Thermal baths were great. Breakfast offered great choice. Bad: Not a lot. Location Tip: Location had good transport links, within walking distance of city centre. Plenty of activities in Pest and Spa in hotel.
5
Andor- 31 Aug. 2014
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything
3.55
Aleksander- 29 Aug. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent location, beautiful interior, bath as part of the hotel, good breakfast service. Bad: Unexpectedly they cancel gender separation in thermal bath - something was lost from this specific atmosphere of historical thermal bath.
4.8
Oxana- 29 Aug. 2014
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
really good location; great termal bath and a lot of opportunities for guests; very hospitable and helpful staff; nice breakfasts and dinner at termal area; there are a lot of places of interests nearby.
4.4
Anonymous- 29 Aug. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location just at liberty bridge Great Spa attached to hotel with many little spa facilities hidden in huge building to discover Bad: Hotel bar is a bit small
4.4
Anthony- 28 Aug. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Thermal baths Lobby Passageways Friendliness and accommodating attitude of staff bathroom bed
4
Traveler- 26 Aug. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Le terme, la posizione sul Danubio e la cortesia del personale Bad: Le pulizie in camera sono un po' superficiali. Location Tip: Si trova su Danubio dalla parte di Buda. Di fronte c'è una stazione della metro che lo rende facilmente raggiungibile anche dall'aeroporto.
4.6
Alexandra- 25 Aug. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
The location and service were Excellent. The view from the room balcony was to the Dunai. Very nice restaurant. Thermal baths inside the hotel. The historical look of the building.
5
Gabriel- 21 Aug. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything including made to order omelettes & pastries at breakfast. The place oozes charm despite shows its age We loved the spa Bad: Nothing
4.6
Jade- 19 Aug. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
The location was superb. The spa was an added delight and the staff were extremely helpful.
4.6
Anthony- 18 Aug. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Olde world feel to the place. Excellent service and friendly/cheerful staff. Free use of excellent spa facilies once per stay. Good value and food quality in Restaurant and Brasserie by hotel standards. Near to: Gellert Hill/Citadella, to Bude Castle etc(15-20 minute walk before climb)
4.6
Matthieu- 18 Aug. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
The delicious feeling of staying where history left a foot print. The staff is very helpful. The price was very affordable and the breakfast buffet is very nice. The facilities have been preserved from the communist period... and the modern features have been added
5
Tatiana- 11 Aug. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Понравилось, все
5
Sagitarius- 09 Aug. 2014
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
We were very satisfied fantastic Buffet Breakfast and all staff including at the Reception very helpful . Great Room 315 I would ask to book again on my next visit
4
Bester- 07 Aug. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Orbitz
Located next to the Liberty Bridge on the Buda side of the Danube River this hotel is stone built, very old and very grand. It's long history depicted on the walls as you walk it's corridors.
4
Ljubisa Belcic- 07 Aug. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
Excellent hotel, clean, great value.
4.8
Sergey- 06 Aug. 2014
  • Mature couple
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
It is nessasary to improve splite systems in the rooms!!!
4.4
Luis- 05 Aug. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: All, its a jewel of Budapest
4.35
Andrey S.- 03 Aug. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Agoda
World famous spa right down in the hotel; Spectacular views; Nice long promenade along Danube afoot of Gellert hill. It was a lucky replacement for the residence which turned out to be overbooked upon my arrival: the it's an old hotel with history
5
Giuseppe Gozzer- 01 Aug. 2014
  • Mature couple
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
All perfect obly missing Queensice Bed this coul improof the Stay and Brakefast should be servd till 10:30 AM Staff & Kitchen & Attention Perfect nothing to Complain , will retourn again.
4.5
Barbara De Weerdt- 31 Jul. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    4
Gellert hotel provides an excellent and friendly service. The interior is a bit oldfashioned, but it suits fine with the history of the hotel. It was very convenient to have a direct connection to the baths.
5
Antony- 31 Jul. 2014
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I enjoyed all the facilities at the hotel, friendly service from everyone working there... and an unbelievable view from the hotel balcony when lit up at night was amazing!! Bad: I liked everything!!
4.3
ANONYMOUS- 31 Jul. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Services
    4
  • Cleaniness
    3
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    4
  • Value for money
    5
Staff incredibly helpful, especially at the front desk and room service. The only minus was slow and unprofessional service at breakfast but I do see that staff there was young and inexperienced and very busy with all the summer visitors. Room was wonderful and comfortable but during my 12 day stay not vacuumed though clean in other ways. I liked that there was tea/coffee making facility and fridge. Lovely atmosphere in hotel, with good access to spa facilities. Wonderfully located. My only other criticism, among all the pluses, is that the food in the dining room was not very interesting or of a sufficiently high standard. But I do see that you cater to a medium-price range. One the other hand the food in the cafe was excellent. Overall, my stay was very pleasant and I enjoyed the Gellert very much. Alice Spigelman
4.8
Vladimir Lvov- 30 Jul. 2014
  • Mature couple
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
Perfect
4.15
Madeleine- 30 Jul. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Nice atmosphere and great location. Friendly staff. Breakfast choice good.
5
Chris- 27 Jul. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Loved it all - room, service, food, pools and general ambience.
4.8
Anonymous- 25 Jul. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
If you're looking for an authentic charming experience then this is the hotel for you. The building itself is beautiful, like walking back in time, and the staff are courteous and kind, bending over backwards to help.
4
Alessandro- 25 Jul. 2014
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
The Hotel is in a excellent location and the spa is wonderful! The service was very good! The balcony could be more carefully kept, but it is not a big problem!! The staff is very helpful!!
5
Farag- 25 Jul. 2014
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
I stayed 2 nights on July 2014 with my wife and a 10 years child. The hotel is an architectural attractive building. The site is very good, just cross the bridge and you are in the central area with all shops and old market. The staff was very good and helpful.
4.8
Glyn- 24 Jul. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great room comfy bed. Great views. Thermal spa Bad: Coffee at breakfast
4.4
Fernando- 23 Jul. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Hotel ambiance,property,baths, History,great food,helpful staff,easy public transportation Bad: A bit rundown bathrooms,could be upgraded
5
Elena- 23 Jul. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great SPA; great staff; beautifull landscape nearby; diverse breakfast
4.8
J.- 23 Jul. 2014
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Location, facilities, beauty of Bpest and Gellert, great breakfast,
4.8
Giuseppina- 23 Jul. 2014
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: L'Hotel Liberty e le meravigliose terme.
4.8
Laszlo- 21 Jul. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Lovely old fashioned hotel with wide halls and a grand staircase, lots of restaurants in the neighbourhood. Bad: The transit outside can be a bit noisy in the morning if you have a room overlooking the Danube
4.6
Elaine- 21 Jul. 2014
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
The charm of the old hotel..,,swimming for our grandchild

Still have questions? Get in touch:

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Phone: +36-1-889-5500
Room reservation: +36 1 889 5501
Fax: +36 1 889 5505

Address: 2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map View map

Room reservation

+36 1 889 5501

Address:
2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map

Email:
Send e-mail

One hotel selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

Two hotels selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

One hotel selected! One hotel seleted (3/1)

X