toggle menu

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Call us

Reviews

Hotel rating
Overall score
4.8/5
Based on 6026 reviews
Services
4.8/5
Cleaniness
4.8/5
Comfort
4.8/5
Location
4.8/5
Staff
4.8/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Did you enjoy your stay with us? Tell us about your experience!
4.15
Eva- 01 Mar. 2014
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff was very helpful, nice and kind :) Breakfast was 1st class!
4.8
Gordon- 25 Feb. 2014
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
can't emphasise enough the very traditional service and art-deco atmosphere. An affordable room upgrade gives you a palace of a room overlooking the Danube. Good value food in the brasserie. Very handy for transport links and city centre which is just over the bridge.
5
Bernd- 25 Feb. 2014
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: war alles super
4.5
Marina S.- 21 Feb. 2014
  • Family with older children
  • Source: Agoda
Good: The spa, the atmosphere, the room
5
Rob- 21 Feb. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Breakfast, access to the baths. Bad: Extending wi-fi to the guest rooms would be nice. Location Tip: Great location, right off the tram stop. All of city accessible via tram.
4.4
Anonymous- 19 Feb. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
We were upgraded to the Yahudhi Manunin suite. Fantastic views of the river and bridge, especially at night. The room was a little outdated and dingy, but comfortable and obviously full of history, like the rest of the hotel. The baths were amazing
5
Mungocarrier- 17 Feb. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
The Gellert was superb in every way. No request was too much for the hotel staff, the views are outstanding on the Danube side, the stained glass windows are fantastic, the breakfast is plentiful and caters for every taste, the beds are comfortable, the shower was hot.The free entrance to the baths is very generous and a real experience. We loved it and will definitely be back
4
A traveler- 15 Feb. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
We had a great week at Hotel Gellert. It is very comfortable to walk down to the spa in your bathrobe only. The breakfast was very good, and the staff were polite and serviceminded at all times. The afternoon bar was staffed by a very polite and friendly young man
4.7
Robert Dunstan- 12 Feb. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
Thank you. I had a nice stay. Lots of history surrounding this hotel, and the level of service helps keep the traditional feel of the place. Room price with breakfast an execellent deal.
4.6
Tetiana- 10 Feb. 2014
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: the atmosphere in hotel is perfect, you feel as aristocrat :) service is great, breakfast is AMAZING!!! everything is very clean. For me the hotel itself is a place of interest as any other in Budapest. And don't forget about the best baths complex in Budapest!!! :)
5
Walker- 09 Feb. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
A very old hotel, with some beautiful features. I had a single room, it was clean, basic and comfortable and warm. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great with lots of choice. I would recommend staying here.
5
Tina N- 09 Feb. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: The SPA! Bad: Free wifi in all the rooms instead of just the lobby, please. Location Tip: Everything! It's so easy getting around Budapest with the trams and metros. By far this is my favorite European city. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous.
5
Anonymous- 09 Feb. 2014
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Bad: Wifi endast i receptionen
4
Lorenza Ravasio- 07 Feb. 2014
  • Couple
  • Services
    4
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    4
  • Staff
    4
  • Value for money
    4
Very nice hotel with charming staff. The building has all the charms of the early century palace. It is a very quiet hotel along the danube and it enjoys unique advantages. The main one is the presence of the spa facilities with indoor swimming pool with thermal water and spa facilites. Then you get a large room for a very competitive price. We took the winter offer and got 3 nights for the price of 2 with 1 days free spa. The extra spa day was ony 8 Euros. A bargain price for a very pleasant stay.
5
véroniques taveau- 05 Feb. 2014
  • Group of friends
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
I was very impressed by the availability of the staff everything was perfect I highly recommend the hotel and the spa and I am planning to go back to the Gellert soon
4
Arthur M.- 04 Feb. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Agoda
Good: Free Spa, Breakfast, 60s Style Relaxing and balzing at the hot spas of Budapest, felt fresh
4.6
Rod- 31 Jan. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location was excellent, right on the Dunube! The view is fantastic from the room. Facilities are very good & the Spa is brilliant.
5
Toby Holland- 31 Jan. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
almost impossible to fault - why stay anywhere else ??
5
Anonymous- 24 Jan. 2014
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location for exporiong Budapest, location of spa, art exhibition in lobby
4.6
Gunnar- 10 Jan. 2014
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Please note that I have used this hotel as my favorite hotel in Budapest for 15 years. I am very happy despite the lack of aircondition during summer time.
5
Traveler- 30 Dec. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: how close it was to everything, great staff. Bad: Rooms need a little updating. aircon Great pools
5
Louis- 28 Dec. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: The indoor link to the Gellert spa, the views over the Danube and the high quality of the restaurant food and buffet breakfast. Location Tip: Superb location right by the attractive Liberty Bridge linking Gellert Hill and central Pest We really enjoyed our stay at the Gellert hotel, and used the adjoining spa twice during our visit. We stayed in a lovely room with a balcony view of the river and found the service to be excellent throughout our stay. It's a fairly old fashioned hotel, formal but friendly. A superb buffet breakfast is included, which is a big plus although it did get crowded some of the time. We also enjoyed some evening meals there; the food quality was high, portions generous and the musical quartet very entertaining. I would recommend the Gellert to anyone looking for a relaxing break in Budapest.
4.6
Ondrej- 23 Dec. 2013
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: nice and helpfull stuff, great spa, romantic location close to main places, easy access by car. Tasty breakfast. Bad: entry to the spa is limited to ONLY ONE per stay.
5
Jacqueline- 19 Dec. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very good location, lovely old style feel to the hotel. Breakfast buffet was amazing!!! And loved that we got free entry to the Gellert Spa during our visit :) Will definitely stay here again!!!
5
Robert- 16 Dec. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great historic ambiance, the building, the fin-du-siecle atmosphere, the spacious room, hallways, reception and restaurants. The view over the Danube and one of the most beautiful bridges in Europe. The location
5
Anonymous- 15 Dec. 2013
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel is magnificent, the location outstanding, the staff friendly and the entire experience a delight
4.6
Matthew- 14 Dec. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: style elegance space large rooms Bad: shower coffee
3.7
eläkelläispappa- 12 Dec. 2013
  • Mature couple
  • Services
    4
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    2
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    4
  • Value for money
    2
The room was not quite "deluxe". Seemed to be the 1918 period. Traffic noise were too much for me. Next time I will order the room the inner courtyard side. Room cleaning was good and staff was official friendly. Food in the hotel generally satisfactory, although expensive. The spa was absolutely fantastic
4.2
Tomas- 12 Dec. 2013
  • Mature couple
  • Services
    3
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    4
  • Value for money
    4
I will recommend my frieds to stay in this hotel
4.6
Mary- 03 Dec. 2013
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: the staff were fabulous and the location was perfect...a bit away from the hustle and bustle and right beside the Gellert Hill which has the best views of the city. Bad: although it is an older hotel it could have been much cleaner...the stairs in particular
5
Anonymous- 01 Dec. 2013
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Convenient location to visit city by public transport. Facilities including access to swimming baths very good Excellent breakfasts Bad: Nothing adverse-all was as promised
5
Chrysanthi- 29 Nov. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Loved it . It was magical. Brilliant breakfast, great staff, top location. Bad: Lost time at the spa. From the entry on level1 to downstairs, to back up stairs to locker rooms.
5
Traveler- 28 Nov. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Staff, location, food. Bad: One morning the breakfast room proved too small for the number of people. There was capacity to add to the number of tables. Location Tip: Budapest is a wonderful city with beautiful buildings, museums and plenty for everyone to do. The transport network is brilliant, metro, trams and bus We had long wanted to stay at the Gellert and did so as a special birthday treat. We love Art Nouveau and this old hotel suited nicely. The staff were really welcoming without being intrusive. Our room overlooked the river and while it also overlooked the tram stops, the sound did not intrude. The room was very comfortable and spacious with easy access to the spa. We dined twice at the brasserie which was great. Sometimes when you look forward to something it can be a disappointment, but not this hotel. It was all we had hoped for. We look forward to repeating the experience.
5
Jennifer- 27 Nov. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I was in Budapest to have some dental work done and my dentist Dr Alföldi (www.dentist-hungary.net)recommended this hotel as it was just across the road from the surgery... Being a solo traveller It couldn't have been handier to get to. It takes about an hour to get to from the airport via shuttle bus which costs about €10... When I arrived my check in took all of 5 mins which is great as I have booked hotels before with other sites and have experienced major delays with my bookings.. So basically I'm saying that the Gellërt hotel from the danubius group work brilliantly with Booking.com and the staff at reception couldn't have been more helpful and knowing I was over getting dental work they really looked out for me...the rooms are basic but very comfortable... Plenty of hot water... While there I took advantage of many of the baths and spa treatments in the hotel... Very relaxing and extremely good value for money... A couple of nights I got room service and found the service very efficient.... I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough....I Have used this hotel now twice and would definitely stay here again.... This hotel was perfect for me for my needs for my dental work... But it would also be perfect for a girlie weekend, a romantic getaway or even business!! Bad: I liked everything about this hotel there is no negative comments!!
4.8
Elena- 23 Nov. 2013
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: location is very good. we like termal bathes and breakfast, that was included, was vast. we really like staff there. they are very friendly and helpful. furthermore, wifi works well. Bad: rooms are quite old, but it isn't significant.
4.8
Alex- 20 Nov. 2013
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location, food, extremely helpful staff
5
ANONYMOUS- 18 Nov. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
Free internet i rooms are wishable
5
Christtopher & Elisabeth Davies- 17 Nov. 2013
  • Mature couple
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
An excellent hotel with a great tradition of hospitality. The staff are informal, yet respectful, so that we felt comfortable and relaxed. Food very good and service attentive, to ensure that the guest is satisfied. We will be back before long.
4.5
Natalia- 16 Nov. 2013
  • Family with older children
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    4
Прекрасное расположение. Удобно добираться до всех самых интересных мест. После прогулок по городу отлично отдохнуть в термах. Приятное обслуживание. Номера требуют ремонта.
5
D and B- 16 Nov. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Everyone should stay at the Gellért Hotel at least once in their lives - a fabulous building with style and charm, linked to the equally fabulous Gellért Baths. The atmosphere in the hotel is peaceful and comfortable, and there is a pleasing feeling of spaciousness in this classic hotel. You can put on your bathing robe (provided), and walk down the corridor to enter the thermal baths. The Gellért Espresso at the hotel is recommended for afternoon coffee and cake, with live piano music. And the hotel is an ideal location on the Danube, close to all city attractions and served by trams and buses. The staff are very welcoming and provide a great service (köszönöm!) We look forward to visiting again.
5
David- 11 Nov. 2013
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Stylish elegent hotel within easy walking distance of everything we wanted to do & see. Loved the location. Bad: There was a little confusion for us when using the spa facilities & we could have done with more instruction from the staff. Also signage was a little confusing.
4.6
Anonymous- 06 Nov. 2013
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location and views excellent. Staff were outstanding. General ambience excellent Bad: A lot of overcrowding at breakfast and difficulty finding a table and cups etc. Room needed dusted.
5
midori f- 28 Oct. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
It was amazing to stay in such a wonderful historical building with amazing spa bath included in the hotel stay. Really loved it and I would like to stay in the better room with view next time
4.8
Mary- 28 Oct. 2013
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: View of the Danube; friendly, helpful staff; location for sightseeing; dining ,the spa Bad: I think the hotel decor could be uupdated--but just a little
4.8
Marja- 26 Oct. 2013
  • Family with older children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The building is great, and the location is perfect. We arrived late and yet it was possible to have dinner at a very nice surrounding. The wine which was offered by glass was excellent. Bad: Nothing really disturbed us. The facility is old and some renovation might be due, however, the feeling of the glory of the past should not be lost.
5
Riz E- 23 Oct. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Service, the spa was good. The hotel was not far from the sights or the market. Bad: I would not improve anything as they was nothing to improve. Location Tip: Location was central, market was just across the bridge, also to catch the hop on hop off bus was just 20 mins walk from hotel The Hotel was great, clean room and helpful staff, some even remembered what kind of tea you have. I have been to Budapest before and it was good but this was better. Beautiful city, sightseeing was good, food was in certain places was good in the others was bearable. The hop on hop off bus was good value and it took you to the sights to see. But overall experience was great, would visit again.
5
pud- 22 Oct. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
If you are visiting Budapest this is the only hotel to stay at-yes the rooms are bit careworn and there is some noise from the street and no aircon but this place has masses of character. Huge public areas with original artwork, furniture and art nouveau features plus beautifully preserved thermal baths and an outdoor pool . The excellent breakfast will keep you going all day and I found the staff very friendly and helpful. I had a room with balcony overlooking the Danube. There is a tram stop over the road and Pest can be reached in just a few minutes.
4.6
Richard- 09 Oct. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Tiffany location in Budapest Splendid reminder of the Spa culture at the turn of the century .Faded shabby chic rooms but the balcony's looking the Danube makes it all worthwhile Rich lovely breakfasts Opulent Spa steam sauna soaking in hot spring waters green gold red leafy hills surround the hotel w/majestic views of the towering Citadel..Premiere attraction unique experience attentive staff the Gellart still pleasesand enchants travelers.Loved the plush fluffy white Bathrobes.Chic! Bad: the older rooms need attention badly .chips peeling paint worn carpets and dismal furnishings .Still their are chandeliers ,mini fridges, balconies and the rooms are kept very clean by attentive housekeeping staff.
5
Tim- 07 Oct. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This is a magnificent hotel, the location excellent, the staff were exceptional, I loved the old-world atmosphere, the breakfast was one of the best I have had anywhere and it was wonderful to have the baths right next door.
5
MIKE L- 29 Sep. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: A pleasure to stay here. Bad: Rooms need updating, still vintage about 1960's. Put WIFI into the hotel rooms. Why charge $25/day for internet in room - Free in lobby only. :=( Location Tip: Very convient, would stay here AGAIN AND AGAIN.. The Hotel is a pleasure to stay at. The elegance is still present. The staff was helpful. The first room was a closet and we requested one same price group a little different lay out and they did a room change in a heart beat. Used the famous pool. Remember that the pool area closes at 7:45 PM so do not expect a midnight swim. Quick access to the city trolly system, so no need to take your car. Buffett was upsacle.
5
Richard- 27 Sep. 2013
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: A wonderful experience with the greatest view and charm and location. Bad: We both loved every minute...it was just like stepping back in time....but with modern amenities.
4.8
Helen- 19 Sep. 2013
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location for city break in Budapest excellent. The Spa and its facilities were very good. The Brasserie restaurant,the cafe and coffee bar very good. Staff at all levels polite gd English.Breakfasrs lovely if very busy. Public transport very close. Bad: As the hotel is circa 1909/10 having also survived the communist era the single room I had was in need of an update but nevertheless it was clean and secure
5
Joseph Caruana- 11 Jul. 2013
  • Mature couple
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
We shall be coming again to the hotel at least 2 times more this summer we would only wish that our rooms air condition is capable of cooling the room as it was to hot last year
5
Traveler- 04 Jul. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Grandeur, staff and spa Bad: Some things are a little worn Location Tip: Location was great, easy to get everwhere Gorgeous hotel, the former grandeur is amazing. Although a bit worn around the edges now, the atmosphere is amazing, the staff are incredible and the history is all around you. The breakfast is one of the best selections I've experienced and the location is great. I've already booked my return trip! Would highly recommend!
5
Frank- 04 Jun. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything about the hotel , especially staff and the breakfast and nearness to city centre .I stayed there some years ago , and will stay again later this summer with my wife ,Thanks Bad: Nothing
5
Ernani Teixeira- 04 Jun. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
Fantastic Art Nouveau baths.
5
Traveler- 28 May. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: The excellent view of the Danube Bad: The carpets are becoming a little marked Location Tip: Good location for getting around the trams stop outside (if over 65 the public transport is free in Budapest but must carry ID to prove age). A great hotel in all respects, but its past magnificence is becoming slightly faded. A wonderful building in the banks of the Danube. Get a room at the front and you can sit on the balcony all day watching people, bikes, trams, and of course boats pass by. So interesting if a little noisy at by night. The breakfasts are very good, with wide choice and good service. The rooms are large with high ceilings, ours had a chandelier! The adjoining spa is well worth the free visit which comes with your stay. The location is convenient for the river but a tram-ride away from the centre. The hop-on-hop-off Site-seeing buses from Big Bus Co stop outside the hotel and are good value. Pay for one day get second day free. Ticket also includes Night Tour and Boat Trip on Danube.
5
William- 26 May. 2013
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff were ever helpful and considerate in dealing with my son and me, especiallyu with respect to our sight-seeing wishes.. The hotel was very handy to superb restaurants and shopping facilities. Bad: The bathroom lighting was not as intense as I would like it to be, especially for shaving.
5
David- 23 May. 2013
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Super location, great staff, superb spa, made it an excellent experience all round Bad: Only one free entry to Spa per guest per stay
5
Karin- 09 May. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Historic hotel with a romantic, "Orient-Express-ish" atmosphere a, magnificent breakfast, (from my point of view;) the best brandy in the world in the bar. The staff is very nice, the location close to perfect, and of course the spa is something special. I would like to stay there again.
5
Stevan R.- 28 Apr. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Agoda
Good: Hote the local Area, and the resturants This hotel was a magnificent structure very old with all of the cultural ambiance of Hungry.
4.6
Peter- 28 Apr. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Old world style of a 'Grand' hotel. Very full & generous breakfast buffet. One free visit to the Gellert Spa included in stay. Bathtub the size of a sarcophagus. Instant hot water. Bad: Bathroom needs to have an exhaust fan
4.6
Janaína- 15 Apr. 2013
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything! It's my house in Budapest. I stayed twice and I really come back a thousand of times : - ) Bad: Nothing!
4.7
andrea berger- 03 Apr. 2013
  • Group of friends
  • Services
    4
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
Cold coffee at breakfast, except this, it was a lovely stay.
5
Caroline Kano- 02 Apr. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
This is a most beautiful hotel, with a very friendly atmosphere. The breakfast room is magnificent. The lower priced single rooms are simple and without a view, but are quite adequate. I enjoyed my stay very much.
5
Henriette- 01 Apr. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
This guest did not leave a comment.
5
Mark and Wania M- 31 Mar. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
The hotel is a beautiful and historic building constructed on a grand scale and the quality of the services reflects this. Breakfast is a feast that sets you up for the day and the standard of the breakfast and reception staff is excellent. We have only one serious reservation, which is the spa, entry to which is included in the price of the hotel. I have to assume that the spa, though part of the hotel building, is nevertheless not part of the hotel itself, since the service and instructions are very poor unless one is Hungarian and can speak Hungarian. Almost none of the signs is in English and the staff do not speak any but the most rudimentary English. In addition, we found several of the staff to be surly and even rude, all of which completely spoiled our visit. Indeed, the attitude of the spa staff was unlike anything that we encountered during the whole of our visit to Budapest, which we enjoyed hugely.
5
A traveler- 31 Mar. 2013
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
This guest did not leave a comment.
4.8
Gustavo- 24 Mar. 2013
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Its a very nice hotel, so friendly, very nice staff. Amazing location. Perfect!
5
Frederick- 02 Mar. 2013
  • Couple
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
In summary we were satisfied. We will definitely return.
4.8
Eugeen- 23 Feb. 2013
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Gellert has lot sof character and soul. And their baths / spa is amazing.
4.8
Michael Vaughan-Rees - 20 Feb. 2013
  • Mature couple
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
A wonderful hotel, with marvellous staff, where we would like to be able to stay more often. Only two negative points. Some things (upholstery, net curtains) could be cleaned more frequently; and we find the fairly constant background music in the public areas boring and intrusive. If it were traditional Hungarian music it wouldn't be so bad; but that constant bland easy listening stuff, on a loop so you keep hearing the same tunes time and time again ... I think I even recognised the tape from two years ago!
4.7
Kaufmann Insea- 15 Feb. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    4
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
Mein Problem ist jedes Mal das Bistro des Hotels. Da ich alleine bin und wegen Zahnarztbesuch nach Budapest komme, sollte die Küche frischer sein. Ueber den Palatschinken mit Fleisch aus der Vorspeisen Menuekarte giesst die Küche dieselbe Mehlsauce wie über das Paprikahuhn, nur anders in der Farbe. Dann gibt es keinen Fruchtsalat, kein Sorbet oder Glacé - weder mittags noch abends als Dessert, sondern nur Schololaden-Palatschinken oder andere Mehlspeis. Das Hotel liebe ich sehr! Ich komme regelmässig seit 1995! Das Thermalbad ist unglaublich schön renoviert und mit dem neuen Eingang phantastisch. Es ist sehr hygienisch und gut organisiert - man fühlt sich wie im Hrem von Harun-al-Rashid! Danke für die Nachfrage. Insea Kaufmann
4.2
Zorica Byford- 13 Feb. 2013
  • Mature couple
  • Services
    4
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    4
  • Staff
    4
  • Value for money
    5
I think that guests should not have to pay for the swimming pool - pscychologically it would be better to increase the cost of the room a little. Also I am disappointed that I was not able to photograph the swimming pool.
4.7
Barbara Wiggins- 30 Jan. 2013
  • Group of friends
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    4
We had a great 4 days.....I loved Budapest and hotel...I liked the old fashionedness. I liked the reception staff and shop staff and spa staff...I thought they were exceptional, especially at reception and shop. They had great integrity and professionalism, and were very helpful. Breakfast fruit was ok , but I thought it was nothing special....Yogurt etc was excellent. I had a dessert at breakfast in a glass with raspberry topping on 2nd day and it had gone off...it was fizzy and wasnt meant to be. I loved the Spa....our dinner in Panorama was excellent on 1st evening for main course and service....but dessert (merangue) was not exciting and fresh. Everything else perfect. Doormen and taxi service great... View from room and getting what we requested great. I loved Budapest.
4.5
Colin Corbett- 30 Jan. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Services
    3
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
Dear Sir or Madam - As a regular visitor to the Gellert, I love the friendly & helpful staff - its great to see the same faces year after year. A couple of points which would make a visit even better. A. Internet access is ridiculously expensive - quite a few travelers will be put off staying as so many (quite cheap) hotels provide this free. B. A huge plus about staying at the Gellert was that you could pop in to the Spa any time for free - One free visit just seems mean .... C. now that the Spa is "Mixed" all the time is very off putting, Noisier, Loved up couples kissing & just about having sex, The seats in the mens spa covered with plastic bags, water bottles, robes, sandwiches etc BRING BACK THE MEN ONLY DAYS PLEASE. Yours Colin Corbett
4.6
Penelope- 22 Jan. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The professionalism of the staff, the vicinity to the spa and benefits (first entry is free, the second for 50%, free use of bathrobe and locker), the breakfast, the view, the live piano music at the Espresso Bar. Bad: I liked everything but the bed was too soft for my taste.
5
Penelope4- 20 Jan. 2013
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: VirtualTourist
I can highly commend all the staff because they're the most professional hotel staff. My stay was so pleasant that I immediately booked my next stay (on-line) as soon I got home. Not only to avail of good prices but to make sure I get a room for the dates that I want. Unique Quality: The breakfast is great! The view and the attentive staff will make you want to stay longer in the restaurant but then you realize the spa is waiting. The hotel provides a bathrobe for you to use at the spa which you can enter without having to go out of the hotel. The spa is not owned by the hotel but you get free access and pay 50% for your next visit. It was a cold weekend in January but the heating works and the towels are clean. The live piano music from 6 to 8 pm in the Espresso Bar is to die for (I am still alive so you see I am just exaggerating). I like everything about the hotel. Including the location! Opinion of Price: about average Related to: Spa and Resort
5
Helen Rose- 11 Jan. 2013
  • Mature couple
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
Enjoyed the stay very much and the staff were very helpful when my purse was stolen on the metro. Some of the bathroom needs repair as door rotted and would not close at room 328
4.5
Agnes Rus Palfalvi- 14 Dec. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Services
    4
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
Outstanding location. Professional, long term staff. 30 year + wonderful experience at this hotel. thank you.
4.5
Italia- 13 Dec. 2012
  • Group of friends
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    3
All was excellent but the bathroom was very shattered and the smell was not good. The staff was excellent ! Thank you very much !!!!
4
Rob F- 11 Dec. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Services
    3
  • Cleaniness
    3
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    4
There should be free wifi throughout the entire hotel! Staff were great although my room was a little on the shabby side - I know there are better rooms in the hotel...
5
Andrea- 08 Dec. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: the hotel gellert is a grand old dame of european historical hotels, a rare find these days and absolutely wonderful - full of character and old world charme combined with spa facilities of a very special kind in the attached historical baths with their healing mineral waters. surprisingly it has survived the nazi and soviet occupation and post soviet economical turmoil and these days presents itself in the same old charme and perfect service as the classical grand hotel of the habsburg monarchy times. the service at reception is more than perfect, extremely skilled, understated and mulitlingual with great sense of humour and high attention to the guest's needs. always ready to assist with perfect knowledge of budapest and it's facilities. we had a wonderful room overlooking the danube and the green bridge, perfectly furnished in "biedermeier" style, with nice antiques and newly upholstered classical chairs and lamps in a warm green colour. beautiful and large classical bathroom suite. modest mini bar prices. the breakfast buffet was phantastic with a wide choice of various interesting things to choose from, hungarian and french champagne could be ordered for a small extra payment and the kitchen would make delicious omlettes to order. the breakfast room is elegant, sunny in the morning and overlooks the river. very kind and attentive service. we ordered a bouquet of flowers for the birthday, the lillies and roses delivered were of the highest quality. there is also a restaurant with gypsie music in the evening and a cafe with a selection of delicious cakes. we can highly recommend the bistro, where you can enjoy traditional and modern hungarian dishes and the best are the desserts, like chocolate cake with lavender icecream and maroni puree on cherrie compote - absolutely perfect. hungary is a desert lover's paradise. the historical baths are another top feature of the hotel. very uniqe indeed. Bad: the only thing we were a bit disappointed by was the salami selection on the breakfast buffet. only one salami of medium quality. hungary is famous for it's world class salamis and we had hoped to get a bit of an insight into what's on offer via the breakfast buffet. apart from the limited salami selection, though, the breakfast was absolutely perfect, a dream breakfast in beautiful surroundings. perfect for a romantic weekend. thanks to all the staff at the gellert. we will come back.
5
Traveler- 08 Dec. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
The staff were helpful and professional. The building was beautiful and the breakfast was very good. Only warning is that the shower was a bit crowded (fairly standard for Europe).
5
Richard & Helen- 06 Dec. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
Wonderful
5
Vicki- 13 Nov. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
The Gellert is rightly one of the best known hotels in Eastern Europe. It has a timeless (if slightly faded) grandeur and old world charm about it which I found absolutely irresistible. If you're looking for a bright, airy, modern hotel with crisp decor, you will hate The Gellert. On the other hand, if you're looking for unique and beautiful old world charm, you'll really enjoy it here. Breakfasts are superb, the rooms super comfortable and the spa is just out of this world. Trams run very regularly from outside the hotel into town, making the location fantastic for exploring the city. Very highly recommended!
5
Ziad- 09 Nov. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: HotelClub
This hotel is excellent by all means and is very good value for money. The thermal baths are amazing and can give you a relaxing time. The breakfast they offer is very rich with a lot of varieties. My only negative comment is on the size of the rom which is rather small.
5
Joseph- 07 Nov. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Good room really high ceilings, staff very friendly and professional, breakfast buffet excellent, location right on the river only 5 min walk over the bridge to the city centre, also a tram stop at the front if the hotel. The spa is great too, one free entry as part of your hotel booking. Bad: Free wifi only in lobby, you can buy it for your room online.
5
Michael- 06 Nov. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location; spa and massage facilities and one free entry to Gellert baths for guests; historical site; close to public transport; easy walk to city centre, friendly, helpful staff.
4.8
Mike Ertl- 05 Nov. 2012
  • Couple
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
This is a big hotel in the nicest way, the wide corridors and grand stairways are a delight to get about. The staff are cheerful and helpful, fabulous location by the attractive Hammersmith-like bridge leading to town. We ate once at the hotel (as the choice of restaurants was so good in town) in the Panorama on live music day after our free spa which was fun, if only the singers could have been without microphones as they were way too loud, but they stopped after 6 songs and the Hungarian folk music with could be enjoyed acoustically. The rooms are spacious, 4m ceilings with tall French windows, decor clean but dated with artex and boxed in areas of the room reducing what could have been even more wonderfully open and large feeling, but don't let that put you off though. Incredibly comfortable pillows!
5
Andrew- 29 Oct. 2012
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent sized room and wonderful view from the balcony. Large variety of quality food at breakfast. Adjoining bath stunning visually and a pleasure to use. Bad: The hotel has not been updated for a while, for me this adds to its charm but those who prefer a more up to date look may not like this.
5
S. Anstey- 28 Oct. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
Excellent in every way, except wi fi in rooms would be nice addition. Perfect!
4.7
Krister N- 28 Oct. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    4
I stayed there as a guest on a wedding. Great place and terrific arrangement for the wedding dinner and party. I choose a small room but it was quite ok.
5
Pam M- 22 Oct. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Thermal Spa Bad: No more free entry to the Baths Location Tip: The location is just perfect for all my needs. I have stayed at The Gellert on number of occasions and I just love it, the staff are really kind and helpful . The reception staff speak very good English and help the guests with any problems they may need any help with. The hotel has great breakfast to set you up for the day. The hotel is in an excellent location and is easy to get to all the attractions with ease, there are tram and bus stops near the hotel. It is next to the famous Gellert Baths and it is one of the best thermal bath in Budapest , the hotel guests get one free admission and 50% discount on the consecutive visits.
5
Pam- 22 Oct. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
I have stayed at The Gellert on number of occasions and I just love it, the staff are really kind and helpful . The reception staff speak very good English and help the guests with any problems they may need any help with. The hotel has great breakfast to set you up for the day. The hotel is in an excellent location and is easy to get to all the attractions with ease, there are tram and bus stops near the hotel. It is next to the famous Gellert Baths and it is one of the best thermal bath in Budapest , the hotel guests get one free admission and 50% discount on the consecutive visits.
5
Vachez- 10 Oct. 2012
  • Family with older children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The people were extremely friendly and helped us solve problems.All of them.
4.6
Reinhold- 08 Oct. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Although it is an ageing turn of the century splendor palace with it's Turkish Baths, it still has a lot of charm. The Panorama Restaurant was great as was the Gipsy Band with Berki Bela who played a special set for my oldest daughter's birthday. It was a nice end to a Roots Adventure in Eastern Europe.
4.75
Miriam- 06 Oct. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: הכל
5
Traveler- 04 Oct. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
I really enjoyed my stay in this iconic building. The breakfasts were good, staff were helpful and the Gellert Baths were amazing. There's a free visit to the baths for everyone who stays at the hotel.
5
A traveler- 04 Oct. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
I really enjoyed my stay in this iconic building. The breakfasts were good, staff were helpful and the Gellert Baths were amazing. There's a free visit to the baths for everyone who stays at the hotel.

Still have questions? Get in touch:

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Phone: +36-1-889-5500
Room reservation: +36 1 889 5501
Fax: +36 1 889 5505

Address: 2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map View map

Room reservation

+36 1 889 5501

Address:
2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map

Email:
Send e-mail

One hotel selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

Two hotels selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

One hotel selected! One hotel seleted (3/1)

X