toggle menu

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Call us

Reviews

Hotel rating
Overall score
4.8/5
Based on 6026 reviews
Services
4.8/5
Cleaniness
4.8/5
Comfort
4.8/5
Location
4.8/5
Staff
4.8/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Did you enjoy your stay with us? Tell us about your experience!
5
Dan Moore- 15 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great hotel, great location, good value
5
Frank Kalmar- 15 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
A classic in style and quality. And a Roman spa to crown the experience.
5
Bálint Árva- 14 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Magnificient view :)
4.6
Stacy- 13 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Lots of character! Great views of the Danube, great location, metro and train stops right in front of the hotel!
5
Alison- 13 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The Gellert is a gem of a hotel, old fashioned but quirky.. Location is ideal for exploring the city as is in waking distance to all the main sights and right on the Danube so amazing views from our balcony. The spa at the Gellert is also a must visit
5
Anonymous- 11 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location beautiful old building- next to spa. Brilliant staff Bad: Nothing
5
Katalin- 11 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I liked the polite personel, their smile from receptionists to cleaning ladies. Bad: All seemed good!
5
Hans-juergen- 10 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Extremely well managed reception and friendly staff. Great massage at the Spa, amazing style of the hotel is also important to mention. Many thanks and till next time. Bad: Alles bestens.
4.8
Andy- 08 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Grand hotel Very helpful and friendly staff Great breakfast Incredible stay Bad: Nothing
5
Yiannis Stylianidis- 07 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Super!
5
Valeriu Dobre- 07 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Nice place!
5
william o connor- 07 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great hotel
5
Anonymous- 06 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Old. Felt like being transported to the 1920s. The inspiration for The Grand Budapest Hotel movie. Bad: Bathroom had a bit of an odor....but all original fittings so not a bother.
4.6
Laura- 06 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The classic elegance of an old hotel. Bad: A little tired but I hear renovations are planned.
4.5
Marion- 06 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location was perfect. Hotel was grand and had a very interesting history. I was lucky with our room, I had a lovely view. so pleased we did not have a room with a court yard view. Bad: Because of the age of the hotel it is in need of a little T.L.C. especially the bathrooms.
5
BAE LEO- 05 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Nice place
4.5
Ines- 05 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great hotel, excellent location, excellent breakfast, nice staff. I will come again Bad: -
5
Anonymous- 04 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: monarchy meets communism - most delightful
5
Wendy- 03 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The breakfast was fantastic the staff were very helpful and efficient. The hotel was very clean ,the location was good with great access to a good brilliant transport system-we would definitely recommend the gellert Bad: The bed was a little too soft
5
Margaret- 02 Dec. 2019
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Hotels.com
Great location. Breakfast fabulous. Overall could do with a freshen up but that is just cosmetic. Would not want to change the old world elegance.
5
Madalina- 30 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location, staff, food, the spa, rooms were perfect. And the price very low Bad: It should have a fitness gym and fresh juices at breakfast
4.8
Raymond- 30 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Perfectly situated in the heart of Budapest..Easy acces to the Gellert spa😊😊👍 Bad: Need renovation😊.but generally very nice hotel😊😊
5
Vladimir- 29 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great architecture art deco.I was in transit now but last time used thermal bath connected to hotel.Fantastic breakfast.Professional nice staff good English spoken. Bad: Nothing to fislike
5
Raquel- 29 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I recoment it 100%,a wonderful stay. Stunning view from the room to de Danube and the Liberty Brigde! Charming historical vintage old fashion hotel and building! Staying here is like a trip to the past,the perfect hotel to stay in a city like Budapest! Perfect location to walk nicely and see the nicest part of Budapest,public transport(tram,metro and buses just in front of the door) Wonderful breakfast with view to the Danube! Staff really profesional and friendy,specially the breakfast staff. Direct entry from the hotel to the spa,with on reception for hotel guest,you can go with the bathrobe and sleepers from the room and back,very convinient and they offer a discount for hotel guests. Really lovelly stay,I would love to come back! Thank you!
5
Mikolaj Jarkowski- 28 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Rooms are a bit outdated, but the atmosphere is great
5
Simon- 27 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Hotel great, rooms good but need a little update
5
Jana- 25 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I appreciated the comfort, a great breakfast, a bathrobe in the room and the opportunity to go directly to the pools. And above all – the view from the room was really beautiful.
4.5
Philippa- 25 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff were so polite and helpful, even found us a European plug for our room and ordered us our airport taxi which was a Mercedes and only cost £25. The breakfast is such good value!So much choice and freshly cooked.The views and location were ideal access to centre of Budespest.We got around by bicycle which cost around £10 for two of us per day. Bad: We booked a “double bed with courtyard”- it was a concrete court yard and not the view booking.com showed.We were staying the wrong side of property.Just bit of shame and the double bed was two single beds pushed together.
5
Dr.Michael- 25 Nov. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Orbitz
Possibility the best hotel in Europe, if you prefer a classic building, staff, old-world atmosphere, and charm of a historic city. Loved the location, the room view, the hotel amenities, the breakfast, and Tram out front of building. When I return to Budapest I will only stay in this hotel.
5
Thomas- 22 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location is excellent and the spa which is connected is the best in Budapest. Bad: The room was a bit dated with a toilet separated from the rest of the bathroom. The bed for such a beautiful property was not first class by any means.
5
Diana- 22 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Central location
4.8
Yongwook- 22 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: 1. Location is superb. 2. View is world-class. 3. Very elegant but historical deco. 4. Professional, international, convivial staffs. 5. Relatively economical choice compared to its fame and prestige. Bad: The breakfast should have been more diverse(e.g. Goulash Soup, or other hot meals need to be added sometimes)
5
Anonymous- 21 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location, the building.. Bad: Staff at the breakfast room should speak English and they should know what kind of meat they are serving.
4.8
Melanie- 20 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Fabulous view from terrace Bad: A little too ‘faded’ grandeur
5
Elizabeth- 19 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This is a grand old hotel. The access to the spa is a real advantage. Also, the breakfast is first rate and the view from the breakfast room is impressive. I like all the old touches, like the lobby that has remained unchanged.
5
Ramana- 15 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Had a beautiful stay, love the old world feel of the hotel and it’s amazing having direct access and discounted admission to the medicinal thermal spa next door. The hotel staff are incredibly helpful and the service is works class.
5
Walter- 15 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Quality and history.
5
Anne- 12 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Amazing hotel. Loved our stay there Bad: Nothing
5
Traveler- 11 Nov. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
This was our third stay at the Gellert. We are impressed with the staff, friendly and accommodating. The hotel is aging but our room was clean and relatively quiet. Loved our river view!
5
Mario Herrera- 11 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Quiet and beautiful place
4.8
Barbara- 10 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location. Staff friendly and informative. Easy check in. Breakfast was plentiful. Large double room and views over Danube beautiful Bad: A little dated and prob in need of a good makeover but the dated nature of the hotel added to its charm. Used the thermal baths attached to the hotel which was a bit of a nightmare as signage was poor inside. Took an awful long time to find a way out
4.6
Marianna- 10 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The breakfast is full of everything and the stuff is tasting. The position is good and the staff super nice.
5
Kovács Kond- 10 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Really friendly.
5
Thomas- 08 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Lovely hotel, lovely Breakfast, friendly staff
5
Anonymous- 08 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very kindly and correct service. Perfect the position.
4.8
Steven- 08 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Fantastic hotel - stayed in suite 123 that had 3 balconies and a terrace area Bad: Nothing to dislike
4.8
Karsten- 07 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The beauty of this Art Nouveau style hotel is fabulous. The service is excellent, and the food is good. The hotel is built in front of the Gellert Spa, so that you can walk in your robe straight into the magnificent marble and glazed tile decorated halls, with mineral baths. The rooms has wooden panels and crystal chandeliers and are kept in reasonably original condition. A little bit of gentle renovation would be in its place, but the charm of the rooms makes up for what you must chose to see as patina. We loved the Gellert hotel, it was a great extra experience un top of a wonderful visit to beautiful Budapest.   Bad: Carpets were worn and stained, the same was true of the upholstery of furniture. Cleaning was very superficial while we lived there.
5
Karsten Lund- 07 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
The beauty of this Art Nouveau style hotel is fabulous. The service is excellent, and the food is good. The hotel is built in front of the Gellert Spa, so that you can walk in your robe straight into the magnificent marble and glazed tile decorated halls, with mineral baths. The rooms has wooden panels and crystal chandeliers and are kept in reasonably original condition. A little bit of gentle renovation would be in its place, but the charm of the rooms makes up for what you must chose to see as patina. We loved the Gellert hotel, it was a great extra experience un top of a wonderful visit to beautiful Budapest.
5
Paul- 04 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Perfect location, staff were so accommodating and welcoming even upon arrival outside the doors. I definitely will be back and at this hotel Bad: Nothing to not like
5
Traveler- 02 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Excellent hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location with fantastic Danube river, city and hill views. Delicious breakfast. Cosy, spacious room. Amazing value. Highly recommended and would happily stay at the Danubius Hotel Gellert again.
4.8
Lilian- 02 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Gellért worth it! Location, view of the rooms, architecture of the building, convenience of accessing the baths. Bad: The staff are very straightforward, it might be related to the Hungarian education and culture.
4.8
Anonymous- 01 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Access to the spa, the breakfast. The maintaing if the original features and furniture and not modernising it into a bland modern place. Bad: One of our rooms had a large pillar in the middle of the room. This was quirky rather than a problem though.
4.5
Sarah- 31 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great view from our room! Bad: Not having a key card
5
E. Egelhof- 29 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Very nice place to stay :-)
5
Delphine Doublet- 29 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Superbe !
5
Gyongyjel- 29 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very good location. Close to tram station, nice view
5
Janet- 29 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Amazing location at the end of liberty bridge on the buda side of Budapest with views of the Danube. Staff were amazingly kind and helpful. The thermal baths next door are great so bring swimming costumes. The buffet breakfast was extensive and served in the restaurant with a view of the Danube.
5
Vanessa Browning- 27 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Built in the early C20th, this spa and hotel are a good example of the Secession style.It has several restaurants, cafes and of course the beautiful baths which are photographed and displayed in the entrance area. However, on the hotel side, it's worth visiting the first floor where you will find an exhibition on the history of the building and you can view the stained glass staircase too.
4.8
Pavel- 27 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Basically, it was nearly perfect for my taste. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, good english too. The room was spacious enough, had all i need, was clean, silent and relaxing. Breakfast was gorgeous, spas were out of this world, i am pretty sure i would stay again only for it ;) The location is really great too - people tend to say its sorta remote, but it really isn't! All means of public transportation are within 50 meters from the hotel, the main touristic street starts right across the bridge, there are city market, shops and restaurants of all kinds all around the hotel. And finally, you would love the view from Gellert hill, and its right next to the hotel too. So overall - great, i can't wait to visit again. Bad: Not sure if its even worth mentioning, really. The furniture in the room was old and sorta shabby, but i didn't care at all, i only came to sleep basically. Also when i visited the spa, it turned out i didn't get slippers (i didn't know i was supposed to :)). I am pretty sure they would provide it if i mentioned it, i just didn't bother ;)
4.6
Akemi- 27 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff was very friendly and supportive. The breakfast has a plenty of variety. The hotel is located just a minute from the metro station (Metro 4). The spa is attached to the hotel and it is very easy to access from the hotel at a discount rate (Euro 20 -> Euro 14). Bad: The bathroom is a bit too tiny.
4.6
Madeleine- 27 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent location (proximity to the river and best bridge in Budapest, and range of public transport). Unique architecture in and out. Very good breakfast overlooking the river and excellent beer in the bar. There was a very noisy corporate event one morning, but the manager responded immediately to our concern and straight away the noise reached an acceptable level. Bad: The perspex shelf on the wall next to the washbasin could have been better placed. I hit my head on the sharp corner each time I washed my hands.
5
Elizabeth- 26 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Stayed at the Gellert for four nights and would stay there again at the drop of a hat. The location is excellent, just off the Liberty Bridge, in an ideal place to access the efficient public transport network. Yes the hotel is in need of a considerable update in some areas, but to bring this hotel back to its former glory would impact on the price- which is extremely reasonable. My room was comfortable (the bed was divinely comfortable!), cleaned every day and towels were replaced daily if requested. As for the food, anything you could possibly require for breakfast was available, hot food, cold food, pastries, wonderful coffee etc. The Sorozo & Bistro bar offers really good quality food, well presented by friendly and helpful staff. As for the reception staff at the hotel, they couldn't be more helpful. Then, there is the Gellert Spa which is astonishingly beautiful. I enjoyed the indoor pools and booked for a massage which was much needed after strolling around Budapest! If you're looking for a luxury hotel, with top notch five star presentation and facilities then perhaps this hotel isn't for you. BUT, if you're looking for somewhere which is well positioned, comfortable, clean, quirky, with incredibly helpful, friendly and polite staff and with great food to boot, then this is the place. Bad: The decor needs updating in places but this is a minor thing for me. It's difficult to talk about anything I didn't like, I really did enjoy my stay at this hotel.
5
Gillian- 25 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: breakfast was great good choices nothing was to much bother for the staff location was great near to everything or a tram ride away spoke to manager before I left to congratulate him on his hotel and staff excellent services from them all Bad: there could of been tea/coffee things in your room or a vending machine if you required a drink you had to wait for shop or restaurant to open.
5
Amy- 25 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff were all friendly and helpful, breakfast was delicious with lots of variety. Room was perfectly acceptable.
5
Traveler- 22 Oct. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
I love it that it's right at the Liberty Bridge. We stepped out and walked everywhere and back.
5
Darian- 21 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location is the best in Budapest and the breakfast was excellent
5
Dewan- 20 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent location and amazing views. Bad: Nil
4.5
John- 17 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location was the key to this hotel. Had a beautiful view from our balcony on the 4th floor. The staff were very friendly and would definitely book this hotel again. Bad: Bar closed at midnight and fried eggs were finished at breakfast at 9.50am when breakfast finished at 10 am
5
ElP- 16 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
If you are looking for modern facility, this will not be the one. It is a historical building of 101 yrs old and they keep it like this, to attract customers that are looking for this kind of experience.Baths attached to it are very nice, breakfast was delicious and plentiful, staff is very friendly and fluent in English.
5
Jane- 15 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location perfect especially as I was travelling alone. Close to tram, bus & underground. Great breakfast included Bad: Room too warm Pool too expensive for hotel guests Coffee machine too slow...needs updating
4.6
Anuschay- 15 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything!! Not a fancy new hotel, but has everything along with a extravagant breakfast. Bad: The strange smell in the entire property.
5
Karen- 15 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The Hotel was Perfect both for location & comfort. The Breakfast was excellent. We had booked a room with a balcony & our 1st night there wasn't one to give us but the following day we were delighted & got our room with a balcony. Laslo on reception was excellent informative & helpful. Bad: There wasn't anything i can complain about.
4.6
Joanne- 13 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff very helpful and friendly, prime location close to everything. Breakfast was good, even had fried eggs which is rare when leaving uk Bad: A bit dated but all off budapest can look dated as alot of ild buildings. Did not and would not put me off and it has not deterred me to recommend to a friend. Only criticism is not kettle and brewing stuff before getting into bed or waking up. But thats just a picky opinion
4.6
James- 13 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The breakfast was superb. The location was excellent Bad: The beds and pillows
4.5
Almunzer- 07 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location and exceptional style Bad: Slight noise from outside
5
Matteo Repetto- 06 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Back in the future
4.8
Marcela- 06 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Beautiful building!! Great breakfast, top quality food and drinks Bad: The thermal baths were a fiasco. They charge €14 each person to use the spa area, but water at the main pool is cold!!!! We exit the pool immediately, and had no charge at all
5
Aleksandr- 06 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent Location! Very clean! Very helpful and friendly staff! Outstanding breakfast! Bad: Nothing
5
Edward Goff- 05 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Looks good
4.5
Parisa- 03 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The building is very well situated in relation to the Danube and major attractions. Very beautiful bath and spa. Bad: It needs renovation. The interior is too old. There was mold on the bathroom ceiling.
5
Traveler- 02 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Art Deco Splendour Shows how things were in the 1920s and wonderful spa baths attached with a good hotel discount
5
Rene Mogensen- 02 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Perfect and nice
4.5
John- 01 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Breakfast on the patio with views across the bridge to Pest - very nice! Gellert Spa linked to hotel was great. Wonderful old building with lovely ambience. Fantastic location. Bad: Room was dated but matched to the old world feeling of the hotel.
4.6
K- 30 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Historic charm, location and balcony views, abundant hot water, excellent breakfast included.
5
Lallman- 26 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: breakfast is great, we need more vegetarian items Bad: THERE SHOULD BE A 24 HOUR COFFEE AVAILABLE
4.8
Johnny- 25 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very good
5
Roger O- 24 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Beautiful trip first visit great service reception spa 5+ breakfast
5
Dazarene- 24 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Dodgy aircon but otherwise great grand hotel. Shame guests have to pay to use the pool. Good plentiful buffet breakfast.
5
Karolyn- 24 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The history and historical, traditional feel of this place has made my stay in Budapest perfect Bad: Nothing, the hotel is probably what I expected deep down. For me, there was nothing not to lime
5
Laurence- 23 Sep. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
Wonderful historic hotel. Generally very well kept up. Great breakfasts. Great views of Danube and Pest across river. Comfortable rooms with good service. Next to metro. Helpful pleasant staff. Adjacent to famous Gellért spa. Unfortunately they no longer give free spa entry to hotel guests, but we’ll worth a visit.
4.6
Hanbing- 23 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Attractive Hotel: location+breakfast+swimming pool+service......
4.6
Carole- 21 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Living history - from check in desk to entering old room on upper floor we felt like removed from the current day. Walking in our bath robes to the famous on site baths was thrilling and immersing in the warm soothing waters then returning to our room for a peaceful nights sleep was wonderful. Bad: No air conditioning and a hot night but the pedestal fan noice rocked us to sleep and the beds were comfortable. Pillows not so much - very thin and small and needed to fold in half.
5
Stephen Oldbury- 21 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
The Gallert is pure old world charm and service.
4.6
John- 18 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Central location, great access to Tram and Metro system. Breakfast had wide set of options and great quality food and coffee. old world charm ( so not for your boutique minimalism types). Great value for money. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Budapest
4.6
Ann- 17 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I particularly liked the location by the Freedom Bridge. Also enjoyed the piano playing Cafe. Finally my bedroom wasn’t too small & bed was very comfortable. Bad: Nothing.
4.8
Venetta- 15 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Proximity to sites Bad: A little run down
5
Steven- 15 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Wonderful old style hotel. Beautiful decor. Great location. Fabulous breakfast selection. Helpful staff.
4.8
Adelina- 15 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The breakfast was absolutely amazing! Location is really good too! Bad: I think it was all good! Noting I could look back at and would wanna complain about!
4.6
Anonymous- 14 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: No teasmaid. Would expect that to be provided in any hotel.Certainly for what we paid. Bad: Cleanliness, relaxed, good breakfast.Bedding all changed regularly.
4.6
Talitha- 12 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Old school Europe style and stature. effortlessly chic, unpretentious and grand... I felt like a Instagram Wes Anderson "junkie". ditto the thermal baths interior and locations surrounding. The breakfast was simply the best I have ever come across in a hotel. The bacon was cooked to perfection, a vast selection of cold meats and cheese, fresh fruit breads and pastries. The front desk and reception area is alive and welcoming so when one enters the foyer afer a day out and about, it feels like home intimate and cosy. I ran the Budapest half Marathon and the hotel provided us runners with breakfast packs and coffee in the foyer before the race, this was an aboslute delight. Bad: Hungarians in the service industry have a unique way of communicating. almost as if impatient and irritable and not overtly friendly. I got used to it after a while, but I wonder whether other toutists in Hungary have the same impression, It is not something particular to the Gellert, just thought I'd mention it. sensitive mousy soulss might not cope well.

Still have questions? Get in touch:

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Phone: +36-1-889-5500
Room reservation: +36 1 889 5501
Fax: +36 1 889 5505

Address: 2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map View map

Room reservation

+36 1 889 5501

Address:
2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map

Email:
Send e-mail

One hotel selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

Two hotels selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

One hotel selected! One hotel seleted (3/1)

X