toggle menu

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Call us

Reviews

Hotel rating
Overall score
4.8/5
Based on 6026 reviews
Services
4.8/5
Cleaniness
4.8/5
Comfort
4.8/5
Location
4.8/5
Staff
4.8/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Did you enjoy your stay with us? Tell us about your experience!
4.6
Anonymous- 02 Oct. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location was excellent near the river and a main bridge but away from the commercial crowded streets. Restaurants are a bridge crossing away. The hotel has a magnificent building and looks grand. The spa being part of the same complex is easily accessible from within the hotel and is also a very well maintained baths. The room was tidy and functional. WIFI is available at a fee. overall the price was very reasonable considering everything so I would stay there again. Bad: Wifi is expensive. Air conditioning is average.
4
Edward Marshall- 01 Oct. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Services
    4
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    4
  • Staff
    4
  • Value for money
    4
please can we have INDIVIDUAL coffee and TEA flasks for the breakfast service (it was cahos waiting to gte coffee cups refilled)
5
Nicola- 27 Sep. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
Hotel simply perfekt and great staff!! I am usual guest from years and i will never change it in bp for another one!! Hello and enjoy the gellert SPA!! Simply wondeful!!
5
A Google User- 25 Sep. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google+ Local
Amazing spa, friendly staff, charming building! It's worth to stay there!
5
tony whiting- 24 Sep. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
I cannot find anything to say to improve your Hotel. My Sister and I had a lovely stay. Thank you. Tony whiting.
5
Par i 40'erne- 20 Sep. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Location, elegance, architecture Bad: Room cleaning not thorough. Location Tip: Riverside, green, convenient for transport and central attractions. Vi boede på Hotellet i 5 dag, hvor vi oplevede Budapest. Hotellet er absolut anbefales værdig, selvom det fremstår af ældre dato, så emmer det af god service, god beliggenhed, dejlige store værelser (men igen ældre og lidt brugt). Stor og flot morgenmadsbufet. Badene som ikke er en del af selv hotellet, men i forlængelse heraf er et absolut must, men ikke specielt møntet på børn. Publikum er det midaldrende til ældre segment.
5
Traveler- 17 Sep. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Location, elegance, architecture Bad: Room cleaning not thorough. Location Tip: Riverside, green, convenient for transport and central attractions. Grand old hotel, fabulous Art Nouveau building more than compensates for faded glory of furnishings. First class staff, exceptionally helpful front desk. Fabulous buffet breakfast spread in wonderful salon overlooking the Danube, although service was disappointing. Wonderful adjoining spa baths but such a shame that guests are no longer free to come and go, now they have to pay after the first free visit; effectively means you cannot take a short dip in a hotel pool, which facility would be expected of a 4* hotel. Have stayed here several times over 20 years and still love it.
4.8
Emma Croner- 11 Sep. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
The only problem was the temperature in the room because of the lack of air conditioning
5
Sviatenko Liudmyla- 03 Sep. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google+ Local
One of the oldest and the best spas in Budapest
5
John- 02 Sep. 2012
  • Family with older children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The Art Nouveau design is suberb. Its location by the Liberty Bridge on the south bank of the Danube is great. Fairly close to everything, really. The thermal spa chambers, swimming pools and sun terrace of the Spa itself make it a self-contained piece of self indulgence and luxury for guests. We thought it was great value really. Bad: Charging for wi-fi.
5
Bryan- 30 Aug. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location was ideal for exploring the city and the hotel staff were extremely helpful with advice and help with booking excursions/restaurants, etc. Bad: No complaints or suggested improvements.
4.5
JOE A- 29 Aug. 2012
  • Family with younger children
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    4
Our stay was great! But we did check reviews beforehand and were aware of what to expect: definitely due for a renovation. The room (double with river view) was comfortable and large. Luckily our room had air conditioning since it reach 42 celcius. Room was clean but it was apparent had not been updated for some time. Breakfast buffet was great! Access to the pools/spa was very convenient and fantastic! Service and brassiere (only spot we ate while there) were very good.
5
Mark- 20 Aug. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I love the Hotel Gellert and always stay in the hotel whenever work and pleasure takes me to Budapest. The staff are friendly and helpful (they always recognise me!), the architecture stunning, the food delicious - and the alterations to the spa an improvement.
4.7
fred hurvich- 14 Aug. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    4
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    4
Nice stay, loved the baths.
4.6
Fred- 14 Aug. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The Spa was a great treat.
4.6
Kenneth- 11 Aug. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent value for money, great caring staff, superb facilities. Bad: Lack of air conditioning in room.
4.8
Terje og Øyvind- 05 Aug. 2012
  • Group of friends
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    4
  • Value for money
    5
Excellent stay! One exception: Some young boys serving breakfast, not quite up to standard.
4.2
Nina- 04 Aug. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Services
    4
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    3
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    4
  • Value for money
    5
The swimming areas are so marvelous! Enjoyed them immensely. Love the colored glass windows in the stairs. Got to see them a lot, since my room was on the 4th floor, and I didn't use the elevator. Good, friendly service. Excellent breakfast!!! Great value for the money.
5
A Google User- 03 Aug. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google+ Local
Amazing spa, friendly staff, charming building! It's worth to stay there!
5
Sven Rasmussen- 03 Aug. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google+ Local
Very good hotel. Thanks
5
kinming fung- 03 Aug. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google+ Local
magnificent 100 years old indoor swimming pool; wave-machine in outdoor pool; elegant dinner on patio: i just hope that the musicians don't solicit to sell their CDs;
5
a Hotels.com guest- 01 Aug. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
This guest did not leave a comment.
5
a Hotels.com guest- 31 Jul. 2012
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
It's an old building with loads of charm. The staff is very serviceminded and help you with everything. The breakfast is more than you expect. Overall a great stay for a family.
4.5
Zoltan- 30 Jul. 2012
  • Family with younger children
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    4
Perfect location. Breakfast is fantastic!
4.7
Lundberg- 27 Jul. 2012
  • Family with older children
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
Nice thermal bath. Smokers room!
4.2
Peter- 27 Jul. 2012
  • Couple
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    3
  • Location
    4
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    4
very good breakfast!
5
A traveler- 25 Jul. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Wonderful hotel and great swimming pools in and outside.
4
Daphne and Penny Fordham- 24 Jul. 2012
  • Couple
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    3
  • Comfort
    3
  • Location
    4
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    4
We had a great stay at the Hotel Gellert. The staff were very helpful, welcoming and polite, the breakfast generous, the location convenient and spa facilities well kept and with breathtakingly beautiful period features. Our only complaint was that the standard room we were staying in needed some refurbishment. The bathroom, although fully functioning, was very dated and there was no air conditioning which made sleeping at night uncomfortable.
4.7
Annick- 23 Jul. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
Hotel with a lot of personality, that makes you feel that you are in Budapest, a wonderful city
4.2
Daniel from France- 19 Jul. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    2
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    3
Single room too small without air conditioned, but other French customers said me they had air conditioned in their room. this is not normal that some customers benefit for this and not others. The lack of civility of some clients who plunge into the swimming pool or who swimming without a bathing cap while it is forbidden. They remain deaf to the warnings of staff. This lack of civility sickens me and is tiring. Anyway It's always a pleasure to enjoy swimming pools, various baths, sauna. A resort quality. The decor is nice. It is really good. A resort really of quality.
5
a Hotels.com guest- 18 Jul. 2012
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Hotels.com
I love the place - it never changes. Very grand public areas, shabby chic rooms but clean and comfy, and super staff in all areas. I've been a guest at the Gellert on numerous occasions since the late 1970's, and have also stayed at many of the more modern Pest hotels. I always come "home" to the Gellert and hope to do so on many more occasions.
5
James Nawrocki- 17 Jul. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
There are newer, and perhaps fancier places, but the Hotel Gellert is still the Grand Dame, and the only place where we stay when we visit Budapest.
4.8
Jeffrey- 17 Jul. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Old world cultural elegance. Wonderful views of river bridge and Pest. Walking distance of all central sites, but if foot-weary tram stop outside gets you anywhere. Astonishing breakfast choice. Amazingly cheap for this amount of luxury. Great value.
4.5
GW- 11 Jul. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    3
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    4
Room with wonderful view to River. But with the very high temperature of last days, the lack of air conditioning forces to leave the windows open and have the noise of streetcars and buses all the night !
4
J.Larsen- 10 Jul. 2012
  • Family with older children
  • Services
    4
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    3
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    4
  • Value for money
    4
Need aircon in room. Better unsterstanding of English language in the breakfast restaurant.
4.5
Barry Balof- 05 Jul. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Services
    4
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    4
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
Excellent value for the money. Charming hotel, exceptional baths. Attentive and helpful service. Location a bit noisy for a Saturday night (too hot to sleep with the window closed, too loud with it open). Will definitely stay here again!
4
John- 05 Jul. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Services
    4
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    3
  • Location
    4
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    3
With temperarures reaching around 40 degrees, air conditioning or a fridge with complementary water in my room would have made my stay more comfortable. Everything else was fine - food, receptionists, cleaners, etc.
4
mike bridport- 05 Jul. 2012
  • Group of friends
  • Services
    4
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    4
  • Staff
    4
  • Value for money
    4
very good enjoyed spa "faded grandeur"
4.85
Mary W.- 05 Jul. 2012
  • Couple
  • Source: Agoda
Good: Location, Baths/spa/pool, breakfast buffet nice location with tram and bus stop just out the door. wonderful breakfast buffet! very professional and helpful staff. amazing bath complex associated with the hotel, first time free, after that 50% off. however, no air conditioning and it was upper 90f/40c! very hot.
4
Soren Laursen- 02 Jul. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Services
    4
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    4
  • Staff
    4
  • Value for money
    4
Great location and ambience. Nice breakfast. Too bad they changed the rules regarding free access to the Thermal Bath - I hope they reconsider as this is their prime feature.
4
Bea- 29 Jun. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Services
    4
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    4
  • Staff
    4
  • Value for money
    4
We had a very pleasant stay and our double room 210 was very beautifull.
4.6
Linda- 21 Jun. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very friendly & accommodating staff. Daily breakfast buffet had a wide selection of food...something for everyone. Bad: The weather had gotten up to 92 F & as there is no air conditioning in such an older hotel, my room was uncomfortably hot by nighttime. Perhaps I should have asked if a fan was available. With that said, I would not stay here again during the summer but definitely would the rest of the year.
5
Laurence- 18 Jun. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff was great, in fact, gave me a room upgrade spontaneously which made my stay absolutely memorable. Was in an "old" room which I think is full of charm with old style furniture and bathroom, loved it. The facilities (spa, swimmingpool) are easy to access and very afordable. Great stay!
5
Mark P- 15 Jun. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Location spa Excellent food Clean comfy room Excellent Airport transfer Bad: None to mention Location Tip: Very close to city centre if on foot across Liberty bridge right in front of hotel Hotel overlooks danube and transport is excellent Beutifull Art deco interior with modern touches Hard working staff pleasent and proffesional Gorgeous food served both morning and night Exquisite cakes all washed down with local beer Impressive spa regardless of the weather Spotless clean bedroom Beutifull city well worth Visiting I think better than Prague and Hotel although not central very close and transport system outstanding
4
D . M. Nolan- 14 Jun. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Services
    4
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    3
  • Location
    4
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    4
Very friendly front desk and reception staff. Great to have access to Spa.
4.3
Kevin Donaghy- 12 Jun. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Services
    4
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    4
Friendly helpful staff. Excellent location and access to the spa was wonderful.
5
Aine from Ireland- 12 Jun. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
I thought everything was magical in this hotel, superb location ,welcoming staff helpful at all times, simple old fashioned room, breakfast to keep you going all day, but the real luxury of The Gellert for me was being down in the baths within half -hour of arrival and getting a wonderful Thai massage on the way back. I can't wait to go back and bring my family.
4.8
Monica Murphy- 11 Jun. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in your hotel. See my report on bookings.com and I will do the same on Trip Advisor. Your staff, particularly the gentleman in the Torley Bar, were charming and helpful. I loved my room and am very glad I asked to upgrade to a double with a view. I know that the hotel needs investment in these hard times, but even if investment was possible, please don't modernise it too much. It is lovely the way it is. Just one small thing that would help is a little line map of the Spa! With all the ups and downs and round abouts, I kept getting lost! Maybe its an age thing! The way to the outside pool was difficult to find. But otherwise, I loved it. Thank you for a lovely few days away from the hustle and bustle of the wine trade and a big family. I hope to return as soon as I can. With Aer Lingus flying directly to Budapest these days it is easy. The little unfilled star under "cleanliness" is only because when I bent down to the floor to pick something up, the edges of the carpet in the bedroom needed someone to go round with the small head of a vaccuum cleaner as they were very dusty. Not a big problem but no harm to tell you I noticed it.
4
pleasant spa & relax stay- 11 Jun. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Services
    4
  • Cleaniness
    4
  • Comfort
    4
  • Location
    4
  • Staff
    4
  • Value for money
    4
very good spa & relax facilities and excellent breakfast, the lack of hair dryer in the bathroom was the only negative point
4.6
Mr.- 11 Jun. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel is historic and beautiful with a wonderful view of the Danube River. It is very old but that comes with history. We were in a refurbished room that was quite fine. The free wifi in the lobby is great and sitting in the comfortable lobby is an experience in itself so paying for room wifi was not necessary. The Gellert Baths are an experience themselves. We found them very very confusing. The corridors and locker rooms a a maze but not in a good way. Certainly it is something that one must experience but make sure you take at least 2 hours. It isn't your usual "go for a swim" place. The hotel is very well situated right across the bridge from the market. We walked and took trams everywhere. The front door staff were fabulous helpers.
5
Monica- 10 Jun. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: It may be faded glory, but the staff make every effort to make your stay memorable at this architectural gem during difficult economic times for Hungary, like the rest of Europe. Huge, but what would be worthwhile investment is needed to bring this hotel up to current expectations for some people, but for others, like me, who love living in history, this might ruin the experience of going back in time to a more gentle and gracious world. For a solo traveller it works well. Safe and easy walk to city centre but it is well worth paying for a double as single with view onto river and Gellert Hill. Singles tend to be small and no view. The famous baths are an experience not to be missed. The labyrynth of corridors and stairs are a challenge but fun- go with the flow. Don't forget flip flops as sauna floor is baking. Ii loved the outdoor pool with wave machine. For older people hang on to the bar as it is strong. As my 17th trip abroad this year, 15 for work, I had a ball in Budapest, relishing "time out" but needed more than 3 days. If you have a chance, try to stay at the Gelllert and save an irreplaceable Art Nouveaui gem for posterity. Bad: Breakfast, which is copious, ends at ten on the dot. But room service is available if needed or there is a terrace cum coffee shop with delectable cakes should you miss out.If you dine at main terrace restaurant in the evening, be prepared to tip the musicians, who add to the atmosphere.
5
PreyasManji - 07 Jun. 2012
  • Group of friends
  • Services
    5
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    5
  • Value for money
    5
Excellent hotel, great staff, worth the money....
4.7
Jan- 07 Jun. 2012
  • Family with younger children
  • Services
    4
  • Cleaniness
    5
  • Comfort
    5
  • Location
    5
  • Staff
    4
  • Value for money
    5
love its atmosphere and the style, the hotel is old and unrenovated but that is making it an amazing place with the spirit of the old era - definitely want to return there again fo a week with family, my 12 months old daughter enjoyed spa so much.
5
heinzri- 31 May. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Qype
http://www.qype.com/place/2347308-Danubius-Gellert-Thermalbad-Budapest
5
a Hotels.com guest- 30 May. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
This guest did not leave a comment.
5
Jeremy- 28 May. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Service excellent and staff very helpful . Being adjacent to the Gellert spa is a big advantage .
5
Anonymous- 27 May. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Orbitz
Historic hotel in a very good location. Friendly staff and a world class breakfast. Money-saving tip: Not Applicable If you need transport to the airport, ask for a shuttle bus for 2500 Ft (approx $10)
5
Vandaele- 27 May. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Orbitz
Historic hotel in a very good location. Friendly staff and a world class breakfast. If you need transport to the airport, ask for a shuttle bus for 2500 Ft (approx $10)
5
Elizabeth- 24 May. 2012
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Having access to the thermal baths was great and especially on arrival after a transatlantic flight. The breakfasts were just great as well as the food in the smaller pub restaurant; good quality-price ratio. The staff was always very helpful and polite. We were pleased that you were able to accommodate us with each a single room three days after our arrival because of sleeping problem as well as at a reasonable price extra. We hired Mr. Tomas three times. He is a very honest person, pleasant and knew the history of the city which was much appreciated. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit at the hotel and would recommend it to family and friends anytime. Budapest is a beautiful city and I would return again.
4.6
Bard- 20 May. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very stately, old world charm and history, fabulous location, very comfortable rooms, great views, nice staff The grand dining room with a fine Gypsy band was one of of the best we have ever visited and really worthy of such a fine hotel. Bad: Breakfaat was an unmitigated disaster. People fought for tables. No organization. The tables were not cleaned and the staff was overwhelmed by guests who became increasingly frustrated by the disorganization and the lack of service and cleanliness. It was a wonder that fist fights did not erupt. People who may otherwise have been nice and pleasant became "animals" in their behavior. Just plain awful.
5
Ros- 06 May. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Great breakfast buffet. Direct connection with thermal bath. Location Tip: Walking distance from city centre. Well connected by public transport. Nice and comfortable hotel, excellent breakfast buffet. Biggest advantage is the direct connection with the thermal bath. Thermal bath is a very special location. The Gellert Hotel is the most convenient way to combine a city trip with wellness.
5
A traveler- 06 May. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Nice and comfortable hotel, excellent breakfast buffet. Biggest advantage is the direct connection with the thermal bath. Thermal bath is a very special location. The Gellert Hotel is the most convenient way to combine a city trip with wellness.
5
Anne- 17 Apr. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Wonderful , traditional hotel and baths.
5
John B- 12 Apr. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: the spa is amazing - huge and with vareid pools, steam and sauna - the massages were excellent Location Tip: get a room with a river view, and you can see the whole of Pest across the bridge - superb both in the day and at night. Slightly faded grandeur, but this is a wonderful hotel - our room was a river view room and was very comfortable, with balcony. Breakfast buffets are extremely varied, and the spa is just super.
4.6
Irina- 12 Apr. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Good breakfast, friendly staff, the spa. "Old-school hotel" atmosphere, something authentic. Bad: The Primas of the restaurant's capella is not a virtuose. Others are really professionals while that young man looks like he has saved someone's life and that's why he's leading now ;) If you like to listen to the music - just compare with another gypsy bands and you will feel the difference.
4.8
Martien- 11 Apr. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent kitchen providing easter brunch, perfect breakfast every day. Bad: The swimming pool is marvalous, massage is done professionally. Not crowded also,
5
Anonymous- 10 Apr. 2012
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent location with good access to trams. Fantastic buffet breakfast and friendly staff. The free use of the spa facilities was wonderful. I'd definitely stay there again.
4.5
Gabriel- 07 Apr. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff; Spa, food.
5
Marcel- 02 Apr. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff is very friendly and attentive The architectural environment is beautiful and full of yearning The general atmosphere is unique and very friendly Public transport is opposite the Hotel The spa facilities are open to residents free of charge We really enjoyed our stay. Bad: The general depressing ambiance of the "Brasserie", even with warmful musicians and the really poor quality of the cooking.
4.65
Rhiannon L.- 19 Mar. 2012
  • Couple
  • Source: Agoda
Good: Fantastic service,really made to feel welcome Great hotel deal. Fantastic that the baths are included and not far to walk. Great location. Reasonably priced. Outstanding staff who could do more to help. Restaurant Tip: The hotel staff are able to suggest the best restaurants for all budgets and requirements. Don't be afraid to ask for recommendations.
5
Ludmila- 08 Mar. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Spa
4.5
Kevin G.- 04 Mar. 2012
  • Couple
  • Source: Agoda
Good: The baths indoors and outside were excellent. The architecture beautiful of a bygone age. The staff were very accomodating and the baths and pool were excellent. Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Visit the Castley District next to the Hotel
5
Cathie D- 29 Feb. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: architecture/decor/breakfast/spa baths Bad: nothing I liked it all Location Tip: great location on the Danube with a tram stop right outside I loved this hotel, it has character and an old world charm. The staff were lovely. The view from our balcony of the Danube and Pest was fabulous. I have added the photo to this review. The decor throughout the hotel is wonderful and the spa baths are fabulous. The rooms are a bit tired and dated but are huge and quiet and have everything you need. Fridge, tv, sofa, free safe,armchairs and lots and lots of wardrobe room. You can pay for films and they have a special deal which is worth paying. The breakfasts were excellent in a lovely big room with views of the Danube. An all you could eat buffet with so much choice I couldn't decide what to eat first. If you are looking for a boutique soul less hotel you won't like it, this is a hotel that has history and you really feel like you are in another time.
4.8
Michael- 26 Feb. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: old world charm easy access of Gellert thermal spa Bad: lack of free wi-fi choice of free cable channels is rather limited
5
David- 17 Feb. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Really excellent service, very comfortable and great spa facilities and treatments.
5
Anonymous- 08 Feb. 2012
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: getting up and using the baths right after breakfast
4.6
Alexandr- 30 Jan. 2012
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Spa, situation, design Bad: Internet service. I'm not sure is it correct to sell so common and basic resource for that price. I had to pay a lot just for the current forecast, time-table and email. Pointless and stupid.
5
Karen- 26 Jan. 2012
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The thermal pools were a real treat at the end of the day. The hotel staff were very friendly and provided good information about tours etc.
5
a Hotels.com guest- 21 Jan. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
This guest did not leave a comment.
5
Sergey- 10 Jan. 2012
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location, pefect thermal spa service, nice staff, rich breakfast, excellent large twin room in ancient style, no street noise. I will always stay there in the future, if available. One potential disadvantage for a hot summer is that there is no conditioning in the room where we stayed. I recommend this hotel to spend holidays time, at least for mature people who prefers comfort and nice thermal spa service.
4.6
Michael- 04 Jan. 2012
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: great value for the price--also, nice location right on the Danube river. metro was about a 10-min walk across the river.
5
Elaine- 31 Dec. 2011
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This is one of the most memorable hotels I have had the pleasure to stay at. It is a tremendous value. It is a historic turn of the century building that has been well maintained. The accompanying breakfast buffet was an enormous gourmet feast. I would go back to Budapest just fro the opportunity to stay there.
5
Gunilla- 26 Dec. 2011
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We like everyting, great breakfast!
5
Traveler- 22 Dec. 2011
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Access included for the spa. A clean traditional hotel with excellent customer service.
5
Marie- 17 Dec. 2011
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The old big beutiful building. The atmosphere. The location Bad: They allove smoking inside, and it was a extremely small bar there
5
a Hotels.com guest- 01 Dec. 2011
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
This guest did not leave a comment.
5
Nicola- 30 Nov. 2011
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Hi!! Gellert hotel is sure the best hotel of Budapest as location, reputation and Spa! I recomend it to' all european visitors and to' my friends! The staff is excellent and the breakfast is simply perfekt!!! The rooms have a fantastic panorama on the duna and on the hill!!! I will go again soon!! Nicola from italy
5
Alexandra- 30 Nov. 2011
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I had a lovely stay with my husband. The room was very quiet which was nice. The breakfast was very good. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
5
a Hotels.com guest- 28 Nov. 2011
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
This guest did not leave a comment.
5
Traveler- 26 Nov. 2011
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
The hotel is decadent, but beautifully so. The spa is truly amazing, our roomwas HUGE, staff was very helpful.
5
a Hotels.com guest- 12 Nov. 2011
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
This guest did not leave a comment.
5
A traveler- 12 Nov. 2011
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
This guest did not leave a comment.
5
Traveler- 09 Nov. 2011
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Location Tip: After Gellet baths cross the green bridge from Gellert hill towards the Marketplace, then take walking street across the road... then strall along Andrassi street towards park of Heroes, take back a yellow subway line cross Danube, walk up the hill towards the old bastion and walk back through the Chain Bridge to the big Cathedral... Take left towards the Parliament... A charming and relaxing city with friendly people - great walking with family and friends enjoying unusual mix of eras embodied in the architecture, street music, great dining, silent night streets... and, of course, unforgettable hot springs...
5
Sergey Ma- 09 Nov. 2011
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
A charming and relaxing city with friendly people - great walking with family and friends enjoying unusual mix of eras embodied in the architecture, street music, great dining, silent night streets... and, of course, unforgettable hot springs...
5
Traveler- 07 Nov. 2011
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Location Tip: The spa!!!!! Full of old world charm with fantastic views of river and the spa was outstanding.
5
A traveler- 07 Nov. 2011
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Full of old world charm with fantastic views of river and the spa was outstanding.
5
Traveler- 29 Oct. 2011
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Location Tip: Any guide will direct you to the usual places. I would just add to try the local (as well as main) market hall, and try the cafes there. If you want the same box rooms furnishings from your hotel, such that you cannot tell if you are in Bangkok or in Birmingham then this is not the Hotel for you. But if you are a true traveller wishing to have a disctinct and unique experience in each destination then this excellent Spa hotel is a must. There are some anchronisms but that all adds to the character. The staff are helpful, the decor beutiful, the spa expereince a joy. For me there is no where else to stay in Budapest.
4.6
Graham- 27 Oct. 2011
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything was made easy and welcoming - nothing as a problem
4.6
Anonymous- 27 Oct. 2011
  • Mature couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Busy well known hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Thermal baths and swimming pool available. Good location near the Danube.
4.6
Ehud- 15 Oct. 2011
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Reception staff very helpful

Still have questions? Get in touch:

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Phone: +36-1-889-5500
Room reservation: +36 1 889 5501
Fax: +36 1 889 5505

Address: 2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map View map

Room reservation

+36 1 889 5501

Address:
2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map

Email:
Send e-mail

One hotel selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

Two hotels selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

One hotel selected! One hotel seleted (3/1)

X