toggle menu

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Call us

Reviews

Hotel rating
Overall score
4.8/5
Based on 6026 reviews
Services
4.8/5
Cleaniness
4.8/5
Comfort
4.8/5
Location
4.8/5
Staff
4.8/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Did you enjoy your stay with us? Tell us about your experience!
5
tonyzoltan- 16 Oct. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Can vouch for the Eszpresso and Spa. Although the Spa part seemed more appropriate for older generations, the Szechenyi Bath is way more vibrant for the youth :)
5
Adrian- 15 Oct. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The balcony view of the Danube was marvellous, even better than we had expected. Soundproofing of windows over the street and the river very effective. Breakfast provided a wide range of good food. Reception staff particularly helpful.
5
Traveler- 15 Oct. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
The location is great and the hotel is magnificent, although the rooms are dated.
5
Delton- 13 Oct. 2018
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
Excellent breakfast buffet an services. Spa, Cafe and restaurant are a must (I recommend them all on your final night so you can really enjoy the outstanding coordination amongst staff in these different departments of customer service) and I highly recommend paying a little extra for river view, which also features a Juliet balcony overlooking the Danube.
5
James- 13 Oct. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Enjoyed my stay in the Danubias. A lot of reviews on here are negative because of the old fashioned style of the hotel but I thought it was just very traditional. My room was very spacious with a nice view over the river. Breakfast was great & location was great too. The price of this hotel is fantastic for what you get. I’ve stayed in a lot of hotels across Europe & had pay a lot more money. For what you get in the Danubius the price is fantastic. The staff are really helpful too.
5
hamish walker- 11 Oct. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Very interesting old hotel
5
Sharren- 11 Oct. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The breakfast was great - variety and convenient.
5
Cathy Kaplun- 10 Oct. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Beautiful historic hotel...being able to access the spa from hotel was a bonus. Close to transport and touristy places within an easy walk to great eateries. You will nit be sorry you stayed especially if you have a balcony overlooking tge Danube.
5
Corridore- 09 Oct. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Comfortable and a great breakfast! I enjoyed the water Bad: All was good - thank you Location Tip: walking distance to the food market and to Buda Castle. River cruises were less than 10 minutes away on the other side of the bridge. This historical hotel provided me with a great stay. Breakfast was plentiful, I had views of the river and the room was more than comfortable for my needs. For work I was only a short walk from the centre and there was a tram "hub" just outside. For the spas there was a convenient connection Well-recommended
4.6
Anonymous- 09 Oct. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The athmosphere and the location
4.6
Akke- 08 Oct. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location and breakfast! Bad: Distance to the room (walk)
4.6
Eszter- 08 Oct. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Lovely art nouveau building in a fantastic location. Good breakfast spread in a spacious restaurant overlooking the Danube. Just a few minutes walk through the hotel one can get to the famous spa. Very helpful, courteaous reception. Also a friendly espresso and sorozo( bistro type)can be reached through the entrance foyer, just the right places to meet friends. Bad: The bedroom and bathroom were a bit dated but the view from the window more than compensated!! Mattress and pillows could have been more comfortable.
4.8
Timothy- 06 Oct. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location, Great example of what Budapest is. The rooms was huge beautiful view and service Bad: It was great
5
Jiangang- 05 Oct. 2018
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
This is vert elegant hotel, however, facility needs update. Staff very helpful. Location is very convenient and river view is excellent. breakfast is one of the best
4.6
Colleen- 04 Oct. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff are great and I enjoyed visiting with the lady in the gift shop. She was very helpful. The public areas of the hotel are beautiful. The location is perfect. It is a huge facility with a spa and baths taking up a city block. There are beautiful stained glass windows in the grand staircase and other places. We only had drinks and snacks on the outdoor patio, we were treated very well - didn’t speak the language but got along fine. Bad: I was very disappointed in our room. It had a loft, with a twin bed and a davenport downstairs. Very hot when we were there. No A/C. But one fan downstairs. Big window did open up so that helped a great deal. The room areas, halls, etc., need a bit of TLC in my opinion but that might not be the thought of the manager.
5
Davy Jerončič- 03 Oct. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Nice food
5
Oksana Mazur- 01 Oct. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
old fashioned, but exactly what I expected form old historical hotel
4.6
Dirk- 01 Oct. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff was great, as was the breakfast. The location of the hotel is ideal, and if you stay at a room in at the front, the view is stunning, especially at night. Bad: As can be expected from a building this old, floors are a bit squeaky, and doors are still opened and locked by key. Rather romantic instead of dissapointing. The Spa isn't free (there's a discount for hotel guests) and is less impressive than the pictures may suggest, but it's still nice !
5
Roy- 01 Oct. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location and atmosphere. Wonderful fin de siecle structure and ornamentation. Thermal baths. Bad: Bathroom taps etc somewhat dated. Carpeting needs attention.
5
Anna- 01 Oct. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I love the old-world charm and elegance of this hotel. The breakfast is outstanding and the staff always friendly, courteous and helpful. I loved the Gellert spa that is easily accessed from the hotel. Bad: The reading lamp above my bed was not very strong.
4.8
Lisa- 29 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff room accommodations Bad: Restaurant staff one night never returned our change and literally walked out w it! We talked to manAger who gave our change back but a bad taste in our mouth that their staff would be there to rip people off! Sad
4.6
Anonymous- 26 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great breaky. Discounted and easy access to the Gellert spa - great to be able to go to spa straight from hotel room with just dressing gown/towel. Nice location, but a bit far from the 'night club/party' scene Bad: Portal airconditioner in room very noisy. Dinner ok - expensive for what it was.
5
Michael- 25 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We enjoyed our stay here very much indeed. Super value for money and a most enjoyable experience. Staff all competant and most courteous. Bad: Nothing
4.8
Eric- 25 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: An overall wonderful experience. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The room was comfortable and very quiet. The location is great--very close to public transportation, and easy walking distance to major sights.
5
Stephen- 25 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We especially liked the location & hotel character,older features & spa facilities.The staff were very friendly & helpful.Overall good value for money. Bad: We had a river/hill view room with 2 bathrooms! - the hotel are clearly keen to maintain many of its original features which we liked.The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice,Full english,continental,fruit,cereals,yogurt & range of fruit juices.We used the dining room and outside tables to enjoy the early morning sunshine.On our last day(saturday) the dining room was full and as it was very windy we were not able to sit outside.We therefore had to wait with others before tables became free.We feel the hotel should anticipate high numbers of diners and free up another room to avoid disappointment and possibly a poor review.
4.8
Anonymous- 24 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Nice, old school atmosphere with polite and helpfull staff, in an unbeatable location. Direct connection to the bath is a strong plus.
5
Maria- 24 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: impressive place and would highly recommend it to our friends, Bad: service in your restaurant, slow and not too friendly.
5
Tanja Gurke- 23 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great historical place well preserved, worth seeing, important place for Budapest and ITS history
4.8
Barend- 22 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Bad: No Aircon in the room, only a fan.
4.8
Eugene- 21 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff were fantastic, Food and Thermal Baths out of this world Bad: the bed could have been more comfotable
5
Alicesmith99- 21 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location near metro and trams great view. Great breakfast and well priced Bad: The name "Danubius" doesn't appear on the hotel name on the fron of the building only Gallery. So it was very confusing. Also no built-in air conditioning
5
Hayley- 19 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location was great. The spa is AMAZING. (It would be nice if you gave a hotel guest, 1 free pass into the spa.) The room was spacious and clean. Would recommend and stay again! Bad: My first room did not have internet connection but they were able to switch my room without a problem.
4.6
Peter- 17 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Brilliant room with balcony and river view. Staying here is like going back in history - a great experience. The spa + pools in connection with the hotek added an extra dimension. Bad: The beds were a bit too soft for my taste...
5
Ági T- 16 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Very nice hotel, the spa is really beautiful. A bit busy tho but we had enough space for ourselves. The water in the big swimming pool was a bit cold for me, I couldn't make it in there. I was a bit disappointed that the spa was no longer free for the hotel guests. This is an old hotel with a lot of charm. We were comfortable and had a good time. The location was perfect the breakfast was very good and the staff are amazing.
5
Kenneth- 16 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Being from Canada we don't have many old historical buildings like you do for hotels, so we admired the history, the location, the friendly service, the pride in staff personality. Yes the property shows it's age and we understand the cost to maintain it so therefore we appreciate the price charged accordingly. And we were totally surprised with our huge room (suite) compared to what we expected. So thank you from Canada. We are back home yesterday and it is snowing in western Canada (yuk). Thank you for the service, the pools (baths), the food and great weather. We hope to come back. Ken and Kati Bad: please re-stretch the carpeting in the upper hallways.
5
Ann- 15 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location was perfect. Staff very helpful room we had was large clean and had a balcony overlooking the city and the river lovely way to start your day sitting looking over at the beautifully city.
5
Gillian- 15 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: An amazing place to stay, the Hotel interior and spa are out of this world. It has an old world charm that is hard to not fall for. Breakfast was also superb. Very good value for money for what was offered
5
Anne- 14 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Everyone (doorman, reception, concierge, people working in breakfast room was always during our stay of 5 days very friendly, room and bathroom was spacious and clean, had everything we needed. The bathroom style is bit outdated, but luxurious. Bed was big and comfortable, nice wooden furniture matching the style of the room. We stayed for 5 days and enjoyed the wonderful view from the balkony esp. mornings and evenings. Location is great for metro, shops, restaurants nearby. The hotel café and bistro are great with excellent food and very friendly service and so was roomservice. Great value for money overall. We enjoyed our stay very much. Its the 4th time we stayed there.
5
Inga- 14 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I always try to stay in this hotel when being in Budapest. Just like its slightly rundown vintage charm and of course the thermal spa is wonderful and the view on the danube river Bad: Like everything.
5
Kathryn- 14 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: What a beautiful hotel! We had a huge room overlooking the Danube, the furniture is.old but adds to the atmosphere - You can sense how grand it once was and fornthe money it is amazing value, it is by far the most luxurious hotel I have ever strayed in! The breakfast had everything you wanted and was delicious. The staff friendly and spoke English, and you got half price entry into the famius baths. It made our arat in budapest- we will be back and I highly recommend!
5
Lesley- 13 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Beautiful oldie worldie building with opulent stained glass windows through central stairs. Good room if a little small. Fourth floor and little balcony with good views. Breakfast was plentiful with much choice. Baths added treat.
5
mary- 12 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Perfect location close to many sights. The spa is fabulous-best time is in the morning as it is not as crowded.
4.6
Graham- 12 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: An experience and not to be missed. Easy and discounted access to the hot baths with their extraordinary decor
4.75
Olga- 12 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Rooms are little bit old fashioned but comfortable, breakfast is very good, and hotel location is just great. Thermal baths could be reached without exiting hotel territory. I would recommend this hotel for sure and hope to be back.
5
furkan goncuoglu- 10 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Amazing hotel. Historic. Comfortable. Great breakfast and meal. River side walks and super spa. Do not think too much. Just stay.
4.8
Sebastian- 09 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The beds were really comfy Bad: The view of the room was not impressive bit we got the budget choice
5
Paula- 08 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everythi g it was lovely
5
אלון טיש- 07 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
good rooms great restaurants fantastic location
5
Traveler- 05 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
It was great and full of atmosphere. I would definitely recommend to friends and colleagues.
4.6
Tibor- 04 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Bathroom was very comfortable and there was a bidet also which you couldn't find so many hotel in Hungary. The sortiment at breakfast were enormous big with lot of fresh food. Very nice room Bad: The staff couldn't repair the café maker for minutes.
4.8
Raymond- 04 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: top hotel a kupele Bad: vsetko cool
5
Tracey- 02 Sep. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Very nice hotel in a fantastic location!
5
James- 30 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I had an excellent stay here. I arrived early after a long stop over in Zurich When I arrived my room was ready and I was given a room with a balcony and amazing view of the Liberty Bridge. Very friendly staff and great facilities, bistro with local food and sport. The spa facilities were also excellent. I highly recommend a stay here. Bad: I had no problems with the hotel or the staff. Excellent.
4.8
Evan- 28 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: It's like staying at wes anderson's grand budapest hotel.
4.8
Barbara- 27 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very polite helpful staff Beautiful building you can feel its history as you walk through its entrance Bad: Spa does not belong to the hotel. Half price to the guests so they offer discount but still 10 euro. Spa was full not really enjoyable but still beautiful
5
Jennifer- 27 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff were fantastic. Breakfast was very good. Location was really easy to get to from the bus terminal and a tram outside the door basically, made it very easy to get around. Excellent restaurant next door providing traditional Hungarian food. Bad: Nothing
5
Petra- 26 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: The hotel was in the middle of the centre and the breakfast was excellent. Bad: No air condition Location Tip: Location was great and lots of restaurants and places to eat near by. The hotel is a bit old fashion with old traditional furniture but very charming. The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very friendly. The position of the hotel is in the middle of the centre walking distance to restaurants and winde bars.
5
Roger- 26 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff were friendly and helpful and they spoke perfect English
5
Ebrahim m- 25 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Very Good
4.6
Tereza- 24 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff at reception, breakfast and food at hotel's restaurant, excellent cakes and coffee, location, great atmosphere which takes back in time Bad: Receptionists at massage center. We tried to book massage but unfortunately it didn't happened. They don't make much effort
4.8
Janice- 21 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Loved the staff, breakfasts, art nouveau decor and location was second to none Bad: Public areas were amazing, but the corridors, bedroom and bathroom although perfectly functional were somewhat dated and tired .
4.6
Bruna- 21 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The food Bad: Decoration of the room
5
Kashish- 20 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I don’t usually write reviews but this hotel was perfect in regards to everything. Great location, service, breakfast, architecture and views from the room.
5
Debora Garcia- 20 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Fantastic
5
Raj- 19 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The best view from the rooms and the service level Bad: Coffee machine was missing in the room, but it can be overlooked as the property and there view in the night and day was amazing
5
Matt Austin- 12 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
I spent almost two weeks at the wonderful Gellért hotel, which is a jewel in the Danubius crown! Outstanding service with a friendly and personal touch. Thank you!
5
David Sinclair- 12 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Where to start!? The building and spa are beautiful. The staff are easily confused: one couldnt seem to understand there was more than one person in a room and asking for 2 beds was too much to comprehend. The bar staff in the spa are angry about something, we just couldn't work out what. The room has a carpet so old that Tutankhamun probably had it in his house (or pyramid -although i am sure they were just for burial, i wonder what his house was like, be mad if he lived in a 3 bedroom semidetached cause he spent all his zlotys on a mad big coffin). All in all the place will leave you confused about whether or not its a good hotel. Would i recommend it to my friends? I dont have any. 8 people drowned in the wavepool yesterday.
5
Galen Hellwarth- 10 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great room.. friendly staff.. nice breakfast. Easy access to the spa.
5
Richard ballantyne- 10 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Nice place for a bite to eat
4.8
Eva- 10 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great central location. Excellent transit location. Staff and services more than helpful. Fantastic breakfast included. Pools!!!! Wave pool! Outdoor terraces for sunning! Great snack and food bar poolside! Excellent cuisine and terrace eating’. Spa facilities! Had a lovely pedi... Bad: It was hot!!!
4.6
Anthony- 09 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: A famous thermal spa hotel in Budapest. The building is old and it shows in places. The rooms vary a lot, but some have fantastic views. It's an experience to stay there, and there is a discount entrance to the thermal spa for guests. The staff are great and very helpful. Bad: Breakfast can be a bit crowded at peak times.
4.6
Mathew- 09 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The amenity of the hotel was wonderful and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. Bad: Nothing I didn't like at this hotel.
5
Abdolvahab- 08 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel is located beside the river Bad: There was no fridge in the room
5
Anja- 07 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I love the whole building, the spa and the rooms.
4.8
Gideon- 07 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The super luxury breakfast buffet! Bad: The aircoditioning
4.6
Anastasiia- 06 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Really good breakfast, amazing location and service, good discount on visiting Gellért Baths and SPA Bad: Air conditioner was very noisy and there were constant problems with WiFi
5
Lois- 06 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The breakfast buffet is amazing. The room and communal areas are large and clean. The staff are friendly, thoughtful but not overbearing. A brilliant location with a hop on hop off stop just across the road and local trams as well. Bad: Nothing
4.8
Mandy- 05 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Faded grandeur. Bad: Having to leave.
5
Yatish Ramasawmy- 05 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Very nice hotel, a room with a river view is totally worth it. Parking is on a side street, so make sure to ask for the parking card st reception. The room has a portable A/C unit and it is very loud!
4.6
YatishR- 04 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Hotel is in a perfect location for public transport. The parking location is very close to the hotel on Kemenes street. (Make sure to ask for the parking card at reception) The rooms with a river view is totally worth the money, especially for a sunrise view. Bad: The room had a portable A/C unit and it is very loud! Pillows are way too soft.
5
Traveler- 03 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: The decor was amazing Bad: Airconditioning would be money well spent. Location Tip: Great central location to explore. It was extremely hot in our room the fan just was not enough to cope with the heat.the lobby carpet upstairs needs to be updated.
4.6
Paul- 03 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Good breakfast and friendly staff.
4.6
Beth- 03 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This is a beautiful property, although very outdated. Obviously this makes it very charming. The rooms are large with a nice view of the Danube. The hotel is magnificent with the thermal spa and indoor and outdoor pools. There is a restaurant on the property and a separate bar/restaurant. Buffet breakfast in the morning is quite a spread; we took the opportunity to eat on the magnificent deck overlooking Gellert Hill. Very nice stay. Bad: For some reason the bathroom area and section of the room was hotter than hell and no matter what I did with the air conditioner I couldn't get it any cooler. But no worries, the stay was pleasant and comfortable. Staff is terrific.
4.6
Rita- 01 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location was excellent, stained glass was beautiful and gourmet breakfast buffet Bad: Carpet definitely needs upgrading, wall paper peeling and needs paint. It’s a beautiful place just really could use TLC
5
Gee- 01 Aug. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Lovely hotel have stayed there before and still adore it we had a room with a balcony overlooking the river which was well worth paying the extra for. The staff are so polite and helpful and the breakfast is amazing cannot wait to go back next year
4.8
Vinay- 31 Jul. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very good stay, nice river location
5
Dan Mikosz- 31 Jul. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great place.
4.8
Rosana- 30 Jul. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Breakfast excellent Location excellent Swimming pools excellent We have a wonderful holiday Budapest i❤ Bad: I think needs air conditioning And some maintenance
5
Popa- 27 Jul. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very good choice for short-seeing Budapest! Bad: Not very clear from the site the relationship with the Spa center!
5
Xaviera- 27 Jul. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location Spa next door Comfortable Value for money Good options for breakfast Bad: Nothing
5
IFang- 26 Jul. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Staff are super nice. The hardware is a little bit out dated and no air conditioned ( but they equipped an eletronical fan)
5
Joachim Rupp- 25 Jul. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Authentic art deco interior, very nice Spa
4.8
Peter- 25 Jul. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very friendly staff, thank you very much!
4.8
Schaumamal- 23 Jul. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This was not my first stay here, so, obviously, I am a satisfied, returning guest. However, while the purpose of this trip was business, and I picked the absolutely smallest room I could find (I was planning on being out late with a client) - and, yes, the room DID look like a movie set from 1969 - I had an ulterior motive: to wake up extra early and enjoy the thermal baths at 6:00 am before anyone else arrived. It was heaven! Aside from myself and about a dozen local Hungarians (and some very serious Japanese), I could soak in absolute silence without the din of summer tourists. By 8:00 am I was famished for the Gellert's well-known breakfast buffet (if you can't find something there to enjoy, you must be fasting) and by tram (directly across the street) I was at my buiness meeting by 10:00. To enjoy these historic baths in near silence is a magical, restorative experience, and if you are an early bird, you will not be disappointed (Gellert Baths open at 6:00 with direct, discounted access from the hotel). Bad: The mattress may have been older than me, and may have felt a bit like sleeping on the ground, but at the extremely low discounted rate that I paid, I still enjoyed it very much. Would I stay in one of these single rooms again? Depends on my bursitis . . .
5
Maria Palmer- 23 Jul. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Beautiful hotel next to the river Bad: Everything was very nice.
4.6
Tom- 22 Jul. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location was perfect, the hotel itself and the spa were beautiful. All staff very friendly and attentive at all times. Loved my stay here Bad: No air con in the rooms and very warm at night, they had a small mobile unit but very noisy
4.8
Yelena- 21 Jul. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I don't know why this hotel gets some negative reviews. Our room was clean, view from the balcony amazing and the stuff very friendly. We did get a good deal booking last minute, so that was a plus. For people that complain about the property being worn down...it is a 100 years old establishment... Getting to the baths from your room without a hassle of changing rooms is amazing! Bad: It would have been great if it would be possible to leave the spa and come back during the same day.
4.6
Fair Dinkum- 18 Jul. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We love the Danube river view in this classic art noveau hotel. Easy access from the metro. I easily walked to most of the historic sites along the Danube river. Breakfast is spoilt for choice. Staff are helpful when approached. The brasserie in the hotel serves excellent food masterfully presented. Bad: Wifi is weak on the highest floor where we stayed in but was very good in the lobby area and lower floor. Love to see some aspect of the room carpeting and toilet tiles restored to it’s former glory one day.
5
Russell- 17 Jul. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location and grandeur Bad: Room a bit bigger
5
Willie- 16 Jul. 2018
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything....including the location. Bad: All was good

Still have questions? Get in touch:

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Phone: +36-1-889-5500
Room reservation: +36 1 889 5501
Fax: +36 1 889 5505

Address: 2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map View map

Room reservation

+36 1 889 5501

Address:
2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map

Email:
Send e-mail

One hotel selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

Two hotels selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

One hotel selected! One hotel seleted (3/1)

X