toggle menu

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Call us

Reviews

Hotel rating
Overall score
4.8/5
Based on 6026 reviews
Services
4.8/5
Cleaniness
4.8/5
Comfort
4.8/5
Location
4.8/5
Staff
4.8/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Did you enjoy your stay with us? Tell us about your experience!
5
Kim- 18 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: very good, kindly, most beautiful view,great breakfast
4.8
Catherine- 18 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: breakfast and spa access and location and building
5
Mickey- 15 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: The atmosphere. Bad: The breakfast. Location Tip: The Gellert spa and hot baths are in the hotel. Hotel guests get one free entrance, and the rest at 50% discount. This was one of Europe's most luxurious hotels. It has the same facilities from 70 years ago. The facilities are now old, and the rugs are rugged, but they are still out of this world. The service is very good. It's like staying in a movie.
4.8
Cynthia- 14 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This is an older hotel with some modernizations. I loved the ambiance and the style of this place. It is home to one of the oldest, largest bathhouses in Budapest. Your stay includes one free visit to the bath house but bring your swimsuit and a pair of flipflops or you can't get in. This hotel also offered a spectacular breakfast. The location was easy to get to via public transportation and right on the edge of the Danube. Loved it.
5
daniel- 13 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Very good location Galert spa is accesed from the hotel. very good breakfast, very good service. avarage room, good value for the money
5
Lorraine- 12 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The reception staff were the best. Nothing was too much trouble. The location of the hotel was great, and the facilities excellent. The breakfast was great. All staff lovely. Bad: The only criticism and it's only minor was that the bathroom was tired and could do with modernising and also if they could put in at least a kettle.
5
Alex Faynin- 10 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
Very interesting romantic old building and the best Thermal spa in Budapest.
5
jms07809- 09 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Excellent reception and consierge staff Gellert Spa Very comfortable rooms Wi-fi Bad: Air-con Greater flexibilty to offer some food/coffee to those late to breakfast Location Tip: Freedom Bridge Local bars where beer is equivalent of £1 a pint Local shops It's an old fashioned hotel - the words faded grandeur come to mind. There's no air con which I think would be unpleasant in the summer months, but was absolutely fine in September and there was a very good large fan in the bedroom. But it's really comfortable and an amazing location - really liked being on the Buda side of the river (much cheaper to eat and drink) yet easy to just walk over Freedom Bridge to the Pest side. Staff are great - speak perfect English. Breakfast perfectly adequate (not the best I've ever had but a long way from the worst). Finishes at 10am though when they start clearing away so if you're a late riser it may not be the place for you. The Bistro has wonderful food and it's lovely just sitting out on the terrace watching the world go by. Wifi throughout the hotel. But the best bit by far is hotel access to the Gellert Spa - 1 free day then any other days half price - and it's amazing. Overall we had a really good stay (6 mights) and thought it was very good value for money.
4.6
Peter- 09 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The buffet breakfast, included in the price, was excellent with a wide variety, unlimited fresh brewed coffee and attentive staff. The rooms are dated but roomy and charming with modernized bathroom and a fabulous balcony view over the Danube. We stayed in the Andrew Loyd Webber room, with a plaque explaining his two stays. It was just down the hall from the Richard Nixon room. This place exudes old world charm, if you want all the modern amenities, then skip it, AC consists of an inefficient portable floor unit, ducted to the outside. But leave the balcony doors open for a fresh cool breeze of the Danube and the sound of charming old Viennese style trolleys rolling by. If your renting a car in Germany and Austria and they restrict the insurance from going to Hungary because of "crime"... forget it, Gellert offered a guarded parking lot of a side street around the corner, filled with Range Rovers, MB, BMWs, etc. we drove there with a BMW from Austria with no problems, parked it away in the safe lot and took public transportation all over Budapest...easy ...beautiful city with beautiful people. Bad: No efficient AC if needed, luckily it cooled of overnight. The freestanding portable unit was a Mickey Mouse cheap solution. They need to install Fuji split units.
4.6
Timothy- 08 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We loved the faded old world charm of the Gellert. The hotel has a wonderful ambience, and the staff were very attentive. The room (num 123) was huge, with fantastic views and a ballroom sized reception area. And four, yes four balconies! The Gellert is on the river front and ideally placed for public transport. Bad: The Gellert needs a great deal of investment to restore it's former glory. This would move it into the luxury class. In the mean time, there is no excuse for uncomfortable beds. A mattress topper and some spare pillows would have done the trick! More milk in the room for coffees wouldn't go amiss! The breakfast would benefit from fresh fruit salad and freshly squeezed orange juice, but overall it was fine.
4.8
Virginia- 08 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The included breakfast was very good. Selection was good,would not say that each item was excellent, just ok, but good selection. The room was very comfy, good size, we booked the superior twin. The rug was the only glaring disappointment. It was stained and old, odd given the excellent condition of the bedding and furniture. The bathroom was a very good size. Bad: The rug in the room was old and stained.
5
Deborah- 08 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location. The convince of trams , buses when traveling outside the "hub". The . courteous and helpful staff. A rich and beautiful history within the walls...if only they could speak!
5
Penelope- 07 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Character of the hotel it was just lovely spacious and clean . Hotel very convenient to main tourist sites Bad: Nothing
4.8
Marjorie- 07 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Good location, nice people. I'm sure this property was spectacular in the past and is just a little worn now but still a great place . We also very much enjoyed the spa visit which was included with the room as well as the excellent breakfast . Bad: Room was quite comfortable but needed small repairs and updating
5
Cynthia- 05 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Comfortable, spacious, lovely balcony & fresh air, excellent breakfast.Fabulous Art Deco appeal! A little frayed in places with bathroom leak. Very atmospheric but may not appeal to those seeking modern five star accomodation. Nice garden cafe and outdoor drinks terrace. Fabulous thermal baths. Wonderful position overlooking Danube and Gellert park. A short walk over historic iron bridge to lovely eating streets. Bad: Loved everything!
5
John- 04 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The atmosphere, room size, pub, staff effort, fabulous view. Bad: Shower head too low, bed headboard uncomfortable, more staff could smile more.
5
Mike- 02 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great building, great location, great people
4.6
Rocnnr- 31 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Good breakfast and good coffee! Good location, short tram to the center or reasonable walk.
4.8
Madeline- 31 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Breakfast was good staff were friendly & helpful rooms were large though dated very nice & comfortable & in keeping with the building . Bad: the air conditioning was noisy & not very good.
5
Emese Lulich- 30 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Beautiful building!!!
5
A Google User- 30 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Beautiful building!!!
4.6
Jane- 29 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location is excellent - right next to the Danube and handy for the castle and old town. The breakfast was great - there was great variety and the food was very tasty. The Spa facilities are excellent and they can be accessed for half price as a hotel guest. The staff are very friendly and there are several places to eat and drink in the property - a particularly lovely piano bar for afternoon tea. Bad: I don't drink coffee but my friend was not impressed by the coffee facilities at breakfast - I think they were having trouble with the coffee machines.
5
Martin- 29 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The Gellert is a perfect location, and a perfect hotel, when in Budapest. This is my second time staying there. Also, the fact that they have their own natural thermal spa under the hotel is a real bonus. No complaints. Bad: I really cannot fault the Gellert Hotel.
4.6
Catherine- 26 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location and breakfast Bad: No air conditioning no view from room and as we needed to have our window open for air the noise from the alley or back entrance very noises
5
Peter- 26 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: ZGreat value for money.1 Free entry and proximity to the Gellert baths a bonus.Lovely romantic dinner on thecterracecoverlooking the Victory bridge...generous breakfast with lots of choice
5
Traveler_Tr- 26 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Just returned, really enjoyed my stay. Cleaning is daily, Breakfast is super. Location is just the right one.
5
Ben- 25 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very clean and grand Bad: A bit small
5
Marc- 25 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel has his own charming decoration what makes his difference with most hotels . The free excess from the hotel to the spa and open door pool Bad: could do it with a few more TV channels
4.6
Timothy- 25 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: A friendly hotel in a good location with lots of character. Bad: The food and wine in the Bistro were poor.
5
Julie- 23 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This hotel had the old world style, it was not perfect or perfrectly up kept, but clean and oozed charm. Bad: Nothing!
5
Ganna- 23 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I liked the location, the spirit of old hotel building, the staff. The breakfasts were excellent, with a wide choice of food. The swimming pools are great especially the one with the waves. Bad: It was too hot and the fan didn't help.
5
Cass- 23 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Lovely hotel! Ok so it's looking a bit dated but then what do you expect - it has the amazing spa and the hotel takes you back in time. Breakfast was great and very varied. Staff were great and very friendly. Budapest amazing. We walked, got big bus tickets which included boat trip nd funicular railway. So much to do and came home after 3 days totally exhausted, but we will definitely come back 😊
4.6
Steve- 22 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: They put on a very good selection for breakfast. Bad: No tea or coffee facilities in the room.
5
Joann- 21 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The room's view overlooking the Danube, Freedom Bridge, and Pest was quite beautiful. The bed was quite comfortable as was our room. The breakfast had quite a variation of foods, and the people who worked there were very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed going in the inside pool and the outside pool with the waves. The location was great to get on the tram or other means of moving about the city. We have stayed here before and will be sure to return again. Bad: My partner is a light sleeper and initially found it difficult to fall asleep with the hook up air conditioner in the room. It was a little too noisy for him, but he did get used to it.
5
Anthony- 20 Aug. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
The hotel still displays the splendor of a past by gone era when only the privelaged few experienced such sights. The setting is perfect as its so close to the Danube and the the centre of a beautiful city.
5
AnnaCarin Erkers- 19 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
We stayed for 4 nights in a room with a fantastic view overlooking Gellert mountain, Donau and Libertybridge. Great service and breakfastbuffet. We visited Gellert bath twice and loved it! Hope to come back and will gladly recommend it!
5
Rachel Calandro- 18 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Such a friendly staff! I was so happy with them. They were happy to serve and so helpful. Thank you!
5
Xime- 15 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location and the thermal baths Bad: Nothing to say
5
Jean- 14 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent Location on the Danube River. The Thermal Baths were a great treat. We ate at all the restaurants - quite enjoyable. Breakfast was included with our stay. The Danubius offers the old architecture - love it! Bad: We happened to have been there during an unseasonable hot time in Budapest and although the Hotel isn't air conditioned, the staff did offer us a fan for our room.
5
Maria- 12 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The atmosphere of the hotel is undescribably wonderful, we felt like we were having a journey back in time or like being in a movie. However, our daughter didn't really appreciate our time travel, she missed the usual children's section in the swimming pool. Well, at least she liked the view and the other facilities. If you also like the Jugendstil buildings, you'll love this hotel as well. The staff were always friendly, too.
4.8
Ferenc- 11 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Just about everything! Bad: That I'll be 88.5 years old next week.
5
Claire Walsh- 07 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
Stayed in the hotel for one night. Absolutely loved it! Only issue there was a fan in the room instead of aircon. We stayed in a standard room. Great customer service great price and I really enjoyed my massage. Definitely would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing stay in budapest I didn't want to leave.
4.6
Francis- 06 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Impressive building - exterior/interior. Staff most helpful. Large pool/baths. Access to tram/trolley. Good showers. It was very interesting exploring the hotel, it's statuary, and art, and it's size. Happy centennial next year. Bad: We were assigned to a room w/o a/c. Stifling - couldn't sleep. BUT the front desk found us some floor fans which made it tolerable, and the next day a room with a portable air conditioner, AND a nice view of the church? next door, and the Danube. The waiters in the bar were efficient, and pleasant, but the bar room itself was musky with an unpleasant odor. The food was very good though with large portions for us. (Every room should be equipped with a portable air conditioner especially during the summertime - we were there in August).
4.8
Gilberto- 04 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel Gellert is the charm of the old world was wonderful. The ambience of the hotel is fantastic, with/spa Spa. Great breakfast. The location is perfect, with easy access to all points of interest. The balcony of the room offered a fantastic view of the beautiful city. Staff very friendly and always ready to help. With pleasure I will be here again, but if you are looking for modern conveniences, this isn't your place.
5
June- 02 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The concearge Tibor was amazing x
4.8
BillBoorman- 02 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Grand and opulent, a little dated but it added to the charm. The breakfast selection was huge, and the food in the bistro was fantastic ( recommend the goat ! ). Best of all was the spa- spent two days there and had a couples massage which was half the cost of the UK. Room 230 was like a small house - a room on two levels, two bathrooms and a balcony overlooking Gellert Hill and the Danube. Bad: Nothing !!
4.6
Jaqueline- 01 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: FABULOUS baths; like stepping back in time! Staff were very helpful & pleasant. Extra bonus to be able to check in REALLY early after we arrived from an exhausting flight – thank you! Will visit again for sure, probably in off season. Bad: Very busy - but it was mid-season.
4.8
Dagmar- 01 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The atmosphere of the hotel was just fantastic, and in addition to have the opportunity to use the thermal spas, massages (brilliant!) and just enjoy the old world charm was incredible. I would come back in the heart beat. The position of the hotel could not be better, well done Gellert!
5
Αθανάσιος- 01 Aug. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Fantastic atmosphere. Great breakfast.
5
John R CARNELL- 28 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
A wonderful, hot bath house, very clean. A very relaxing venue.
4.6
Andrea- 28 Jul. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Agoda
Grand design with old world charm interior. Please do not renovate it! Leave it as it is! Convenient location - Easy to get around by public transport. Just walk or ride to the other side of the river and you find yourself in the heart of the city with the Central Market at the end of the bridge and Vaci Street. Convenient facilities - Just walk to the spa in your bathrobe. You don't have to leave the building for the most elegant spa experience. Beautiful stain glass and mosaic tiles. Some of the staff have been working there for over 20 years but still can crack a smile or a joke with you and help wherever they can. As it is a spa hotel we would recommend more healthy options for breakfast and better coffee. But what a way to have breakfast in the elegant breakfast room and/or on the terrace overlooking the Danube with the Liberty Bridge. No better place to start your stay in Budapest.
4.8
Chris- 27 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The art deco, felt like we were stepping back in time and that we were actually in hungary, loved it , beautiful city Bad: Just a little tired in ou room a lick of paint and new carpet and hey presto
5
Quinton- 26 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: The hotel and grounds are immaculate, the service prompt and courteous, the food was good, and close proximity to city center. Bad: It was unusually hot during my stay, so I missed air conditioning provided in the room. Location Tip: There were metro and tram stations directly outside the front door, which made getting around Budapest on public transportation easy. It's easy to see why this hotel is considered one of the best in Budapest. While my accommodations was considered economy, my room served me well. It was unusually hot during my stay, so I missed air conditioning. Regardless, the hotel and grounds are immaculate, the service prompt and courteous, the food was good, and perhaps my favorite part was the close proximity to city center. There were metro and tram stations directly outside the front door, which made getting around Budapest on public transportation easy. From what I've been told, I missed out when I did not experience the thermal spas; I'll come prepared on my next visit!
4.6
ENGUSMER- 23 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Breakfast was above my expectations, Bristropub suggested within the same building as the Gellert Hotel was first class. Bad: Remeber to bring German plug adaptors although provided free of charge at the business center. No air conditioning, but an effecient and working fan was in the room so it was ok. Bathroom had no window and plumbing system was outdated, but everything operational.
4.8
Dermot- 23 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff were very courteous and helpful particularly the staff of the business centre. The meals were very good and the cafe is excellent. The spa baths and outdoor pool Is an extra bonus. Bad: The decor of the bedroom is slightly dated and the wooden floor makes a creaky noise
5
FP4 Man- 23 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
A grand old hotel on the bank of the Buda side of the Danube. Very close to major tram stop and metro station for easy access to the rest of the city. Guests get a free visit to the Spa and 50% discount thereafter.
4.8
EvitaF- 22 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: location, easy for public transport, great breakfast, very polite staff, one free entry at the Spa Bad: Room was extremely small, no air conditioning, it was like a sauna, very old furniture also, the bath was smelling
4.8
Caroline- 22 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: A beautiful old world hotel with a great spa attached. The location was perfect with quick access to the trams. We loved the old world Del of this place. The balcony offered a terrific view of a beautiful city. Would gladly stay here again, but if you are after modern conveniences this is not your place. The food at the restaurant was also delicious. Bad: One -and only one- of the concierges was very rude when we needed help locating a lost item. Everyone else was great.
4.75
Gill- 19 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The view from the room day and night was fantastic. It's a hotel with a history and it's not difficult to imagine how it would have been in previous times. Great being so close to the baths. Easy to travel anywhere in the city from here but mostly we walked. Great bars on the other side of the river near the market. Cafes nearby. You can use hotel shower cap in the baths! Bad: Nothing.
5
John- 19 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We had a wonderful time at the Gellert hotel. The location is perfect, right on the river Danube overlooking the Freedom bridge in easy walking distance of central Budapest, the Chain bridge and the castle. As neither of us like using taxis we were pleased to find that the metro now has a station close to the hotel. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The facilities here really are excellent. It is a classic luxury hotel and we really liked the splendour of the decor throughout the hotel. The room was large, with a great balcony overlooking the river. The hotel is also linked to the famous Gellert spa swimming baths, with one free entry included in the room rate. Bad: We thought it might be nice to have some better furniture on the balcony to our room so we could sit out in the evening to watch the river.
5
Claire- 18 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The Staffs are excellent (and good looking in general, HAHA) Everything is perfect, especially the beautiful Hugarian-style SPA. I strongly recommend the restaurant. Not only the breakfast, it's open till 12:00pm. The dinner is delicious and not expensive. Wonder why Tripadvisor had no commend about the restaurant.
5
Kristian- 17 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: An outstanding hotell, extremely friendly and helpfull staff, meals in the restaurants in absolute topplevel, rooms very very nice! A must in Budapest! Gellert bath also a must!
5
Day- 16 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: As soon as I got off the international train, I went to the Information in the station, where I bought the Budapest card. By a kind explanation, I could easily get on the subway M4 and got off at the right station (Szt Gellert ter) for the hotel. I could easily find the beautiful hotel. The hotel is located at one of the best place in Budapest, at the riverside of Danube. You can go anywhere in the city with frequent trams, in a combination the subway with the Budapest card. Both the stations are located in front of the hotel. The staff are well trained and the breakfast is fine with many choices. There is a grand floor only for dining.
5
Chris tibbitt- 14 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Superb location and great staff
4.6
Marion- 13 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This is an hotel to visit for it's history and old-fashioned elegance albeit faded but the latter is not important. It is a wonderful step back in time and we would not have missed a stay there as it was all that it is advertised to be. We took advantage of the free baths and thermal spa and it was brilliant especially as the weather whilst we were there was 38C so such a blessing. The accommodation cost was very reasonable for such an overall experience. We had a meal in the Panorama Restaurant overlooking the Liberty Bridge and the Danube and listened to a Hungarian Gipsy Band which made the evening memorable. It is an experience not to be missed. Bad: Air-conditioning but realise that this is difficult to install in such an ancient building.
5
Katharineq- 12 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The Gellert spa and thermal baths! Hotel guests get one session free and others half price. They can give their room number to a first floor receptionist & then pad down in swimsuit and bathrobe to a series of geothermal baths, sauna, steam room & swimming pools, surrounded with gorgeous decorated tiles, columns, marble steps, spouting lion heads etc. The water buoys you up and feels soft on the skin. I joined a free aqua-aerobics class with some other old ladies, & felt perfectly welcome despite not knowing the language. The staff were warm, polite and efficient. Nothing seemed too much trouble. The hotel has a rich and strange past, and I hope it's there for ever. Bad: No air conditioning, but a good fan in the room. Budapest is very hot in summer.
4.8
Mark- 11 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location for exploring Budapest. Very attentive staff the hotel was very clean. Don't expect a bling hotel as the Gellert is not but then not as expensive as some we looked at. Rooms could do with a re-furb but more than adequate for our stay, Tram stop directly outside . The trams are a great way to discover areas of the City and easy to understand and purchase tickets for. Nice walk across Liberty bridge ( fantastic at night ) into the old market place and the abundance of restaurants tucked just around the corner. River boat cruise is good seeing the historic side of the buildings . Great place to eat and drink and have a wonderful time. We will return soon !!
4.8
Patricia- 10 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The prestige of the hotel which was once a somptuous hotel for aristocracy. The thermal baths are fantastic.
5
Prateek Arora- 10 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
The location of the hotel is ideal being near to all the interesting places to visit.
4.8
Lesley- 08 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Loved the thermal pools .Had a blast in the wave pool.Staff were so helpful and polite. I loved it all.
5
Simona Gabriela Sarmasan- 04 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
Very elegant hotel. Tte view is amaxing, tha food delicious, the spa excelent. I bit of fixing in tne washroom, I would say. It is clean for sure everything.
5
Debbie- 02 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We were booked into the Richard Nixon room overlooking the Danube River. It could not have been more luxurious. The view was fabulous, beds comfortable, restaurant fabulous and the spa was heavenly. We booked a facial in the Salon, which was extraordinary. Hungarian-trained estheticians are amazing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
4.8
Helen- 01 Jul. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The spa which is part of the hotel. The spa is a major tourist attraction in Budapest so great to have a free entry to it as a hotel guest Bad: When we were there it was hot and consequently the room was hot too! There is an air conditioning unit provided but, being an old hotel no built in air con. The unit is noisy so we turned it off to sleep but we were hot!
4.8
Genevieve- 30 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Old world atmosphere. Decor and furnishing makes you travel in time View of the Danube from the room stupendous Bad: Mobile air conditioning unit was inadequate for such a large room when it was 35 degrees outside. The room cannot be advertised as an air conditioned room! We suffer from heat exhaustion during the night
5
Emma- 30 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Stylish hotel and friendly staff
5
Martin- 29 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location is spot on for everything. Bad: Loved everything
5
Anonymous- 29 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: A more spacious room than I thought I was getting and the amazing bath. Free access to the spa is also a positive and a glorious buffet breakfast. Bad: The fan in the room was good but other than that there was no way to control the temperature of the room
5
Izzie- 29 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great room size, amazing view and access to the spa is a bonus. I have come to the Gellert nearly every year since I was little - it's the perfect place to stay in the centre of Budapest.
5
Maria Costa- 29 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Delightful stay with super service!
4.8
Frederick- 28 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Good view from room. Plenty of breakfast options.Easy access to buses, trams.metro and an easy walk over bridge to Pest where there are some really good bars and restaurants. The one free entry to the Gellert Thermal Baths and swimming pool is a must do.The staff are all very helpful. Bad: The staff in the Expresso Bar were not as attentive as they could have been.
5
Jayne Darkes- 26 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
Didn't stay, just visited this Beautiful Olde World Hotel, for Brunch. Their famous Sunday Brunch (Banquette) is just the most FABULOUS experience and a must to include in your itinerary. Very affordable, even on the tightest budget! €25.00 pp, which includes ANY & ALL Drinks!
4.6
Mika- 25 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Really loved that historic atmosfeary. People were very friendly Hotel has perfect place
4.6
Richard- 23 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Old fashioned, elegant hotel with world famous spa facilities (for which residents get one free admission). Breakfast very good indeed. Bad: The cheaper rooms are a bit poky and tired, although the posher rooms look great.
4.6
Clive- 20 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent location, two enormous rooms-114 & 115 with terrific views. Our 21 year old daughter had one of the suites and being interconnected was great. Access to the spa pools. Bad: The bathrooms could do with a bit of improvement. Both had showers over the bath (that I never like but accept as a compromise) but they were fixed at about 5 foot-pretty useless for anyone taller than that. A bit frustrating after 5 nights! Also a hairdryer fixed in the bathroom that was last seen on the Ark I suspect.
5
Donna- 18 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location is on the Buda side and very close to the Freedom Bridge which takes you to many restaurants and sites. We liked the Grand Market Hall where you can buy souvenirs and food. It is like a butcher shop also. Vaci Utca is across the bridge also with many local restaurants and vendors. This is our second time at hotel. Staff friendly and breakfast is a wonderful experience. Bad: Rooms are not air conditioned but not really a problem
4.6
Ricardo- 17 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great service, nice buffet for Breakfast, Friendly People... The Spa is unique Bad: Bed a little informal, A/C leaked a bit on to the rug,
5
Breanna- 16 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Delightful staff, the large room to rest during the busy business schedule, plenty of fruit to fill myself on as a vegan/vegetarian, access to the baths, incredible view of the Danube, perfect location to walk the city from Bad: nothing
5
Roger Wallen- 15 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
Classical old, grand style spa hotel. Love everything about it.
4.8
Anne- 14 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The service was really good, the breakfast absolutely superb and the spa such a delight !! Bad: My room was a bit far away, I had to walk a lot. But not a massive problem !!
5
Anonymous- 12 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything was very good!
5
Carl- 12 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great staff, restaurants, and close to public transportation. Bad: Hard to manage room temperature control.
5
Kenneth- 09 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Generally first class and the ability to use the attached thermal pool was an added bonus. We had to leave before 6am to catch a train but the hotel provided take away breakfasts without charge or prompting and ensured we had a taxi in readiness to take us to the train station. Bad: The location was excellent but, apart from the hotel restaurants, other decent restaurants are about a ten minute walk away.
5
Ray- 07 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Full of old world charm, a beautiful building & amazing location with views over the city and just a short walk over the wonderful Freedom Bridge to all the restaurants, bars & shops. Bad: Cannot fault the hotel in any way.
4.8
Anette- 04 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: A hotel with a great atmosphere! Honorable and somewhat worn, but clean! We had a double room superior with river-view, and it was definitely worth the money. Great view and nice balcony. The room was also nicely decorated, with very good beds. Large, spacious bathroom, which was nice and clean. The breakfast was very good, a lot different to choose from. We also got gluten free bread on request. The spa-facillities and bath are great. Both the indoor and outdoor pools are magnificent and fun! The receptionists are very nice and helpful. The location of the hotel is ideal. Metro stop and tram stop are right outside the entrance Bad: Overall, the indoor-climate in the room was good, but it would have been great with better air-conditioning.
5
Albert- 01 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Views and great overall service. Bad: Minor repairs of cosmetic damage due to weather or time. Location Tip: Excellent to walk around to either side you may choose to go first. Imagine starting your vacation with a worried free check in a five star hotel in a walking distance of the downtown area in Budapest. The breakfast is great and room service is fast and affordable. All staff is very courteous and friendly.
4.8
Patricia- 01 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The property is in an excellent position, with wonderful views of the River Danube, and the architecture of the building is beautiful. The thermal baths and pools are outstanding. Bad: We found a cockroach in the bathroom, unfortunately.
5
Andrés Carrera M.- 01 Jun. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Excellent service, the building is beautiful and everybody was very kind. Overall a great experience at a great price!
4.6
Knut- 31 May. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent
5
Anne-Marie Storm Johansen- 31 May. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
The best place in town real nice people and the service was good
5
Steve- 22 May. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The facilities and location were superb. Our room was large and airy with a small balcony and bridge and river view. It was therefore a fabulous place to sit.in the morning with a coffee and in the evening with a glass of wine. The spa and pool facilities attached were amazing and added another dimension to the holiday. Very friendly, helpful and attentive staff. Bad: Nothing...it was all fabulous.

Still have questions? Get in touch:

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Phone: +36-1-889-5500
Room reservation: +36 1 889 5501
Fax: +36 1 889 5505

Address: 2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map View map

Room reservation

+36 1 889 5501

Address:
2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map

Email:
Send e-mail

One hotel selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

Two hotels selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

One hotel selected! One hotel seleted (3/1)

X