toggle menu

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Call us

Services

  • WiFi
  • Parking
  • Accessible hotel
  • Pet-friendly hotel
  • Non-smoking hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Wellness services
  • Medical services
  • Function rooms
Hotel rating
Overall score
4.8/5
5
Exploration644442- 01 Jun. 2019
great hotel & staff. breakfast buffet was varied & delicious. room with view of Danube spacious, beds comfortable, & bath large & more than adequate. the spa - grande! food in Brasserie & Espresso (with piano in afternoons) good & convenient for tired sight-seers.

Reviews

Hotel rating
Overall score
4.8/5
Based on 5240 reviews
Services
4.8/5
Cleaniness
4.8/5
Comfort
4.8/5
Location
4.8/5
Staff
4.8/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Did you enjoy your stay with us? Tell us about your experience!
5
Ramana- 15 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Had a beautiful stay, love the old world feel of the hotel and it’s amazing having direct access and discounted admission to the medicinal thermal spa next door. The hotel staff are incredibly helpful and the service is works class.
5
Walter- 15 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Quality and history.
5
Anne- 12 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Amazing hotel. Loved our stay there Bad: Nothing
5
Traveler- 11 Nov. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
This was our third stay at the Gellert. We are impressed with the staff, friendly and accommodating. The hotel is aging but our room was clean and relatively quiet. Loved our river view!
5
Mario Herrera- 11 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Quiet and beautiful place
4.8
Barbara- 10 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location. Staff friendly and informative. Easy check in. Breakfast was plentiful. Large double room and views over Danube beautiful Bad: A little dated and prob in need of a good makeover but the dated nature of the hotel added to its charm. Used the thermal baths attached to the hotel which was a bit of a nightmare as signage was poor inside. Took an awful long time to find a way out
4.6
Marianna- 10 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The breakfast is full of everything and the stuff is tasting. The position is good and the staff super nice.
5
Kovács Kond- 10 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Really friendly.
5
Thomas- 08 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Lovely hotel, lovely Breakfast, friendly staff
5
Anonymous- 08 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very kindly and correct service. Perfect the position.
4.8
Steven- 08 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Fantastic hotel - stayed in suite 123 that had 3 balconies and a terrace area Bad: Nothing to dislike
4.8
Karsten- 07 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The beauty of this Art Nouveau style hotel is fabulous. The service is excellent, and the food is good. The hotel is built in front of the Gellert Spa, so that you can walk in your robe straight into the magnificent marble and glazed tile decorated halls, with mineral baths. The rooms has wooden panels and crystal chandeliers and are kept in reasonably original condition. A little bit of gentle renovation would be in its place, but the charm of the rooms makes up for what you must chose to see as patina. We loved the Gellert hotel, it was a great extra experience un top of a wonderful visit to beautiful Budapest.   Bad: Carpets were worn and stained, the same was true of the upholstery of furniture. Cleaning was very superficial while we lived there.
5
Karsten Lund- 07 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
The beauty of this Art Nouveau style hotel is fabulous. The service is excellent, and the food is good. The hotel is built in front of the Gellert Spa, so that you can walk in your robe straight into the magnificent marble and glazed tile decorated halls, with mineral baths. The rooms has wooden panels and crystal chandeliers and are kept in reasonably original condition. A little bit of gentle renovation would be in its place, but the charm of the rooms makes up for what you must chose to see as patina. We loved the Gellert hotel, it was a great extra experience un top of a wonderful visit to beautiful Budapest.
5
Paul- 04 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Perfect location, staff were so accommodating and welcoming even upon arrival outside the doors. I definitely will be back and at this hotel Bad: Nothing to not like
5
Traveler- 02 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Excellent hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location with fantastic Danube river, city and hill views. Delicious breakfast. Cosy, spacious room. Amazing value. Highly recommended and would happily stay at the Danubius Hotel Gellert again.
4.8
Lilian- 02 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Gellért worth it! Location, view of the rooms, architecture of the building, convenience of accessing the baths. Bad: The staff are very straightforward, it might be related to the Hungarian education and culture.
4.8
Anonymous- 01 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Access to the spa, the breakfast. The maintaing if the original features and furniture and not modernising it into a bland modern place. Bad: One of our rooms had a large pillar in the middle of the room. This was quirky rather than a problem though.
4.5
Sarah- 31 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great view from our room! Bad: Not having a key card
5
E. Egelhof- 29 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Very nice place to stay :-)
5
Delphine Doublet- 29 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Superbe !
5
Gyongyjel- 29 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very good location. Close to tram station, nice view
5
Janet- 29 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Amazing location at the end of liberty bridge on the buda side of Budapest with views of the Danube. Staff were amazingly kind and helpful. The thermal baths next door are great so bring swimming costumes. The buffet breakfast was extensive and served in the restaurant with a view of the Danube.
5
Vanessa Browning- 27 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Built in the early C20th, this spa and hotel are a good example of the Secession style.It has several restaurants, cafes and of course the beautiful baths which are photographed and displayed in the entrance area. However, on the hotel side, it's worth visiting the first floor where you will find an exhibition on the history of the building and you can view the stained glass staircase too.
4.8
Pavel- 27 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Basically, it was nearly perfect for my taste. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, good english too. The room was spacious enough, had all i need, was clean, silent and relaxing. Breakfast was gorgeous, spas were out of this world, i am pretty sure i would stay again only for it ;) The location is really great too - people tend to say its sorta remote, but it really isn't! All means of public transportation are within 50 meters from the hotel, the main touristic street starts right across the bridge, there are city market, shops and restaurants of all kinds all around the hotel. And finally, you would love the view from Gellert hill, and its right next to the hotel too. So overall - great, i can't wait to visit again. Bad: Not sure if its even worth mentioning, really. The furniture in the room was old and sorta shabby, but i didn't care at all, i only came to sleep basically. Also when i visited the spa, it turned out i didn't get slippers (i didn't know i was supposed to :)). I am pretty sure they would provide it if i mentioned it, i just didn't bother ;)
4.6
Akemi- 27 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff was very friendly and supportive. The breakfast has a plenty of variety. The hotel is located just a minute from the metro station (Metro 4). The spa is attached to the hotel and it is very easy to access from the hotel at a discount rate (Euro 20 -> Euro 14). Bad: The bathroom is a bit too tiny.
4.6
Madeleine- 27 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent location (proximity to the river and best bridge in Budapest, and range of public transport). Unique architecture in and out. Very good breakfast overlooking the river and excellent beer in the bar. There was a very noisy corporate event one morning, but the manager responded immediately to our concern and straight away the noise reached an acceptable level. Bad: The perspex shelf on the wall next to the washbasin could have been better placed. I hit my head on the sharp corner each time I washed my hands.
5
Elizabeth- 26 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Stayed at the Gellert for four nights and would stay there again at the drop of a hat. The location is excellent, just off the Liberty Bridge, in an ideal place to access the efficient public transport network. Yes the hotel is in need of a considerable update in some areas, but to bring this hotel back to its former glory would impact on the price- which is extremely reasonable. My room was comfortable (the bed was divinely comfortable!), cleaned every day and towels were replaced daily if requested. As for the food, anything you could possibly require for breakfast was available, hot food, cold food, pastries, wonderful coffee etc. The Sorozo & Bistro bar offers really good quality food, well presented by friendly and helpful staff. As for the reception staff at the hotel, they couldn't be more helpful. Then, there is the Gellert Spa which is astonishingly beautiful. I enjoyed the indoor pools and booked for a massage which was much needed after strolling around Budapest! If you're looking for a luxury hotel, with top notch five star presentation and facilities then perhaps this hotel isn't for you. BUT, if you're looking for somewhere which is well positioned, comfortable, clean, quirky, with incredibly helpful, friendly and polite staff and with great food to boot, then this is the place. Bad: The decor needs updating in places but this is a minor thing for me. It's difficult to talk about anything I didn't like, I really did enjoy my stay at this hotel.
5
Gillian- 25 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: breakfast was great good choices nothing was to much bother for the staff location was great near to everything or a tram ride away spoke to manager before I left to congratulate him on his hotel and staff excellent services from them all Bad: there could of been tea/coffee things in your room or a vending machine if you required a drink you had to wait for shop or restaurant to open.
5
Amy- 25 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff were all friendly and helpful, breakfast was delicious with lots of variety. Room was perfectly acceptable.
5
Traveler- 22 Oct. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
I love it that it's right at the Liberty Bridge. We stepped out and walked everywhere and back.
5
Darian- 21 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location is the best in Budapest and the breakfast was excellent
5
Dewan- 20 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent location and amazing views. Bad: Nil
4.5
John- 17 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location was the key to this hotel. Had a beautiful view from our balcony on the 4th floor. The staff were very friendly and would definitely book this hotel again. Bad: Bar closed at midnight and fried eggs were finished at breakfast at 9.50am when breakfast finished at 10 am
5
ElP- 16 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
If you are looking for modern facility, this will not be the one. It is a historical building of 101 yrs old and they keep it like this, to attract customers that are looking for this kind of experience.Baths attached to it are very nice, breakfast was delicious and plentiful, staff is very friendly and fluent in English.
5
Jane- 15 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location perfect especially as I was travelling alone. Close to tram, bus & underground. Great breakfast included Bad: Room too warm Pool too expensive for hotel guests Coffee machine too slow...needs updating
4.6
Anuschay- 15 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything!! Not a fancy new hotel, but has everything along with a extravagant breakfast. Bad: The strange smell in the entire property.
5
Karen- 15 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The Hotel was Perfect both for location & comfort. The Breakfast was excellent. We had booked a room with a balcony & our 1st night there wasn't one to give us but the following day we were delighted & got our room with a balcony. Laslo on reception was excellent informative & helpful. Bad: There wasn't anything i can complain about.
4.6
Joanne- 13 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff very helpful and friendly, prime location close to everything. Breakfast was good, even had fried eggs which is rare when leaving uk Bad: A bit dated but all off budapest can look dated as alot of ild buildings. Did not and would not put me off and it has not deterred me to recommend to a friend. Only criticism is not kettle and brewing stuff before getting into bed or waking up. But thats just a picky opinion
4.6
James- 13 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The breakfast was superb. The location was excellent Bad: The beds and pillows
4.5
Almunzer- 07 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location and exceptional style Bad: Slight noise from outside
5
Matteo Repetto- 06 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Back in the future
4.8
Marcela- 06 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Beautiful building!! Great breakfast, top quality food and drinks Bad: The thermal baths were a fiasco. They charge €14 each person to use the spa area, but water at the main pool is cold!!!! We exit the pool immediately, and had no charge at all
5
Aleksandr- 06 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent Location! Very clean! Very helpful and friendly staff! Outstanding breakfast! Bad: Nothing
5
Edward Goff- 05 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Looks good
4.5
Parisa- 03 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The building is very well situated in relation to the Danube and major attractions. Very beautiful bath and spa. Bad: It needs renovation. The interior is too old. There was mold on the bathroom ceiling.
5
Traveler- 02 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Art Deco Splendour Shows how things were in the 1920s and wonderful spa baths attached with a good hotel discount
5
Rene Mogensen- 02 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Perfect and nice
4.5
John- 01 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Breakfast on the patio with views across the bridge to Pest - very nice! Gellert Spa linked to hotel was great. Wonderful old building with lovely ambience. Fantastic location. Bad: Room was dated but matched to the old world feeling of the hotel.
4.6
K- 30 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Historic charm, location and balcony views, abundant hot water, excellent breakfast included.
5
Lallman- 26 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: breakfast is great, we need more vegetarian items Bad: THERE SHOULD BE A 24 HOUR COFFEE AVAILABLE
4.8
Johnny- 25 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very good
5
Roger O- 24 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Beautiful trip first visit great service reception spa 5+ breakfast
5
Dazarene- 24 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Dodgy aircon but otherwise great grand hotel. Shame guests have to pay to use the pool. Good plentiful buffet breakfast.
5
Karolyn- 24 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The history and historical, traditional feel of this place has made my stay in Budapest perfect Bad: Nothing, the hotel is probably what I expected deep down. For me, there was nothing not to lime
5
Laurence- 23 Sep. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
Wonderful historic hotel. Generally very well kept up. Great breakfasts. Great views of Danube and Pest across river. Comfortable rooms with good service. Next to metro. Helpful pleasant staff. Adjacent to famous Gellért spa. Unfortunately they no longer give free spa entry to hotel guests, but we’ll worth a visit.
4.6
Hanbing- 23 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Attractive Hotel: location+breakfast+swimming pool+service......
4.6
Carole- 21 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Living history - from check in desk to entering old room on upper floor we felt like removed from the current day. Walking in our bath robes to the famous on site baths was thrilling and immersing in the warm soothing waters then returning to our room for a peaceful nights sleep was wonderful. Bad: No air conditioning and a hot night but the pedestal fan noice rocked us to sleep and the beds were comfortable. Pillows not so much - very thin and small and needed to fold in half.
5
Stephen Oldbury- 21 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
The Gallert is pure old world charm and service.
4.6
John- 18 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Central location, great access to Tram and Metro system. Breakfast had wide set of options and great quality food and coffee. old world charm ( so not for your boutique minimalism types). Great value for money. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Budapest
4.6
Ann- 17 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I particularly liked the location by the Freedom Bridge. Also enjoyed the piano playing Cafe. Finally my bedroom wasn’t too small & bed was very comfortable. Bad: Nothing.
4.8
Venetta- 15 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Proximity to sites Bad: A little run down
5
Steven- 15 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Wonderful old style hotel. Beautiful decor. Great location. Fabulous breakfast selection. Helpful staff.
4.8
Adelina- 15 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The breakfast was absolutely amazing! Location is really good too! Bad: I think it was all good! Noting I could look back at and would wanna complain about!
4.6
Anonymous- 14 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: No teasmaid. Would expect that to be provided in any hotel.Certainly for what we paid. Bad: Cleanliness, relaxed, good breakfast.Bedding all changed regularly.
4.6
Talitha- 12 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Old school Europe style and stature. effortlessly chic, unpretentious and grand... I felt like a Instagram Wes Anderson "junkie". ditto the thermal baths interior and locations surrounding. The breakfast was simply the best I have ever come across in a hotel. The bacon was cooked to perfection, a vast selection of cold meats and cheese, fresh fruit breads and pastries. The front desk and reception area is alive and welcoming so when one enters the foyer afer a day out and about, it feels like home intimate and cosy. I ran the Budapest half Marathon and the hotel provided us runners with breakfast packs and coffee in the foyer before the race, this was an aboslute delight. Bad: Hungarians in the service industry have a unique way of communicating. almost as if impatient and irritable and not overtly friendly. I got used to it after a while, but I wonder whether other toutists in Hungary have the same impression, It is not something particular to the Gellert, just thought I'd mention it. sensitive mousy soulss might not cope well.
5
Halvor Bergan- 11 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Fantastic hotel overlooking the river
5
Allan Lau- 11 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Very good value for money
5
Robin- 11 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: First impression on arrival was a walk into history. Our room was as per the pictures. The longer we stayed the more we appreciated our surroundings. Now we don’t want to leave. Our meals in the main dining room and brasserie were very elegant and value for money. We thoroughly enjoyed the live music played by the chamber orchestra while dining. It is a pity guests at the hotel choose to eat elsewhere. If you stay at the Gellert you should really take in the ambiance of elegant dining. Thank you to the staff who are all so friendly and attentative. Bad: Our pillows
5
Traveler- 10 Sep. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
This is an old hotel and reflects another time. As close to the Danube as is practicable ferry and multiple tram routes are at the door. The location was excellent to explore Budapest and the hotel excellent.
4.6
Philip- 09 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Beautiful old building on the banks of the river. Very easy to find from the metro and also well connected to the tram system. Also the baths which make up part of the property where stunning. Bad: The air conditioning was incredibly loud when turned on.
5
Akshat- 08 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything about this hotel is fantastic. Hotel is located in Buda but it is 700 meters from the Past side, the location is central, hotel is 10 meters to tram stop and 15 meters from subway. These stops can be reached within 15 minutes from both the international bus terminals. Room And view was superb. Room was overlooking danube and the freedom bridge and gillert hill.Hotel service is fantastic and quick. Breakfast is up to the mark. The hotel has its own thermal baths, temprature controlled pools, open air pools sohna and steam which can be used at nominal charges. The hotel has pool side cafe with river view. The hotel is 1 km from the famous walking street and it is 1.5 kms from the Hungarian parliament building. It is at walking distance from most of the historical attractions in Budapest. Overall full marks to the facilities, location, staff and cleanliness.
5
Greger- 07 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location and the spa and good treatment Bad: It was just the short time, there was no bad things
5
Traveler- 06 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
This grand hotel feels very Old World. My room was clean and had a retro feel. The public spaces in the hotel are amazing - I had dinner outside and enjoyed the breakfast buffet which was included. I also used the Spa and Pool Complex. It is not included in the room price but was a great experience. The location of the hotel is perfect for those exploring the Budapest. The staff let me check in a bit early as well.
4.6
Peter- 06 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Lovely old charm about the hotel Great selection for breakfast Fantastic room with a river view
4.8
Sandra- 03 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Good food & breakfast
5
Leandro Szilvay- 02 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
We had rhe greatest brunch for €25 each. All you can eat and drink. Very nice service, the food was excelent and champagne!!!
5
Maria- 02 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything was great! Bad: None
5
Thomas White- 30 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Your staying in a piece of history.
4.8
Anonymous- 30 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The baths on site and location. Bad: Facilities a little dated.
4.8
Marian- 29 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The classical characterful quality very unique, yes dated but very special hotel! Ancient famous hotel Spa Baths must be appreciated Bad: Carpets in corridors need replacing
4.8
Christi- 28 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We enjoyed the spa and surrounding activities.
5
Jody- 27 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The included breakfast was amazing, and we appreciated that it began at 7 am. The location of the hotel could not have been better, and it was a special treat to stay in a place so filled with history. We happen to like historic hotels with all of their potential quirks, as in smaller bathrooms or showers, but perhaps every traveler does not feel the same. The staff was very helpful, the pools and spa were luxurious, dinners were delicious, and we are very glad we chose this hotel.
5
Chandrika- 26 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: It’s location the cleanliness the interiors internet friendly staff
5
Peter- 26 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We were so impressed by the completely complementary range of foods on-offer at breakfast time, from local dishes and fruits, cheeses and breads to a very 'full English'. The tea and coffee are both good and the view from the breakfast room and it's terrace is brilliant. We booked three more nights whilst we were there and can't wait to visit again. The atmosphere of the whole hotel is one of a wonderfully 'slightly faded' gentility. It was glorious! Apart from the above we really enjoyed our evening meals at both the hotel brasserie and the main restaurant. We were lucky with the weather and were able to eat on the totally insect-free terraces. Bad: Trying to think of things we didn't like is difficult, however as we were on holiday we would have loved to have had a later 'end time' for breakfast and the hall carpet on Floor One is in need of replacement, but this is so obvious that we feel it is most likely to be at the top of the management's priority list to do as soon as the high season ends. Because we booked additional nights whilst we were at the Gellert, quite understandably we had to move rooms. Our first room was 'old-style' with fabulous furniture including a wardrobe that could easily lead to Narnia, but the beds were very low and not as comfortable as those in the the less impressive 'renovated' second room - Those beds were fabulously comfortable but the overall feel of the room was just rather bland. Here we're being 'nit-picky'. If we'd never seen the first room we'd have been very happy with the second one. To sum up - We can't wait to visit again. Being able to visit the wonderful thermal baths via the 'secret' passage from the hotel, already changed into our swim suits and wearing the hotel bath robes, was simply the cherry on the top of our holiday!
5
Anonymous- 24 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: N/a Bad: Breakfast, river view, access to bath
5
Voivod- 22 Aug. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
vintage and beautiful, good location and great view over the danube river! Breakfast was delicious, overall a great experience
4.6
Alexander- 22 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Range of foods at breakfast was excellent. The access to the Gellert Baths which are fantastic and worth staying at the hotel for. The hotel feels like old world grandeur but on a reasonable budget! Bad: The ensuite bathrooms are a little tired and could do with some love, for example the shower holder was broken in our room. The single bedroom my daughter stayed in felt like it was many years since it was decorated.
5
Traveler- 20 Aug. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
From the spa to the dining options, this is a wonderful place to stay.. Our room had a balcony facing the Church, it was ideally lit at night and beautiful during the day.
4.6
Anonymous- 20 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location of the hotel is perfect (tram station right in front), close to the bridge, the central market and only 2 station away from the stop of express bus line 100E for the airport. Stuff is very attentive (i had a piece of cheese i wanted to refrigerate and they did it for me). Thermal bath is 14€ for hotel clients (discounted price) - worth for the decor. Breakfast gives you a wide variety of foods to choose. Bad: Rooms might need a little refurbishment. (Old windows, no air conditioning, old taps in the bathroom)
5
Edgar Arut- 18 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Super
5
Alex- 18 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Beautiful hotel with a view to die for. Great location, very comfortable. Bad: Nothing
4.8
Sankalpa- 17 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The whole experience. It's a hotel like no other. Huge rooms, lovely breakfast, fantastic location. And the access to the bath gave us enough opportunity to relax. Bad: Carpets. The whole place would be so much better ( and I suspect hugely more expensive) with a revamp.
5
Emma- 16 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel was quiet and cosy, with clean facilities and polite staff. The buffet breakfast was nice with lots on offer and there is a lovely terrace with a view of the bridge which was lovely on a warm day. Access to and discounted entry to the thermal baths via the hotel was a real bonus. Bad: The decor is very dated but we saw this in the pictures so it was not a surprise. If you are visiting the thermal spa, you cannot leave without paying again to re-enter so if you want to go in the pool in the morning for a quick swim, you have to pay again if you go back that day. It would be good to have a daily rate for those staying in the hotel.
5
Taipei Taiwan- 16 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Very vintage
5
Andy Wilson- 16 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Wonderful architecture and views
5
Hanan- 15 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great place beautiful hotel. Central location to all other sightseeing places.
5
Lukas- 13 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
My favorite hotel, old fashioned, no AC in the room, but has a special spirit. Great location, view and breakfast. Spa entrance fee used to be included in the room price, unfortunately no longer true and let’s be honest - this was main reason why I always booked this hotel when I was in Budapest.
5
Sharon Laurenson- 13 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Historical landmark hotel. Stay there and step back in time. Great location. Fabulous breakfast.
5
Trbojevic- 13 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Great location, beautiful building, old-time atmosphere, good restaurant, kindly and helpful staff.
4.8
Sanford- 12 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: When we checking in, our room had not been made up. The staff very courteously gave us a suite (the Otto Habsburg suite). It had a large entry way, vanity in addition to regular bath, and a large living room. The only downside, in the summer, is that the air conditioning unit was in the living room and could not be moved, so that the cool air didn't quite reach the bed room. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The buffet breakfast has incredible variety and was excellent. The availability of the Gellert spa is also a plus. Bad: In a suite, the air conditioning unit was in the living room and as a consequence the cool air didn't reach the bedroom (in the middle of the summer, when Budapest can be steamy).

Still have questions? Get in touch:

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Phone: +36-1-889-5500
Room reservation: +36 1 889 5501
Fax: +36 1 889 5505

Address: 2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map View map

Room reservation

+36 1 889 5501

Address:
2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map

Email:
Send e-mail

One hotel selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

Two hotels selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

One hotel selected! One hotel seleted (3/1)

X