toggle menu

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Call us

Services

  • WiFi
  • Parking
  • Accessible hotel
  • Pet-friendly hotel
  • Non-smoking hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Wellness services
  • Medical services
  • Function rooms
Hotel rating
Overall score
4.8/5
4.65
aguptanyc2018- 01 Jun. 2019
The Danubius Hotel Gellert far exceeded all my expectations! Its stately beauty, combined with its old world charm transports you back to a by-gone era. The interiors have a breathtaking majesty with an aesthetic decor. The thermal Gellert Baths are conveniently connected by a passage directly from the hotel and are a wonderfully relaxing experience. The location of the hotel right along the Danube can't be beaten. Downtown Pest is a quick walk across the river on the beautiful Green Bridge. The historical background of the origins of the building are fascinating. And most importantly, the hotel staff is so helpful, polite and accommodating. It was a pleasure indeed to stay in this hotel!

Reviews

Hotel rating
Overall score
4.8/5
Based on 5083 reviews
Services
4.8/5
Cleaniness
4.8/5
Comfort
4.8/5
Location
4.8/5
Staff
4.8/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Did you enjoy your stay with us? Tell us about your experience!
4.6
John- 18 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Central location, great access to Tram and Metro system. Breakfast had wide set of options and great quality food and coffee. old world charm ( so not for your boutique minimalism types). Great value for money. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Budapest
4.6
Ann- 17 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I particularly liked the location by the Freedom Bridge. Also enjoyed the piano playing Cafe. Finally my bedroom wasn’t too small & bed was very comfortable. Bad: Nothing.
4.8
Venetta- 15 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Proximity to sites Bad: A little run down
5
Steven- 15 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Wonderful old style hotel. Beautiful decor. Great location. Fabulous breakfast selection. Helpful staff.
4.8
Adelina- 15 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The breakfast was absolutely amazing! Location is really good too! Bad: I think it was all good! Noting I could look back at and would wanna complain about!
4.6
Anonymous- 14 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: No teasmaid. Would expect that to be provided in any hotel.Certainly for what we paid. Bad: Cleanliness, relaxed, good breakfast.Bedding all changed regularly.
4.6
Talitha- 12 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Old school Europe style and stature. effortlessly chic, unpretentious and grand... I felt like a Instagram Wes Anderson "junkie". ditto the thermal baths interior and locations surrounding. The breakfast was simply the best I have ever come across in a hotel. The bacon was cooked to perfection, a vast selection of cold meats and cheese, fresh fruit breads and pastries. The front desk and reception area is alive and welcoming so when one enters the foyer afer a day out and about, it feels like home intimate and cosy. I ran the Budapest half Marathon and the hotel provided us runners with breakfast packs and coffee in the foyer before the race, this was an aboslute delight. Bad: Hungarians in the service industry have a unique way of communicating. almost as if impatient and irritable and not overtly friendly. I got used to it after a while, but I wonder whether other toutists in Hungary have the same impression, It is not something particular to the Gellert, just thought I'd mention it. sensitive mousy soulss might not cope well.
5
Halvor Bergan- 11 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Fantastic hotel overlooking the river
5
Allan Lau- 11 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Very good value for money
5
Robin- 11 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: First impression on arrival was a walk into history. Our room was as per the pictures. The longer we stayed the more we appreciated our surroundings. Now we don’t want to leave. Our meals in the main dining room and brasserie were very elegant and value for money. We thoroughly enjoyed the live music played by the chamber orchestra while dining. It is a pity guests at the hotel choose to eat elsewhere. If you stay at the Gellert you should really take in the ambiance of elegant dining. Thank you to the staff who are all so friendly and attentative. Bad: Our pillows
5
Traveler- 10 Sep. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
This is an old hotel and reflects another time. As close to the Danube as is practicable ferry and multiple tram routes are at the door. The location was excellent to explore Budapest and the hotel excellent.
4.6
Philip- 09 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Beautiful old building on the banks of the river. Very easy to find from the metro and also well connected to the tram system. Also the baths which make up part of the property where stunning. Bad: The air conditioning was incredibly loud when turned on.
5
Akshat- 08 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything about this hotel is fantastic. Hotel is located in Buda but it is 700 meters from the Past side, the location is central, hotel is 10 meters to tram stop and 15 meters from subway. These stops can be reached within 15 minutes from both the international bus terminals. Room And view was superb. Room was overlooking danube and the freedom bridge and gillert hill.Hotel service is fantastic and quick. Breakfast is up to the mark. The hotel has its own thermal baths, temprature controlled pools, open air pools sohna and steam which can be used at nominal charges. The hotel has pool side cafe with river view. The hotel is 1 km from the famous walking street and it is 1.5 kms from the Hungarian parliament building. It is at walking distance from most of the historical attractions in Budapest. Overall full marks to the facilities, location, staff and cleanliness.
5
Greger- 07 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location and the spa and good treatment Bad: It was just the short time, there was no bad things
5
Traveler- 06 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
This grand hotel feels very Old World. My room was clean and had a retro feel. The public spaces in the hotel are amazing - I had dinner outside and enjoyed the breakfast buffet which was included. I also used the Spa and Pool Complex. It is not included in the room price but was a great experience. The location of the hotel is perfect for those exploring the Budapest. The staff let me check in a bit early as well.
4.6
Peter- 06 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Lovely old charm about the hotel Great selection for breakfast Fantastic room with a river view
4.8
Sandra- 03 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Good food & breakfast
5
Leandro Szilvay- 02 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
We had rhe greatest brunch for €25 each. All you can eat and drink. Very nice service, the food was excelent and champagne!!!
5
Maria- 02 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything was great! Bad: None
5
Thomas White- 30 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Your staying in a piece of history.
4.8
Anonymous- 30 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The baths on site and location. Bad: Facilities a little dated.
4.8
Marian- 29 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The classical characterful quality very unique, yes dated but very special hotel! Ancient famous hotel Spa Baths must be appreciated Bad: Carpets in corridors need replacing
4.8
Christi- 28 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We enjoyed the spa and surrounding activities.
5
Jody- 27 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The included breakfast was amazing, and we appreciated that it began at 7 am. The location of the hotel could not have been better, and it was a special treat to stay in a place so filled with history. We happen to like historic hotels with all of their potential quirks, as in smaller bathrooms or showers, but perhaps every traveler does not feel the same. The staff was very helpful, the pools and spa were luxurious, dinners were delicious, and we are very glad we chose this hotel.
5
Chandrika- 26 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: It’s location the cleanliness the interiors internet friendly staff
5
Peter- 26 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We were so impressed by the completely complementary range of foods on-offer at breakfast time, from local dishes and fruits, cheeses and breads to a very 'full English'. The tea and coffee are both good and the view from the breakfast room and it's terrace is brilliant. We booked three more nights whilst we were there and can't wait to visit again. The atmosphere of the whole hotel is one of a wonderfully 'slightly faded' gentility. It was glorious! Apart from the above we really enjoyed our evening meals at both the hotel brasserie and the main restaurant. We were lucky with the weather and were able to eat on the totally insect-free terraces. Bad: Trying to think of things we didn't like is difficult, however as we were on holiday we would have loved to have had a later 'end time' for breakfast and the hall carpet on Floor One is in need of replacement, but this is so obvious that we feel it is most likely to be at the top of the management's priority list to do as soon as the high season ends. Because we booked additional nights whilst we were at the Gellert, quite understandably we had to move rooms. Our first room was 'old-style' with fabulous furniture including a wardrobe that could easily lead to Narnia, but the beds were very low and not as comfortable as those in the the less impressive 'renovated' second room - Those beds were fabulously comfortable but the overall feel of the room was just rather bland. Here we're being 'nit-picky'. If we'd never seen the first room we'd have been very happy with the second one. To sum up - We can't wait to visit again. Being able to visit the wonderful thermal baths via the 'secret' passage from the hotel, already changed into our swim suits and wearing the hotel bath robes, was simply the cherry on the top of our holiday!
5
Anonymous- 24 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: N/a Bad: Breakfast, river view, access to bath
5
Voivod- 22 Aug. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
vintage and beautiful, good location and great view over the danube river! Breakfast was delicious, overall a great experience
4.6
Alexander- 22 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Range of foods at breakfast was excellent. The access to the Gellert Baths which are fantastic and worth staying at the hotel for. The hotel feels like old world grandeur but on a reasonable budget! Bad: The ensuite bathrooms are a little tired and could do with some love, for example the shower holder was broken in our room. The single bedroom my daughter stayed in felt like it was many years since it was decorated.
5
Traveler- 20 Aug. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
From the spa to the dining options, this is a wonderful place to stay.. Our room had a balcony facing the Church, it was ideally lit at night and beautiful during the day.
4.6
Anonymous- 20 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location of the hotel is perfect (tram station right in front), close to the bridge, the central market and only 2 station away from the stop of express bus line 100E for the airport. Stuff is very attentive (i had a piece of cheese i wanted to refrigerate and they did it for me). Thermal bath is 14€ for hotel clients (discounted price) - worth for the decor. Breakfast gives you a wide variety of foods to choose. Bad: Rooms might need a little refurbishment. (Old windows, no air conditioning, old taps in the bathroom)
5
Edgar Arut- 18 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Super
5
Alex- 18 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Beautiful hotel with a view to die for. Great location, very comfortable. Bad: Nothing
4.8
Sankalpa- 17 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The whole experience. It's a hotel like no other. Huge rooms, lovely breakfast, fantastic location. And the access to the bath gave us enough opportunity to relax. Bad: Carpets. The whole place would be so much better ( and I suspect hugely more expensive) with a revamp.
5
Emma- 16 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel was quiet and cosy, with clean facilities and polite staff. The buffet breakfast was nice with lots on offer and there is a lovely terrace with a view of the bridge which was lovely on a warm day. Access to and discounted entry to the thermal baths via the hotel was a real bonus. Bad: The decor is very dated but we saw this in the pictures so it was not a surprise. If you are visiting the thermal spa, you cannot leave without paying again to re-enter so if you want to go in the pool in the morning for a quick swim, you have to pay again if you go back that day. It would be good to have a daily rate for those staying in the hotel.
5
Taipei Taiwan- 16 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Very vintage
5
Andy Wilson- 16 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Wonderful architecture and views
5
Hanan- 15 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great place beautiful hotel. Central location to all other sightseeing places.
5
Lukas- 13 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
My favorite hotel, old fashioned, no AC in the room, but has a special spirit. Great location, view and breakfast. Spa entrance fee used to be included in the room price, unfortunately no longer true and let’s be honest - this was main reason why I always booked this hotel when I was in Budapest.
5
Sharon Laurenson- 13 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Historical landmark hotel. Stay there and step back in time. Great location. Fabulous breakfast.
5
Trbojevic- 13 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Great location, beautiful building, old-time atmosphere, good restaurant, kindly and helpful staff.
4.8
Sanford- 12 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: When we checking in, our room had not been made up. The staff very courteously gave us a suite (the Otto Habsburg suite). It had a large entry way, vanity in addition to regular bath, and a large living room. The only downside, in the summer, is that the air conditioning unit was in the living room and could not be moved, so that the cool air didn't quite reach the bed room. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The buffet breakfast has incredible variety and was excellent. The availability of the Gellert spa is also a plus. Bad: In a suite, the air conditioning unit was in the living room and as a consequence the cool air didn't reach the bedroom (in the middle of the summer, when Budapest can be steamy).
5
Linda- 12 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We enjoyed the original style of the hotel with all historical elements, and our view from the room the most!
5
Janet- 11 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: It’s a classic - beautifully maintained and retaining its old-world charm. It is connected to the thermal spa baths which makes it easy and luxurious to use. Our flight left early and they put together a breakfast to take with us. A nice and thoughtful touch. One of the top hotels in the world!
4.6
Giovanni- 11 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Traditional place with the amazing Spa Bad: The plastic chair in the balcony.. it spoils the architecture...
4.6
Jose- 11 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Bad: No air condicioned in the room
5
Oscar- 11 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: very professional staff, excellentfacilities, the spa and pools were excellent
5
Traveler- 08 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast, large room with a comfy bed.
5
Marcos- 07 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything was so good. That’s absolutely the better choice. Location, Staff, Breakfast, Reception and The Spa. But the breakfast is quite amazing. I recommend you travelers.
5
Lesley- 07 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Beautiful building in a great location. Staff were very helpful and the room was clean and well maintained.
5
Victor- 06 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent central location; great views of Danube and Gellert mountain from room; fantastic free buffet breakfast; Bad: everything was great!
4.8
Søren- 06 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location. Good historical style. Bad: Night tempature in room too high
5
Traveler- 05 Aug. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
The history and old charm of the hotel was what attracted my selection of stay. It will be a shame if they change any of that, however they need to improve the cooling system during the summer. They provided a portable a.c but it was not enough for the heat wave. Other than that, I would recommend a tourist desk. The staff did their best to help us but sometimes they were busy attending guests. I will stay again in the future and recommend this hotel. I would choose another time in the year.
4.6
Róbert- 05 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I have received one big exclusive apartment with beautiful view to Danube river and Sabadshag bridge. Also taxi servis from hotel to Mogyorod - Hungaroring was perfect and not much expensive. Shame my Favorit Max Verstappen did not win, but still drove excellent race. Big respect for L. Hamilton - he is propably driver from another Galaxy. It was one excellent weekend for me again In Hungary. Thank you all. Bad: Nothing, nincs
5
Helen- 04 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I booked this Hotel because of where it was located and because of the age of the hotel as well. Everything was how I expected it would be and I would certainly recommend this hotel to my friends and family.. Bad: All good..
5
PaulTarjan- 03 Aug. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Fabulous architectural gem, wold's greatest swimming pool facility. Hotel a bit antiquated, needs renovation. Wonderful helpful staff, from the manager to the maids. Breakfast is unsurpassed. Overall, a great experience to stay there
5
Zena Edwards- 03 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Amazing Deco spar outdoor pool
4.6
Teresa- 02 Aug. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Majestic old hotel, with great breakfast, and location Bad: Beds could be upgraded.
5
brendan- 31 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Classical hotel at a fantastic location in Budapest
5
YUKA KUDO- 31 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
The room they offered was awesome! We could see beautiful scenery in our room and jacuzzi was really comfortable! The room has air conditioner so l‘m sure you can enjoy the room during hot summer. Also concierge was super flexible and kind so that we could check in early. Spa was also great and my daughter loved the outside pool! Thank you so much for the great experience:)
4.6
Gordon- 31 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The spa was very nice to go to and you had a choice of many different pools and the massage service after a nice soak in various pools. The hotel was built shortly 1912 and the great architecture of that time shows great workmanship with the stone still shows to this day. Period furniture is on every floor of the facility. The breakfast buffet is more than enough to fuel expeditions during the day. There are both North American, British and Oriental dishes available fresh fruit. Bad: The mattresses could use an upgrade they appear to be very old but surely need to be looked at. Most rooms have balconies but warning signs are posted on the doors. The grounds are very well landscaped and well maintained. A nice feature also is a little building outside the entrance where there is water bottle filling stations.
4.6
Margarita- 31 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location and the food in restaurant. Bad: The Air conditioner didn’t work. That’s the thing I don’t like.
5
Banour- 30 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location of the Hotel, Reception Staff & Spa facilities Bad: No thing
4.8
Gordon- 30 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The breakfast buffet had everything you would want in food and other things. It is a great way to fuel the body up for a day exploring Budapest Bad: The mattresses in the room could use an epgrade
5
Ondrej Matyas- 28 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Beautiful hotel with open thermal spa. Around 20€ per entrance.
5
peter- 27 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
great!!
4.6
Ivana- 26 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Really big room with a beautiful view.we got free upgrade to better room with balcony and view to gellert hill.breakfast were great with lot of staf-fruit,vegetables,variety of ham,sausages,spreads,cheese,egs,....really nice hotel with a great style. Bad: Beds were soft and old with valley in the centre,xou needed to turn not to have head downhill. There can be some discount to gellert spa.
5
Paul Steele- 26 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Exceptional food, experience. Book the Panoramic Restaurant
4.6
Lady_heather- 26 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location, lovely staff, great value. Bad: Only issue is the plumbing - you have to double flush, but it's an old building, so perhaps not feasible.
5
Omar- 24 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Every thing liked
5
Hitomi- 24 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel is gorgeous both inside and outside with history. Access to the spa is good. Also you can walk or take the tram to the city center. Hotel staff is very very friendly which made my stay in Budapest memorable. Bad: The room didn’t have air conditioning so if you are staying there in the summer you may feel little hot.
5
Anonymous- 24 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The architechture, the interior, the spa. In Gellért I’m always at home. Bad: There were no sour cherries for breakfast as there was earlier and also no strong paprika.
4.8
Peter- 24 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The view was excellent Air conditioner In the room is excellent, especially now in summer The staff are very friendly and helpful. Excellent experience:) and the breakfast is Delicious:) Bad: The handle of the bathroom door was not fixed properly, but it's not a big problem:) The bathtub was not cleaned properly. It was scaly.
5
John- 23 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Wide variety of breakfast options.
5
Jenny- 23 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location. Easy walking distance. Loved the furniture and history of the place. Staff very easy to talk to. Going and having a spa.
4.8
Daria- 22 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The building, the interior and the location are great. We had a room with a beautiful river view. Access to the thermal baths from the hotel was very convenient. We liked our stay very much.
5
Gudrun- 21 Jul. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
We loved this hotel - excellent service; friendly staff and great location next door to the SPA.
5
Ian- 21 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: A perfect start to our 2 week vacation, spent 3 nights in this fabulous hotel which was perfectly located by the River Danube, a short walk across the Freedom Bridge took you into the heart of Budapest. We spent a morning in the Spa where the thermal baths are something to savour. Good food, Cold beer and a very relaxing atmosphere, what's not to like.
5
manzoor elahi- 20 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Cool
5
Traveler- 15 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Great hotel and a perfect spot I will recommend to everybody
4.8
Nicholas- 15 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Amazing historic hotel! Excellent, friendly and accommodating staff. Bad: Furnishings are a bit old but still comfortable.
5
Traveler- 13 Jul. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Extremely good location. Very kind and helpful staff. I got a room on the mountain side, which was very hot (no air conditioner but have a fan), and loud on the weekend. But asked for another room with AC and got one, no problem. ( all room facing the Danube have air conditioner according to the staff at the front ) The breakfast buffet is excellent. The waiters could be a little more friendlier in the other hand. Little smile wouldn't hurt. The bath next door is beautiful, the wave pool is so much fun. But I found it a little bit expensive. (It is not free for the hotel guest )The people in the information were rude and didn't care about you. They should spend a little less time on they phone and more time actually doing they work and helping you. You could find very good food in the Gellert sörözô, everyone there worked hard and they are very nice. But check your bill before paying, they might include the tip already! I would definitely stay here again,!
4.6
Kristina- 11 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The spa and the old world charm. Very beautiful. The staff were gracious and genuinely concerned for the patrons. Delightful. Bad: Not much. It’s old, so you have to see it for the lovely old lady that it is.
5
Traveler- 10 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
with its unbearable location, its beauty and the spa, still one of my all time favorite hotels
5
Sorin Stefan- 10 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Nice hotel, pretty old. Very good breakfast
5
Eliška- 10 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: opakovane tam chodíme super všetko
4.8
Marie- 07 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location was very accessible to many attractions in Budapest. The setting, right on the banks of the Danube was beautiful. Breakfast was included in my hotel rate and was well worth it with multiple options and in a large room overlooking the river. My room had a small balcony that made my stay absolutely dreamy. Bad: The only negative comment is that one man at the check-in desk was a bit snooty and made me feel like he was doing a favor to help me. Wish I would have gotten his name, as ALL other staff, restaurant, housekeeping, etc., were helpful and pleasant. His demeanor would not prevent me from staying here again.
5
Vaggelis Vitoratos- 06 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Nice atmosphere, vintage style. It's worth to stay there for the hotel facilities , the neiborhood, and the vicinity of many interesting sites and metro station!
5
Petr Nováček- 06 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great hotel. Wonderfull view from the top deck. Helpful and nice staff. Pleasant stay. Highly recomended.
5
Gabor- 06 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Vintage hotel in Downtown Budapest, the Buda side. Staff professional and friendly.
5
Acez- 05 Jul. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Nice place accessible clean staff are very accommodating. The only down side is the air condition is very noisy and the pillow are need replacing otherwise it’s perfect
5
Mairi Smart- 05 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
This is not an Ibis or a Novotel. There is no air conditioning in the rooms (there is a fan) and the carpet and decor may be a little tired. But what you do get is wonderful turn-of-the-century charm and a throw-back to other times. The bed was comfortable and I had a lovely little iron balcony overlooking the rooftops. And being able to walk from my room down to the fabulous Gellért Spa in my robe made my stay all the more special. Thank you Hotel Gellért.
4.8
Kate- 05 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very friendly staff. Large rooms. Very good post booking communication. Great location next to the bus stop and metro but also possible to walk to interests.Excellent breakfast. An all round perfect stay. Bad: Nothing! Apart from Mojitos were too weak!!
5
Alicia- 04 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent Hotel! Lovely room with view of the river. The Gellért baths are available at a discounted price if you stay in the hotel. The. Staff were polite and helpful and we ate in both the bistro and terrace restaurant . The meals were reasonably priced and food excellent. Would definitely not hesitate to stay again.
4.6
Timothy- 03 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: beautiful facility and location. Great staff. Wonderful food. Bad: no air conditioning
5
emma gernez- 02 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
A must see hotel, majestuous, old fashioned, grand. Breakfast is excellent and best of all, it has access to the gellert baths. No air con in our room was the only down.
5
Sumbul Asad- 02 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Amazing location and great rooms with a view of Danube river
5
Neus Mormeneo Notari- 01 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Perfecto
4.5
Roansrule- 01 Jul. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Despegar
I appreciate how helpful the front desk staff was. They were courteous, friendly and helpful in all instances. The breakfast served each morning was outstanding. The hotel has an interesting, unique character and it is a big plus that it is attached to the Gellert spa/baths. We would definitely come back.
5
Passport62001517542- 01 Jul. 2019
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Despegar
Guest rooms, room service and hotel location are exceptional. Breakfast was included. My friend and I were surprised with rhe selection and variety for the breakfast. You rarely get to see this offering in other hotels. For sure will stay at the Gellert again in my next trip to Budapest!

Still have questions? Get in touch:

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Phone: +36-1-889-5500
Room reservation: +36 1 889 5501
Fax: +36 1 889 5505

Address: 2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map View map

Room reservation

+36 1 889 5501

Address:
2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map

Email:
Send e-mail

One hotel selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

Two hotels selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

One hotel selected! One hotel seleted (3/1)

X