toggle menu

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Call us Book now

Services

  • WiFi
  • Parking
  • Accessible hotel
  • Pet-friendly hotel
  • Non-smoking hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Function rooms
  • Wellness services
  • Medical services
Hotel rating
Overall score
4.8/5
4.8
Mare- 25 Apr. 2014
I liked this old hotel very much!

Reviews

Hotel rating
Overall score
4.8/5
Based on 2945 reviews
Services
4.8/5
Cleaniness
4.8/5
Comfort
4.8/5
Location
4.8/5
Staff
4.8/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Did you enjoy your stay with us? Tell us about your experience!
4.6
Sarolta- 24 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Breakfast was excellent. Location is the best! Loved having thr Cave Church (Szikla Kápolna) right across the street. Bad: It would have been nice to be able to use the pool daily for a short time without an extra charge.
5
Seona- 24 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
We had an excellent stay and particularly enjoyed the space we had in the room and generally. The onsite baths were a real bonus in the horrid weather we had one day. The bistro and cafe were excellent.
5
Declan- 23 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The breakfast was first class plenty of choice and variety. The Spa facilities were excellent and well worth a visit. The hotel is on the River Danube. There are excellent tram links to the heart of the city. The Hop On/Hop Off Bus has a stop just opposite the hotel. The hotel is just by The Liberty bridge.
4.6
Or- 22 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: the staff is very nice and helpfull, the spa is great and the breakfast also. Bad: the rooms was not very clean.
5
Piroska- 21 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This is a fabulous hotel! I had a wonderful time in here. I would definitely highly recommend this hotel. The building is very nice, the room was beautiful, large, quiet, warm and everything was extra clean, the location is excellent, very easy to reach, the breakfast is absolutely amazing, all staff very friendly and polite. Wi-Fi works very well, and the one day spa offer is great. Thank you Danubius Hotel Gellért staff for making my stay so pleasant!
5
Amber- 19 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Sense of tradition. personal friendly service. spa! architecture Bad: nothing. i loved everything. already planning my next stay
5
vikram- 18 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Amazing stay. Excellent and helpful staff. Centrally located. Lot of Spas and thermal pools to relax. Some areas could be a lot modern though.
5
Tatjana- 16 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Klass!!!
4.8
Susie- 15 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Breakfast was lovely and beds are great. The staff couldn't be more helpful and informative.
5
Clarissasol- 15 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Superlative location in Budapest with friendly staff, amazing breakfast, and access to everything you need to see in walking distance. Lovely hotel!
5
Kaj- 15 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Bad: The beds was not 100% good
5
Lennart Östman- 14 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Art nouveau hotel with impeccable service and thermal bath included
5
Lorraine- 12 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Loved the breakfast, very plentiful and lots of choice. The hotel facilities were brilliant, location was perfect, travel facilities were fantastic. Staff at the hotel were very curtious, helpful and extremely polite. We've recommended the hotel to all our family and friends. We will certainly be back for another stay!! Bad: There wasn't anything to dislike!
4.6
Peter- 08 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Access to baths, breakfast selection, cakes in the cafe, tram stop right in front of the hotel, polite staff, view from the window and balcony. Bad: The cooking style and menu selection of the restaurant. Trying too hard to be different without offering the more traditional Hungarian cooking style and dishes. Also they could open the breakfast hall for an alternative restaurant, especially given that in the past this hotel hosted a second Gundel, but there are plenty of other restaurant options in Budapest outside of the hotel.
4.8
Peter- 06 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location, thermal baths Food especially deserts at the hotel Bad: When i last visited in 2011 access to thermal baths was unlimited now you only get one free pass and all other are discounted by 50% still good value but as hotel does not have any balconies of its own there is no other area for getting sun or relaxing
4.6
Sam- 05 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very pleasant staff, extremely pretty hotel and in a great location Bad: Pillows could have been better and our double bed had two sheets instead of one
5
Rachel- 05 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Gorgeous parquet floor and view from balcony Amazing spa
4.6
Patricia- 05 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location, friendly staff Bad: breakfast was just ok.
5
Ádám- 05 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Budapest is simply georgous, if this wasn't enough, Hotel Gellert is a fusion of everything, spa, luxury, living history, u really start thinking about the aristrocrats who used to stay here in the past century...and of course once you are here just 1,5 hrs drive and u arrive to Lake Balaton, Kali-basin e.g. Balatonhenye ;)
5
Anonymous- 05 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: 乳児を連れての宿泊だったので夕食にルームサービスをお願いしたところすぐに温かくて美味しい食事を用意してくれました。価格設定は低すぎるんじゃないでしょうか。リバービューのお部屋でのんびり食事を楽しむことができました。
5
David- 01 Apr. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great Location, right on the river. Nothing not to like about it. Bad: The outdoor pool (which is part of the attached Spa) was closed, we did go in March and it opened in April, bad planning! You still have an outdoor Thermal Spa though.
4.8
Anonymous- 29 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Loved the helpfullness of the staff, breakfast buffet was always filled and excellent
5
Traveler- 29 Mar. 2017
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
It was as good as I expected . The breakfast should have been more Hungarian origin, supply vise.
5
Brian- 28 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff were particularly friendly and personel
5
William- 28 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I cannot fault this Hotel at all.This was our second time to visit to Budapest and this time we wanted to visit the Spa's without the children so we opted for the Gellert Hotel.On arriving we were greeted with friendly and welcoming faces.On entering the room {which had a balcony and a view of the lovely Danube river} we were amazed by the size of it .The room itself was dated which some people might be upset about but it fitted in with the original decor of the Hotel.The beds were very comfortable and cosy. Although the Spa is not owned by the hotel,you have an easy access to the Spa on the 1st floor of the hotel.The buffet breakfast was excellent and i have to mention that the staff were lovely Bad: This is just a small personal gripe but a kettle in the room would have been welcomed,due to the fact that we had done alot of walking and i preffer a cup of tea when i returned
5
C-g- 28 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Gellert is a special place. The old interiour gives the hotel its charm and atmosfer, which is Gellert, if they change that it would be any hotel as all others.
5
Marco Enrico Biagio Pelletta- 26 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Situated in an historical building that comprises even the thermal baths this hotel is the right choice if you want a relaxing stay. Moreover, it is next to an underground station and near the Danube, just in front of the Liberty bridge. The staff is incredibly kind and professional.
5
Nils- 25 Mar. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything was great. Prefect location. Nothing to complain.
5
Rachael- 24 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The atmosphere was relaxed, plenty to do in walking distance, friendly staff and made to feel very welcome Bad: Because we had a river view, we also had the road noise which was fine until the sirens seemed to go on all night
5
Roberto- 21 Mar. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I liked absolutely everything! The Danubius is a romantic place very well ran with charming and attentive staff. Not to be missed if you are in Budapest! Bad: It s hard to find something wrong with this place. Perhaps the decor could do with some attention but even this, in my view is charming.
4.8
Kate- 19 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: huge choice of things for breakfast. Busy hotel but well staffed, reception staff extremely helpful and all spoke excellent English. Free one off use of the thermal baths a real bonus as they are fabulous Bad: I would really have liked a kettle in my room as I had bought some herb teas with me! This is the second time i have visited the Gellert though and loved it both times
4.6
coachmarkdavis- 19 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Having two tickets to the Spa (worth 16 Euro per person) included is the best bonus here. We spent 4 hours in the spa and the easy access from the Hotel direct to the front door inside is convenient and comfortable. Bad: Remember it is old. The beds are not the most comfortable and there is a musty smell. But it is a part of the character of the place and gives you great stories to tell.
5
Gaborc80- 17 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: My room was newly decorated. good to see that the Management is looking after this beautiful historical Hotel. The price includes entrance to the beautiful Gellert Spa Bad: That I stayed only for 1 night :(
4.6
Julianna- 15 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great staff! Excellent service. Thank you.
5
Suzanne HERZBERG- 15 Mar. 2017
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Bad: Nothing
4.8
Melodie- 14 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The breakfast was superb I couln't fault it at all. The location was great and the hotel impressive I would recommend it as is perfectly located for all sightseeing. Bad: Nothing that I could really complain about other than tea and coffee facilities in room which we did not have.
5
Antonio freitas- 09 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Very romantic hotel big Spa therapy Budapest city
4.8
Chiara- 06 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Belle Epoque hotel with lots of charm, great location, beautiful views of the Danube, great breakfast, entrance to the Gellert thermal baths very convenient.
5
Lee- 04 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Gorgeous old hotel with wonderful spa Bad: People taking selfies is spa. Wrong!
5
Jacques Bris- 04 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Nice and clean
5
Carsten- 03 Mar. 2017
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Agoda
Beautifull hotel with perfect location. Delicious breakfast. The adjecent Gellert Spa is a very nice experience.
5
Marta- 01 Mar. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I have stayed already in this hotel, previously. I love the position, because it is facing the river and plenty of transportation reachable in one minute. In minutes we are in the heart of Budapest to enjoy Vaci Utca Just outside one can hear hike up on the mountain. Loved the generous included breakfast, the smiling faces of the staff members, the cleanness of the hotel, though it is an old beauty.
4.6
Jozsef- 26 Feb. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Friendly, helpful, smiling staffs. Bad: Nothing
4.6
Rebecca- 25 Feb. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Agoda
I was pleased with single room...very basic but adequate. It is older hotel and could use some update but clean and well located adjacent to spa. Superior service and excellent service and value.
4.8
Colin- 25 Feb. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location, character, staff, breakfast Bad: The rooms weren't up to-date but that was part of the charm of this 100 year old hotel
4.8
Rebecca- 24 Feb. 2017
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Agoda
location and friendly staff
4.8
Judith- 24 Feb. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Huge amount of choice for an excellent breakfast, & dinner in the brasserie was delicious. All the staff are friendly & helpful. I love being able to swim before breakfast & the convenience of walking through to the spa from the hotel. I also love the little balcony off my room & being able to stand out there to check the temperature before setting out- or just to stand there & watch the world go by! Bad: Although the shower was wonderfully hot the shower head was too high for me & not adjustable. It was also loose on it's holder so inclined to aim in odd directions- not always inside the shower curtain!
5
History trip- 22 Feb. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Hotel met all my expectations. A little tired in places eg bedroom and bathroom furnishings but this didn't affect my comfort. Beds were fabulous and I slept better than I do at home. The breakfast buffet was more like a banquet with everything you could expect and more. It was great to have direct access to the spa and to have towelling robes for our convenience. The hotel is also very convenient for sightseeing whether on foot or if using the excellent public transport.
4.8
Janet- 22 Feb. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel is beautiful and in a great place by the river and a bridge which takes you into Pest. Thermal baths are fabulous although its a little easy to get lost! Bad: The bedroom was very basic. No frills. Old fashioned. But the room was warm and quiet and the bed was comfy.
5
Peter- 22 Feb. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We splashed out on a Delux room - well worth it. We were right by the lift and the room was vast. All very comfortable if a bit spartan. That sums up the bathroom and all the public areas too. This is a classic grand Hotel refitted in the height of Soviet modernist taste and then left for thirty years - actually the Grand Budapest Hotel sums it up pretty well. We loved it - but if you're looking for trendy boutique style you won't. Position is great if not all that central - right by the end of a bridge, and next to the Metro and tram stops. Not a lot of choice for local restaurants, but a couple of excellent and very good value ones very close. A decent breakfast and a spa visit included - so what's not to like? No idea how it compares with the others in town, but the spa is great and couldn't be more convenient. And breakfasts seem pretty rare in Budapest. Bad: 1 lift was being repaired for most of our 3 days there and there are a lot of stairs (kept us fit) and a lot of it is looking a bit tired - but that is really part of the charm. Better soundproofing would have been nice (trams are very handy, but noisy and frequent) but not really a problem. And the usual English complaint about most continental hotels - mini-bars are fine, but kettles and tea are what we really want to have in our rooms!
4.8
Sue- 20 Feb. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This hotel exceeded our expectations, it looked so grand from the outside occupying a super location overlooking the Danube. Some of the rooms and furnishings are a little dated and tired, however this adds to a feeling of faded grandeur with hints of a luxurious bygone age. It also offers excellent value for money. We have a smooth and friendly check-in and although early were able to go to our room. Our room was a basic one with windows overlooking the interior, so no spectacular views for us. Having said that it had everything we needed - toiletries, bathrobes, mini bar, hairdryer and very efficient central heating (which was needed as it was so so cold outside). The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was served in very elegant rooms overlooking the Danube and the choice was faultless with plenty of everything for all tastes. We also enjoyed coffee and cakes in the coffee lounge, again what a fabulous choice. All staff in the hotel were welcoming and helpful especially the breakfast waiting staff. Our only complaint was building noise which woke us early on two mornings. However when we brought it to the attention of the hotel management it was dealt with immediately and several other rooms were offered. We also used the amazing spa/baths facilities - oh wow again, such a grand building and although it is open to the general public it wasn't too overcrowded. It is such a fabulous experience and such an asset to the hotel. All in all an excellent stay at a fabulously grand looking hotel in an excellent location (in fact during our time in Budapest we didn't see a better looking hotel).
5
Elisangela- 19 Feb. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The one day SPA offer and the breakfast. Also the location close to the city center. Bad: No water fountain available.
4.8
Lucie- 19 Feb. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great breakfast, comfortable beds, quiet room, and, especially Gellert thermal bath.
5
Steven- 18 Feb. 2017
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: A lovely traditional hotel. Very good price for a 4 star. Room was comfortable. Breakfast as great, everything from full English to continental. The staff were very pleasant & helpful. The baths were wonderful, which a visit is included in your stay making it even more value for money. I would definitely stay here again! Bad: The hotel is very old & could do with a lick of paint in some places but overall a very nice place to stay.
5
pam- 17 Feb. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Great welcome easy check in, I had requested a kettle for my room and it was there ready for me. As I am a frequent guest I feel it's my home. I love my breakfast at the Gellert Hotel. The Gellert SPA is next door but it's not run by the hotel. As a guest you get one visit complementary and the rest of the visits are half price. I love the fact you can pop in to the SPA in your dressing gown. The staff at the hotel are very tentative and happy to help.
5
Péter Póth- 17 Feb. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
The second Indoor beer festival was organised in the hotel. The staff was very kind, everything went really well. They also payed attention for little details.
4.6
Simone- 16 Feb. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Bad: Nothing more ! Can have more lift
5
klewisde- 15 Feb. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Beautiful old rooms with alot of charm. Don't be turned away by them being outdated, it definitely works for Gellert hotel. some rooms have a large balcony with chairs to give you an amazing view of the Danube. Staff were always lovely and helpful. I'd definitely recommend the breakfast if possible, the best breakfast I've ever had. So much choice and freshly cooked. Everything is replaced as soon as it runs out. Multiple coffee and juice machines so there's never any wait. Would recommend the spas too. It's in a great location with wonderful views
5
Rach68- 14 Feb. 2017
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Lovely art nouveau wrought iron bannisters and radiator covers. Lovely art nouveau fonts on the lettering and room numbers. Stained glass windows are stunning. The spa is breathtaking - more stained glass and hand made tiles. Amazing breakfast buffet; best I have ever seen. Staff were faultless and nothing was too much trouble. Just outside a metro station which is handy and within walking distance of so much. Taxis, buses and metros are cheap and easy to use. Bad: Would have liked to choose from a wider menu in their restaurant after 10pm. Would have liked to use the outdoor pools in the spa year round.
5
Greg- 14 Feb. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
The staff was exceptionally accommodating of our requests. Everything was clean and professional. Although it is dated, it is well kept and I prefer the honesty of its decor and facilities. It's an all in one place that I'd return to in a heartbeat.
5
Daniela- 13 Feb. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything was great!!
5
Neli750- 13 Feb. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything was great!!
5
Jurgen- 12 Feb. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The wellness. The 40°C is magnificent.
5
Philippa- 09 Feb. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel is just fabulous, access to the baths are worth every penny and then some. The rooms are a bit dated but in the best possible way. I fell in love with this hotel and its wonderful staff and I will definitely be back. Bad: Not so many options to eat very close to the hotel.
4.6
Ece- 07 Feb. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Konum, personel, ve kahvaltı muhteşem All of the personels was so kind Bad: Biraz eski bir bina
4.6
Chris- 07 Feb. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location, friendly staff and amazing baths in situ
5
Anonymous- 06 Feb. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I love Gellert for the little bit worn down charm of an old fin-de-siècle Jugend hotel combined with an excellent service. The café with the pianist playing makes a cosy atmosphere for an afternoon tea with all sweets you need and small talk with your friends. Stepping down in the morning to the Jugend style pool area and sit in the warm water basins, or swim in the pool, and then end with some massage is just a perfect start of a day! For me Gellert is the place to stay when in Budapest.
5
A Google User- 06 Feb. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Old school grand hotel atmosphere. Not the most modern, but ok. And there is a great spa linked to the hotel that you can visit for free when staying in the hotel.
4.6
Margaret- 04 Feb. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The Spa Bad: The bedroom was very hot and we couldn't adjust the radiator.
5
Trottie- 04 Feb. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Fabulous location and grand hotel style. Free access to the most amazing thermal spa within the hotel, and having an outdoor hot pool Bad: I didn't realise I had to bring flipflops to go into the spa and they were quite expensive to buy
5
bartus- 31 Jan. 2017
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
Amazing location, good service, beautiful building
5
Jeff Twiggs- 30 Jan. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
Great hotel in a perfect location, the staff go the extra mile as for the hotel itself it's like being transported back in time with the decor in a nice way, the spa is an experience not to be missed
5
Traveler- 29 Jan. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: everything Bad: none Location Tip: great quiet warm welcoming place. Staff is friendly and helpful.
5
Barbara- 29 Jan. 2017
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location was fantastic, spa and massage a must do. Coffee shop with piano player wonderful :-) Bad: Bar closes at 12 which is inconvenient when you have just returned from main centre and fancy a nightcap. Bar staff could be more helpful.
5
Anonymous- 25 Jan. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great Historic hotel, very quirky character. Free entry to spa is a must. Early check out meant we had to miss breakfast but concierge bought us a packed one to take with us Bad: Disappointed there was no restaurant open on the night of our stay
5
Colmon- 25 Jan. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
I was back again and I had the Danube view and it was very convenient for my wife and I, spa was superb as usual. We were continuing our long honeymoon.
4.8
Mitja- 23 Jan. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Gellert is a historic charismatic hotel and should be evaluated as such. I am glad that a spirit of "old times" is still present, despite less and less ... but this is also due to changed structure of the hotel guests. People rarely visit the breakfast and the restaurants well dressed and this affect also the waiters...I was there for the first time in eighties, and I was not able to come further than to the groundfloor restaurant. All in all, I sincerely hope that the hotel Will NOT be refurbished, renewed and modernised soon....why not? Becouse I would probably not have enough money to afford it. Bad: behaviour of the guests; logistics during the breakfast.
5
Elionor- 23 Jan. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Agoda
Really good staff, facilities were great, charming old styled bathrooms, very cozy temperature, don't use the spa on ground floor because of noisy road but the one next spa which is tranquil.
5
Michael- 20 Jan. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: A lovely, quirky hotel. Great location, friendly staff, breakfast good. Exterior and interior of the hotel are beautiful. Would recommend to both family and friends. Bad: Very little. The decor of the room was a little dated, but everything worked fine and certainly did not spoil our stay.
5
David- 19 Jan. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I really enjoyed staying at Gellert Hotel, the location was easily accessible to everywhere I went. I had a great time in Budapest. Thank you to the friendly staff for welcoming me to Budapest for the first time. Bad: I was feeling frustrated with the wifi connection as there were times it kept disconnecting and found it hard to get it connected again and again. I don't know if the hotel's wifi is weak but it would be good to update and have better and stronger connection for those who will visit Gellert Hotel in the future.
4.6
Aisling- 16 Jan. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location was fantastic. The hotel itself was perfect for what we wanted. We booked a deluxe room and were not disappointed with room 418 - looking directly onto Liberty Bridge and the Danube. Breakfast (included) was perfect and set us up for the day. The adjoining spa facilities were the reason we booked this wonderful hotel and we were not disappointed. The entire stay at the Gellert was fantastic value for money and I would return in a heartbeat. Bad: The only negative comment would be regarding the bed. It was very low and incredibly soft (complete opposite to what I am used to) and the pillows way too soft too. I did become used to the bed, and a simple call to reception resulted in more pillows being sent to the room. A small complaint in what was otherwise the perfect weekend!
5
Brian- 16 Jan. 2017
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The food was excellent and nicely presented. Bad: Would have helped if the hot water came out of the hot tap and the cold water came out of the cold tap.
4.8
Carl- 16 Jan. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: An absolutely AMAZING hotel in a fantastic location on the Buda side of Budapest. All hotel guests get 1 free entry to the beautiful Gellert Thermal Spa which is accessed via a special corridor / staircase. I used it twice while I was there, it's a great way to unwind! My room (which was a single room) looked and felt more like suite!!! Very comfortable. Breakfast was a huge lavish buffet with hot and cold items, and was very tasty. The coffee was amazing! Very happy with my stay there. :-D Bad: One of the two lifts was out of action which meant long wait times to get up to my room on the 4th floor.
5
Christina- 15 Jan. 2017
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff were really nice and helpful. Bad: No English television. Could only watch news channels...Boring.
4.6
Malcolm- 14 Jan. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Unchanging nature of the hotel. It has hardly changed at all since the 1980s. Complimentary spa entrance.
5
Tamas Szeidl- 14 Jan. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great food with a great varoety of craft beer.
4.6
Fiona- 12 Jan. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Spa is amazing, great location and very helpful staff Bad: Needs refurbished and only served dinner in bar, would have liked a sit down dinner, but overall very enjoyable and will be back
4.8
Luanne- 12 Jan. 2017
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Breakfast buffet was extensive and everything was very tasty. The thermal baths was the highlight of our stay. So relaxing. Enjoyed cocktails at the bar off lobby--bartender was friendly but not too personal. Bad: That we could stay longer.
5
Corinne- 09 Jan. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything was good, breakfast was the best
4.8
Elaine- 09 Jan. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Bad: Went at a very cold time sometimes found the room a little cold
4.8
Sarah- 08 Jan. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: In particular, the breakfast and the room it was served in is fabulous. The whole place felt well looked after.
5
Gerhart Brandt- 06 Jan. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Beste Therme
5
Anja- 04 Jan. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The green bathroom and the wonderfully well kept interior were wonderful. Also th peace in the hotel was super. Bad: It was difficult to navigate right in the spa. It was like a labyrinth.
4.6
Anonymous- 03 Jan. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel is beautiful and the atmosphere is truly old Hungarian! The breakfast was outstanding and the room quite large, mattress was good. Bad: Well, the rooms are all facing the street which cannot be helped. The noise from the trams, buses, and traffic starts at 4am so if you are a light sleeper, forget it. Not the fault of the hotel though cause when it was built there was not the congestion of course. Still worth a night since it is absolutely a gorgeous building!
5
Kealan- 03 Jan. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great view out the window. Great to be able to walk from room to spa/thermal baths in bathrobe.
4.8
Eniko- 02 Jan. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent hotel, helpful staff without any problem fetching my gluten free bread. Good to see that this place didn't lost from its charm . Bad: The room was perfect, only it was a tiny bit too warm for us - after the windy Ireland :)
5
Susanne- 30 Dec. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: It was a gorgious room with a wonderful view!
5
Astrid- 30 Dec. 2016
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Budapest and Gelert Hotel is paradise! Never mind to miss a thing, after you saw Gelert (therme) and the turkish ancient baths...
5
Alex Ellwood- 28 Dec. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
A great way to experience the thermal baths of Hungary!
4.6
Zdeněk- 28 Dec. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: - very nice location close to the river and downtown - excellent breakfast Bad: - distant parking place

Still have questions? Get in touch:

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Phone: +36-1-889-5500
Room reservation: +36 1 889 5501
Fax: +36 1 889 5505

Address: 2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map View map

E-mail:
gellert.reservation@danubiushotels.com

Room reservation

+36 1 889 5501

Address:
2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map

Email:
Send mail

One hotel selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

Two hotels selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

One hotel selected! One hotel seleted (3/1)

X