toggle menu

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Call us

Services

  • WiFi
  • Parking
  • Accessible hotel
  • Pet-friendly hotel
  • Non-smoking hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Wellness services
  • Function rooms
Hotel rating
Overall score
4.8/5
5
Susheel- 22 Jun. 2019
Good: More variety for Vegetarian food. Bad: A little more spacious

Reviews

Hotel rating
Overall score
4.8/5
Based on 5448 reviews
Services
4.8/5
Cleaniness
4.8/5
Comfort
4.8/5
Location
4.8/5
Staff
4.8/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Did you enjoy your stay with us? Tell us about your experience!
5
Stuart- 19 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Grand old Hotel in a great spot, very comfortable rooms. The breakfast was amazing, everything you could possibly could want and the Hotel Restaurant was very good with a great menu and no more expensive than outside restaurants. Only a 5 minute walk across the Danube and you are in town. the central market is there as well which is an amazing place to go to. You can also go to the Thermal baths direct from the hotel at a reduced rate if you are a guest. We would highly recommend the Danubius Hotel to all. Bad: nothing could be better.
4.5
Liam- 16 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Breakfast had lots of choice. Staff were very approachable and helpful. Room was adequate for our stay. Bad: Hotel was far too warm. We eventually had to sleep with the windows open in the middle of december to allow the room to be a reasonable temperature at night.
4.5
Franco- 13 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: very nice and qualificated personal.
4.8
Margaret- 12 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Style, location, views, size of room, breakfast Bad: No kettle, or tea-making facility in the room.
5
Gyongy Jelinek- 11 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
I liked it so much. Very nice hotel and the staff also. They have a nice terminal bath but you need to pay for it. The breakfast is good. The location of the hotel is extremely good!!! Nice view on the Pest side and on the Duna ( Danube). Lots of stores and restaurants around.
4.5
Roger- 09 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Character, room, food, service, cleanliness. Great deals here. Wine selection superb and hungarian in the main. Good to find large bottles of zero alcohol. Bad: Duvets needed to be full-sized.
5
Andrey- 07 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: + breakfast was very good + hotel location + easy access to Gellert thermal bath Bad: - towel dryer (heater) in the bathroom had leakage so I had to close both valves. It is strange why a Hotel Manager cannot hire a good plumber to keep room equipment in good condition? - it was a little bit cold in the room when outside temperature was +3 °C, so I can imagine how cold it would be when it will be freezing outside?
5
Lisa Lahr- 07 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
This is an elegant old hotel with a storybook past. Try the bath and the spa. It will relax you. The restaurants are well run and offer a delicious and varied menu. My room is a single and just enough for me. Im coming back.
4.8
Iman- 05 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel is in an excellent location. The view is perfect, and it is just in front of tram station. The reception is very helpful, yet aloof but I think that is the way the Hungarians are. Despite this they were very tentative to all requests. The spa is perfect and prices are reasonable as well I would decently go there again without even thinking of going to another hotel
5
Roger Crocker- 05 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
3 hour brunch was amazing
5
Suganth Kumar- 05 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Pleasant stay !
5
Jenny- 05 Jan. 2020
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Wotif
We love old buildings and this one is a beautiful old building with so much character. Loved it. Breakfast was awesome and included in the price. Location was the best...walk into town across the lovely Green Bridge or take the number 7 bus, runs every 7/8 minutes. Access to the Gellert Spa Baths simple, and is a wonderful way to spend a couple of relaxing hours each day. Thoroughly recommend this grand old hotel
5
Anonymous- 04 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: everything Bad: nothing
5
Valerica- 02 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: totul
4.5
Susan- 31 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Fantastic Breakfast and the view on the Danubio next to pubblico trasport. Highy recommend this hotel!
5
Ouled jilali Lahcen- 30 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Super
5
Zsolt Barta- 30 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Nice clean and spacious room. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious with a wide choice of food to meet every taste. The only drawback was the over heated room otherwise a perfect night.
4.5
Wacclarke- 29 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Such nice people... Always helpful. Bad: The pillows..☹️
5
Alan- 28 Dec. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Staff are very friendly . We stay in the hotel for 4 nights.they offer us to get a better parking place to park in the front of the hotel.Excellant service and Breakfast are very GD n lots of variety and fresh. When we ask for currency exchange . They offer us to get a better rate @ outside instead of taking my money to exchange in their.very professional service.polite.very gd location .less than 30 mins to walk to DT mostly main area.
5
Florence- 27 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: great breakfast, except for the people like me who drinks liters of tea: you sould provide thermos flask filled with hot water, instead of the machine, which could be reserved for the coffee drinkers!
5
Alexa- 24 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Bad: Was a little bit cold in the room
5
James- 23 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Excellent hotel in central location. Old school gentile atmosphere.
5
goran pandev- 22 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Perfect breakfast
5
Tünde- 21 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel has perfect location for sight seeing and city tours. The staff was extremely kind and helpful. Bad: -
4.5
Toby- 21 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Classic, stylish charm. Doormen and reception were great, friendly and very helpful. Breakfast great in room overlooking Danube Great value for money Bad: If you want up to date, modern bedrooms then this place isn't for you, but if you can look beyond that it's more than just a hotel, it's an experience
5
Traveler- 20 Dec. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Elegant hotel, excellent location, connection to baths
5
Eduard- 20 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Good Spa after good breakfast in the good place of good Budapest Bad: Nothing
5
Nancy Caggia- 19 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Fabulous stay @ shabby-chic historic hotel with a thermal bath spa attached to hotel and on Danube IN Budapest centrum. All the staff were so helpful and polite and 100% resolved any potential problems immediately, especially the front door employee "Tabor???" who was a savior when we got there exhausted and confused about parking. There were robes supplied in hotel room to go to 5 thermal spas. Best part about staying here was being able to walk back to room in bathing suit and robe with wet hair without getting cold or going outside! Agree with some reviews that hotel could use a little "spit &polish" and caulk but charming place. Any city hotel is noisy but windows have retractable outdoor shades to make toom dark and quieter. Unlimited breakfast buffet had huge selection. Gellert Roll cake in 1st floor reataueant a must-try. Location and views absolutely fabulous.
5
Johan- 19 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The place to stay if you are in Budapest!
5
Anonymous- 19 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Lovely Art Nouveau hotel. Large rooms, comfortable beds, small refrigerator in rom with lock. Both times I stayed I had a balcony with doors that open for fresh air. Nice breakfast buffet. Handy spa and thermal pools and swimming pool accessible from first floor. Public transportation out front door
4.5
Cyril- 19 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: A bit outdated particularly the bathroom. Some rude french tourist... Bad: Great hotel perfect breakfast and awesome personel
4.8
Ljudmila- 19 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I like this hotel, very greit
4.5
Robert- 17 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Breakfast excellent, especially coffee. A beautifully preserved hotel with incredible views of danube, great size and a friendly staff. We highly recommend for folks who would like a true Budapest vacation spot. Bad: At breakfast it would be nice to have a cook who can make an omelette, only happened on our last day. No way to control room temperature that we found.
5
Samaneh Khaleghi- 17 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great hotel for the deal that I have got
5
Waleerat- 16 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: History hotel & Classic. Very good staffs.
5
Dan Moore- 15 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great hotel, great location, good value
5
Frank Kalmar- 15 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
A classic in style and quality. And a Roman spa to crown the experience.
5
Bálint Árva- 14 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Magnificient view :)
4.6
Stacy- 13 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Lots of character! Great views of the Danube, great location, metro and train stops right in front of the hotel!
5
Alison- 13 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The Gellert is a gem of a hotel, old fashioned but quirky.. Location is ideal for exploring the city as is in waking distance to all the main sights and right on the Danube so amazing views from our balcony. The spa at the Gellert is also a must visit
5
Anonymous- 11 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location beautiful old building- next to spa. Brilliant staff Bad: Nothing
5
Katalin- 11 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I liked the polite personel, their smile from receptionists to cleaning ladies. Bad: All seemed good!
5
Hans-juergen- 10 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Extremely well managed reception and friendly staff. Great massage at the Spa, amazing style of the hotel is also important to mention. Many thanks and till next time. Bad: Alles bestens.
4.8
Andy- 08 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Grand hotel Very helpful and friendly staff Great breakfast Incredible stay Bad: Nothing
5
Yiannis Stylianidis- 07 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Super!
5
Valeriu Dobre- 07 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Nice place!
5
william o connor- 07 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great hotel
5
Anonymous- 06 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Old. Felt like being transported to the 1920s. The inspiration for The Grand Budapest Hotel movie. Bad: Bathroom had a bit of an odor....but all original fittings so not a bother.
4.6
Laura- 06 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The classic elegance of an old hotel. Bad: A little tired but I hear renovations are planned.
4.5
Marion- 06 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location was perfect. Hotel was grand and had a very interesting history. I was lucky with our room, I had a lovely view. so pleased we did not have a room with a court yard view. Bad: Because of the age of the hotel it is in need of a little T.L.C. especially the bathrooms.
5
BAE LEO- 05 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Nice place
4.5
Ines- 05 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great hotel, excellent location, excellent breakfast, nice staff. I will come again Bad: -
5
Anonymous- 04 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: monarchy meets communism - most delightful
5
Wendy- 03 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The breakfast was fantastic the staff were very helpful and efficient. The hotel was very clean ,the location was good with great access to a good brilliant transport system-we would definitely recommend the gellert Bad: The bed was a little too soft
5
Margaret- 02 Dec. 2019
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Hotels.com
Great location. Breakfast fabulous. Overall could do with a freshen up but that is just cosmetic. Would not want to change the old world elegance.
5
Madalina- 30 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location, staff, food, the spa, rooms were perfect. And the price very low Bad: It should have a fitness gym and fresh juices at breakfast
4.8
Raymond- 30 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Perfectly situated in the heart of Budapest..Easy acces to the Gellert spa😊😊👍 Bad: Need renovation😊.but generally very nice hotel😊😊
5
Vladimir- 29 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great architecture art deco.I was in transit now but last time used thermal bath connected to hotel.Fantastic breakfast.Professional nice staff good English spoken. Bad: Nothing to fislike
5
Raquel- 29 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I recoment it 100%,a wonderful stay. Stunning view from the room to de Danube and the Liberty Brigde! Charming historical vintage old fashion hotel and building! Staying here is like a trip to the past,the perfect hotel to stay in a city like Budapest! Perfect location to walk nicely and see the nicest part of Budapest,public transport(tram,metro and buses just in front of the door) Wonderful breakfast with view to the Danube! Staff really profesional and friendy,specially the breakfast staff. Direct entry from the hotel to the spa,with on reception for hotel guest,you can go with the bathrobe and sleepers from the room and back,very convinient and they offer a discount for hotel guests. Really lovelly stay,I would love to come back! Thank you!
5
Mikolaj Jarkowski- 28 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Rooms are a bit outdated, but the atmosphere is great
5
Simon- 27 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Hotel great, rooms good but need a little update
5
Jana- 25 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I appreciated the comfort, a great breakfast, a bathrobe in the room and the opportunity to go directly to the pools. And above all – the view from the room was really beautiful.
4.5
Philippa- 25 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff were so polite and helpful, even found us a European plug for our room and ordered us our airport taxi which was a Mercedes and only cost £25. The breakfast is such good value!So much choice and freshly cooked.The views and location were ideal access to centre of Budespest.We got around by bicycle which cost around £10 for two of us per day. Bad: We booked a “double bed with courtyard”- it was a concrete court yard and not the view booking.com showed.We were staying the wrong side of property.Just bit of shame and the double bed was two single beds pushed together.
5
Dr.Michael- 25 Nov. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Orbitz
Possibility the best hotel in Europe, if you prefer a classic building, staff, old-world atmosphere, and charm of a historic city. Loved the location, the room view, the hotel amenities, the breakfast, and Tram out front of building. When I return to Budapest I will only stay in this hotel.
5
Thomas- 22 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location is excellent and the spa which is connected is the best in Budapest. Bad: The room was a bit dated with a toilet separated from the rest of the bathroom. The bed for such a beautiful property was not first class by any means.
5
Diana- 22 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Central location
4.8
Yongwook- 22 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: 1. Location is superb. 2. View is world-class. 3. Very elegant but historical deco. 4. Professional, international, convivial staffs. 5. Relatively economical choice compared to its fame and prestige. Bad: The breakfast should have been more diverse(e.g. Goulash Soup, or other hot meals need to be added sometimes)
5
Anonymous- 21 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location, the building.. Bad: Staff at the breakfast room should speak English and they should know what kind of meat they are serving.
4.8
Melanie- 20 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Fabulous view from terrace Bad: A little too ‘faded’ grandeur
5
Elizabeth- 19 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This is a grand old hotel. The access to the spa is a real advantage. Also, the breakfast is first rate and the view from the breakfast room is impressive. I like all the old touches, like the lobby that has remained unchanged.
5
Ramana- 15 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Had a beautiful stay, love the old world feel of the hotel and it’s amazing having direct access and discounted admission to the medicinal thermal spa next door. The hotel staff are incredibly helpful and the service is works class.
5
Walter- 15 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Quality and history.
5
Anne- 12 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Amazing hotel. Loved our stay there Bad: Nothing
5
Traveler- 11 Nov. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
This was our third stay at the Gellert. We are impressed with the staff, friendly and accommodating. The hotel is aging but our room was clean and relatively quiet. Loved our river view!
5
Mario Herrera- 11 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Quiet and beautiful place
4.8
Barbara- 10 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location. Staff friendly and informative. Easy check in. Breakfast was plentiful. Large double room and views over Danube beautiful Bad: A little dated and prob in need of a good makeover but the dated nature of the hotel added to its charm. Used the thermal baths attached to the hotel which was a bit of a nightmare as signage was poor inside. Took an awful long time to find a way out
4.6
Marianna- 10 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The breakfast is full of everything and the stuff is tasting. The position is good and the staff super nice.
5
Kovács Kond- 10 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Really friendly.
5
Thomas- 08 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Lovely hotel, lovely Breakfast, friendly staff
5
Anonymous- 08 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very kindly and correct service. Perfect the position.
4.8
Steven- 08 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Fantastic hotel - stayed in suite 123 that had 3 balconies and a terrace area Bad: Nothing to dislike
4.8
Karsten- 07 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The beauty of this Art Nouveau style hotel is fabulous. The service is excellent, and the food is good. The hotel is built in front of the Gellert Spa, so that you can walk in your robe straight into the magnificent marble and glazed tile decorated halls, with mineral baths. The rooms has wooden panels and crystal chandeliers and are kept in reasonably original condition. A little bit of gentle renovation would be in its place, but the charm of the rooms makes up for what you must chose to see as patina. We loved the Gellert hotel, it was a great extra experience un top of a wonderful visit to beautiful Budapest.   Bad: Carpets were worn and stained, the same was true of the upholstery of furniture. Cleaning was very superficial while we lived there.
5
Karsten Lund- 07 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
The beauty of this Art Nouveau style hotel is fabulous. The service is excellent, and the food is good. The hotel is built in front of the Gellert Spa, so that you can walk in your robe straight into the magnificent marble and glazed tile decorated halls, with mineral baths. The rooms has wooden panels and crystal chandeliers and are kept in reasonably original condition. A little bit of gentle renovation would be in its place, but the charm of the rooms makes up for what you must chose to see as patina. We loved the Gellert hotel, it was a great extra experience un top of a wonderful visit to beautiful Budapest.
5
Paul- 04 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Perfect location, staff were so accommodating and welcoming even upon arrival outside the doors. I definitely will be back and at this hotel Bad: Nothing to not like
5
Traveler- 02 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Excellent hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location with fantastic Danube river, city and hill views. Delicious breakfast. Cosy, spacious room. Amazing value. Highly recommended and would happily stay at the Danubius Hotel Gellert again.
4.8
Lilian- 02 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Gellért worth it! Location, view of the rooms, architecture of the building, convenience of accessing the baths. Bad: The staff are very straightforward, it might be related to the Hungarian education and culture.
4.8
Anonymous- 01 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Access to the spa, the breakfast. The maintaing if the original features and furniture and not modernising it into a bland modern place. Bad: One of our rooms had a large pillar in the middle of the room. This was quirky rather than a problem though.
4.5
Sarah- 31 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great view from our room! Bad: Not having a key card
5
E. Egelhof- 29 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Very nice place to stay :-)
5
Delphine Doublet- 29 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Superbe !
5
Gyongyjel- 29 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very good location. Close to tram station, nice view
5
Janet- 29 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Amazing location at the end of liberty bridge on the buda side of Budapest with views of the Danube. Staff were amazingly kind and helpful. The thermal baths next door are great so bring swimming costumes. The buffet breakfast was extensive and served in the restaurant with a view of the Danube.
5
Vanessa Browning- 27 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Built in the early C20th, this spa and hotel are a good example of the Secession style.It has several restaurants, cafes and of course the beautiful baths which are photographed and displayed in the entrance area. However, on the hotel side, it's worth visiting the first floor where you will find an exhibition on the history of the building and you can view the stained glass staircase too.
4.8
Pavel- 27 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Basically, it was nearly perfect for my taste. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, good english too. The room was spacious enough, had all i need, was clean, silent and relaxing. Breakfast was gorgeous, spas were out of this world, i am pretty sure i would stay again only for it ;) The location is really great too - people tend to say its sorta remote, but it really isn't! All means of public transportation are within 50 meters from the hotel, the main touristic street starts right across the bridge, there are city market, shops and restaurants of all kinds all around the hotel. And finally, you would love the view from Gellert hill, and its right next to the hotel too. So overall - great, i can't wait to visit again. Bad: Not sure if its even worth mentioning, really. The furniture in the room was old and sorta shabby, but i didn't care at all, i only came to sleep basically. Also when i visited the spa, it turned out i didn't get slippers (i didn't know i was supposed to :)). I am pretty sure they would provide it if i mentioned it, i just didn't bother ;)
4.6
Akemi- 27 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff was very friendly and supportive. The breakfast has a plenty of variety. The hotel is located just a minute from the metro station (Metro 4). The spa is attached to the hotel and it is very easy to access from the hotel at a discount rate (Euro 20 -> Euro 14). Bad: The bathroom is a bit too tiny.
4.6
Madeleine- 27 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent location (proximity to the river and best bridge in Budapest, and range of public transport). Unique architecture in and out. Very good breakfast overlooking the river and excellent beer in the bar. There was a very noisy corporate event one morning, but the manager responded immediately to our concern and straight away the noise reached an acceptable level. Bad: The perspex shelf on the wall next to the washbasin could have been better placed. I hit my head on the sharp corner each time I washed my hands.
5
Elizabeth- 26 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Stayed at the Gellert for four nights and would stay there again at the drop of a hat. The location is excellent, just off the Liberty Bridge, in an ideal place to access the efficient public transport network. Yes the hotel is in need of a considerable update in some areas, but to bring this hotel back to its former glory would impact on the price- which is extremely reasonable. My room was comfortable (the bed was divinely comfortable!), cleaned every day and towels were replaced daily if requested. As for the food, anything you could possibly require for breakfast was available, hot food, cold food, pastries, wonderful coffee etc. The Sorozo & Bistro bar offers really good quality food, well presented by friendly and helpful staff. As for the reception staff at the hotel, they couldn't be more helpful. Then, there is the Gellert Spa which is astonishingly beautiful. I enjoyed the indoor pools and booked for a massage which was much needed after strolling around Budapest! If you're looking for a luxury hotel, with top notch five star presentation and facilities then perhaps this hotel isn't for you. BUT, if you're looking for somewhere which is well positioned, comfortable, clean, quirky, with incredibly helpful, friendly and polite staff and with great food to boot, then this is the place. Bad: The decor needs updating in places but this is a minor thing for me. It's difficult to talk about anything I didn't like, I really did enjoy my stay at this hotel.
5
Gillian- 25 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: breakfast was great good choices nothing was to much bother for the staff location was great near to everything or a tram ride away spoke to manager before I left to congratulate him on his hotel and staff excellent services from them all Bad: there could of been tea/coffee things in your room or a vending machine if you required a drink you had to wait for shop or restaurant to open.
5
Amy- 25 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff were all friendly and helpful, breakfast was delicious with lots of variety. Room was perfectly acceptable.
5
Traveler- 22 Oct. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
I love it that it's right at the Liberty Bridge. We stepped out and walked everywhere and back.

Still have questions? Get in touch:

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Phone: +36-1-889-5500
Room reservation: +36 1 889 5501
Fax: +36 1 889 5505

Address: 2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map View map

Room reservation

+36 1 889 5501

Address:
2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map

Email:
Send e-mail

One hotel selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

Two hotels selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

One hotel selected! One hotel seleted (3/1)

X