toggle menu

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Call us

Reviews

Hotel rating
Overall score
4.8/5
Based on 6026 reviews
Services
4.8/5
Cleaniness
4.8/5
Comfort
4.8/5
Location
4.8/5
Staff
4.8/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Did you enjoy your stay with us? Tell us about your experience!
4.8
Sylvia- 01 May. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This hotel suited my tastes perfectly. It is an elegant art nouveau building and the staff reflected the courtesy of a more elegant age coupled with modern friendliness. The situation is also beautiful and convenient. The first free entry into the thermal baths which are conveniently within the building was a great plus for me. Bad: They could hand out the thermal bath's brochure with the other useful info as you sign in, since the place is a maze. Perhaps the worn carpets etc. and other features might not suit if you want a 'modern' hotel but for me it was ideal.
4.8
Judith- 26 Apr. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff very friendly.
5
Christian- 26 Apr. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: very central and with a lot of old world charm. The spa is most impressive. The staff was very helpful. For the price paid it was an extraordinary experience!
4.6
Gang- 25 Apr. 2016
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: huge room, nice river view especially in the evening. very convenient location, take street car along the river can go to all the major attractions, cross the river can find many good restaurants and shops. very good breakfast, good variety of food, always lots of people but well managed. Bad: the swimming pool is nice but a little run down, and the water is not so clean.
5
Victoria- 24 Apr. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location was unbelievable! Staff were wonderful. Favourite accomodation ever. Highly recemmrnd The breakfast was perfection
5
Adrien Hubert- 19 Apr. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google+ Local
One of the best spas
5
christopher- 18 Apr. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Hotels.com
A very pleasant experience.
5
Rose- 17 Apr. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: The location, the amenities, the staff, the wifi, the breakfast, the access to public transportation. Bad: The decor needs some updating - but not too much! Love the old charm. Location Tip: Perfect for visiting the Gellert Baths and Gellert Hill, across the bridge from Central Market Hall We stayed just two nights at this hotel on the Buda side, after spending our first four nights of our trip on the Pest side. The Gellert was wonderful and we were very happy with our choice. After spending time exploring the Pest side of the city with all the monuments and sights, we were looking for a relaxing couple of days. We took advantage of the free Gellert Baths entry on our first evening, and the half-off price the following day. The free breakfasts were excellent, the wifi speeds were good, and the tram stops immediately outside the hotel - making travel convenient. The staff were multi-lingual and very polite. It's an older hotel and does need some refurbishing, but we really liked the traditional feeling of the hotel overall.
4.6
Eleanor- 14 Apr. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: the location was amazing. the staff extremely friendly and welcoming. the hotel faded grandeur. the spa is something else altogether. i will come back! Bad: the hotel is pretty faded, with v old wallpapers and carpets - but i didn't NOT like that! just to let people know incase they will be turned off by it! i also ordered a taxi via the hotel and it was over twice as expensive as hailing one. so get your taxis on the street.
5
Jill- 12 Apr. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Fantastic building, with the famous bath next door. The room was perfect for a single traveller( maybe a little bit too warm, but you could open the window) Great bed, great breakfast, and the dinner !!! Best of all - the staff, I have never met so service minded and genuine nice people - all of them! I will go back really soon.
4.6
Patrick- 11 Apr. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Bad: Hotel could do with a facelift, looks a little dillapidated inside.
4.8
Elizabeth- 10 Apr. 2016
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: location and spa Bad: tea and coffee facilities in room
5
Catherine- 09 Apr. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location is excellent. I had a nice single room with a view of the courtyard which was OK as I was only in the room to sleep. The staff were very helpful. It was a first class breakfast. There is a nice restaurant in the next street and two markets on the other side of the bridge. Bad: No air conditioning and it was impossible to turn the heating off. It was very noisy early in the morning as the spa opened at 6.00.
4.6
Kashiaras- 09 Apr. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Just perfect place of hotel in heart of Budapest ! All Budapest in your view. Breakfast food was simply perfect. Food to everyone's taste. Bad: I was left one day without bathrobe because maid took it and did not left an other one after cleaning the room. And towels too :)
4.6
Martina- 07 Apr. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Supernice spa and hotel, amazing building
4.6
David- 06 Apr. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location, breakfast, spar, blackout blinds, staff, night bar Bad: Bathroom was bit dated
5
Anonymous- 03 Apr. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Old school decor
4.8
Bernadette- 02 Apr. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff were excellent in service and politeness. The thermal spa is fantastic with massages at great prices. Bad: Furnishings in room and corridor carpeting need updating
5
Karin- 29 Mar. 2016
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The spa was wonderfully. The breakfast is super. The city was perfect. It was cheap to eat and deal in the town. Bad: It was on old toilet and no handwash inthere and no ventilation.
5
Celeste- 29 Mar. 2016
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
The hotel is a beautiful histiric building. The staff was amazing. My family and i get welcomed the whole time we were there. Our room had a beautiful view of the Danube and the breakfast had anything you could want. I would highly recommend this hotel
4.6
Paul- 17 Mar. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Breakfast best in Europe ! Bad: Need toiletry table
5
Dominic- 15 Mar. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Breakfast spread was amazing and ambiance of the hotel was great.
5
Mall- 13 Mar. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The Art Nouveau building, the baths, the staff, the treatments, everything!
4.6
Carmel- 13 Mar. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The style of decor and furnishings Breakfast was very good plenty of variety. Bad: Some staff very stiff and unfriendly
4.8
Antonia- 13 Mar. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I have been there twice and i enjoyed it very much, especially the famous spa. Staff were very very kind and i loved breakfast with the view of the beautiful bridge of Freedom.
5
Paloma- 13 Mar. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location is excellent; breakfast is good; spa is wonderfull. Bad: The furniture inside the room must be renovated, maintaining the style.
4.6
Dominic- 12 Mar. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Good service, friendly staff. Bad: Furniture in room a bit dated,
4.8
Andrew- 29 Feb. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location, Fiendly staff and great breakfast Bad: The corridors leading to the rooms are a little "Soviet era" in their feel
5
Diane- 25 Feb. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything Bad: Nothing
4.6
Sam- 23 Feb. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff were outstanding. From when my taxi pulled up outsite, I was greeted with a brilliant concierge who helped me carry my bags and was a pleasure to meet after a long flight. Reception staff were polite and courteous, and the hotel is oozing with charm. It really reminds me of 'the grand Budapest hotel'! Also the breakfast is great, loads of choice and a lovely busy atmosphere that brings a great start to the day. Bad: The room was very, very outdated. It is a bit like your grandmas spare room, but for some reason it is still fun to stay in. The fact that the building is beautiful with a incredible spa facilities and stained glassed windows makes up for the rooms.
4.8
Danielle- 21 Feb. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: All inclusive breakfast was brilliant.Perfect location for the metro into the city or a 15 minute walk over the bridge. Perfect location if you want to walk a bit and see the sights. Slightly dated rooms but a beautiful feel to this historical hotel,with some wonderful details. A day in the spa for free was an added bonus.
5
Anonymous- 21 Feb. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Wonderful staff, always smiling and ready to help. Comfortable and spacious rooms, we had a breath-taking view of the Danube and Liberty Bridge. Linked to thermal spa which offered excellent facilities and services. Bad: Maids could have provided new robes for the spa everyday.
5
Ng- 21 Feb. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: A glorious piece of living history. Nothing feels overdone or decayed. It is a living place with grand history; beautiful wooden furniture; views of the river and bridges; and a natural order of things. We would have expected to pay much more for the pleasure than we did. We felt at home, but in a grander way.
4.8
Laila- 18 Feb. 2016
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The Best breakfeast, great view and just next to the Gellert Hill, the metro/ bus and train is just outside the door. The spa and swimming pool was perfect on a rainy day. The room was comfortable and clean. Couldn't have asked for any more on this vacation and stay!! :) Bad: I've liked it all
4.6
Sarah- 18 Feb. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Lovely atmosphere and great to get into the spa.
4.8
Mira- 17 Feb. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I have heard about the magical beauty of the Gellert spa, as well as the hotel, long time ago, and I am happy that I finally visited this noble, old-fashioned hotel. It is such a phenomenal advantage that the spa is practically a part of the hotel. I enjoyed the old-fashioned ambiance that reminded me of the past days and luxury, and at the same time the hotel is being fully connected with a beautiful city and you can easily feel the beat and pace of modern urban life. Bad: I have no objections.
5
Sanna- 15 Feb. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Really GRAND Hotel. Great location, breakfast and service were amazing. I don't think I ever had such good food and service for breakfast and I stayed at some 5 stars hotels. It felt like we went back in time and enjoyed aristocratical way of living a century ago :) Everything was spotless clean, staff was professional and nice. I went to a hotel hairdresser to wash and bow dry my hair after the spa visit and had a nice massage (antistress) and both services are to recommend. My friend had a manicure and she was satisfied as well. Red wine in the minibar is to recommend as well :D Bad: Hotel room we stayed in was a bit shabby, but considering price we payed I don't mind. Everything else was so good that I would come back for sure!
4.8
Robert- 11 Feb. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Amazing views, free 1 use of great spa facilities. Bad: Maid kept entering our room whilst we were at breakfast.
5
Ruth- 10 Feb. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Venere
Comfortable old style hotel. Very friendly, helpful staff. Great breakfast buffet. Beautiful position by the Danube with public transport access on the doorstep. Wonderful thermal pools. Occasional noise during the night (deliveries? bin collection?) might be a drawback in some rooms for a light sleeper.
4.8
Miguel- 08 Feb. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: It was a grand hotel in a beautiful setting. Loved the room, and the bar and cocktails were superb. Loved having the spa attached for our massages. Bad: The waiting time in the restaurant was long. We had to ask the waiter to come and take our order on a few occasions.
4.6
Beata- 08 Feb. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very romantic place, baths relaxing, excellent value, location in centre. Staff were amazing, breakfast 1st class full of choice.
4.8
Eivind- 05 Feb. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We like this old fashion hotel and style Bad: The SPA center staff should give customers a better information about the center facilities and where to go and what to bring. We find it a little hard to find out where we find everything and where to go !.Please guide us better next time.
4.8
Colin- 04 Feb. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Faded art deco splendour Bad: The brasserie was closed
4.6
Eric- 03 Feb. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: the location of the hotel was perfect.it was great being able to walk from your bedroom to the termal baths everymorning. the breakfast was very nice.we stayed in a superior room which I would recommend. Bad: choice of drink in the bar was poor.
5
Sean- 02 Feb. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Bed really comfy, the baths are fantastic and loads to choose from at breakfast. The coffee shop in the hotel is amazing also. Lots to choose from and great coffee Bad: Rooms are dated and could do with some modernising. The toilet area is particularly small and would not lend itself at all to a big person. These are the only negatives I have.
5
Pam- 31 Jan. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: staff are very good and always acknowledge me. The buffet breakfast is very good with plenty of choice of good quality food. Bad: It would be good to have a safe in all the rooms or at least in mine 473 Kettle would be appreciated by many of the guests too. Location Tip: Thermal Spa is next door. Gellert hill and the church in the hill is on the left side of the hotel. The central market is just over the bridge. Easy to get to via public transport, the trams and the metro stops are just outside the hotel. I booked via Expedia and I was able to confirm my reservation online the day before I got there. Gellert Hotel is full of character it has original facade that is beautiful, the rooms are in good condition and many have been renovated recently. If you like Art Novue style this is the place to stay. The best Thermal Spa is attached to the Gellert and the first entry is free the rest are discounted at 50%
5
Alicia Moore- 30 Jan. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
Welcome to Budapest - Enjoy Life - Feel Free smile emoticon wink emoticon smile emoticon
4.8
Nick- 29 Jan. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The spa and also the lovely old building itself Bad: The hotel was wonderful slight criticism the TV in the room was not brilliant but it was okay
5
Philip- 25 Jan. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Fantastic location, great hotel, nice staff, Personally we couldn't fault it. Bad: We were very pleased with the whole visit.
4.8
Brendan- 23 Jan. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Best nights sleep in a long time,staff unbelievably friendly,Location extremely friendly, Bar could be open later but very friendly barman stayed open a bit later on our last night.
5
Carlos_Gutierrez- 19 Jan. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Dedicated "Spa Reception" to the baths, very nice!
4.6
Christodoulos- 19 Jan. 2016
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location, great breakfast, and the room was clean and comfortable.
5
Justine- 18 Jan. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Beautiful building in an excellent location Staff very friendly and helpful Use of the Spa was wonderful !!! Bad: Drinks in the hotel bar a little pricey but not a big deal
4.8
Massimiliano- 17 Jan. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Employees very kind and helpful. Next to the underground station st. Gellert Ter (green line) just next to rhe Danubius river. Next to the famous thermal bath St. GELLERT (You can access directly from the hotel), you have one free entry per stay. Breakfast was amazing. Bad: The only bad point was the tv in my room that wasn't working, but who cares about it when you are in Budapest? The style of the hotel is classic ancient, I personally liked it but somebody could also not like it.
4.8
Blandina- 16 Jan. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location and the daily breakfast Bad: Language problem
5
Andrew- 13 Jan. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Like a palace church of swimming and spa. Top bar club funky piano bar Bad: Smelt like a sewer. Old rooms and toilets
5
Hetman- 06 Jan. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: A free day at the Gellert Baths is a great introduction to an amazing tradition. You will feel refreshed and want more! Location Tip: You are minutes from anything in Buda or Pest, but you will enjoy the quiet and less people than if you stayed in a more crowded busy area. Right on new M4 metro line and numerous busses and trams;super easy to get around. Old world professionalism of the hotel staff doesn't exist at many modern hotels.
4.8
Gilbert- 06 Jan. 2016
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Les thermes
4.6
Jelena- 05 Jan. 2016
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location was excellent. Good access to public transport. Great baths. Bad: The bathroom was very dated.
4.6
Johannes- 02 Jan. 2016
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great architecture, large, spacious rooms, enormous hallways: If you should happen to be claustrophobic, thats the place to feel super...)) very friendly staff)) ... the one and only GELLERT BATHS))) .. breakfast is sumptous and they make real real espresso macchiato for a very small extra fee...and then you only pay for the first..the second fresh made espresso macchiato at breakfast is free... Bad: I really need to think.....at the Brasserie Restaurant work a few younger people and lack a bit experience and such also service...
4.8
David- 01 Jan. 2016
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Superb location. Wonderful access to Europe's finest spa. Generous free breakfasts. A grand art deco hotel, makes one feel graciously important. Bad: Such an opportunity for a relatively inexpensive rooms revamping. There is great space availability. If it were mine, that is what I would do. But the level of comfort and amenity as it stands is perfect for the casual traveller. And the service is up to waldorf standard.
4.8
Jacqueline- 31 Dec. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location, the general ambience of the hotel and the pool/spa facilities Bad: Can't grumble about any aspect of our stay
4.8
Sven- 30 Dec. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Charming place, somewhat rundown, but in a lovely manner for those who don't need these everything new and shiny hotels. Bad: They should maybe change tablecloths at breakfast a little more often.
5
Brian- 24 Dec. 2015
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Priceline
Good: Access to the baths and the tram being directly outside. The view of the Danube and city.
4.8
Fiona- 23 Dec. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location was fantastic !! Easy to get to from airport. Metro station cones out opposite hotel !! Bad: Didn't use spa as needed a swimming hat and flip flops which could have brought with us if aware !!
5
Els- 22 Dec. 2015
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent most friendly staff and superbe breakfast buffet. And the baths are simply fantastic...
5
Anne- 13 Dec. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: excellent location a fabulous glimpse into the past
5
Daniel- 10 Dec. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location and nice historical hotel. Bad: Nothing we didn't like.
5
- 09 Dec. 2015
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Friendly, grand if a little dated. Stunningly beautiful spa. Great location. Will definitely return if possible.
5
Traveler- 01 Dec. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: The staff was so helpful and the suite was so large! Bad: The carpet in the rooms is older, but the beautiful silk wallpaper, balconies, and view make up for it. Location Tip: Szeged restaurant across the street, children's book/ toy store up the block, nice brew pub, beautiful thermal baths, indoor market across bridge We stayed here with our two young boys for five nights. The suite was very spacious and comfortable. The very kind and accommodating staff helped us make plans and reservations for meals and outings. They even found us a babysitter so my husband and I could enjoy the beautiful thermal baths alone. We had a beautiful view and breakfast was delicious and included many options. We will definitely stay here again next time we come to Budapest!
5
The- 01 Dec. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The Spa and the location, very close to everything, if you prefer to visit Castle, downtown, Danube bank, party district, this is the place to stay. Bad: It was clean and spacious, executive level overall. Only thing that I could mention is the bathroom, a bit oldish, but overall serves its purpose.
5
John- 28 Nov. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Dining food could have more choice breakfast excellent Bad: SlightlySlightly noisey
4.8
Chin- 26 Nov. 2015
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent location. Beautiful hotel. Abundance of delicious food at breakfast. Very quiet room.
5
- 25 Nov. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: You get one free visit to the baths and half price then after. Bring your own flip flops and swimming cap as they are compulsory and it will save you having to buy them there. Bad: Nothing really. It was a very nice stay.
4.6
Michael- 23 Nov. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Fab buildings if you like old buildings/architecture -steeped in history. Staff v. helpful
5
Margaret- 23 Nov. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: everything about our stay was brilliant. Bad: nothing
4.6
Edward- 18 Nov. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The style is like something from the 1920s and you get free entrance to the thermal pools. It's right on the river and tram stops/an underground station are just outside too Bad: The decor in room looked a little tired, but was still excellent value.
5
Pam- 15 Nov. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
I love staying at the Gellert as its a fantastic place to stay. It has a great SPA attached to the hotel. First entry is free and the rest of the visits are at 50%discount. Gellert SPA and the hotel are the best places to visit. You get great breakfast to start the day. The transport is easy to access from just outside the hotel. The staff at the hotel are very kind and helpful. I tend to use Expedia as they have the best price.
4.6
Peter- 15 Nov. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Beauty of Gellert spa - 8to10/10 for hot tubs, 6to8/10 for steam saunas, 2/10 for dry saunas. No need to have slippers (flip flops) despite such requirement in writing, due to that all the staff was very friendly. Wide selection of hot and cold food for breakfast - 9/10 for food, but only 2/10 for juices and coffee (you can get good ones but you pay extra for it, quite a lot). Location just by metro station with a nice view of Budapest, impressive exterior odf the hotel, friendly and well trained staff and nice interiors of common spaces all together create impressive atmosphere - 10/10. Free luggage storage, combined with only cca. 15-20 mins. transfer from the hotel to Keleti railway station, was also very helpful and convenient. Bad: I did not mind anything at all, but typical guests of ***+ hotels may find the old furniture in the room unpleasant - especially the old carpet which had stains on it, and perhaps TV put on a fridge may be annoying to some guests, too. As I already wrote, juices for breakfast were not good - watery, probably with added sugar (own made in old type of mixing tanks). The type of guests who are picky on this will most probably enjoy a different hotel, perhaps a one with the modern spa - Gellers spa is very esthetic, but there are long walks to the spa, and extra walk if one needs to use a locker.
5
Anonymous- 13 Nov. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: An old Palace.
5
carole- 11 Nov. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
lovely hotel, we were made very welcome staff very friendly.
4.6
Oliver- 11 Nov. 2015
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location, atmosphere and service. Bad: The rain outside!
4.6
Anonymous- 10 Nov. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: the location and the historical place Bad: I forgot my swimming suit, so I couldn't try the swimming pool
5
Nashipaii- 07 Nov. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Exquisite! Staff friendly, professional and helpful. Spa and massage was wonderful. Food in the brasserie was fabulous. Everything was perfect :)
4.6
Alan- 05 Nov. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Loved the old world ambience, and the thermal pools. Excellent help from the foyer guys Bad: The unhelpfulness at the bistro and long wait for food off the menu. The girls are much better than the men for the friendliness.
4.6
Uk- 03 Nov. 2015
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Fntastic location in wonderful city. Both the hotel and city are very good value for money. Restaurants in hotel are excellent. Bus and tram stops are right outside. All staff very helpful. Bad: Minor issues: A small amount of traffic noise in the rooms at the fromt of the hotel. Some rooms still to be renovated.
5
thomas- 02 Nov. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: It`s faded elegance gave it loads of character.. a bit like an Agatha Christie novel. Bad: The rooms need an upgrade and the corridors care a bit white and boring! Location Tip: Easy access to transport and the whole of Budapest is at your feet. Lovely hotel with grand entrance hall and lobby. Full of atmosphere with several doormen, gilded luggage carriers and old fashioned key fobs behind a Secessionist reception desk. the staff were all very helpful and friendly and the breakfast buffet was fabulous with almost endless variety. Good coffee! The room and the corridors are a bit dated but we had a flat screen tv and really good quality room service. The spa was relaxing and the bistro quite reasonably priced. Brilliant transport links.. trams every 3 minutes directly outside as well as the new Metro 4 station. Loved the Gellert`s personal e mails and would recommend this hotel to anybody. Thanks for a great holiday!
5
Noel- 01 Nov. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The friendliness of the staff. The copious breakfast and the food in the Panorama restaurant and in the brasserie.
5
Lotte- 31 Oct. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: The location is excellent. It is quiet, clean & well served with a Bar, Restaurants and Treatment Salon. Right next door to the Gellert Bath and Hill. Bad: Watch your timing at Breakfast. Between 8.30am and 9.30am it is hectic and quite a negative experience. Go early to have a more relaxing experience. Location Tip: This hotel is in a great location. Metro, bus and trams right outside. It is situated on the quieter Buda side next to the very green liberty bridge. This was my third stay at the excellently located Gellert Hotel which overlooks the Danube on the quieter Buda side. Great old style ambiance which has seen better days, however I love the shabby chic of it all. Great rooms, comfortable, clean and well presented. The breakfast has a huge choice and is very well presented with kind and helpful staff on hand. The lobby, bars and Expresso Tea room were all very comfortable and have a great choice, so much so you do not even need to leave the hotel. Best of all is the Gellert Baths right next door to enjoy and relax in. The first visit is free to guests and then 50% after - great deal. Bliss.
4.8
Ruth- 29 Oct. 2015
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I Loved the decor and access to the Spa. Staff were really helpful at arranging a taxi for us. Bad: Bed was a little hard and there was noise from the courtyard below.
5
Denitsa- 29 Oct. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel is like a beautiful romantic building from a fairy tail. Fascinating architecture and lovely views to the river. The staff is extremely friendly and they give their best to make your stay unique and special. We have been treated so well that we are already planing to book again and even book a stay in the hotel as a gift. The hotel has magnificent SPA facilities. The room included the use of the facilities. It was fantastic The breakfast was abundant and extremely delicious. We were enjoying the great variety while having a fabulous view of the riverside and the Liberty Bridge. We loved it
5
Andrew- 27 Oct. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Baths, Location
4.6
Karen- 27 Oct. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Fantastic location with stunning views overlooking the river Danube especially at night time with the bridges and buildings all lit up. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of variety to suit every taste. Spa facilites at the hotel were amazing. Bad: Nothing to dislike about this hotel.
4.6
Heftsibah- 27 Oct. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: breakfest veiw swedish massag servisce Bad: thai massag
5
Xavier Miter- 26 Oct. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google+ Local
If any of you guys are looking for dirt cheap hotel deals I would check out HotelRaven. Com I saved a ton of money using that site. I was in the spa only. Personally love places with style, which had seen better times. If you must have everything new and shiny, probably will be a little disappointed. I like it very much. Not sure, but I think the swimming pool played in one older James Bond movie. There are pools for both sexes and steam baths, saunas, massages and smaller pools separated for men and women.
5
Susan- 25 Oct. 2015
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very helpful staff Bad: No complaints yes it needs an upgrade but not to lose the character
5
Thomas- 25 Oct. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
Great to be able to watch to spa from room! Ordered breakfast to room for no additional charge
4.6
Evelyn- 24 Oct. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We really enjoyed location of hotel and the food & staff were excellent! Also we loved the thermal baths & will be visiting Budapest again!
5
David- 24 Oct. 2015
  • Couple
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: location spa room size friendly and informative service breakfast - wide range of hot and cold food
5
HerrAugust- 22 Oct. 2015
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The baths of course! The entire staff were first class. Bad: Didn't get fresh towels everyday.

Still have questions? Get in touch:

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Phone: +36-1-889-5500
Room reservation: +36 1 889 5501
Fax: +36 1 889 5505

Address: 2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map View map

Room reservation

+36 1 889 5501

Address:
2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map

Email:
Send e-mail

One hotel selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

Two hotels selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

One hotel selected! One hotel seleted (3/1)

X