toggle menu

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Gellert's guests

Call us

Reviews

Hotel rating
Overall score
4.8/5
Based on 6026 reviews
Services
4.8/5
Cleaniness
4.8/5
Comfort
4.8/5
Location
4.8/5
Staff
4.8/5
Value for money
4.8/5
Did you enjoy your stay with us? Tell us about your experience!
5
ILIDIO- 14 Dec. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
Excellent old style hotel - needs a bit refurbishing Great spa next door Food very well presented and dedlicious
5
Debra- 13 Dec. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The rooms were huge!
5
Carl- 12 Dec. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Location, and staff Bad: Nothing Great hotel for exploring the sights, without the hustle bustle of the city centre, about 5 min walk to city centre.
4.8
Barbara- 11 Dec. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Agoda
Lovely old world hotel. The first room we were given allowed smoking and although the room did not smell of smoke it was very tired looking. Also there was a movie being shot in the hotel on the way to our room which meant negotiating around all the equipment. We requested a non-smoking room which clearly had been updated and was very nice.
5
Peter- 10 Dec. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The price of the room included access to the spa, which is a truly wonderful and unique experience.
5
thewanderer31- 10 Dec. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I have stayed in modern hotels, but this was such a refreshing change to go back in time and see this beautiful hotel as it best, as I know it is to be refurbished. The big Christmas tree in the reception area gave you a warm feeling, the staff were very friendly. The bedroom was lovely, as was the breakfast. The Spa was exceptional. The Bistro Sorozo was lovely and comfortable and the food was delicious. Bad: The bathroom was more like a wet room, the overhead shower was situated over a very narrow bath and the curtain was too short so the floor kept getting wet.
5
Gerard Madrid- 09 Dec. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Nice
4.6
Martin- 07 Dec. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: location, building, archtecture, bath Bad: it is partly used and old, would need some renovation
4.8
Dave- 07 Dec. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Breakfast and spa Wow Bad: Shower gel not replaced on room and glasses left unwashed
4.6
Brendan- 05 Dec. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very comfortable room with great view of Freedom Bridge and River Danube Bad: Bar is bit small and lacking atmosphere, Brasserie is ok but limited menu. Strong smell of sewerage from time to time
4.6
Svein- 04 Dec. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Cool fashionable Hotel. Termal bath! Bad: Old Windows and bathroom.
4.8
Valerie- 01 Dec. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Amazing spa , very friendly hotel staff, fantastic building, location and beautiful views from all angles, so great to be able to open doors onto the balcony. Bad: Drinks expensive from the bar, including water, no tea making facilities in room. Steps up to 'outside' hot spa pool, could be made more assessable.
5
Brian- 30 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: The location and breakfast. Bad: Having only one pillow is my only complaint. Location Tip: Right across the Liberty Bridge from the hotel, is the Central Market, all kinds of food and other items to purchase. The location is great, right on the Danube on the Buda side. Hotel has a lot of charm. The room size was fine and had excellent water pressure for the shower. The breakfast was the best I've ever had in Europe, which was included in the price. Excellent selections and good staff with a view overlooking the Danube. The hotel has a direct entrance to the Spa in which you receive a free visit for staying at the hotel. The Gellert Spa is the most famous Spa in Budapest, very classy worth the visit . Any additional visit you were only charged at 50% for being a hotel guest.
5
Ross- 30 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great staff,very friendly and welcoming.Room was a good size.Meals were very good.Spa was very good. Great transport links,metro and trams just outside.And lovely views from room.
5
Robert Sherman- 29 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Fantastic
5
Lidija- 28 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The style of the building and the interior, it's classic Jugendstil. The staff are old-school and graceful. A beautiful experience, a capsule in time. Oh and the view from the breakfast room - the Freedom bridge and the Pesta...
5
Anonymous- 28 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff were very friendly and helpful
5
andy/kristel- 28 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
A beautiful hotel that is filled with art nouveau beauty, a bit tired in places, but that is part of its charm. There are amazing transport links outside that can get you right through the Buda and the Pest sides of the river. Close to bars and restaurants and some of the main sight seeing places.
4.6
Martin- 27 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Lage
4.6
Kristian- 27 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: atmosphere Bad: Bar closes to early
5
Clare- 26 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We enjoyed a superb meal in the restaurant one evening- and were serenaded by local musicians which added to our night! The breakfast was very good, a large choice of foods juices, hot drinks etc. Staff were efficient, polite and friendly in all areas of the hotel. We took advantage of the adjoining Gellért spa which was a great experience.
5
Toni Anne Skeete- 25 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
Excellent hotel our room 124 had a balcony with views of the Danube Gellert Hill and the Liberty Bridge. Room was brilliant lots of space for clothes etc. TV in room bathroom was OK hairdryer in there. Breakfast was excellent self service but all you could want for a meal they also did omelette at no extra charge. If you stay at the hotel you have use of the thermal baths and swimming pool first visit us free then you pay for extra visits. The hotel is very oldy worldy. There is some small bar and a coffee shop which did the most delicious cakes and pastries. Also a gift shop atm in the hotel. When I next visit Budapest I would definitely stay at this hotel.
5
David- 25 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent hotel and facilities. Helpful staff. Location ideal for visiting all parts of the City. Bad: Nothing
5
Lesley- 24 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Position and Staff and feeling of faded elegance Bad: Update bathrooms Location Tip: Close to most tourist attractions We visited Budapest for three nights and stayed at the Gellert Hotel. We found the whole experience to be very enjoyable and the staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast had plenty of choice. Our only slight criticism is that the bathroom in our room was in need of updating with new bath and shower, but a small price to pay for a such lovely stay.
5
Jan Elmlund- 22 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Nice rooms and nice view over the river and city. Good room service and cleaning staff did a good job. I can really recommend this to anyone.
5
Maria- 21 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Lovely old hotel from years gone by. Loved it! Bad: Trying to think of something.. but no, just loved it!
4.8
John- 21 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Good all around Bad: My favourite restaurant was closed on Monday.
5
Sharon- 19 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Loved the character. Comfortable stay & loved the Thermal Baths
5
Hannah- 19 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great hotel and great location Bad: Room was dated needs face lift, but great price
5
Andrea Phaaze- 18 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
One of the best Hotel ever, prices are pretty low for the location. Positioned on the river, and 10 min walking to the Buda Castle. If you need to live the dream of Grand Budapest Hotel picture, Gellert is what you need. The bath are inside the Hotel so is a perfect place.
5
John- 17 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Fantastic Hotel for a romantic gateway.The breakfast is out of this world and the receptionist very friendly and helping as well as the whole hotel staff. Bad: The spa staff was very rude and that made a bad impression in our time of stay.
5
Elena- 17 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: excellent hotel, excellent location, great hot bad
5
Kay- 17 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
We stayed here because of the St Martin's Day Wine Festival. I had requested a room with river view and they did not disappoint. Our room was clean, well appointed and the view, I could have Sat and looked out the window our whole stay. The breakfast buffet was one of the best we've seen, plenty of options for everyone. And the location with ease of public transportation can't be beat. Extremely friendly and accommodating staff. And when we returned a few days later to pick up a forgotten item, the staff was still gracious and welcoming. We will return for another stay.
5
Priscila- 16 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Espaço
4.6
Anonymous- 15 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Nostalgic atmosphere and warm, friendly staff Bad: Complimentary coffee & tea would be much appreciated. Have a water kettle would be nice. And a floor mat in the toilet would be recommended for our feet to stay warm on the ceramic tiles during the cold seasons...
5
Joanna- 14 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Excellent location, staff, restaurants. Metro and tram stops are out the front door. Within walking distance of museums and must-see sites. Bad: It could use a little face-lift in the public areas but its history is part of its charm. Location Tip: see above We stayed in this grand, historic hotel/spa twice for 8 nights, broken up with a visit to Vienna. The first time we had a front room with a balcony and river view, which was lovely. The second time because of how I had booked the reservation, we were put in a more budget room, which was still ok, except that it was over where garbage is collected between about 2:00 and 5:00 am--so super loud and no sleep that night! The next day I asked if there was even a remote chance of moving us. I expected to be put on a waiting list but the front desk worked a miracle and got us a quiet room at the back (same price) with a large balcony and view of the gorgeous outdoor pools and Gellert Hill beyond. The reservation includes a very large, varied buffet breakfast every morning and one visit to the famous spa, which includes 6 indoor and outdoor pools, an outdoor sauna, and an outdoor swimming pool, as well as saunas and steam rooms. There are also Thai massage therapists on site. The tile work and design of these historic baths alone are worth a visit. The Hotel is right across from the tram and a major metro stop. We arrived first by cab from the airport and later by train from Vienna--all very easy. The staff is very accommodating (see above) and they all speak excellent English. And the restaurants are great; we had several terrific meals. I would definitely stay here again.
4.6
Niloufar- 14 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Classy , clean , beautiful! Therme was just Super & the breakfast was very good !wanna go back as soon as possible! Recommend Bad: There was no Hairconditioner in the room,i asked for but they didnt offer , if u are a person who use to it , it is better that u have one with!
4.8
Anonymous- 14 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The breakfast selection is huge, you can have eggs in 5 different way, lots of choice in the hot and cold buffets.
4.6
Niloufar- 14 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: It was really awesome , everything was perfect , the breakfast was excellent , Therme and bath were very beautiful !the room haven’t renovated but very classy and clean. i would like to go back again as soon as possible. Bad: There was no Hair-conditioner in bathroom and when we asked for,they told us that they don’t offer it , if u are a person who need conditioner , you need to have one with u ,
5
András- 13 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything :) Bad: Nothing
5
Konstantinos- 13 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very friendly staff.excellent baths. Great massage
4.6
Diana- 12 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The breakfast was very good. My room price allowed one free visit to the spa which I really enjoyed. The staff were very polite and helpful. I was very grateful to a young member of spa staff who located my hotel robe when it was 'borrowed' in the spa by a fellow hotel guest and I was left in my swimsuit and curtailed my swim etc to search for it. He 'went the extra mile' which was much appreciated. Bad: I had a budget single room. The basin was cracked and the wardrobe door kept swinging open. The wardrobe needed revarnishing or repainting, I am sure it could be easily done with in-house workmen. For very little cost it could be made snug and appealing.
4.6
Carolyn- 09 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location for all forms of transit; great breakfast buffer and historic pools in the complex! The room was large especially for the price. Bad: The bed was hard. I don't think mattress toppers have come to Europe yet. :(
5
Nicholas Finlay- 08 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great place. Full of Art Deco and history.
5
Roger- 08 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great charm, Classic old style spa hotel just by the Danube. Service is excellent and staff is friendly. In the room price ONE entry to Gellért Bath is included. You must see it! Bad: Old and could do with some paint and some update on interior.
5
Patrick- 07 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I was very happy with my stay. Bad: I think it is a great idea to have a kettle in the room with tea, coffee sachets etc so that guests can have a warming beverage while relaxing in their room.
4.6
Patricia- 06 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent bed, complete breakfast, staff helpful, clean Bad: No Jacuzzi in spa area, the water very cold in the swimming pool, in the other pool (for relaxation), the water not warm enough as you would expect from a spa in Hungary, well known for their thermal waters.
4.8
Mark- 06 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Grand hotel that is warm, comfortable, friendly and not to musty. Preserves bygone charm with modern services and standards. The attached spa is a big bonus. Bad: Nothing
5
P Kaitz- 06 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Beautiful interior. There's a, I don't know what color to call it, terracotta marble you see everywhere here -- staircases, floor tiling, wainscoting, the walls of subway stations -- that's just stunning. It must be ferrous. The name of the State where I'm from -- Colorado -- derives from the Spanish word 'red' (rojo). And what we call 'red rock', as in the natural outdoor amphitheater "Red Rocks", is the same hue, maybe a little more plum and less rust. You can tell I'm thinking of home.
5
artnouveau club- 05 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
the fact that this is an Art Nouveau adds more uniqueness to this awesome hotel
5
Suzanne- 04 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything Bad: Nothing
4.6
David- 03 Nov. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I have stayed here a couple times - once the bed was good, once it wasnt. Coffee was better in the past. Juice was better in the past Bad: Better coffee better juice
4.8
Susan- 30 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: I liked the range of food offered and the waiting staff are very friendly. It was nice to see different pastries on offer each day - even Francia brioches! Please keep the character of this hotel - it's very special! Bad: The fact that guests now have to pay to use the baths! That was a real disappointment but I realise that the baths section of the hotel is now owned by a private company.
5
Brian Shaw- 29 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Centrally located with lots of public transport on doorstep.good facilities swimming, spa, sauna etc.great breakfast,and nice cafe aswell to refresh after a walk.
5
Anonymous- 26 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This place ticked all the boxes, Bad: Nothing
5
Claire- 26 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We loved the splendour of the hotel public areas and the reception staff and porters were so kind and efficient. The location of this hotel is superb. Bad: Although it didn't bother us the rooms are slightly tired and shabby. Could do with new towels and duvets. However if this beautiful was given a complete refurbishment it would cost so much we wouldn't be able to afford to stay there. The Gellert thermal spa baths which are attached to the hotel but managed separately need to be better organised.
5
YP- 26 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Location, Spa, Breakfast Bad: Hotel room is a bit old. Being upgrade to a room with view! The spa is huge and fully equipped with different facilities. The breakfast is a feast with all sorts of delicious food and fruits!
5
Magda- 25 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: it was exellent, one of the best stay in my life
4.8
Martina- 24 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Friendly and efficient staff, luxurious environment. The breakfast buffet was absolutely amazing, the best way to start the day. Free access to the therms. Bad: The room we stayed in was old fashioned. But at the end of the day we just used the room to sleep.
4.8
Anonymous- 23 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Access to the baths with robe and slippers provided Bad: Car to the airport was far too expensive, wish we had taken a regular taxi
4.8
David- 23 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Spacious room, good lifts, comfortable lounge, friendly tea room cafe staff. Bad: Balcony had no furniture and was very grubby.
5
Mik Szlat- 21 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Nice panorama and awsome thermal bath world.
5
Deborah Winfield- 21 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Fantastic value for money, good views, great location, friendly staff
5
Sandra- 21 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff were fabulous in every possible way! Excellent! Bad: Everything was fabulous!
5
Andy- 20 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Spectacular views; great location near many wonderful sites and near the market; friendly and courteous staff; great food!!!! Location Tip: Great location at foot of Gellert Hill, at end of bridge to the market. Within walking distance of monuments, park, market, shops, etc. The hotel is beautiful. The views from the balcony of my room were fantastic: Gellert Hill, the Danube, the bridge!!! Hotel staff were very friendly, pleasant, and helpful.
5
Marcel- 18 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Although the rooms are a little out-dated, the size and the lovely balcony with a view on the Donau and Liberty Bridge is simply overwhelming
4.6
Hoi- 17 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Professional staff with excellent service, excellent breakfast with superb omelette, one free entry to Gellért Bath ***
5
Ginette- 16 Oct. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
In Budapest that is the place to stay!!!!our visit in the baths was amazing!!! The service is perfect and the food at the bistro was typical and very good!!!
5
Sharon- 16 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The thermal baths. Value for money. Bistro. Bad: Rooms / decor need a little TLC
5
Viktoria Melnichenko- 15 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
Charming old hotel with its history and Budapest spirit. Of course, it needs renovation. But it may loose its authentic charm after it.
5
Eva- 14 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The Breakfast Buffet was awesome! A gourmet cornucopia! Something for everyone. Every aspect of this hotel evokes Old World Elegance, glamour, & charm. A visit to the Thermal Baths is pure luxury!
5
Laura- 13 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Great food, mineral baths, LOVELY personnel, The Beautiful Danube in front of our window, super-convenient transportation by hotel. Bad: The hotel does need renovation and borders on the shabby in some ways. You need to know that before you go. Location Tip: Mass transportation in Budapest is extremely easy to use, and available beside the hotel. The staff will help you find your way. The Gellert has several uniquely wonderful aspects. The hot spring baths are sumptuously beautiful, and part of the hotel, so after a long day visiting that LOVELY city, you just put on your swimsuit, throw on the hotel robe, and stroll down the hall to soak in pools as hot as you want (there are bunch of available temperatures!). This is a classical old turn-of-the-century European hotel, and the art tiling of the baths are famous throughout the world. The food is terrific, and the personnel are extremely nice and helpful. It could not be more convenient to transportation, and is right on the river by the most beautiful of the art nouveau bridges. We spent 11 days there and loved every day.
5
Janice- 12 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great old hotel. Must have been really grand in its day. Room with view of Danube was lovely. Breakfast were great and the Spa was magnificent.
5
Astrid Haugestad- 11 Oct. 2017
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Revinate Surveys
A good stay with friends in a historical atmosphere.The staff were mostly friendly and helpful offering good service. The Gellert bath was beautiful and there were lot of options regarding spa treatments. The many beautifully decorated pools contributed to the well-being and made our stay relaxing. The breakfast room was spacious with lots of good breakfast offers.
5
Reece Wilde- 11 Oct. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Revinate Surveys
I honestly couldn't fault this hotel at all. Amazing service from all the staff and they couldn't do enough to help us. The room was lovely and spacious and we had a fantastic view from the balcony onto the Danube. Breakfast every morning was super tasty, and the hotel itself is stunning. I would recommend this to anyone going to budapest!
5
Anonymous- 07 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Lots of character,ambiance, great thermsl baths, good breakfast,nice central location by the danube Bad: All good
5
Karen Boserio- 06 Oct. 2017
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Revinate Surveys
The architecture was fabulous and it's detail varied. The staff were helpful and the location a short and interesting walk from so many old town sights and experiences. The wave pool in the hotels thermal baths area was fun and it was easy to get to the city's central baths by underground tube.
5
John Patrick Doyle- 04 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Revinate Surveys
My second stay here, this time for a fortnight. I like this hotel very much. My single room was quiet, and all facilities worked well. The WiFi is excellent, also the breakfast (but I did not have it every day). All the staff, from the door team to Reception and housekeepers are friendly, helpful and professional. Clearly this hotel is run to a high standard. I fully recommend it and will certainly stay here on my next visit to Budapest. I already look forward to returning to the Gellert!
5
Tibor Cunderlik- 04 Oct. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Revinate Surveys
Perfectly located hotel overlooking the river enjoying sun rise,sunset as well as giving a breathtaking view of its sorounding.Breakfast was beyond expectation with varied options.I found staff polite and cheerful.The only downsize I would like to highlight were the pillows which we found too soft
5
Tunde Csanyine Nagy- 03 Oct. 2017
  • Couple
  • Source: Revinate Surveys
We had a corner suite on the 4th floor with balconies. The view from the balconies is breathtaking. You can see the Danube river, the Liberty Bridge, Gellert Hill with the Citadella and the Liberty Statue. We also enjoyed the in and outdoor thermal baths. Excellent location , friendly staff. Tunde and Scott from Toronto
5
Thomas Gyorffy- 02 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Revinate Surveys
A wonderful old hotel with big comfortable rooms, excellent restaurant and bistro. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The place is well located for visits to the major sites of Budapest. Acess to Gellert Baths and massages is brilliant and very enjoyable. All in all I had a fabulous time.
5
Jenny- 01 Oct. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Glorious architecture Original authentic building Excellent staff and facilities Bad: Nothing
5
Jon- 30 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Our upgraded suite was fantastic Bad: The hotel bar was small and uncomfortable and the price for jack daniels was outrageous
5
John- 30 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The swimming baths & facilities were excellent. Staff very courteous & efficient. Bad: The cooked breakfast was disappointing. However the cold buffet breakfast was excellent.
5
Randi Blomhoff Pedersen- 29 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Revinate Surveys
Flott hotell, med sentral beliggenhet. Nær alt vi ville oppsøke. Flott terrasse der vi hadde lunsj i sola. Fantastisk spa-avdeling. God, innholdsrik frokost, med alt du kinne ønske deg. Nær trikk og buss.
5
Christopher Morgan- 29 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
Edwardian mahogany and marble luxury, mixed with mid century communist chic. Weird and wonderful.
4.6
Gizella- 29 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: A plenty various breakfast were excellent and delicious!I love Indoor pool, thermal bath. Bad: Old mattress and pillow.
5
John- 28 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This is a really old style grand hotel. It is a little faded but that adds to the atmosphere. if you are looking for the homogenised, modern, international hotel then this may not be for you. If you are looking for something of the essence of Budapest then this is a great place to stay and excellent value for money. Attached to the Gellert baths (first trip free for hotel guests subsequent trips discounted). Right on the Danube our room had a large terrace style balcony at the side of the hotel with views also of the citadel. Staff were great and breakfast buffet was generous with lots of hot and cold options.
5
Wendy- 28 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The spa was a great way to shake jetlag. The Brasserie was wonderful for dinner. Great selections and comfortable atmosphere. Awesome location, in the heart of Budapest! Bad: Rooms are dated yet comfortable.
4.6
Krister- 26 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The space, the historical building and the atmosphare, the restaurants and the breakfast room. Bad: The beds have to be replaced, are worn out.
5
Mitchell- 24 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Good: Location, wifi through out, complimentary spa visit, very obliging staff, atmosphere it's not a bland faceless hotel Bad: Just needs to be sensitivily updated without loosing its old world charm. Location Tip: Spa, Gellerty Hill, Liberty Bridge, Market Hall too much to mention The hotel is very centrally located opposite the metro and tram a short walk over the bridge into the city centre. My room was adequate for my needs very basic in need of a makeover. The room was scrupulously clean. The whole place needs money spent on it. Breakfast was great with hot and cold selections. The complimentary visit to the spa is a must. Considering the hotel is not expensive you get a lot for your money, so I feel mean criticising. All the staff I came into contact with were professional, courteous and friendly. I would recommend anyone to stay here and would stay here again if I were to visit Budapest again.
5
Ed- 24 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Overall experience was wonderful. Hotel is close to many sights to see and transportation. Only concern was beds are not comfortable.
4.8
John- 23 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The breakfast very wide rangeing and a lot of choice.spotless hotel.a good bar.the spa was wonderful. Bad: We missed having tea and coffee facilities in the room.also adding service charge to food and drink
5
Jeremy Choo- 23 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great ambience
5
Jon Maunder- 23 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
A great hotel. Very 'shabby chic' with fabulous furniture and furnishings that hark back to its glory days between the wars and also to its post Communist past. The spa, that is the reason for this hotels existence is a real gem.....with the most ferocious (i.e. Fantastically fun!) wave machine this side of a tsunami! If you get the chance try room 123.....fabulous view from three balconies overlooking the Danube and Freedom Bridge. It's the real Grande Budapest Hotel!
5
Pepo Sanchez- 22 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
All great. The gift shop amazing!!!
5
Yuri Duraan- 20 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
This place is my birthday treat and has not disappointed one bit!! Fabulous stay xx
5
John Dobson- 20 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
This is our 1st visit to budapest so we went through many potential hotels.this hotel is good for being central.near the river and the metro and trams stop right out front.this hotel is wonderfully traditional and the staff are so professional.the spa is a must.you can loose yourself there for hours.if you like porters dressed in liveries swinging doors and marble you cant fail to like this hotel.great views of the danube.
5
Oyelakin Clinton Martins- 20 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Facebook
A wonderful place to be in the ancient city of Budapest. Comfortable rooms and friendly staff.
5
Dan- 18 Sep. 2017
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything. This is part of the great hotels. Despite the tired carpets and the prison like door to the rooms it was amazing from the breakfasts to go he views and fabulous location.

Still have questions? Get in touch:

Danubius Hotel Gellért

Phone: +36-1-889-5500
Room reservation: +36 1 889 5501
Fax: +36 1 889 5505

Address: 2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map View map

Room reservation

+36 1 889 5501

Address:
2 Szent Gellért tér, 1114 Budapest, Hungary View map

Email:
Send e-mail

One hotel selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

Two hotels selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

One hotel selected! One hotel seleted (3/1)

X