toggle menu

Services

  • WiFi
  • Full air-conditioning
  • Pet-friendly hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Function rooms
Hotel rating
Overall score
4.9/5
5
Traveler- 23 Jul. 2019

Reviews

Hotel rating
Overall score
4.9/5
Based on 3140 reviews
Services
4.9/5
Cleaniness
4.9/5
Comfort
4.9/5
Location
4.9/5
Staff
4.9/5
Value for money
4.9/5
Did you enjoy your stay with us? Tell us about your experience!
5
Traveler- 23 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
The heritage feeling of the building with the top and very comfortable rooms and the location are tops
5
Courtney- 22 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Great hotel with nice staff. Location was perfect for seeing the whole city. Dinner and drinks nearby, groceries close. Just lovely.
5
Anonymous- 18 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Clean, easy to visit the center town Bad: Na
5
Traveler- 16 Jan. 2020
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Amazing character hotel very centrally located. Reception area and dining area amazing. Room very clean and comfortable. Very good value.
5
Pauline- 16 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff were so helpful. Loved the old world feel to the place. Very central. Within a 3km circumference of all tourist sites. Plenty of cafes and restaurants locally if you did not want to dine In the hotel Bad: The old world feel. We had drinks in the bar/ restaurant and it’s ambience felt like you were in a different era. Loved it
5
Daniel- 14 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
The hotel is situated in a great location, within walking distance of all the main sites. The room was excellent with all the amenities needed. Breakfast was good with a wide variety of options. I would happily stay here again
4.5
Gideon- 14 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything was ideal. Thank you. Very satisfied. Bad: N/A
4.5
Bleddyn- 14 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: very elegant hotel. spotlessly clean. staff very professional and friendly Bad: even though there was a mini bar in the room. there were no tea or coffee making facilities
5
Nigel Bake- 10 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great period Hotel Close to centre of Budapest
5
Marjorie Michele Stobie- 09 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
So convenient with great staff. Lovely room.
5
Annie- 08 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff were incredibly polite and never intrusive - very helpful and full of recommendations of what to see. The shower was powerful and the view was stunning, especially at night with the city lights. Great use of space and very comfortable. Lovely mini bar in the room too Bad: N/A
5
Sheila- 07 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
We had a lovely stay here. Staff were fabulous. We ate in the restaurant and not only was the food terrific and reasonable but we also had a live small band that played extremely good dance band type music. A fabulous evening and we even got up and danced to “The Blue Danube” Waltz. Highly recommended to eat here. Breakfast was also outstanding and elegant. The room was modest and adequate for a night or two. Bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a small amount of mold in the shower grout otherwise I would have rated 5 on everything. Location was very walkable and two stops on the underground from the train station less than 10mins walk to the Danube. We would stay here again.
5
Pippy- 05 Jan. 2020
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Expedia
We liked the classical renovations and not too modern rooms. Authentic Hungarian splendour. Wonderfully helpful and smiley staff. Very central for easy transport all over the city.
5
Traveler- 29 Dec. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Great location nice property. The room was ready early and was nice and quite
4.5
Anonymous- 28 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location and staff
4.6
Martin- 28 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Central location. Bad: Not much. Very little defects and this due to wear and tear.
5
Traveler- 27 Dec. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
SUPERB LOCATION!!! Next to a majority of bus stops and metro stations
4.6
James- 27 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel was beautiful. Bad: Part of our bathroom was damaged
5
Andrew- 27 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location was excellent, Breakfast was perfect plenty choice, The Staff were friendly and helpful, Excellent value Bad: Nothing
5
Paul- 27 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Its amazing traditional decor and feel of how Budapest would have felt all those years back. Lovely lobby and cafe area to relax. Friendly staff.
5
ליטל- 27 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Gracious staff, fast service, varied breakfast. The room and shower were clean. Excellent location, close to tourist attractions & public transportation.
5
Shlomit- 27 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff was excellent Very helpful Place was clean and central Very good breakfast! Highly recommended
5
Charles- 26 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location Staff super friendly A gem for sure Bad: Location and comfort. Rooms large and view great.
5
epool lee- 25 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Located at the city center. Near the subway. A wonderful hotel with great breakfast.
5
Hans- 21 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Central location, quick and friendly check-in and check-out, nice lobby, nice room with good beds and pillows, clean bathroom. Very little noise from the quite heavy traffic outside. Excellent breakfast with lots of choice. Superb bacon. Had one meal in the hotel restaurant. Very good food and quick service. Can recommend the guinea fowl in particular.
5
Jacob- 21 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Breakfast was excellent, the location is very convinient. Bad: Nothing
4.5
Kit- 21 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very helpful reception and concierge; excellent service in restaurants Bad: Room was great and clean but the carpet really was very very grubby and stained
5
Janet- 18 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location Bad: Bit dated
5
Traveler- 15 Dec. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Our bed was huge in and very comfortable. Room was clean and tidy. Good location close to city centre.
5
Traveler- 14 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
This is our second visit and we enjoyed our stay, so did our friends. Excellent breakfast, people at the desk are friendly and helpful. This is not a new hotel so it has its quirks.
5
YossiButavia- 11 Dec. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Kind staff and smile, Clean and well maintained. Love and recommend this hotel.
5
Traveler- 10 Dec. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
I like the old fashioned charm and elegance of the hotel plus the excellent location close to the main shopping area.
5
Traveler- 10 Dec. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
We have stayed in NY with the brand and we enjoy the classic style including the violin Not like - keep the stag parties on a separate floor away from families and couple. Woken up at 2am 3,4,5 & 6am
4.6
Victoria- 10 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel was lovely! Rooms were clean and beds very comfortable.The location was excellent. Bad: A slightly unpleasant smell on entering the building. Nowhere else in the hotel though!
5
Angela- 10 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: It was warm and welcoming with a traditional feel
5
Traveler- 08 Dec. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Excellent location, bus from the airport stops right outside and sights are all within walking distance. Comfortable beds, hot shower
5
Jean- 06 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Position, clean, lovely building Bad: Too hot
5
Penny- 05 Dec. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Loved the elegance and decor of the hotel. Refurbished beautifully.
5
Johannes- 04 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Centrally located with easy access to public transport. Fantastic staff - went out of their way! Bad: Nothing comes to mind
5
Alonso- 03 Dec. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Great location! Very nice Bar and Cafe at restaurant at location, they were actually filming a movie there the day we left, that caused a lot of noise while we were sleeping tho
5
Ben- 03 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location with very friendly stuff. Bad: Location is great and metro is just downstairs.
4.8
Fergal- 01 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location and history. Bad: Nothing
5
Traveler- 26 Nov. 2019
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Expedia
Good food central location friendly staff, a bit dated in places but lots of character
5
Traveler- 25 Nov. 2019
  • Family with older children
  • Source: Expedia
Property was very good and located just next to the Astoria metro station. Rooms are big and staff is very helpful. Couple of things I would like to point is facility to make tea/coffee in room and the overall noise of traffic into room. Apart from these two things the hotel was really nice and we enjoyed our stay there.
5
Traveler- 25 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Just the feel of the hotel outstanding staff and the look
5
Feier Alexandra- 24 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
A beautiful hotel and the staff is excellent.
5
Anonymous- 21 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: It was centrally located, spacious room, good breakfast, helpful polite staff, very comfortable bed. Bad: They have to do something about the smell in the reception area it’s quite a bad sewage smell.
5
Traveler- 19 Nov. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Location is the best. Close to all transportation. Very clean. Front desk staff service is below average.
4.8
Michael- 18 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast. The room is big and everything is working in the bathroom.
5
Trudy- 17 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything
5
Traveler- 16 Nov. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
friendly helpful staff, good value, excellent location for walking and seeing all the sights
5
David- 16 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
I liked the old world style of the hotel, with its chandeliers making it feel quite grand. It is also in the heart of the city close to transport and the main tourist areas with a multitude of shops, bars and restaurants
4.8
Paddy- 16 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Good
5
Traveler- 13 Nov. 2019
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Expedia
It was ideally positioned within the City. The rooms were lovely and the staff were so helpful and welcoming.
5
Traveler- 12 Nov. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Perfect location. Beautiful décor. Food was great.
5
Traveler- 10 Nov. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
going back in time, excellent facilities although slightly aged, nothing we didn’t really like. Very pleasant and well placed for the metro and central position. would certainly stay again
4.8
Robert- 09 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location (right next to subway), old charm, afternoon tea without the glitz of other hotels, ever helpful staff Bad: Peeling paint in the room needs a bit of TLC
4.5
David- 07 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location is excellent! Easily accessible by bus from and to the Airport. All attractions are close by and within walking distance. There was plentiful choice at Breakfast. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant making our stay most enjoyable. Would highly recommend this hotel! Bad: Rooms were a little dated but this probably shows in the price of the rooms, which are very reasonable.
5
Siim- 05 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location, competitive price, nice breakfast, old charm hotel. Restaurant service and meal exceed our expectations. Rooms are not ultra luxury, but clean and well maintained. The whole hotel has style and atmosphere from the old days in the good way.
5
Chunyi- 05 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very comfy bed, large airy room. Bad: I understand this is an old property with its old fashioned characteristics, but the carpet and sofa are so stained and dusty looking that we do worry if they are clean...the bed itself and bathroom are all really clean.
5
Cherryl- 05 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Perfect location, staff very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable, would thoroughly recommend this lovely hotel
5
idan Boguslavski- 04 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Amazing staff,always willing to help and always friendly The rooms and dinning area were beautiful
5
Wendy Hardy- 04 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
This was a lovely hotel, the service was brilliant and the food was great.
5
Donald- 04 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This is a wonderful hotel to experience in Budapest. The location is in the main part of the downtown area, close to the Danube River, shops, public transportation, and many historical sites in the city. The staff was great, the restaurant a classic (weekends there was a 5 piece ensemble to entertain the guests!), and just an overall magical experience. You will enjoy the Danubius Astoria Hotel City Center!!
5
Rand- 04 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: It was my mother’s birthday so they upgraded our room, it was a very nice gesture. The location is perfect and very well connected. The breakfast is really good with a lot of choices. The interior of the hotel is cozy and it feels like we are back in time. I would definitely recommend this hotel!
5
Traveler- 03 Nov. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Great location, very conveniently located to all transports. Breakfast is great with many delicious varieties. The restaurant sevices for lunch and dinner are excellent especially the stuffed cabbages. The hotel is old but very well maintained. We enjoyed our stay for 4 nights.
5
Pascale Marin- 03 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
A very good hotel in a central location with the typical old charm of Budapest. Breakfast has ample choice and staff is incredibly helpful. Special thanks to M.Tamas Vajda at reception who sorted an extra ticket for the National Music Hall as I mistakenly only purchased one. He really went the extra mile to provide us with this extra ticket and we were so grateful he took the time & energy to make some phone calls and save the day. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel for an authentic experience of Budapest :-)
5
Júlia Knoll- 03 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Best location
5
Adrian- 01 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This hotel is in the historic city centre, great for sightseeing. Comfy bed, huge room, quiet, you couldn’t hear the city centre traffic, refurbished modern bathroom and a great breakfast.
4.8
Marcella- 30 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We love the location. Staff ere very pleasant and helpful. Bad: The room as very hot and e didn’t realise the heater was turned on fully until the cleaner discovered It the second morning Also the rims Ned’s some ouch ups with th painting.
5
James- 30 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great breakfast. Uniformly excellent staff. A delightful experience.
5
Traveler- 29 Oct. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
The hotel was built in 1914 and has retained its charm
5
Carol- 29 Oct. 2019
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Hotels.com
The air conditioner was not very cold..
4.8
Marta- 28 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Bad: Parkolàsi lehetösèg hiànya.
5
Jeanette- 27 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: It’s near with all the tourist attractions Bad: None
5
Stefan Pelimon- 26 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Beautiful old hotel. Very well situated next to the metro station with the same name. Breakfast is quite expensive, so we went to the fast food round the corner. For the rooms it is good price for value. Don't know if there are parking premises.
5
Traveler- 24 Oct. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
We had a room facing the traffic which was extremely noisy, but luckily the windows were able to prevent some of the noise and allowed us to sleep. The hotel is beautiful and the breakfast food was devious.
5
Anna- 23 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Breakfast was fantastic the hotel was lovely and comfortable staff were very friendly.
4.5
Michael- 22 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very good breakfast
5
anna walsh- 20 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Fabulous Hotel. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast. Very central to all amenities. Highly recommend.
4.8
Anonymous- 19 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Central. Clean. Great staff just so good Bad: The hair dryer was very poor
5
Traveler- 18 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Great location - and that counts - near city Centre /Danube as well as jewish quarter , great restaurants- cafes and bistros easy for local transport - right on doorstep. Excellent hotel- , elegant olde world style- ok not as modern or spruced up as your average modern chain , but oozing in character and history. Would definitely stay again . Buffet Breakfast was good but coffee wasn’t brilliant However -Excellent all round -
5
Carol- 18 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: A warm welcome and everything you could want for a perfect stay in Budapest
5
Traveler- 15 Oct. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Overall the staff are very pleasant. Not mad about the main day man on reception, but the rest very obliging. Downstairs areas beautifully furnished in about thirties style and gorgeous restaurant with very pleasant staff. Corridors in upstairs areas could do with an update - yellow walls and red carpet - ugh! Rooms very comfortable.
4.6
Sarina- 13 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Lovely clean well managed hotel with professional and friendly staff Bad: Scrambled eggs are not good
5
Traveler- 13 Oct. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Great location. We were very early arriving so they held our luggage until our room was ready. Short walk to river, restaurants and shopping. Even received a room upgrade.
5
Traveler- 11 Oct. 2019
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Expedia
Excellent position for transport. Spotlessly clean. Pleasant and courteous staff.
5
Wanda- 10 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Buffet breakfast was excellent. Hotel has old world charm. Hotel staff were very courteous and very helpful. Very generously packed us breakfast to go when we left before restaurant hours on an excursion (without asking!). We booked a room with twin beds and were given a family suite with 2 bedrooms (again without requesting it). Central location. Right on a metro station for visitors who want to use the metro. Restaurants nearby and not far to walk to Vaci St for shopping or restaurants.
5
Jennifer- 09 Oct. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Very helpful staff. EXCELLENT location. Great room, great shower, nice breakfast. This is a LOVELY hotel
5
Kati Mcconnell- 09 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
This hotel has old world charm the entrance hall is beautiful with marble decor,its like stepping back to the 20s,The staff are very helpful and cant do enough for you.The room we had was large comfortable and spotless, could not fault it.The dining room is something else,I would recommend googling it to see the style.The hotel is central for public transport or walking, there's lots nearby to explore, I for one will certainly be returning
5
kati Mcconnell- 08 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
This hotel is amazing,from the moment you check in you will be amazed at the beautiful decor,its like stepping back in time.The staff were very professional and really make you welcome and can't do enough for you,The room was big and spotless the huge bed was so comfortable you had a great night's sleep.I honestly couldn't fault this hotel and am planning on returning next year as it is very central and interesting places just a short walk away
5
Yu Wei- 08 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Nice hotel. Good location to most of the tourist spots, especially it is right across the street of airport bus 100E. Front desk and housekeeping have had been very helpful. Will definitely choose here for my next trip.
5
Jennider- 08 Oct. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Great central location. Staff is polite and helpful. Breakfast buffet has a large variety of options.
5
Mark- 06 Oct. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
Service at reception and the dining room was very good. Very helpful, polite, and efficient. Hotel was clean and dining room and reception decor from the 1910s has been well maintained, felt like you were in that time period.
5
Susan- 06 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We had a large & quiet room. The hotel location is very good, just a few minutes walk to the river and the metro & bus stops are outside the hotel. We ate in the hotel restaurant on our first night as we arrived quite late and enjoyed a lovely meal. There is also a good choice of restaurants within a few minutes walking distance. There was an extensive selection of food on the breakfast buffet. Bad: Can't think of anything negative to say - we were there for four nights and thought it was good for a city break.
5
Eric- 05 Oct. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Like:location and excellent breakfast. Not like: no coffee maker or kettle provided
5
Michael- 05 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very comfortable, pleasant staff, nicely decorated rooms. Bad: The cold weather had just started & there wasn’t much heating.
5
Traveler- 02 Oct. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Beautiful historic hotel in the center of Budapest. Great staff and restaurant. Perfect location for exploring the old city and the waterfront of Budapest.
5
Maria- 02 Oct. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything else (apart from the cleaness of the inside pool). Bad: Pool and spa dirty with pieces of dypers in the water. No place to undress yourself like in the other spas.
5
John- 30 Sep. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Central

Still have questions? Get in touch:

Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center ****

Phone: +36-1-889-6000
Room reservation: +36 1 889 6061
Fax: +36 1 889 6091

Address: 19-21. Kossuth Lajos u., 1053 Budapest, Hungary View map View map

Room reservation

+36 1 889 6061

Address:
19-21. Kossuth Lajos u., 1053 Budapest, Hungary View map

Email:
Send e-mail

One hotel selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

Two hotels selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

One hotel selected! One hotel seleted (3/1)

X