toggle menu

Services

  • WiFi
  • Full air-conditioning
  • Pet-friendly hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Function rooms
Hotel rating
Overall score
4.9/5
5
Traveler- 12 Dec. 2018
Great hotel and location was good for getting around.

Reviews

Hotel rating
Overall score
4.9/5
Based on 2759 reviews
Services
4.9/5
Cleaniness
4.9/5
Comfort
4.9/5
Location
4.9/5
Staff
4.9/5
Value for money
4.9/5
Did you enjoy your stay with us? Tell us about your experience!
5
Tulsi Ezhilan- 18 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Very good location. Excellent access to public transport - bus, tram, metro and airport transfer bus 100E. All chain restaurants yoh can think of are near by. Close to variety of tourist attractions to. Hotel breakfast buffet was very good. Lot of varieties- continental and hot breakfast too. Additinally, omelette can be ordered to suit your needs. Rooms were nice and clean. Housekeeping was good too. Overall a very good experience staying at this hotel. Recommended.
4.8
Emma- 17 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. They kindly allowed us to upgrade our room at a discounted rate. The deluxe room was beautiful. Very well kept and spacious. The hotel was in a great location, just beside the metro. Bad: We had booked a standard room, but we were very disappointed with how run down the room was and the musky smell. That being said, there was no issue when we requested a room upgrade for a small fee. I would recommend updating the standard rooms.
5
Thomas- 16 Jul. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
The Danubius Hotel is very, very good hotel in Budapest. In fact, the restaurant in the hotel is one of the best not only in Hungary but in Europe. The guinea fowl with noodles in paprika sauce is exquisite!
5
Jose M Casals- 14 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Super nice staff, very helpful, and efficient. The Hotel restaurant food is excellent and is accompanied by live violin music. Very nice atmosphere and well appointed. This is a luxury, full service hotel at an affordable price and it is centrally located within walking distance to Museums, Synagogues, river attractions and perhaps most important it is right at the entrance to the Astoria Metro Station that can take you almost anywhere including the International Train Station. I recommend to ask the Hotel Concierge to make your reservations for places you want to visit. They are most helpful and provide you with valuable information to save time and money. Highly recommended to Budapest visitors!
5
Annette- 13 Jul. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
Excellent hotel in a fantastic location with a short walk to Váci street and the Danube River. There is a metro station for easy access to all sightseeing. Comfortable rooms with a beautiful old style cafe with great food. Very professional and helpful hotel staff.
4.6
Zeny- 13 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Breakfast.Location. Bad: The water in the shower drainage was very slow.
5
- 12 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Nice staff, nice service
5
HS- 11 Jul. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Excellent location close to both Buda and Pest side attractions. Though the lobby area looks dated, rooms are in good condition with comfortable beds and spacious layout.
5
leeno Marashi- 09 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Loved the atmosphere, vintage, cosy, near everything important in town
4.8
Sevuga- 09 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Easy access to bus stops, eateries, and souvenir stores. Bad: No coffee pot, tea kettle, ironing board!
5
Erick- 08 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Breakfast, Location
5
Margaret- 07 Jul. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
We had a wonderful stay in Budapest. The Astoria is centrally located, close to eating, shopping, the Metro, & sightseeing spots. Friendly & professional staff.
5
Reinier Nissen- 06 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great hotel! Price was very reasonable, location was central, staff was extremely friendly. When I go back to Budapest (which will be soon), this is where I am staying.
5
Ian- 03 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location, clean, tidy, good sized rooms and very comfortable. Hotel had character with older features Bad: Nothing
5
אודי יוסף- 02 Jul. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Best location fantastic crew
4.6
Jacky- 02 Jul. 2019
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Agoda
It is really a high class hotel. Although the decoration is a bit old fashion, but is is very clean and the hotel is maintained very well.
5
Traveler- 01 Jul. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Nice and cosy, a bit the style of the sixties, but with Class with a Capital C. Excellent service, great location!
5
Traveler- 29 Jun. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Staff were super friendly and the hotel was in the most ideal location in the inner city. Also a very easy shuttle bus service from the airport to the hotel that drops you right outside the hotel!
5
Theodore- 26 Jun. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very friendly clean and excellent location.
5
Margaret Rafferty- 26 Jun. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
It was a great place to stay , central to all travel .
5
Bruce- 25 Jun. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Good central location Bad: Nothing
5
Traveler- 24 Jun. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
This is an amazing hotel with a lot of character. The staff is absolutely amazing at reception and all areas of the hotel. The buffet breakfast is incredible with lots of variety at a very reasonable price. I would go back again in a heart beat. love it.
5
Traveler- 24 Jun. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
The best location. Perfect for everything. Love my trip and will recommend this hotel to all my friends.
4.8
Haya- 21 Jun. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Literally everything we wanted to do was like a 20 min walk from the hotel. Perfect location, great staff!
4.6
Lal- 20 Jun. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The breakfast was great and I would recomend this place
5
Oton- 20 Jun. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel has an excelent location, nearby garage, five minutes walk to the Vaci utca - restaurants, shops, entertainment. Staf is very frendly with excelent English. Bad: Not so many TV programs available. Maybe one or two Slovenian wouldn't be difficoult to put in the scheme - Slovenia and Hungary are neighbors, so ...
5
Anonymous- 15 Jun. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff very helpful Bad: Nothing
5
Traveler- 13 Jun. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
Great location
5
Antony Grimwood- 13 Jun. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Very friendly and efficient
5
Elizabeth- 12 Jun. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
Absolutely loved the Danubius Hotel Astoria. The location is perfect, our family room was very spacious with a beautiful view to the city. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was very good too.
5
Mike- 10 Jun. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: A superb experience, will be back
5
Traveler- 04 Jun. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
It's very central, the room was a very good size. The staff very helpful. Good to have a fridge in the room. It's very Agatha Christie hotel.
5
Daniel- 02 Jun. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Old building but in good shape with excellent staffs at the heart of city - everything was close by - Metro, Bus, Tour Bus, Water front and shopping area. Room was very large and clean even if it showed its age. You will feel like you are back to 1920 era with classic charm. I liked their restaurants a lot - food, deco, staff.. every thing was what you would expect from this classic hotel. Highly recommended. I will stay in same hotel if I have another chance given.
5
R- 30 May. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very elegant ornate old world hotel. Lovely helpful staff, booked a tour for us and helped with lots of little things. Great location, airport bus stops at Astoria stop outside hotel. Stayed on 4th floor with a view of busy Budapest but double glazing amazing so no noise disturbance. Great power shower and room was huge. Bad: No complaints!
4.6
Anonymous- 28 May. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very central and very helpful staff Bad: Nil
5
Siripat S- 26 May. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Good Service Great View
5
Huub Vankan- 25 May. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Good hotel with perfect public transport connections.
5
Scott- 24 May. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Hotel was in a good area to walk to most places, staff was friendly and helpful. Price was reasonable and provided good value. Room was clean and a little larger than a typical European hotel.
5
Traveler- 23 May. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Great location and unique retro style ... helpful staff and good breakfasts
5
Krystal Gnome- 22 May. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Simple but meets all your needs. Great location! No complaints.
5
Mark- 21 May. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
Very clean facility, perfect location, courteous and professional staff. Excellent breakfast. No surprises at check out.
5
Reghu Ramachandran- 17 May. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Excellent hotel! Centrally located with many shops nearby. Walking distance to docks. Excellent service, good food, very nice rooms. A little bit of old world charm.
5
Alfredo Alvarez- 16 May. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great hotel, excellent location!
5
Traveler- 13 May. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Everything was in walking distance. The food was great all over. Staff was very accomadating
5
Kinga- 13 May. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Great hotel, and service. We had a wonderful time!
5
Salma- 09 May. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location is perfect close to everything and easy access to public transportation
5
Thomas- 06 May. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Good Breakfast, Good choice lovely old setting. Bad: Not happy with Booking.com as you booked the accommodation under my partners name not mine who booked and paid for it. This caused a lot of confusion at check-in as there was no record of my booking and the taxi which was booked to collect me did not have my name, I had to get a taxi from the rank and ended up paying twice. Booking.com cause the error and confusion and cost me 10,000HUF extra.
4.6
Gordon- 05 May. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Easy transfer on 100e bus from airport with bus stop immediately outside hotel. Next to McDonalds , Burger King, Starbucks metro and city tour bus stops. Excellent meal in hotel dining room.
5
J- 04 May. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Location was excellent and staff helpful. Bed was superb
5
Anonymous- 04 May. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great service, great location
4.6
DEEPAK- 02 May. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Agoda
Property was strategically located between Happening life and bridge. All places are nearby and very easily accessible. Just above metro station
5
Traveler- 01 May. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
I would stay there again and again .love this place
5
Loopy- 30 Apr. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Thank you!
5
Traveler- 29 Apr. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Best location and good hotel, well connected and lots of places to visit walking distance only.
5
Susan Mukonda- 28 Apr. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Excellent place, staff, food and location
5
Robin- 26 Apr. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Fantastic location with the most spectacular view over Lake Albano from the private terrace. Breakfast was included, but served in a neighbouring, very welcoming cafe and was excellent. Throughout, Francesco was super-helpful and very friendly indeed, even driving me to my work venue at Ciampino through truly horrible traffic. Bad: Castel Gandolfo is a beautiful place, with good restaurants and a spectacular location. However, as a work location to stay it was a bit out of the way and a little awkward to get to typical work locations in and about Rome. That said, since Francesco was so welcoming, I will seriously consider it again for my next work visit to Ciampino!
5
Ciaran- 23 Apr. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
Friendly staff and perfect location with the underground directly opposite the entrance. Plenty of choice for breakfast.
5
Sue Bish- 19 Apr. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Gorgeous decor and warm welcome. Very central. Enjoyable stay.
5
Mario- 18 Apr. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Todo Bad: Nada
4.6
Wendy- 17 Apr. 2019
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Agoda
This is the second time we have stayed at the Danubius Astoria. It is based in a beautiful traditional building within reasonable walking distance of many of the main tourist sites in Budapest, and provides fantastic breakfasts. The 100E bus from the airport stops right outside, providing a very easy and reasonably priced airport transfer. We were given a free upgrade to a deluxe room this time around. My only slight disappointment is that there was no tea tray/kettle in the room. Otherwise a fantastic experience and I hope to be able to return again.
4.6
Anonymous- 17 Apr. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff were courteous. Old fashioned hotel in a charming way. Plenty of room lights and conveniently placed plugs for chargers etc. Astoria metro right outside was perfect for getting around especially if weather bad or you're tired. Great location for walking around without the chaos of being in the centre (shopping area) Bad: Queue for coffee machine in mornings but was a weekend. Restaurant was busy and felt crammed. But wouldn't put us off staying there again. Good breakfast.
5
Carole- 16 Apr. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
The style and decoration of the hotel was nostalgic whilst offering up to date amenities.
5
Anonymous- 16 Apr. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location perfect The coffee excelent Explanation good Bad: Was great no remarks
5
mike roche- 09 Apr. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
This is a fantastic hotel in the centre of Budapest and a great base for exploring the city. The staff are brilliant and while staying hete recently, we received a bottle of bubbly from management for our anniversary. The old style elegance is complemented by the food and service and the whole aspect makes for a very enjoyable experience. If I am in a position to return to Budapest, I will definitely be staying here. I must admit, that if you want value for money, this is the place to go.
5
Haris Catic- 06 Apr. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great classy hotel, with extra cpnformtable large rooms. Locaton great
4.5
Walter- 06 Apr. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: City Center location Reasonable quiet Excellent staff Bad: Preferably a nicer room
4.8
Jose- 03 Apr. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location and staff attention. Bad: There were a bad smell on the hall. Room where next to service quarters of the floor.
5
Traveler- 02 Apr. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Hotel was great staff lovely friendly breakfast was amazing not cheap but if you wanted you could have a feast Bedroom although a little on the small size it was fine We asked for a kettle in our room and it was there waiting for us on arrival Asked for two extra pillows they arrived within a few minutes
5
Traveler- 31 Mar. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
I liked the friendly helpful staff, the location and the cleanliness of the hotel.
5
Sandy Juhasz- 28 Mar. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Beautiful hotel inside and outside
5
Traveler- 28 Mar. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Excellent but no tea coffee facilities inside the bedroom
5
Keith- 28 Mar. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Hotels.com
Hotel is very well located so you can walk to all the main tourist attractions. The buffet breakfast provides an excellent choice and the staff are friendly and helpful. The room was a good size with a large comfortable double bed but just one minor negative point - no tea/coffee making facilities provided in the room. Overall, a good place to stay and the interior of the hotel is full of character.
5
Edgar Alejandro T- 24 Mar. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
The legendary Hotel Astoria Budapest opened in 1914 as one of the city’s most elegant hotels, and – over a century later – it stays true to that original character. Guests have always been attracted by its sublime fin-de-siècle architecture and comfortable rooms. And its location: a 10-minute walk from prime attractions like the Hungarian National Museum, the Great Synagogue (the largest in Europe), the Danube promenade and the famous Váci Street.
5
Michele- 24 Mar. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything! The staff were all wonderful. The breakfast was amazing. The restaurant was great. The location is excellent. The room was clean.
5
Marlene- 12 Mar. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff was helpful and courteous. Being Traditional jews, we needed someone to let us into our room on our sabbath as we could not use the electronic key. They did so cheerfully Bad: there was nothing to complain about. all met my expectations
5
Tanushree- 10 Mar. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Great location and friendly staff.
5
Martin Purcell- 07 Mar. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Lovely hotel. Staff are very friendly and it is located right in the middle of everything. Perfect to walk to everywhere.
5
guy kurtz- 02 Mar. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Staff was great ..food in resturant was very good . location was good for all the sites i wanted to see.
5
Maayan- 01 Mar. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel is centrally located, 5 minutes from the Jewish Quarter and a from Váci u. street. The rooms are spacious, the staff very nice Worth the monetary value.
5
Mr- 28 Feb. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Excellent helpful staff...large clean and comfortable room...tea and coffee facilities provided on request, excellent breakfast..huge choice...lovely old building. No 'leisure' facilities but not wanted as dont go on holiday to go to the gym...would definitely stay again...thankyou
5
Ann Aston- 26 Feb. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Excellent very central. The food was good and very comfortable.
4.8
Tc- 26 Feb. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very clean old elegant hotel right in the centre of town. Staff very helpful and food excellent. Lovely happy hour coffee and cakes every afternoon. Bad: Bar closes at 23-00 every night
5
anna kielczykowska- 24 Feb. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great location. A very good hotel. Helpful staff. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.
4.8
Amand- 23 Feb. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We liked the location, the breakfast (which was amazing), the bedroom was nice too. The hotel has a very nice architecture and is welcoming. Bad: We were at the end of a corridor next to rooms in which works were being done. It started very early in the morning and was annoying to hear a lot of noises. It woke us up.
5
Anna- 23 Feb. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location, polite, helpful staff. Nice atmosphere and very good breakfast. Bad: .
5
Angela- 22 Feb. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
Very central service in restaurant very slow
4.8
Douglas- 22 Feb. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The location was good. Within walking distance to the river and access to the Budapest tram network outside the hotel. Bedroom was warm & spacious with a well equipped bathroom and plenty of hot water on demand Bad: Traffic noise was noticeable during the night at times
4.8
Veronica- 21 Feb. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: location was excellent.. very happy with the hotel would stay again. Bad: maybe leave it a little later for housekeeping to knock on the door.. 7.30am is way too early when you are away on a break.
5
Can Güzeliş- 20 Feb. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
The Astoria cafe is remarkable..The hotel is so authentic...Every tourist to Budapest must visit this street..Its also close to Dohany street where the city center lies..
5
Traveler- 18 Feb. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
The hotel is in the best spot for seeing what Budapest has to offer. Everything is in walking distance and the hotel itself is lovely.
5
Andy Grace- 18 Feb. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Like a step back in time ...in a good way.
4.6
Naorin- 18 Feb. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We loved our room at Danubius Hotel Astoria. Our room came with view of the city and had a lot of room and toilet space. The hotel looked after little details such as toiletries, mini bar, shoe polish etc and was very clean. We were allowed to leave our luggage at their storage room on our last day, upon check out which was handy. The breakfast was great, with lots of choices and treats. Overall we loved our stay and would high recommend the hotel :)
5
Traveler- 17 Feb. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Staff very courteous, Room was clean and towels changed every day. Great location within walking distance of most sights. Ask for a rear room as the hotel is on a major crossroads but if you keep the window shut you can hear a lot of it. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the hotel and would book again.
5
Rusi- 14 Feb. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
Very comfort room and place is excellent
5
Rafael Raimundo Advogado- 12 Feb. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
one of the best hotels in Budapesr
4.6
Joseph- 12 Feb. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We stayed in the the standard twin room for five nights we could have upgraded for another fifty euro but the room we had was fine. The bed was really comfortable , the room was large nice and warm and in a quite part of the hotel as l had requested. There was a very good selection of food at breakfast both hot and cold. The hotel is old style but this adds to its charm. The hotel is in a good central location with bars and places to eat nearby and the metro is right outside. Everything was fine. Bad: As stated already the hotel was great, but Budapest was more expensive than l was led to believe . Watch out when using public transport especially the metro that you have the right ticket and that you have validated it in the machine before entering the platform area as there are inspectors all over the place ready to pounce like hawks . Sadly there are a lot of homeless people on the streets and in the metro stations and this can be off putting , but that seems to be the way in many countries in europe at the moment including my own. That said Budapest is a beautiful city and well worth a visit.
5
Igor Zeiger- 10 Feb. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great hotel, with awesome location and great service
5
Traveler- 10 Feb. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Wotif
The Hotel's city centre location was excellent, enabling us to choose to either walk, bus or metro to all parts of the city. The Hotel has a unique sense of history with a mix of restored and well maintained facilities, and the large room sizes gave it a feeling of grandeur. Their staff were excellent and accommodating.
5
Traveler- 09 Feb. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Lovely stay. Great location. Beautiful spacious rooms.
5
Thelma Murray- 09 Feb. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Beautiful old style hotel. The staff are extremely nice, helpful and courteous, food is lovely, the best shower of any hotel we have been in... lovely high ceilings in bedroom. The decor is fabulous, room cleaned each day, very attentive to their clients, the breakfast buffet is fabulous. Its like walking onto the movie set of the Great Gatsby or Poirot ..

Still have questions? Get in touch:

Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center ****

Phone: +36-1-889-6000
Room reservation: +36 1 889 6061
Fax: +36 1 889 6091

Address: 19-21. Kossuth Lajos u., 1053 Budapest, Hungary View map View map

Room reservation

+36 1 889 6061

Address:
19-21. Kossuth Lajos u., 1053 Budapest, Hungary View map

Email:
Send e-mail

One hotel selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

Two hotels selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

One hotel selected! One hotel seleted (3/1)

X