toggle menu

Reviews

Hotel rating
Overall score
4.9/5
Based on 3384 reviews
Services
4.9/5
Cleaniness
4.9/5
Comfort
4.9/5
Location
4.9/5
Staff
4.9/5
Value for money
4.9/5
Did you enjoy your stay with us? Tell us about your experience!
4.5
Ehsan- 14 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: great location, easy access to everything, multiple food options around the hotel( Turkish, subway, Pizza Hut, Chinese, McDonald’s etc) hop on hop off bus across the road . walking distance to a lot of attractions, including city centre . comfortable bed , nice staff. ironing room , you can leave your luggage at check out. Bad: nothing
5
George- 10 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: One week in Astoria, Budapest. Bad: Nothing!
5
Traveler- 09 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Very comfortable place to stay. Classic hotel cose to all the central attractions. Right on top of the Metro line and at the intersection of seven of the most major tram and bus lines.
5
frannie tuico- 06 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
The hotel is in good location, near centrum and metro. Hotel staff especially in day time is very kind, helpful and approchabel most especially very flexible about our check in and luggage storage. The entire stay is fantastic. I will highly recommend this hotel.
4.5
Constantin- 04 Oct. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: A retro hotel, i would say, for times when you want a specific atmosphere of the zero zone in which it is located. Close to any tourist attraction in the central area of Budapest. Friendly and attentive staff. Super!
5
Traveler- 28 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
It's a beautiful hotel, in a great location, and the people at the front desk were friendly and knowledgeable. The only downside we had was our in room safe didn't work, and we had to pre-book housekeeping. That annoyed me, as staying at a hotel, housekeeping is literally half of the cost of the room rate. We were there 4 nights, and our room was in need of some housekeeping by the time we left.
4.5
Dafffyd- 27 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Perfect location in the city centre close to shops, restaurants, metro station,.. Bathroom was big and clean. Interior of the hotel looked old, it was really nice. Everything was clean and simple. Staff was really friendly. Bad: Bed was loud but still comfortable.
5
Sayam- 23 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Ottimo
5
Sattar Alshryda- 20 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Very friendly staff.
4.5
Ilkka- 20 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Hotel has a very good location, you can easily go everywhere with public transportation and most of the sights are also accessible by foot if you prefer to walk. Hotel has a very charming atmosphere and it is spotless. Staff was very helpful, and the room was very good sized and spotless. You have to understand that it is an old building and located very centrally, so (at least in lower floors) traffic noise might be of nuisance if you are a light sleeper.
4.5
Ivan- 18 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location, very clean, value, breakfast. Bad: Furniture could be newer
5
Eduardo- 17 Sep. 2021
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Best location!
5
Igorfaktor- 17 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Bad: Everything is ok
5
Aaron Michael- 16 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Wonderful stay. Cute, classic style hotel, great location, super comfortable bed, and the staff were the best: so kind and helpful. Will stay here my next time in Budapest.
4.5
Emilia- 16 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent location in the centre of the Budapest. Metro has name of the Hotel Astoria! It was very useful, when we travelled by bus or metro. Quiet room. Comfortable bed and separate toilet and bath - it was great! Breakfast was very good, but every day was the same menu. Perhaps they prepare what they know the best :) Perfect staff, smiled and competent. They were brilliant! They gave me scale to weightd my luggage :) There was no bottle water and coffee/tea maker in the room, but to be honest I didn't ask about it. Bad: Nothing to complain :) Maybe they should just think about bottle water and coffee/tea maker in every room. It is really useful when restaurant is close.
5
Giacomo- 16 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Fantastic position, huge and comfortable room, friendly staff.
5
Ravit Rivka- 15 Sep. 2021
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
No review
4.5
Nora- 12 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The atmosphere of the hotel is iconic, you make a journey in the early 20th century. Full Englich breakfast is available and delitious. The location is perfekt, best for city trips. Bad: Everything was perfect.
5
Charles L- 11 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
This was a fabulous, spacious, and comfortable room. I checked out of a different, substandard hotel, and checked into the Astoria. The room was spacious, two comfortable lounge chairs in addition to a desk chair. The room had two large and bright windows. The room had a refrigerator and was one block away from a hop on hop off bus stop, numerous cafes, and shops.
5
Adrian- 09 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Comfortable, clean, premium feel in every aspect, quality materials at every step, very comfortable sleeping. Will definitely stay again here! Bad: If you need an iron, it will be extra charge 2EUR.
4.5
Eniko- 07 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Good breakfast, with my favourite - yoghurt, coffee and croissant Bad: The TV was not working (not that I needed it really, bit I was expecting to listen to the morning news).
4.5
Iryna- 05 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Hotel is not very new and fresh, it was built in the beginning of 19th century and fully renovated in 80th. The style is rather pretentious, rooms are big, high ceilings, very clean, good sounds isolation. Breakfast was very tasty with enough choices. It is located in the center, 5 min walk to the river, 25 minutes to Fisherman castle, many restaurants nearby, supermarket on the corner, McDonalds in the same building Bad: Traffic outside is very intensive days and nights, not possible to sleep with open windows
5
Jessica- 01 Sep. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff were very welcoming; I got an upgrade from a single to a double room with a bigger bed 😊. As my flight was in the evening, they let me keep the room until that time without extra charge. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly! The location is perfect, with direct access to public transportation and in a walking distance to most attractions. Other good points were: cleanliness and good and varied breakfast. Bad: Nothing!
4.5
Irena- 29 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: location rooms are very spacious
5
Roman Kovalchuk- 26 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Very good classic hotel.
5
Mary- 23 Aug. 2021
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Expedia
Hotel is grand old dame! Centrally located. Lovely interior.
5
Denny- 20 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
The staff was very helpful and nice. Beware of taxi drivers. Ask the cost before you get in. They will over charge you if they can.
5
S- 19 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location, room size and friendly staff. WiFi was free. Bed quality was great in all ways. Once again, the size of the room was big enough. My economy room had a table with a couple chairs, a suitcase deck and a proper size of closet. Really rare nowadays. Bad: Not enough western TV channels. I was missing my CNN nights at the hotel (and bigger screen would be also nice). I was skeptical about older looking furniture in the room, but when I looked again... it was a design.
5
Hemligjaga- 18 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Probably one of the best hotel i've stayed so far during a short trip. The location near every transport to go to all touristic places. The classicisme of the hotel and the decoration is remarkable, and the staff amazing. For it's price, I'll recommend it so far to everyone i know. Bad: N/A
5
Myria- 18 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: excellent location, very friendly staff, comfortable room, I would stay again near by restaurants, supermarket, central bus station, metro value for money Bad: not enough soap, shampoo for the bathroom. We bought shower gel from supermarket
5
Traveler- 14 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Very pleasant hotel with old charm; the breakfast room (as well as breakfast) is definitely to be recommended. Throughout our stay, the reception was more than helpful in planning trips, travel, etc, made our stay very pleasurable.
5
Pavel Thoř- 14 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
very nice place, beautiful hotel, very good price, so affortable
5
Georgios- 13 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Big room and very clean Breakfast was poor ... Bad: Breakfast
4.5
Aging- 11 Aug. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: everything is perfect Bad: but the size of room
5
Daniyar- 19 Jul. 2021
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Excellent staff, clean rooms, good breakfast, the room was fantastic. Thank you! Bad: Everything was ok
5
Traveler- 17 Mar. 2020
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Staying at the Astoria perfectly fit our needs. The room was nice and roomy. The staff was incredibly friendly and the lobby area was beautiful to look at. The staff gave amazing directions when we requested them and also assisted us in navigating a change we needed with our reservation. The location is central and besides wishing at least water was left in the mini fridges, the stay was perfect!
5
Traveler- 17 Mar. 2020
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Amazing location, take bus 100E from airport and it stop right in front of the hotel, next door has McDonald’s, we ate 3 days breakfast from there, also have Starbucks, pizza shop around. The staff are all friendly and helpful. Pleasant stay, definitely recommended.
5
Traveler- 16 Mar. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Rooms were big light and comfortable water was alway hot and a good pressure
5
HumairaYasin- 16 Mar. 2020
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
The location is so central and close to everything. Staff were wonderful and so courteous. Our room was spacious and clean. Just a lovely experience altogether
5
Jenny- 14 Mar. 2020
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Expedia
We had a great stay at this beautiful hotel. All staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Breakfast selection was lovely- all 6 of us found plenty to eat!! My only, very small, wish would be that the evening Resturant menu could have been a bit broader - as there were 6 in our party we couldn’t find something for everyone so we didn’t use it. The hotel is in a great location, a short walk from the Elizabeth bridge, with Hop on Hop Off stops just across the road which made it very easy to get to all the sites we wanted to see!
5
Kedar- 11 Mar. 2020
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
Outstanding stay. Room was comfortable; location of the hotel is simply astonishing! Right next to multiple public transport options. The only thing they lacked is: No cofee/tea maker in the room.
5
Traveler- 09 Mar. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Historic building and really beautiful interior and rooms. Curtains were ineffective with building lights shining bright outside.
5
Stacie- 08 Mar. 2020
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Expedia
Very comfy Beds....a room with a view super breakfast
5
Costas- 05 Mar. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff were polite. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was varied, plentiful and delicious. Excellent location, very central. Bad: A Hungarian company was filming inside the hotel restaurant when we arrived. So our breakfast was served in a conference room for our first morning. The last two mornings we were in the official breakfast room and restaurant.
5
Steven- 05 Mar. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: we liked the feel of the place, it was like walking in to an Agatha Christie novel, the tube station was directly outside, as were the bus stops and tram stops, nice cafes close by for morning coffee.
5
Stephanie- 03 Mar. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff were lovely. Centrally located it was easy to find everywhere. Hop on bus just across the street. Loads of shops and restaurants within walking distance.
5
Traveler- 02 Mar. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
The location is very good, nice and clean building and rooms, the staff is friendly and helpful, breakfast is delicious
4.6
Nuno- 01 Mar. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Spacious, Clean and very well located Bad: In general didn’t find alone of friendly people all over Budapest ... in general it lacks service with a smile
5
Sean Gravell- 29 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
A fantastic spot in the middle of Pest. Lovely staff and comfortable rooms. Definitely staying here again.
5
Galit- 29 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: , Excellent hotel, antique style, central and convenient location, we received excellent service from the hotel staff I would Very good breakfast, very wide and comfortable bed love to come back again for sure ! Bad: Excellent hotel
5
Burhan- 25 Feb. 2020
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Expedia
It was a great hotel with a lot of history - we had a great time
5
A. M. B- 25 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great views, beautiful place to stay. Good service
5
SamT- 24 Feb. 2020
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Historic hotel with lovely rooms. Central location and friendly helpful service.
5
william w- 24 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Great hotel location in Old Town. Accommodations were very good. Breakfast was fantastic.
5
Michael- 23 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
The building is so amazing and restored nicely. Upon arrival the staff were very helpful. The rooms spacious and very clean. Quiet. Close to everything. I highly recommend this hotel!
5
Tejaswini Bhat- 23 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Pleasent stay in Danubius hotel during our vacation in Budapest.
5
Kelly Grimes- 22 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Amazing location and lovely rooms. Great value!
5
Traveler- 21 Feb. 2020
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Good location. Great service..Good food.Clean room. Very friendly staff.
5
Katie- 20 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location!!! Bad: Construction work being done outside. Very loud!
5
SP- 20 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Great breakfast, very clean room, friendly and helpful staff.
5
Kirsty- 20 Feb. 2020
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
Astoria was a fantastic Art Deco hotel just in the right location. So clean, service was great and breakfast was fabulous. Definitely recommend!
5
David- 18 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Bad: The shower head fitting broken, so kept falling off.
5
Pauline- 18 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Perfect room size, lovely bathroom, comfy bed and fab location!
5
Traveler- 17 Feb. 2020
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Room was lovely, spacious, clean, huge bed. The staff were very friendly and so helpful. Breakfast was amazing, set us up for the whole day into evening. The hotel decor is of another era but looked really good.
4.8
Marija- 16 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location near center , clean and cozy rooms, excellent food. Nice and comfortable stuff.
5
Jen- 15 Feb. 2020
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Fabulous old style hotel with all the charm of a byegone era. Bedrooms were well sized and comfortable. Only issue is the smell when you come into the lobby not sure if it the hotel itself or an issue with the city sewers but it was fairly brutal. Wouldn’t like to be experiencing it in the height of summer
4.5
Anonymous- 15 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Nice place!
5
Traveler- 12 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
The building is very nice and I felt the history and the tradition of the hotel. The service is a high quality one in which any workers showed politeness to people visiting the hotel.
5
Neil- 11 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We got an upgrade and the coffee and cake was a great value in the afternoon
5
Traveler- 10 Feb. 2020
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
The views from our room were lovely. The room itself felt spacious and comfortable. The pillows were nice and fluffy. There were plenty of towels and a nice, soft bath mat too. It was a great location from which to walk and see many things in the city. It felt refreshing to return each evening.
4.8
Natasa- 10 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location is great, property is clean and comfortable. Staff is so polite and helpful.
5
Lior- 09 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Perfect hotel, perfect service perfect location.
5
Z- 06 Feb. 2020
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Expedia
Very well located Quiet comfortable beds Staff friendly
4.5
Anonymous- 06 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable. Bad: No kettle in room. No tea or coffee facilities.
5
Traveler- 04 Feb. 2020
  • Family with older children
  • Source: Expedia
Beautiful character, excellent size room, great location to explore the city.
5
Traveler- 03 Feb. 2020
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Hotel very clean, room spaceous, close to all amenities. On arrival on Tuesday afternoon I think it may have been the manager was so friendly and informative. A lady, who had red hair, sorry didn't know her name, who was running the restaurant was so lovely and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would go back there.
5
Anonymous- 02 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This hotel is beautiful. It had a wonderful location- close to shops, the metro, and great restaurants. Staff members were so friendly and helpful. The room was beautifully decorated and very clean and comfortable. WiFi was easily accessed and steady. I strongly recommend this hotel .
5
Anonymous- 31 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything, very helpful staff, the decor, the breakfast choice, the room. Well positioned for access to metro station and various tourist spots. Trams and buses are plentiful and don't forget if you are a senior citizen you get free travel throughout the city {with proof of age}. This includes bus 100 from the airport. Bad: Absolutely nothing.
4.5
Mirna- 29 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff was exeptionally polite and helpful, breakfest was great and location even better. It really feels like stepping in some past era, this hotel is a remarkable place!
5
שי יטיב- 28 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Super great awesome hotel. Best location service breakfast rooms restaurant shower price wnd a total positive experience. Second time here and coming back. Thanks for a great stay
4.6
Gary- 26 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Central location. Attentive, professional staff Great value. Bad: Ugly carpets.
4.8
Conor- 26 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Loved the Untouched 19th century decor. The location is brilliant for sight seeing, shopping, pubs, clubs etc.
5
Traveler- 23 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
The heritage feeling of the building with the top and very comfortable rooms and the location are tops
5
Courtney- 22 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Great hotel with nice staff. Location was perfect for seeing the whole city. Dinner and drinks nearby, groceries close. Just lovely.
5
Anonymous- 18 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Clean, easy to visit the center town Bad: Na
5
Traveler- 16 Jan. 2020
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Amazing character hotel very centrally located. Reception area and dining area amazing. Room very clean and comfortable. Very good value.
5
Pauline- 16 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff were so helpful. Loved the old world feel to the place. Very central. Within a 3km circumference of all tourist sites. Plenty of cafes and restaurants locally if you did not want to dine In the hotel Bad: The old world feel. We had drinks in the bar/ restaurant and it’s ambience felt like you were in a different era. Loved it
5
Daniel- 14 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
The hotel is situated in a great location, within walking distance of all the main sites. The room was excellent with all the amenities needed. Breakfast was good with a wide variety of options. I would happily stay here again
4.5
Gideon- 14 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything was ideal. Thank you. Very satisfied. Bad: N/A
4.5
Bleddyn- 14 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: very elegant hotel. spotlessly clean. staff very professional and friendly Bad: even though there was a mini bar in the room. there were no tea or coffee making facilities
5
Nigel Bake- 10 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great period Hotel Close to centre of Budapest
5
Marjorie Michele Stobie- 09 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
So convenient with great staff. Lovely room.
5
Annie- 08 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff were incredibly polite and never intrusive - very helpful and full of recommendations of what to see. The shower was powerful and the view was stunning, especially at night with the city lights. Great use of space and very comfortable. Lovely mini bar in the room too Bad: N/A
5
Sheila- 07 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
We had a lovely stay here. Staff were fabulous. We ate in the restaurant and not only was the food terrific and reasonable but we also had a live small band that played extremely good dance band type music. A fabulous evening and we even got up and danced to “The Blue Danube” Waltz. Highly recommended to eat here. Breakfast was also outstanding and elegant. The room was modest and adequate for a night or two. Bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a small amount of mold in the shower grout otherwise I would have rated 5 on everything. Location was very walkable and two stops on the underground from the train station less than 10mins walk to the Danube. We would stay here again.
5
Pippy- 05 Jan. 2020
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Expedia
We liked the classical renovations and not too modern rooms. Authentic Hungarian splendour. Wonderfully helpful and smiley staff. Very central for easy transport all over the city.
5
Traveler- 29 Dec. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Great location nice property. The room was ready early and was nice and quite
4.5
Anonymous- 28 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location and staff
4.6
Martin- 28 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Central location. Bad: Not much. Very little defects and this due to wear and tear.
5
Traveler- 27 Dec. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
SUPERB LOCATION!!! Next to a majority of bus stops and metro stations
4.6
James- 27 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel was beautiful. Bad: Part of our bathroom was damaged

Still have questions? Get in touch:

Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center ****

Phone: +36-1-889-6000
Room reservation: +36 1 889 6061
Fax: +36 1 889 6091

Address: 19-21. Kossuth Lajos u., 1053 Budapest, Hungary View map View map

Room reservation

+36 1 889 6061

Address:
19-21. Kossuth Lajos u., 1053 Budapest, Hungary View map

Email:
Send e-mail

One hotel selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

Two hotels selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

One hotel selected! One hotel seleted (3/1)

X