toggle menu

Reviews

Hotel rating
Overall score
4.9/5
Based on 3250 reviews
Services
4.9/5
Cleaniness
4.9/5
Comfort
4.9/5
Location
4.9/5
Staff
4.9/5
Value for money
4.9/5
Did you enjoy your stay with us? Tell us about your experience!
5
Traveler- 17 Mar. 2020
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Staying at the Astoria perfectly fit our needs. The room was nice and roomy. The staff was incredibly friendly and the lobby area was beautiful to look at. The staff gave amazing directions when we requested them and also assisted us in navigating a change we needed with our reservation. The location is central and besides wishing at least water was left in the mini fridges, the stay was perfect!
5
Traveler- 17 Mar. 2020
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Amazing location, take bus 100E from airport and it stop right in front of the hotel, next door has McDonald’s, we ate 3 days breakfast from there, also have Starbucks, pizza shop around. The staff are all friendly and helpful. Pleasant stay, definitely recommended.
5
Traveler- 16 Mar. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Rooms were big light and comfortable water was alway hot and a good pressure
5
HumairaYasin- 16 Mar. 2020
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
The location is so central and close to everything. Staff were wonderful and so courteous. Our room was spacious and clean. Just a lovely experience altogether
5
Jenny- 14 Mar. 2020
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Expedia
We had a great stay at this beautiful hotel. All staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Breakfast selection was lovely- all 6 of us found plenty to eat!! My only, very small, wish would be that the evening Resturant menu could have been a bit broader - as there were 6 in our party we couldn’t find something for everyone so we didn’t use it. The hotel is in a great location, a short walk from the Elizabeth bridge, with Hop on Hop Off stops just across the road which made it very easy to get to all the sites we wanted to see!
5
Kedar- 11 Mar. 2020
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
Outstanding stay. Room was comfortable; location of the hotel is simply astonishing! Right next to multiple public transport options. The only thing they lacked is: No cofee/tea maker in the room.
5
Traveler- 09 Mar. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Historic building and really beautiful interior and rooms. Curtains were ineffective with building lights shining bright outside.
5
Stacie- 08 Mar. 2020
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Expedia
Very comfy Beds....a room with a view super breakfast
5
Costas- 05 Mar. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff were polite. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was varied, plentiful and delicious. Excellent location, very central. Bad: A Hungarian company was filming inside the hotel restaurant when we arrived. So our breakfast was served in a conference room for our first morning. The last two mornings we were in the official breakfast room and restaurant.
5
Steven- 05 Mar. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: we liked the feel of the place, it was like walking in to an Agatha Christie novel, the tube station was directly outside, as were the bus stops and tram stops, nice cafes close by for morning coffee.
5
Stephanie- 03 Mar. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff were lovely. Centrally located it was easy to find everywhere. Hop on bus just across the street. Loads of shops and restaurants within walking distance.
5
Traveler- 02 Mar. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
The location is very good, nice and clean building and rooms, the staff is friendly and helpful, breakfast is delicious
4.6
Nuno- 01 Mar. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Spacious, Clean and very well located Bad: In general didn’t find alone of friendly people all over Budapest ... in general it lacks service with a smile
5
Sean Gravell- 29 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
A fantastic spot in the middle of Pest. Lovely staff and comfortable rooms. Definitely staying here again.
5
Galit- 29 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: , Excellent hotel, antique style, central and convenient location, we received excellent service from the hotel staff I would Very good breakfast, very wide and comfortable bed love to come back again for sure ! Bad: Excellent hotel
5
Burhan- 25 Feb. 2020
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Expedia
It was a great hotel with a lot of history - we had a great time
5
A. M. B- 25 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great views, beautiful place to stay. Good service
5
SamT- 24 Feb. 2020
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Historic hotel with lovely rooms. Central location and friendly helpful service.
5
william w- 24 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Great hotel location in Old Town. Accommodations were very good. Breakfast was fantastic.
5
Michael- 23 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
The building is so amazing and restored nicely. Upon arrival the staff were very helpful. The rooms spacious and very clean. Quiet. Close to everything. I highly recommend this hotel!
5
Tejaswini Bhat- 23 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Pleasent stay in Danubius hotel during our vacation in Budapest.
5
Kelly Grimes- 22 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Amazing location and lovely rooms. Great value!
5
Traveler- 21 Feb. 2020
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Good location. Great service..Good food.Clean room. Very friendly staff.
5
Katie- 20 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location!!! Bad: Construction work being done outside. Very loud!
5
SP- 20 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Great breakfast, very clean room, friendly and helpful staff.
5
Kirsty- 20 Feb. 2020
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Hotels.com
Astoria was a fantastic Art Deco hotel just in the right location. So clean, service was great and breakfast was fabulous. Definitely recommend!
5
David- 18 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Bad: The shower head fitting broken, so kept falling off.
5
Pauline- 18 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Perfect room size, lovely bathroom, comfy bed and fab location!
5
Traveler- 17 Feb. 2020
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Room was lovely, spacious, clean, huge bed. The staff were very friendly and so helpful. Breakfast was amazing, set us up for the whole day into evening. The hotel decor is of another era but looked really good.
4.8
Marija- 16 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location near center , clean and cozy rooms, excellent food. Nice and comfortable stuff.
5
Jen- 15 Feb. 2020
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Fabulous old style hotel with all the charm of a byegone era. Bedrooms were well sized and comfortable. Only issue is the smell when you come into the lobby not sure if it the hotel itself or an issue with the city sewers but it was fairly brutal. Wouldn’t like to be experiencing it in the height of summer
4.5
Anonymous- 15 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Nice place!
5
Traveler- 12 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
The building is very nice and I felt the history and the tradition of the hotel. The service is a high quality one in which any workers showed politeness to people visiting the hotel.
5
Neil- 11 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: We got an upgrade and the coffee and cake was a great value in the afternoon
5
Traveler- 10 Feb. 2020
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
The views from our room were lovely. The room itself felt spacious and comfortable. The pillows were nice and fluffy. There were plenty of towels and a nice, soft bath mat too. It was a great location from which to walk and see many things in the city. It felt refreshing to return each evening.
4.8
Natasa- 10 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location is great, property is clean and comfortable. Staff is so polite and helpful.
5
Lior- 09 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Perfect hotel, perfect service perfect location.
5
Z- 06 Feb. 2020
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Expedia
Very well located Quiet comfortable beds Staff friendly
4.5
Anonymous- 06 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable. Bad: No kettle in room. No tea or coffee facilities.
5
Traveler- 04 Feb. 2020
  • Family with older children
  • Source: Expedia
Beautiful character, excellent size room, great location to explore the city.
5
Traveler- 03 Feb. 2020
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Hotel very clean, room spaceous, close to all amenities. On arrival on Tuesday afternoon I think it may have been the manager was so friendly and informative. A lady, who had red hair, sorry didn't know her name, who was running the restaurant was so lovely and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would go back there.
5
Anonymous- 02 Feb. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: This hotel is beautiful. It had a wonderful location- close to shops, the metro, and great restaurants. Staff members were so friendly and helpful. The room was beautifully decorated and very clean and comfortable. WiFi was easily accessed and steady. I strongly recommend this hotel .
5
Anonymous- 31 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything, very helpful staff, the decor, the breakfast choice, the room. Well positioned for access to metro station and various tourist spots. Trams and buses are plentiful and don't forget if you are a senior citizen you get free travel throughout the city {with proof of age}. This includes bus 100 from the airport. Bad: Absolutely nothing.
4.5
Mirna- 29 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff was exeptionally polite and helpful, breakfest was great and location even better. It really feels like stepping in some past era, this hotel is a remarkable place!
5
שי יטיב- 28 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Super great awesome hotel. Best location service breakfast rooms restaurant shower price wnd a total positive experience. Second time here and coming back. Thanks for a great stay
4.6
Gary- 26 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Central location. Attentive, professional staff Great value. Bad: Ugly carpets.
4.8
Conor- 26 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Loved the Untouched 19th century decor. The location is brilliant for sight seeing, shopping, pubs, clubs etc.
5
Traveler- 23 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
The heritage feeling of the building with the top and very comfortable rooms and the location are tops
5
Courtney- 22 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Great hotel with nice staff. Location was perfect for seeing the whole city. Dinner and drinks nearby, groceries close. Just lovely.
5
Anonymous- 18 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Clean, easy to visit the center town Bad: Na
5
Traveler- 16 Jan. 2020
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Amazing character hotel very centrally located. Reception area and dining area amazing. Room very clean and comfortable. Very good value.
5
Pauline- 16 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff were so helpful. Loved the old world feel to the place. Very central. Within a 3km circumference of all tourist sites. Plenty of cafes and restaurants locally if you did not want to dine In the hotel Bad: The old world feel. We had drinks in the bar/ restaurant and it’s ambience felt like you were in a different era. Loved it
5
Daniel- 14 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
The hotel is situated in a great location, within walking distance of all the main sites. The room was excellent with all the amenities needed. Breakfast was good with a wide variety of options. I would happily stay here again
4.5
Gideon- 14 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything was ideal. Thank you. Very satisfied. Bad: N/A
4.5
Bleddyn- 14 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: very elegant hotel. spotlessly clean. staff very professional and friendly Bad: even though there was a mini bar in the room. there were no tea or coffee making facilities
5
Nigel Bake- 10 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Great period Hotel Close to centre of Budapest
5
Marjorie Michele Stobie- 09 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
So convenient with great staff. Lovely room.
5
Annie- 08 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The staff were incredibly polite and never intrusive - very helpful and full of recommendations of what to see. The shower was powerful and the view was stunning, especially at night with the city lights. Great use of space and very comfortable. Lovely mini bar in the room too Bad: N/A
5
Sheila- 07 Jan. 2020
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
We had a lovely stay here. Staff were fabulous. We ate in the restaurant and not only was the food terrific and reasonable but we also had a live small band that played extremely good dance band type music. A fabulous evening and we even got up and danced to “The Blue Danube” Waltz. Highly recommended to eat here. Breakfast was also outstanding and elegant. The room was modest and adequate for a night or two. Bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a small amount of mold in the shower grout otherwise I would have rated 5 on everything. Location was very walkable and two stops on the underground from the train station less than 10mins walk to the Danube. We would stay here again.
5
Pippy- 05 Jan. 2020
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Expedia
We liked the classical renovations and not too modern rooms. Authentic Hungarian splendour. Wonderfully helpful and smiley staff. Very central for easy transport all over the city.
5
Traveler- 29 Dec. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Great location nice property. The room was ready early and was nice and quite
4.5
Anonymous- 28 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location and staff
4.6
Martin- 28 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Central location. Bad: Not much. Very little defects and this due to wear and tear.
5
Traveler- 27 Dec. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
SUPERB LOCATION!!! Next to a majority of bus stops and metro stations
4.6
James- 27 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel was beautiful. Bad: Part of our bathroom was damaged
5
Andrew- 27 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location was excellent, Breakfast was perfect plenty choice, The Staff were friendly and helpful, Excellent value Bad: Nothing
5
Paul- 27 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Its amazing traditional decor and feel of how Budapest would have felt all those years back. Lovely lobby and cafe area to relax. Friendly staff.
5
ליטל- 27 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Gracious staff, fast service, varied breakfast. The room and shower were clean. Excellent location, close to tourist attractions & public transportation.
5
Shlomit- 27 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Staff was excellent Very helpful Place was clean and central Very good breakfast! Highly recommended
5
Charles- 26 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location Staff super friendly A gem for sure Bad: Location and comfort. Rooms large and view great.
5
epool lee- 25 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
Located at the city center. Near the subway. A wonderful hotel with great breakfast.
5
Hans- 21 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
Central location, quick and friendly check-in and check-out, nice lobby, nice room with good beds and pillows, clean bathroom. Very little noise from the quite heavy traffic outside. Excellent breakfast with lots of choice. Superb bacon. Had one meal in the hotel restaurant. Very good food and quick service. Can recommend the guinea fowl in particular.
5
Jacob- 21 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Breakfast was excellent, the location is very convinient. Bad: Nothing
4.5
Kit- 21 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very helpful reception and concierge; excellent service in restaurants Bad: Room was great and clean but the carpet really was very very grubby and stained
5
Janet- 18 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location Bad: Bit dated
5
Traveler- 15 Dec. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Our bed was huge in and very comfortable. Room was clean and tidy. Good location close to city centre.
5
Traveler- 14 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Hotels.com
This is our second visit and we enjoyed our stay, so did our friends. Excellent breakfast, people at the desk are friendly and helpful. This is not a new hotel so it has its quirks.
5
YossiButavia- 11 Dec. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Kind staff and smile, Clean and well maintained. Love and recommend this hotel.
5
Traveler- 10 Dec. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
I like the old fashioned charm and elegance of the hotel plus the excellent location close to the main shopping area.
5
Traveler- 10 Dec. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
We have stayed in NY with the brand and we enjoy the classic style including the violin Not like - keep the stag parties on a separate floor away from families and couple. Woken up at 2am 3,4,5 & 6am
4.6
Victoria- 10 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: The hotel was lovely! Rooms were clean and beds very comfortable.The location was excellent. Bad: A slightly unpleasant smell on entering the building. Nowhere else in the hotel though!
5
Angela- 10 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: It was warm and welcoming with a traditional feel
5
Traveler- 08 Dec. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Excellent location, bus from the airport stops right outside and sights are all within walking distance. Comfortable beds, hot shower
5
Jean- 06 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Position, clean, lovely building Bad: Too hot
5
Penny- 05 Dec. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Loved the elegance and decor of the hotel. Refurbished beautifully.
5
Johannes- 04 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Centrally located with easy access to public transport. Fantastic staff - went out of their way! Bad: Nothing comes to mind
5
Alonso- 03 Dec. 2019
  • Couple
  • Source: Expedia
Great location! Very nice Bar and Cafe at restaurant at location, they were actually filming a movie there the day we left, that caused a lot of noise while we were sleeping tho
5
Ben- 03 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Great location with very friendly stuff. Bad: Location is great and metro is just downstairs.
4.8
Fergal- 01 Dec. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Location and history. Bad: Nothing
5
Traveler- 26 Nov. 2019
  • Group of friends
  • Source: Expedia
Good food central location friendly staff, a bit dated in places but lots of character
5
Traveler- 25 Nov. 2019
  • Family with older children
  • Source: Expedia
Property was very good and located just next to the Astoria metro station. Rooms are big and staff is very helpful. Couple of things I would like to point is facility to make tea/coffee in room and the overall noise of traffic into room. Apart from these two things the hotel was really nice and we enjoyed our stay there.
5
Traveler- 25 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
Just the feel of the hotel outstanding staff and the look
5
Feier Alexandra- 24 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Google
A beautiful hotel and the staff is excellent.
5
Anonymous- 21 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: It was centrally located, spacious room, good breakfast, helpful polite staff, very comfortable bed. Bad: They have to do something about the smell in the reception area it’s quite a bad sewage smell.
5
Traveler- 19 Nov. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
Location is the best. Close to all transportation. Very clean. Front desk staff service is below average.
4.8
Michael- 18 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast. The room is big and everything is working in the bathroom.
5
Trudy- 17 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Everything
5
Traveler- 16 Nov. 2019
  • Family with younger children
  • Source: Expedia
friendly helpful staff, good value, excellent location for walking and seeing all the sights
5
David- 16 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Expedia
I liked the old world style of the hotel, with its chandeliers making it feel quite grand. It is also in the heart of the city close to transport and the main tourist areas with a multitude of shops, bars and restaurants
4.8
Paddy- 16 Nov. 2019
  • Solo traveller
  • Source: Booking.com
Good: Good

Still have questions? Get in touch:

Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center ****

Phone: +36-1-889-6000
Room reservation: +36 1 889 6061
Fax: +36 1 889 6091

Address: 19-21. Kossuth Lajos u., 1053 Budapest, Hungary View map View map

Room reservation

+36 1 889 6061

Address:
19-21. Kossuth Lajos u., 1053 Budapest, Hungary View map

Email:
Send e-mail

One hotel selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

Two hotels selected! Up to 3 hotels can be compared

One hotel selected! One hotel seleted (3/1)

X